Le Grand-Bornand

Northern Alps Linked area Aravis Updated on 23 September 2026
1,300 mVillage altitude
2,100 mTop of the ski area
28Ski lifts
€52Adult day pass

Not retained (conflicting sources): km of alpine pistes.

Le Grand-Bornand is a commune in the eastern French department of Haute-Savoie. The commune is a ski resort and takes its name from the river that runs through it. The inhabitants of Le Grand-Bornand are called Bornandins.

Le Grand-Bornand — view of the resort
Photo: Wikimedia Commons

Live webcams

All webcams (9) →
VillageSkaping
ChinaillonSkaping
Auberge NordiqueSkaping

Each player is the camera operator’s own, loaded only when you ask for it — it may set its own trackers.

Official players of the resort, live image. 5 more cameras on the webcam page. Checked on 16 October 2026.

Snow, opening and weather

Snow report →

Open pistes and lifts will appear here during the season, as published by the resort. Out of season we show nothing rather than a misleading zero.

Right now at the LE GRAND-BORNAND station (1,430 m)

Source: Météo-France, LE GRAND-BORNAND weather station, 5 km away. Hourly measurement — not the resort’s own snow report.

Good snow from mid-January to mid-March. 86 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, and 472 cm of fresh snow, measured over 34 winters at the Météo-France “GRAND BORNAND” station. Fortnight by fortnight, over 34 measured winters →

3-day forecast

Village 1,300 m · top 2,100 m

Loading…

Forecast corrected for altitude; fresh snow = forecast total at the top; UV = peak of the day. Beyond 3 days, check the resort’s own report. Source:Open-Meteo.

7-day forecast →

SkiRadar ratings

How ratings are computed →Computed on 14 October 2026

Seven criteria rated from 1 to 5 stars, in half-stars, from this page's sourced data. A rating is a rank among the 315 French resorts we cover — 5 stars means “among the best in France on this point”, not “perfect”. Nobody types these in.

  1. SnowCan you count on the snow?
    2.5 / 5

    Top of the ski area: 2,100 m · Bottom of the pistes: 1,000 m · Days above 30 cm per winter, measured: 86 days · Days above 30 cm, December to March, model: 82%

  2. Ski areaIs there enough to ski all week?
    n/a

    Not rated: neither the resort nor the map gives the length of its pistes.

  3. ValueIs the lift pass reasonable for what you get?
    3 / 5

    Adult day pass: €52 · Adult 6-day pass: €260

  4. Families and beginnersIs it right for children and beginners?
    4.5 / 5

    Share of green and blue pistes: 89% · Magic carpets: 5 · ESF ski school · Ice rink, pool, rail sledge…: 2 · Famille Plus label

  5. AccessIs it easy to get to?
    4 / 5

    Average drive time from 20 major cities: 4 hr 22 · Nearest railway station: 24 min · Station-to-resort shuttles per day: 13 · Nearest airport: 1 hr 14

  6. Atmosphere and après-skiIs there life in the evening and off the slopes?
    3 / 5

    Bars and pubs: 3 · Nightclubs: 0 · Restaurants: 23 · Upcoming events: 0 · Collective tourist beds: 1,775 — index: what the map and the listings publish

  7. Luxury and comfortHow upmarket is the resort?
    2 / 5

    5-star hotels: 0 · 4-star hotels: 0 · Share of hotel rooms in 4 and 5 stars: 19% · Spas and saunas: 0 · Jewellers, watchmakers, fashion boutiques: 1 · Adult day pass: €52 — index: what the map and the listings publish

“Atmosphere” and “Luxury” are indexes: they count what OpenStreetMap and the event listings publish within 2.5 km (bars, nightclubs, rated hotels, spas, upcoming events), not what you experience there. A zero means “nothing mapped”, not “nothing there”. Sources per criterion: snow (altitudes declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), STRMTG register, OpenStreetMap; snow depth observed at the Météo-France station, ERA5-Land model) ; ski area (figures declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), national lift register (STRMTG), OpenStreetMap) ; value (the resort’s official price list) ; families and beginners (OpenStreetMap pistes, price list, ESF ski school, Famille Plus label, OpenStreetMap leisure) ; access (OSRM drive times from 20 cities, SNCF stations, GTFS shuttles, airports) ; atmosphere and après-ski (bars, nightclubs and restaurants within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap), upcoming events (OpenAgenda), collective tourist beds (INSEE)) ; luxury and comfort (rated hotels within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap) and by category across the commune (INSEE), spas and boutiques (OpenStreetMap), day pass price).

