Aussois

Northern Alps Updated on 21 September 2026
1,500 mVillage altitude
2,750 mTop of the ski area
43 kmAlpine pistes
10Ski lifts
€34.50Adult day pass

Aussois is a commune in the Vanoise Massif, in the Savoie department in the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes region in south-eastern France. The village is on the border of France's first National Park, the Vanoise National Park. Although not as well known as other resorts right on the other side of the mountain like Val Thorens, it is popular with the French as ski resort in winter and as mountain destination in summer. At 8 km (5.0 mi) from Modane, it is ideally located in the Maurienne region with good transport links in and out of Lyon, Geneva, Grenoble and Chambéry. Aussois can also be reached from Turin via the Fréjus Road Tunnel, linking Bardonecchia in Italy and Modane. Nearby Gare de Modane is a large railway station with a high-speed service (TGV) Paris - Chambéry - Turin - Milan. The resort offers 55 km (34 mi) of slopes, 21 slopes.

Aussois — view of the resort
Photo: Wikimedia Commons

Live webcams

All webcams (8) →
Sommet Armoise Open at the operator ↗
Le VillageSkaping
Sommet Grand JeuSkaping
Domaine Nordique du MonolitheSkaping

Each player is the camera operator’s own, loaded only when you ask for it — it may set its own trackers.

Official players of the resort, live image. 4 more cameras on the webcam page. Checked on 16 October 2026.

Snow, opening and weather

Snow report →

Open pistes and lifts will appear here during the season, as published by the resort. Out of season we show nothing rather than a misleading zero.

Right now at the LA NORMA_SAPC station (1,985 m)

Source: Météo-France, LA NORMA_SAPC weather station, 5.1 km away. Hourly measurement — not the resort’s own snow report.

Good snow from mid-January to mid-March. 94 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, and 372 cm of fresh snow, measured over 65 winters at the Météo-France “PRALOGNAN LA VANOISE” station. Fortnight by fortnight, over 65 measured winters →

3-day forecast

Village 1,500 m · top 2,750 m

Loading…

Forecast corrected for altitude; fresh snow = forecast total at the top; UV = peak of the day. Beyond 3 days, check the resort’s own report. Source:Open-Meteo.

7-day forecast →

SkiRadar ratings

How ratings are computed →Computed on 16 October 2026

Seven criteria rated from 1 to 5 stars, in half-stars, from this page's sourced data. A rating is a rank among the 315 French resorts we cover — 5 stars means “among the best in France on this point”, not “perfect”. Nobody types these in.

  1. SnowCan you count on the snow?
    4 / 5

    Top of the ski area: 2,750 m · Bottom of the pistes: 1,500 m · Days above 30 cm per winter, measured: 94 days · Days above 30 cm, December to March, model: 99%

  2. Ski areaIs there enough to ski all week?
    3.5 / 5

    Km of pistes at the resort: 43 km · Lifts: 10 · Balance between piste levels: 88%

  3. ValueIs the lift pass reasonable for what you get?
    3.5 / 5

    Adult day pass: €34.50 · Day pass price per km of pistes: €0.8/km · Adult 6-day pass: €179.50

  4. Families and beginnersIs it right for children and beginners?
    4 / 5

    Share of green and blue pistes: 74% · Magic carpets: 1 · Sledging runs: 3 · ESF ski school · Ice rink, pool, rail sledge…: 1 · Famille Plus label

  5. AccessIs it easy to get to?
    3 / 5

    Average drive time from 20 major cities: 4 hr 42 · Nearest railway station: 10 min · Station-to-resort shuttles per day: 0 · Nearest airport: 1 hr 32

  6. Atmosphere and après-skiIs there life in the evening and off the slopes?
    3 / 5

    Bars and pubs: 6 · Nightclubs: 0 · Restaurants: 12 · Upcoming events: 0 · Collective tourist beds: 1,955 — index: what the map and the listings publish

  7. Luxury and comfortHow upmarket is the resort?
    1 / 5

    5-star hotels: 0 · 4-star hotels: 0 · Share of hotel rooms in 4 and 5 stars: 0% · Spas and saunas: 0 · Jewellers, watchmakers, fashion boutiques: 0 · Adult day pass: €34.50 — index: what the map and the listings publish

