Valloire

Off season · opens 12 December 2026
Northern Alps Linked area Galibier-Thabor Updated on 23 September 2026
1,430 mVillage altitude
2,700 mTop of the ski area
160 kmLinked pistes · Galibier-Thabor
18Ski lifts
€52.30Adult day pass · Galibier-Thabor

Valloire is a ski resort in the Northern Alps (Savoie). The village sits at 1,430 m and the ski area rises to 2,700 m, a skiable vertical of 1,270 m.

Valloire — view of the resort
Photo: Wikimedia Commons

Live webcams

All webcams (8) →
Crey du QuartSkaping
Poingt RavierSkaping
▶ Watch at the operator ↗
Livele lecteur de l’opérateur refuse d’être intégré : la caméra s’ouvre chez lui

Each player is the camera operator’s own, loaded only when you ask for it — it may set its own trackers.

Official players of the resort, live image. 4 more cameras on the webcam page. Checked on 25 September 2026.

Snow, opening and weather

Snow report →

The domain is due to open on 12 December 2026. Open pistes and lifts will appear here as soon as the resort publishes its daily report.

Right now at the LES ROCHILLES-NIVOSE station (2,444 m)

Source: Météo-France, LES ROCHILLES-NIVOSE weather station, 9.4 km away. Hourly measurement — not the resort’s own snow report.

Good snow from mid-January to late February. 88 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, and 371 cm of fresh snow, measured over 32 winters at the Météo-France “ST-SORLIN D'ARVES” station. Fortnight by fortnight, over 32 measured winters →

3-day forecast

Village 1,430 m · top 2,700 m

Loading…

Forecast corrected for altitude; fresh snow = forecast total at the top; UV = peak of the day. Beyond 3 days, check the resort’s own report. Source:Open-Meteo.

7-day forecast →

SkiRadar ratings

How ratings are computed →Computed on 24 September 2026

Seven criteria rated from 1 to 5 stars, in half-stars, from this page's sourced data. A rating is a rank among the 315 French resorts we cover — 5 stars means “among the best in France on this point”, not “perfect”. Nobody types these in.

  1. SnowCan you count on the snow?
    3.5 / 5

    Top of the ski area: 2,700 m · Bottom of the pistes: 1,430 m · Days above 30 cm per winter, measured: 88 days · Days above 30 cm, December to March, model: 82%

  2. Ski areaIs there enough to ski all week?
    4 / 5

    Km skiable from the resort, linked area included: 160 km · Lifts: 18

  3. ValueIs the lift pass reasonable for what you get?
    3 / 5

    Adult day pass: €52.30 · Day pass price per km of pistes: €0.33/km · Adult 6-day pass: €265 · Price read at a neighbouring resort of the same area

  4. Families and beginnersIs it right for children and beginners?
    3.5 / 5

    Share of green and blue pistes: 53% · Magic carpets: 4 · ESF ski school · Ice rink, pool, rail sledge…: 3 · Famille Plus label

  5. AccessIs it easy to get to?
    3.5 / 5

    Average drive time from 20 major cities: 4 hr 39 · Nearest railway station: 19 min · Station-to-resort shuttles per day: 1 · Nearest airport: 1 hr 28

  6. Atmosphere and après-skiIs there life in the evening and off the slopes?
    3.5 / 5

    Bars and pubs: 8 · Nightclubs: 0 · Restaurants: 41 · Upcoming events: 0 · Collective tourist beds: 3,019 — index: what the map and the listings publish

  7. Luxury and comfortHow upmarket is the resort?
    1.5 / 5

    5-star hotels: 0 · 4-star hotels: 0 · Share of hotel rooms in 4 and 5 stars: 0% · Spas and saunas: 2 · Jewellers, watchmakers, fashion boutiques: 0 · Adult day pass: €52.30 — index: what the map and the listings publish

“Atmosphere” and “Luxury” are indexes: they count what OpenStreetMap and the event listings publish within 2.5 km (bars, nightclubs, rated hotels, spas, upcoming events), not what you experience there. A zero means “nothing mapped”, not “nothing there”. Sources per criterion: snow (altitudes declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), STRMTG register, OpenStreetMap; snow depth observed at the Météo-France station, ERA5-Land model) ; ski area (figures declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), national lift register (STRMTG), OpenStreetMap) ; value (the resort’s official price list) ; families and beginners (OpenStreetMap pistes, price list, ESF ski school, Famille Plus label, OpenStreetMap leisure) ; access (OSRM drive times from 20 cities, SNCF stations, GTFS shuttles, airports) ; atmosphere and après-ski (bars, nightclubs and restaurants within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap), upcoming events (OpenAgenda), collective tourist beds (INSEE)) ; luxury and comfort (rated hotels within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap) and by category across the commune (INSEE), spas and boutiques (OpenStreetMap), day pass price).