€260 6 days

Price declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association) — not the official price list, which prevails. Season not stated by the resort. ANMSM ↗

Skiable vertical
1,100 m
Cross-country skiing
10 named trails — 76 km of marked loops (35 km of distinct track: the loops overlap), 600 m from the resort

Ski-area figures — village, bottom, top: ANMSM — figures declared by the resort (16 Oct); lifts: STRMTG — French national lift register (1 Jan) . In a linked ski area the map cannot tell where the resort ends: its own km stay “n/a” until the resort declares them.

The ski area in figures

Measured on 7 October 2026
4 kmLongest piste — Les Prises (blue), 395 m of vertical
704 mBiggest vertical without changing piste — 1,980 → 1,276 m, 2 km
2,031 mHighest lift top — TSD du Lachat (detachable chairlift), national lift register
38,857Total lift capacity, people per hour — 28 installations: 2 gondolas, 10 chairlifts, 11 drag lifts, 5 magic carpets
29 yrsAverage age of the lift fleet — oldest 1962, newest 2024
3,600Biggest lift, people per hour — TSD du Charmieux (detachable chairlift, 2019)
35 kmTotal length of lifts — 47 lifts mapped
1,597 haSki area boundary (OSM)
2,050Inhabitants — Le Grand-Bornand (INSEE 74136)

Measured on OpenStreetMap (altitudes: IGN RGE ALTI), not taken from the brochure. The vertical above is that of one piste, not of the whole ski area. Population: INSEE municipal population via geo.api.gouv.fr.

Source: national register of mechanical lifts (STRMTG, CAIRN), fleet as of 1 January 2025 — lifts attributed to Le Grand-Bornand only (“GRAND BORNAND (LE)”), magic carpets included.

Staying and hiring gear in Le Grand-Bornand

The partners covering this resort, shown side by side, and the shop to kit out before you leave. Some links earn us a commission — never at the expense of the price or of the data.

Collective accommodation

1,775 bed spaces in tourist residences, holiday villages and hostels

  • 12 hotels · 219 rooms (2 × 4★, 8 × 3★, 2 × 2★)
  • 1 holiday village or family centre · 161 bed spaces
  • 3 tourist residences and apartment hotels · 1,614 bed spaces
  • 2 campsites · 245 pitches

Commune: Le Grand-Bornand · INSEE tourist accommodation survey, 2026, read on 12 September 2026. Collective accommodation only — privately let flats and second homes are not counted. INSEE dataset ↗

Stay & accommodation

Holidu
Holiday-rental comparison site.
See offers
Ski Planet
Self-catering flats and all-inclusive ski holidays at the foot of the slopes, since 1999.
See offers
Montagne Vacances
Flats and chalets in the resort, at direct prices.
See offers

Ski hire

Skiset UK
Skiset’s UK site: ski hire in the resort shops, booked in English, paid in pounds.
Book

Gear & equipment

Absolute Snow
UK ski and snowboard shop — delivers to UK addresses only.
Browse the shop
Hardloop
Mountain gear shop: ski touring, avalanche safety, winter clothing.
Browse the shop
Picture
Ski and snowboard jackets, pants and accessories — a French brand.
Browse the shop

All about staying in Le Grand-Bornand →

Beyond skiing at Le Grand-Bornand

Without skis on — 1 km of snowshoe and walking trails · 2 sledging runs

Toboggan runs

Ice rink

  • Patinoire · OpenStreetMap

Swimming pool

Paragliding

  • AirLinks : école de parapente · Le Grand-Bornand · 0.8 km away
  • Parapente : terrain d'atterrissage "Les Potais" · Le Grand-Bornand · 3 km away
  • Parapente : décollage du Lachat · Le Grand-Bornand · 4.4 km away
  • Aravis Parapente · La Clusaz · 9.5 km away

Museum

Cinema

Source: DATAtourisme (open data), within 10 km of the resort; places in a large town of the valley are left out. Checked on 12 September 2026. Lines marked OpenStreetMap come from the map, within 3 km — opening times on site. Opening times and prices are the operator’s — check before you go.