“Atmosphere” and “Luxury” are indexes: they count what OpenStreetMap and the event listings publish within 2.5 km (bars, nightclubs, rated hotels, spas, upcoming events), not what you experience there. A zero means “nothing mapped”, not “nothing there”. Sources per criterion: snow (altitudes declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), STRMTG register, OpenStreetMap; snow depth observed at the Météo-France station, ERA5-Land model) ; ski area (figures declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), national lift register (STRMTG), OpenStreetMap) ; value (the resort’s official price list) ; families and beginners (OpenStreetMap pistes, price list, ESF ski school, Famille Plus label, OpenStreetMap leisure) ; access (OSRM drive times from 20 cities, SNCF stations, GTFS shuttles, airports) ; atmosphere and après-ski (bars, nightclubs and restaurants within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap), upcoming events (OpenAgenda), collective tourist beds (INSEE)) ; luxury and comfort (rated hotels within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap) and by category across the commune (INSEE), spas and boutiques (OpenStreetMap), day pass price).

€179.50 6 days

Price declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association) — not the official price list, which prevails. Season not stated by the resort. ANMSM ↗

87 pistes, by level

31 green33 blue18 red5 black
Skiable vertical
1,250 m
Cross-country skiing
5 named trails — 36 km of marked loops (18 km of distinct track: the loops overlap) · Domaine nordique du Monolithe area, 800 m from the resort
Snowpark
Yes

Ski-area figures — village, bottom, top: ANMSM — figures declared by the resort (16 Oct); km of pistes, pistes by level: OpenStreetMap (1 Oct); lifts: STRMTG — French national lift register (1 Jan) .

The ski area in figures

Measured on 7 October 2026
3 kmLongest piste — Route des Barrages (green), 309 m of vertical
787 mBiggest vertical without changing piste — 2,680 → 1,892 m, 2 km
2,670 mHighest lift top — Fournache (chairlift), national lift register
10,221Total lift capacity, people per hour — 10 installations: 4 chairlifts, 5 drag lifts, 1 magic carpet
25 yrsAverage age of the lift fleet — oldest 1971, newest 2024
2,400Biggest lift, people per hour — Grand Jeu (detachable chairlift, 2015)
7 kmTotal length of lifts — 9 lifts mapped
644 haSki area boundary (OSM)
676Inhabitants — Aussois (INSEE 73023)

Measured on OpenStreetMap (altitudes: IGN RGE ALTI), not taken from the brochure. The vertical above is that of one piste, not of the whole ski area. Population: INSEE municipal population via geo.api.gouv.fr.

Source: national register of mechanical lifts (STRMTG, CAIRN), fleet as of 1 January 2025 — lifts attributed to Aussois only (“AUSSOIS”), magic carpets included.

Staying and hiring gear in Aussois

The partners covering this resort, shown side by side, and the shop to kit out before you leave. Some links earn us a commission — never at the expense of the price or of the data.

Collective accommodation

1,955 bed spaces in tourist residences, holiday villages and hostels

  • 2 hotels · 25 rooms
  • 3 holiday villages and family centres · 827 bed spaces
  • 1 tourist residence or apartment hotel · 1,128 bed spaces
  • 1 campsite · 140 pitches

Commune: Aussois · INSEE tourist accommodation survey, 2026, read on 12 September 2026. Collective accommodation only — privately let flats and second homes are not counted. INSEE dataset ↗

Stay & accommodation

Holidu
Holiday-rental comparison site.
See offers
Ski Planet
Self-catering flats and all-inclusive ski holidays at the foot of the slopes, since 1999.
See offers
Montagne Vacances
Flats and chalets in the resort, at direct prices.
See offers

Ski hire

Skiset UK
Skiset’s UK site: ski hire in the resort shops, booked in English, paid in pounds.
Book

Gear & equipment

Absolute Snow
UK ski and snowboard shop — delivers to UK addresses only.
Browse the shop
Hardloop
Mountain gear shop: ski touring, avalanche safety, winter clothing.
Browse the shop
Picture
Ski and snowboard jackets, pants and accessories — a French brand.
Browse the shop