€265 6 days

Price declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association) — not the official price list, which prevails. Galibier-Thabor pass, covering the whole linked area. Season not stated by the resort. ANMSM ↗

Skiable vertical
1,270 m
Cross-country skiing
4 named trails — 16 km of marked loops (5.5 km of distinct track: the loops overlap), 2.3 km from the resort
Snowpark
Yes

Ski-area figures — village, bottom, top, km of the linked area: ANMSM — figures declared by the resort (25 Sept); lifts: STRMTG — French national lift register (1 Jan) . In a linked ski area the map cannot tell where the resort ends: its own km stay “n/a” until the resort declares them.

The ski area in figures

Measured on 9 September 2026
7 kmLongest piste — Selles (blue), 673 m of vertical
849 mBiggest vertical without changing piste — 2,493 → 1,643 m, 5 km
2,530 mHighest lift top — Brive 2 (detachable chairlift), national lift register
24,259Total lift capacity, people per hour — 18 installations: 1 gondola, 7 chairlifts, 6 drag lifts, 4 magic carpets
22 yrsAverage age of the lift fleet — oldest 1971, newest 2019
3,000Biggest lift, people per hour — Brive 2 (detachable chairlift, 2003)
30 kmTotal length of lifts — 32 lifts mapped
3,827 haSki area boundary (OSM)
1,064Inhabitants — Valloire (INSEE 73306)

Measured on OpenStreetMap (altitudes: IGN RGE ALTI), not taken from the brochure. The vertical above is that of one piste, not of the whole ski area. Population: INSEE municipal population via geo.api.gouv.fr.

Source: national register of mechanical lifts (STRMTG, CAIRN), fleet as of 1 January 2025 — lifts attributed to Valloire only (“VALLOIRE”), magic carpets included.

Staying and hiring gear in Valloire

The partners covering this resort, shown side by side, and the shop to kit out before you leave. Some links earn us a commission — never at the expense of the price or of the data.

Collective accommodation

3,019 bed spaces in tourist residences, holiday villages and hostels

  • 11 hotels · 249 rooms (4 × 3★, 6 × 2★, 1 × 1★)
  • 4 holiday villages and family centres · 507 bed spaces
  • 5 tourist residences and apartment hotels · 2,262 bed spaces
  • 1 youth hostel or sports centre · 250 bed spaces
  • 1 campsite · 78 pitches

Commune: Valloire · INSEE tourist accommodation survey, 2026, read on 12 September 2026. Collective accommodation only — privately let flats and second homes are not counted. INSEE dataset ↗

Stay & accommodation

Vacances Bleues
Club hotels and holiday villages, often full board.
See offers
Holidu
Holiday-rental comparison site.
See offers
Ski Planet
Self-catering flats and all-inclusive ski holidays at the foot of the slopes, since 1999.
See offers

Ski hire

Skiset UK
Skiset’s UK site: ski hire in the resort shops, booked in English, paid in pounds.
Book

Gear & equipment

Absolute Snow
UK ski and snowboard shop — delivers to UK addresses only.
Browse the shop
Hardloop
Mountain gear shop: ski touring, avalanche safety, winter clothing.
Browse the shop
Picture
Ski and snowboard jackets, pants and accessories — a French brand.
Browse the shop

All about staying in Valloire →

Beyond skiing at Valloire

Without skis on — 17 km of snowshoe and walking trails

Ice rink

  • Patinoire Philippe Candeloro · OpenStreetMap

Swimming pool

Spa and thermal baths

  • Les Sens des Cimes · OpenStreetMap

Dog sledding

  • MUSHING SPIRIT · Valloire · 0.3 km away

Paragliding

Museum

Cinema

  • Cinéma · Valloire · 0.3 km away
  • Cinéma de Valmeinier · Valmeinier · 5.1 km away
  • Cinéma · Montricher-Albanne · 7.3 km away
  • Cinéma Casse-Massion · Albiez-Montrond · 9 km away

Bowling

  • Le Mafayo · OpenStreetMap

Source: DATAtourisme (open data), within 10 km of the resort; places in a large town of the valley are left out. Checked on 12 September 2026. Lines marked OpenStreetMap come from the map, within 3 km — opening times on site. Opening times and prices are the operator’s — check before you go.