Ski schools and practical information

Ski school

ESF Le Grand Bornand

📞 04 50 02 79 10

🌐 esf-grand-bo.com

283 instructors

🇬🇧 127 English-speaking instructors — lessons in English available

🗓️ This school sells its lessons online — book ↗

Source: esf.net

All about the ski school in Le Grand-Bornand →

Resort contacts and documents

Resort app
Android (declared by the resort, ANMSM)

In case of accident

112 — the European emergency number, free of charge, triggers mountain rescue. On the pistes, the ski patrol number is printed on the piste map and at lift ticket offices. Piste rescue is charged: check your insurance or take the option sold with the lift pass.

Resort data: declared by LE GRAND-BORNAND TOURISME and distributed by ANMSM · read on 16 October

Off the pistes: off-piste and ski touring

The resorts for off-piste skiing →
0 0

Ski touring routes described

12 ski touring routes documented within 10 km of Le Grand-Bornand — up to 2,300 m of climb.

Summit and routeSki gradeClimbAltitudeAspectFrom resort
Mont Lachat (Châtillon) · Circuit des chaletsn/a · AD1,020 m1,030 → 2,050 mS3.4 km
Mont Lachat (Châtillon) · Versant SW depuis les Granges du Bouchetn/a · PD800 m1,250 → 2,050 mSW3.4 km
Roc des Arces · Depuis le Bouchetn/a · PD-730 m1,040 → 1,772 mS3.4 km
Aiguille Verte du Chinaillon · Par le Col du Rasoir4.1 · E2 · D+2,300 m890 → 2,300 mNW3.9 km

The other 8 routes, with grades and vertical →

Not a piste. Neither marked, nor patrolled, nor secured: transceiver, shovel, probe, the day’s avalanche bulletin and, better still, a guide. Ski grade (1.1–5.6) = steepness and commitment; exposure (E1–E4) = consequence of a fall.

Source: Camptocamp.org topo guide (CC BY-SA), routes starting within 10 km, read on 13 October 2026. Descriptions and photos are on Camptocamp; an empty cell is a field nobody has filled in. Camptocamp ski touring routes ↗

Official piste map

No downloadable piste map published by the resort. Checked on 10 October 2026 · page checked

Pistes coloured by level, lifts as lines. The resort’s official map is the reference in season.

Base map © OpenTopoMap (CC-BY-SA) · pistes © OpenSnowMap (CC-BY-SA) · data ©OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).

Getting to Le Grand-Bornand

From Paris: 6 hr 16 (582 km) by road.

By road

  • From Annecy: 42 min · 31 km
  • From Genève: 50 min · 47 km
  • From Chambéry: 1 hr 16 · 84 km
  • From Grenoble: 1 hr 45 · 129 km
  • From Lyon: 2 hr 15 · 172 km
From other major cities (15)
  • From Saint-Étienne: 2 hr 48 · 221 km
  • From Valence: 2 hr 49 · 222 km
  • From Besançon: 3 hr 18 · 221 km
  • From Dijon: 3 hr 25 · 303 km
  • From Clermont-Ferrand: 4 hr 07 · 358 km
  • From Montpellier: 4 hr 56 · 427 km
  • From Marseille: 5 hr 01 · 436 km
  • From Strasbourg: 5 hr 13 · 438 km
  • From Nancy: 5 hr 27 · 506 km
  • From Paris: 6 hr 16 · 582 km
  • From Perpignan: 6 hr 17 · 574 km
  • From Nice: 6 hr 22 · 514 km
  • From Toulouse: 7 hr 13 · 661 km
  • From Bordeaux: 8 hr 05 · 747 km
  • From Pau: 9 hr 08 · 851 km

Excluding traffic and winter conditions; passes closed in winter are avoided.

By train

Saint-Pierre-en-Faucigny station

regional station · then 24 min drive (19 km)

Nearest main station: Annecy, 42 min by road.