All about staying in Aussois →

Beyond skiing at Aussois

Without skis on — 11 km of snowshoe and walking trails · 3 sledging runs

Toboggan runs

  • Bob Park · Modane · 8.9 km away
  • Luge sur rail · OpenStreetMap

Swimming pool

Spa and thermal baths

Paragliding

  • Parapent'Oé - Vol biplace en parapente · Aussois · 0.2 km away
  • Sites d'envol et d'atterissage de parapente à Aussois · Aussois · 0.8 km away
  • Florian Gohet - Val Cenis Parapente · Val-Cenis · 6.5 km away
  • By Air parapente · Val-Cenis · 8 km away

Museum

Cinema

Source: DATAtourisme (open data), within 10 km of the resort; places in a large town of the valley are left out. Checked on 12 September 2026. Lines marked OpenStreetMap come from the map, within 3 km — opening times on site. Opening times and prices are the operator’s — check before you go.

Ski schools and practical information

Ski school

ESF Aussois

📞 04 79 20 37 13

🌐 esf-aussois.com

57 instructors

🇬🇧 40 English-speaking instructors — lessons in English available

🗓️ This school sells its lessons online — book ↗

Source: esf.net

All about the ski school in Aussois →

Resort contacts and documents

In case of accident

112 — the European emergency number, free of charge, triggers mountain rescue. On the pistes, the ski patrol number is printed on the piste map and at lift ticket offices. Piste rescue is charged: check your insurance or take the option sold with the lift pass.

Resort data: declared by Office de tourisme d'Aussois and distributed by ANMSM · read on 16 October

Off the pistes: off-piste and ski touring

The resorts for off-piste skiing →
0 Marked off-piste itineraries
2 km Ski touring routes

Itineraries surveyed on OpenStreetMap within a 4 km radius (7 September 2026): “marked” means an itinerary exists on the map, not that it is open or safe on the day.

Ski touring routes described

12 ski touring routes documented within 10 km of Aussois — up to 1,840 m of climb.

Summit and routeSki gradeClimbAltitudeAspectFrom resort
Source de la Fournette · Depuis plan de la Croix1.2 · E1 · F350 m1,600 → 1,920 mn/a1.6 km
Col du Barbier · depuis la station de pompage EDFn/a · PD970 m1,343 → 2,312 mS2.3 km
Col des Hauts · Versant SW2.1 · E1 · PD1,450 m1,530 → 2,979 mSW2.8 km
Pointe de Bellecôte · par le vallon de la fournache2.1 · E1 · PD+660 m2,585 → 3,139 mW2.9 km

The other 8 routes, with grades and vertical →

Not a piste. Neither marked, nor patrolled, nor secured: transceiver, shovel, probe, the day’s avalanche bulletin and, better still, a guide. Ski grade (1.1–5.6) = steepness and commitment; exposure (E1–E4) = consequence of a fall.

Source: Camptocamp.org topo guide (CC BY-SA), routes starting within 10 km, read on 13 October 2026. Descriptions and photos are on Camptocamp; an empty cell is a field nobody has filled in. Camptocamp ski touring routes ↗

Official piste map

No downloadable piste map published by the resort.

Pistes coloured by level, lifts as lines. The resort’s official map is the reference in season.

Base map © OpenTopoMap (CC-BY-SA) · pistes © OpenSnowMap (CC-BY-SA) · data ©OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).

Getting to Aussois

From Paris: 7 hr 08 (679 km) by road.

By road

  • From Chambéry: 1 hr 21 · 111 km
  • From Grenoble: 1 hr 37 · 140 km
  • From Annecy: 1 hr 50 · 158 km
  • From Genève: 2 hr 20 · 195 km
  • From Lyon: 2 hr 31 · 209 km
From other major cities (15)
  • From Valence: 2 hr 41 · 233 km
  • From Saint-Étienne: 3 hr 05 · 258 km
  • From Dijon: 4 hr 23 · 410 km
  • From Clermont-Ferrand: 4 hr 24 · 375 km
  • From Besançon: 4 hr 39 · 368 km
  • From Marseille: 4 hr 46 · 329 km
  • From Nice: 4 hr 47 · 389 km
  • From Montpellier: 4 hr 48 · 437 km
  • From Perpignan: 6 hr 09 · 585 km
  • From Nancy: 6 hr 30 · 621 km
  • From Strasbourg: 6 hr 35 · 585 km
  • From Toulouse: 7 hr 05 · 671 km
  • From Paris: 7 hr 08 · 679 km
  • From Bordeaux: 8 hr 22 · 764 km
  • From Pau: 9 hr 00 · 861 km

Excluding traffic and winter conditions; passes closed in winter are avoided.