Ski schools and practical information

Ski school

ESF Valloire

📞 04 79 59 00 73

🌐 esf-valloire.fr

105 instructors

🇬🇧 52 English-speaking instructors — lessons in English available

🗓️ This school sells its lessons online — book ↗

Source: esf.net

All about the ski school in Valloire →

Resort contacts and documents

Shuttle timetable (PDF)
Arrêtsbus (declared by the resort, ANMSM)
Resort app
Android (declared by the resort, ANMSM)

In case of accident

112 — the European emergency number, free of charge, triggers mountain rescue. On the pistes, the ski patrol number is printed on the piste map and at lift ticket offices. Piste rescue is charged: check your insurance or take the option sold with the lift pass.

Resort data: declared by Office de Tourisme de Valloire and distributed by ANMSM · read on 25 September

Off the pistes: off-piste and ski touring

The resorts for off-piste skiing →
3 Marked off-piste itineraries · 4 km
4 km Ski touring routes

Named itineraries: Cotérieux · Chamois

Itineraries surveyed on OpenStreetMap within a 4 km radius (7 September 2026): “marked” means an itinerary exists on the map, not that it is open or safe on the day.

Ski touring routes described

12 ski touring routes documented within 10 km of Valloire — up to 1,369 m of climb.

Summit and routeSki gradeClimbAltitudeAspectFrom resort
Crey du Meigno · Versant SEn/a · PD1,100 m1,450 → 2,546 mSE2 km
Grande Chible · Versant SE - depuis Valloire3.3 · E2 · AD1,300 m1,644 → 2,932 mSE2.1 km
Crey Rond · Versant SEn/a · PD-1,170 m1,500 → 2,667 mSE2.6 km
Crey Rond · par les Balaisn/a · PD1,110 m1,550 → 2,667 mSE2.6 km

The other 8 routes, with grades and vertical →

Not a piste. Neither marked, nor patrolled, nor secured: transceiver, shovel, probe, the day’s avalanche bulletin and, better still, a guide. Ski grade (1.1–5.6) = steepness and commitment; exposure (E1–E4) = consequence of a fall.

Source: Camptocamp.org topo guide (CC BY-SA), routes starting within 10 km, read on 13 September 2026. Descriptions and photos are on Camptocamp; an empty cell is a field nobody has filled in. Camptocamp ski touring routes ↗

Official piste map

No downloadable piste map published by the resort.

Pistes coloured by level, lifts as lines. The resort’s official map is the reference in season.

Base map © OpenTopoMap (CC-BY-SA) · pistes © OpenSnowMap (CC-BY-SA) · data ©OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).

Getting to Valloire

From Paris: 7 hr 04 (673 km) by road.

By road

  • From Chambéry: 1 hr 17 · 104 km
  • From Grenoble: 1 hr 33 · 133 km
  • From Annecy: 1 hr 46 · 151 km
  • From Genève: 2 hr 16 · 189 km
  • From Lyon: 2 hr 27 · 202 km
From other major cities (15)
  • From Valence: 2 hr 37 · 226 km
  • From Saint-Étienne: 3 hr 01 · 251 km
  • From Dijon: 4 hr 19 · 403 km
  • From Clermont-Ferrand: 4 hr 20 · 371 km
  • From Marseille: 4 hr 28 · 313 km
  • From Besançon: 4 hr 35 · 361 km
  • From Montpellier: 4 hr 44 · 430 km
  • From Nice: 5 hr 06 · 410 km · avoids Col du Galibier, closed in winter
  • From Perpignan: 6 hr 05 · 578 km
  • From Nancy: 6 hr 26 · 614 km
  • From Strasbourg: 6 hr 31 · 578 km
  • From Toulouse: 7 hr 01 · 664 km
  • From Paris: 7 hr 04 · 673 km
  • From Bordeaux: 8 hr 18 · 758 km
  • From Pau: 8 hr 56 · 854 km

Excluding traffic and winter conditions; passes closed in winter are avoided.

By train

Saint-Michel - Valloire station

regional station · then 19 min drive (17 km)

Nearest main station: Chambéry - Challes-les-Eaux, 1 hr 15 by road.

  • From Saint-Michel - Valloire station (stop “College P.Mougin”): line S40 — ST-MICHEL DE MAURIENNE ↔ VALLOIRE (REGION - cars Région Savoie), 55 min to the “Les Granges” stop — 1 departure a day on weekdays · first 12:10, last 18:15 · timetable from 15 December 2026 to 15 April 2027 · official timetable ↗

Direct journeys read from the official timetable files published on transport.data.gouv.fr — no connections.