  • From Annecy station (stop “Gare Routiere”): line Y62 — ANNECY → LA CLUSAZ → LE GRAND-BORNAND (REGION - cars Région Haute-Savoie), 1 hr 10 to the “Gare Routiere” stop — 12 departures a day on weekdays, 8 a day at weekends · first 07:05, last 19:25 · timetable from 15 December 2026 to 15 April 2027 · official timetable ↗
  • From Annecy station (stop “Gare Routiere”): line Y63 — ANNECY → DINGY-SAINT-CLAIR → THONES (REGION - cars Région Haute-Savoie), 1 hr 45 to the “Gare Routiere” stop — 1 departure a day on weekdays, 2 a day at weekends · first 06:50, last 16:55 · timetable from 15 December 2026 to 15 April 2027 · official timetable ↗

Direct journeys read from the official timetable files published on transport.data.gouv.fr — no connections.

By plane

  • Genève (GVA): 1 hr 14 by road · 55 km
  • Chambéry-Savoie (CMF): 1 hr 19 by road · 83 km

Take me there

These links open the app with Le Grand-Bornand as the destination. Your starting point is never sent by us — the app asks you for it, if you agree.

Charging an electric car

2 charging stations within 2 km

5 charging points · up to 60 kW

  • LE GRAND BORNAND - Cimetière · EASYCHARGE · 3 points · 60 kW · 0.2 km
  • LE GRAND BORNAND - Cimetiere · EASYCHARGE · 2 points · 22 kW · 0.2 km

Freely accessible charge points read from the French national EV charging database (data.gouv.fr ↗, operators’ own declarations), checked on 9 October 2026. Check availability before you leave: the database says what is installed, not what is free tonight.

Road conditions

From 1 November to 31 March, snow chains or winter tyres are compulsory in most mountain areas (French “Loi Montagne II”).

Driving times computed on the OpenStreetMap road network (OSRM), SNCF stations (open data), airports (Wikidata). Indicative, not a timetable: allow extra time in snow.

Introduction from the English Wikipedia article (CC BY-SA).

Frequently asked questions

How high is Le Grand-Bornand?

Le Grand-Bornand sits at 1,300 m at village level, and its ski area rises to 2,100 m.

What is the longest piste in Le Grand-Bornand?

The longest piste is Les Prises: 4 km (blue run), for 395 m of vertical. Measured on the OpenStreetMap map, segments of the same name and level joined end to end, altitudes from the IGN RGE ALTI terrain model — a resort sometimes advertises a longer run by chaining several pistes.

How high do the lifts go in Le Grand-Bornand?

The highest lift, TSD du Lachat (detachable chairlift), tops out at 2,031 m. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How many lifts does Le Grand-Bornand have, and what is their capacity?

The French national register of mechanical lifts records 28 installations at Le Grand-Bornand (2 gondolas, 10 chairlifts, 11 drag lifts, 5 magic carpets), for an authorised capacity of 38,857 people per hour, of which 3,600 for TSD du Charmieux alone. The fleet spans 1962 to 2024, an average age of 29 years. This count covers the resort itself, magic carpets included, not the whole linked ski area — a resort brochure often announces a different number. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How much is a lift pass in Le Grand-Bornand?

The adult day pass costs €52 and the 6-day pass €260 (season not stated by the resort, declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association)).

How do I get to Le Grand-Bornand?

By road, Le Grand-Bornand is 42 min from Annecy (31 km), excluding traffic and winter conditions. By train, the nearest station is Saint-Pierre-en-Faucigny, 24 min by road from the resort. From Annecy station, line Y62 — ANNECY → LA CLUSAZ → LE GRAND-BORNAND (REGION - cars Région Haute-Savoie) reaches the “Gare Routiere” stop in 1 hr 10, 12 departures a day on weekdays, 8 a day at weekends. The nearest airport is Genève, 1 hr 14 away.

How long is the drive from Paris to Le Grand-Bornand?

6 hr 16 for 582 km from central Paris, excluding traffic and winter conditions. Computed on the real road network (OpenStreetMap): allow more on a school-holiday Saturday.

Is the snow reliable in Le Grand-Bornand?

Good snow from mid-January to mid-March. 86 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, and 472 cm of fresh snow, measured over 34 winters at the Météo-France “GRAND BORNAND” station. This verdict rests on 34 winters of Météo-France measurements (1992-2026); in season the daily report prevails.

Is Le Grand-Bornand good for beginners and families?

The resort holds the Famille Plus family label.

Nearby resorts

Full page in French. The French page carries the editorial guides and a few extra readings; every figure, webcam and price on this page is the same one. Le Grand-Bornand in French →

Every figure carries its source and date; a missing figure shows as “—”, never estimated. Embed this widget on your site