By train

Modane station

regional station · then 10 min drive (9 km)

Nearest main station: Chambéry - Challes-les-Eaux, 1 hr 19 by road.

No direct bus line from the station to the resort appears in the open-data timetables (checked on 11 October 2026): ask the resort about a private shuttle or a taxi.

Shuttles and buses from the station: see the resort’s official website.

By plane

  • Chambéry-Savoie (CMF): 1 hr 32 by road · 118 km
  • Turin-Caselle (TRN): 1 hr 49 by road · 127 km

Take me there

These links open the app with Aussois as the destination. Your starting point is never sent by us — the app asks you for it, if you agree.

Charging an electric car

No freely accessible charge point is declared within 2 km of the resort (checked on 9 October 2026). Covered car parks in the resort may offer chargers reserved for their customers: those are not listed here.

Freely accessible charge points read from the French national EV charging database (data.gouv.fr ↗, operators’ own declarations), checked on 9 October 2026. Check availability before you leave: the database says what is installed, not what is free tonight.

Road conditions

From 1 November to 31 March, snow chains or winter tyres are compulsory in most mountain areas (French “Loi Montagne II”).

Driving times computed on the OpenStreetMap road network (OSRM), SNCF stations (open data), airports (Wikidata). Indicative, not a timetable: allow extra time in snow.

Introduction from the English Wikipedia article (CC BY-SA).

Frequently asked questions

How high is Aussois?

Aussois sits at 1,500 m at village level, and its ski area rises to 2,750 m.

How many kilometres of pistes does Aussois have?

Aussois has 43 km of slopes, 10 lifts.

What is the longest piste in Aussois?

The longest piste is Route des Barrages: 3 km (green run), for 309 m of vertical. Measured on the OpenStreetMap map, segments of the same name and level joined end to end, altitudes from the IGN RGE ALTI terrain model — a resort sometimes advertises a longer run by chaining several pistes.

How high do the lifts go in Aussois?

The highest lift, Fournache (chairlift), tops out at 2,670 m. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How many lifts does Aussois have, and what is their capacity?

The French national register of mechanical lifts records 10 installations at Aussois (4 chairlifts, 5 drag lifts, 1 magic carpet), for an authorised capacity of 10,221 people per hour, of which 2,400 for Grand Jeu alone. The fleet spans 1971 to 2024, an average age of 25 years. This count covers the resort itself, magic carpets included, not the whole linked ski area — a resort brochure often announces a different number. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How much is a lift pass in Aussois?

The adult day pass costs €34.50 and the 6-day pass €179.50 (season not stated by the resort, declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association)).

How do I get to Aussois?

By road, Aussois is 1 hr 21 from Chambéry (111 km), excluding traffic and winter conditions. By train, the nearest station is Modane, 10 min by road from the resort. No direct bus line from the station to the resort appears in the open-data timetables. The nearest airport is Chambéry-Savoie, 1 hr 32 away.

How long is the drive from Paris to Aussois?

7 hr 08 for 679 km from central Paris, excluding traffic and winter conditions. Computed on the real road network (OpenStreetMap): allow more on a school-holiday Saturday.

Is the snow reliable in Aussois?

Good snow from mid-January to mid-March. 94 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, and 372 cm of fresh snow, measured over 65 winters at the Météo-France “PRALOGNAN LA VANOISE” station. This verdict rests on 65 winters of Météo-France measurements (1959-2024); in season the daily report prevails.

Is Aussois good for beginners and families?

74% of the pistes are green or blue: a rather easy area. The resort holds the Famille Plus family label.

Nearby resorts

Full page in French. The French page carries the editorial guides and a few extra readings; every figure, webcam and price on this page is the same one. Aussois in French →

Every figure carries its source and date; a missing figure shows as “—”, never estimated. Embed this widget on your site