By plane

  • Chambéry-Savoie (CMF): 1 hr 28 by road · 111 km
  • Grenoble-Alpes-Isère (GNB): 2 hr 06 by road · 179 km

Take me there

These links open the app with Valloire as the destination. Your starting point is never sent by us — the app asks you for it, if you agree.

Charging an electric car

2 charging stations within 2 km

4 charging points · up to 24 kW

  • NNML -VALLOIRE - Rue des grandes Alpes · EASYCHARGE · 2 points · 22 kW · 0 km
  • Valloire-rue du Praz · EASYCHARGE · 2 points · 24 kW · 0.3 km

Freely accessible charge points read from the French national EV charging database (data.gouv.fr ↗, operators’ own declarations), checked on 9 September 2026. Check availability before you leave: the database says what is installed, not what is free tonight.

Road conditions

From 1 November to 31 March, snow chains or winter tyres are compulsory in most mountain areas (French “Loi Montagne II”).

Driving times computed on the OpenStreetMap road network (OSRM), SNCF stations (open data), airports (Wikidata). Indicative, not a timetable: allow extra time in snow.

The area offers 160 km of alpine pistes across Galibier-Thabor, 18 ski lifts, plus a snowpark.

Valloire belongs to the linked Galibier-Thabor area: one lift pass covers the neighbouring resorts.

Measured on the OpenStreetMap map: the longest piste runs 7 km (Selles) and the highest lift tops out at 2,738 m.

The resort holds the Famille Plus and Flocon Vert and Station classée de tourisme labels.

Access: 1 h 17 by road from Chambéry and 19 min from Saint-Michel - Valloire railway station.

6 official webcams show the pistes live (on the French page).

Frequently asked questions

How high is Valloire?

Valloire sits at 1,430 m at village level, and its ski area rises to 2,700 m.

How many kilometres of pistes does Valloire have?

From Valloire you can ski 160 km of slopes across Galibier-Thabor, 18 lifts.

What is the longest piste in Valloire?

The longest piste is Selles: 7 km (blue run), for 673 m of vertical. Measured on the OpenStreetMap map, segments of the same name and level joined end to end, altitudes from the IGN RGE ALTI terrain model — a resort sometimes advertises a longer run by chaining several pistes.

How high do the lifts go in Valloire?

The highest lift, Brive 2 (detachable chairlift), tops out at 2,530 m. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How many lifts does Valloire have, and what is their capacity?

The French national register of mechanical lifts records 18 installations at Valloire (1 gondola, 7 chairlifts, 6 drag lifts, 4 magic carpets), for an authorised capacity of 24,259 people per hour, of which 3,000 for Brive 2 alone. The fleet spans 1971 to 2019, an average age of 22 years. This count covers the resort itself, magic carpets included, not the whole linked ski area — a resort brochure often announces a different number. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How much is a lift pass in Valloire?

The adult day pass for the Galibier-Thabor linked area costs €52.30 and the 6-day pass €265 (season not stated by the resort, declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association)).

How do I get to Valloire?

By road, Valloire is 1 hr 17 from Chambéry (104 km), excluding traffic and winter conditions. By train, the nearest station is Saint-Michel - Valloire, 19 min by road from the resort. From Saint-Michel - Valloire station, line S40 — ST-MICHEL DE MAURIENNE ↔ VALLOIRE (REGION - cars Région Savoie) reaches the “Les Granges” stop in 55 min, 1 departure a day on weekdays. The nearest airport is Chambéry-Savoie, 1 hr 28 away.

How long is the drive from Paris to Valloire?

7 hr 04 for 673 km from central Paris, excluding traffic and winter conditions. Computed on the real road network (OpenStreetMap): allow more on a school-holiday Saturday.

When does Valloire open?

According to the official website, the resort opens on 12 December 2026 (2026-2027 season).

Is the snow reliable in Valloire?

Good snow from mid-January to late February. 88 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, and 371 cm of fresh snow, measured over 32 winters at the Météo-France “ST-SORLIN D'ARVES” station. This verdict rests on 32 winters of Météo-France measurements (1992-2026); in season the daily report prevails.

Is Valloire good for beginners and families?

The resort holds the Famille Plus family label.

Nearby resorts

Full page in French. The French page carries the editorial guides and a few extra readings; every figure, webcam and price on this page is the same one. Valloire in French →

Every figure carries its source and date; a missing figure shows as “—”, never estimated. Embed this widget on your site