Valfréjus

Off season · opens 19 December 2026
Northern Alps Updated on 21 September 2026
1,550 mVillage altitude
2,737 mTop of the ski area
45 kmAlpine pistes
9Ski lifts
€29Adult day pass

Valfréjus is a ski resort in the Maurienne Valley, located in the commune of Modane, in the Savoie department in the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes region.

Valfréjus — view of the resort
Photo: Wikimedia Commons

Live webcams

All webcams (7) →
PuntabagnaSkaping
Puntabagna Location ValfréjusSkaping
Petit VallonSkaping

Each player is the camera operator’s own, loaded only when you ask for it — it may set its own trackers.

Official players of the resort, live image. 3 more cameras on the webcam page. Checked on 16 October 2026.

Snow, opening and weather

Snow report →

The domain is due to open on 19 December 2026 and close on 10 April 2027. Open pistes and lifts will appear here as soon as the resort publishes its daily report.

Right now at the LA NORMA_SAPC station (1,985 m)

Source: Météo-France, LA NORMA_SAPC weather station, 4.3 km away. Hourly measurement — not the resort’s own snow report.

Good snow from early February to mid-March. 93 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, and 355 cm of fresh snow, measured over 24 winters at the Météo-France “Les Menuires” station. Fortnight by fortnight, over 24 measured winters →

3-day forecast

Village 1,550 m · top 2,737 m

Loading…

Forecast corrected for altitude; fresh snow = forecast total at the top; UV = peak of the day. Beyond 3 days, check the resort’s own report. Source:Open-Meteo.

7-day forecast →

SkiRadar ratings

How ratings are computed →Computed on 11 October 2026

Seven criteria rated from 1 to 5 stars, in half-stars, from this page's sourced data. A rating is a rank among the 315 French resorts we cover — 5 stars means “among the best in France on this point”, not “perfect”. Nobody types these in.

  1. SnowCan you count on the snow?
    4 / 5

    Top of the ski area: 2,737 m · Bottom of the pistes: 1,550 m · Days above 30 cm per winter, measured: 93 days · Days above 30 cm, December to March, model: 100%

  2. Ski areaIs there enough to ski all week?
    3.5 / 5

    Km of pistes at the resort: 45 km · Lifts: 9 · Balance between piste levels: 92%

  3. ValueIs the lift pass reasonable for what you get?
    3.5 / 5

    Adult day pass: €29 · Day pass price per km of pistes: €0.64/km · Adult 6-day pass: €148

  4. Families and beginnersIs it right for children and beginners?
    2.5 / 5

    Share of green and blue pistes: 50% · Magic carpets: 2 · Sledging runs: 2 · ESF ski school · Ice rink, pool, rail sledge…: 1

  5. AccessIs it easy to get to?
    3 / 5

    Average drive time from 20 major cities: 4 hr 42 · Nearest railway station: 16 min · Station-to-resort shuttles per day: 0 · Nearest airport: 1 hr 33

  6. Atmosphere and après-skiIs there life in the evening and off the slopes?
    3 / 5

    Bars and pubs: 5 · Nightclubs: 0 · Restaurants: 17 · Upcoming events: 0 · Collective tourist beds: 933 — index: what the map and the listings publish

  7. Luxury and comfortHow upmarket is the resort?
    2 / 5

    5-star hotels: 0 · 4-star hotels: 0 · Share of hotel rooms in 4 and 5 stars: 0% · Spas and saunas: 1 · Jewellers, watchmakers, fashion boutiques: 1 · Adult day pass: €29 — index: what the map and the listings publish

“Atmosphere” and “Luxury” are indexes: they count what OpenStreetMap and the event listings publish within 2.5 km (bars, nightclubs, rated hotels, spas, upcoming events), not what you experience there. A zero means “nothing mapped”, not “nothing there”. Sources per criterion: snow (altitudes declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), STRMTG register, OpenStreetMap; snow depth observed at the Météo-France station, ERA5-Land model) ; ski area (figures declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), national lift register (STRMTG), OpenStreetMap) ; value (the resort’s official price list) ; families and beginners (OpenStreetMap pistes, price list, ESF ski school, Famille Plus label, OpenStreetMap leisure) ; access (OSRM drive times from 20 cities, SNCF stations, GTFS shuttles, airports) ; atmosphere and après-ski (bars, nightclubs and restaurants within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap), upcoming events (OpenAgenda), collective tourist beds (INSEE)) ; luxury and comfort (rated hotels within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap) and by category across the commune (INSEE), spas and boutiques (OpenStreetMap), day pass price).

€148 6 days

Price declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association) — not the official price list, which prevails. Season not stated by the resort. ANMSM ↗

30 pistes, by level

4 green11 blue11 red4 black
Skiable vertical
1,187 m
Snowpark
1 mapped zone, 1.5 km from the resort — Boarder Cross (intermediate)

Ski-area figures — village, bottom, top, lifts, pistes by level: ANMSM — figures declared by the resort (16 Oct); km of pistes: OpenStreetMap (1 Oct) . The national register attributes 12 lifts to Valfréjus alone; the figure above comes from the most reliable source.

The ski area in figures

Measured on 7 October 2026
3 kmLongest piste — Combe (blue), 382 m of vertical
382 mBiggest vertical without changing piste — 2,723 → 2,340 m, 3 km
2,731 mHighest lift top — Punta Bagna (detachable chairlift), national lift register
14,863Total lift capacity, people per hour — 12 installations: 1 gondola, 4 chairlifts, 5 drag lifts, 2 magic carpets
20 yrsAverage age of the lift fleet — oldest 1985, newest 2019
2,200Biggest lift, people per hour — Punta Bagna (detachable chairlift, 2009)
6 kmTotal length of lifts — 8 lifts mapped
1,199 haSki area boundary (OSM)
2,849Inhabitants — Modane (INSEE 73157)

Measured on OpenStreetMap (altitudes: IGN RGE ALTI), not taken from the brochure. The vertical above is that of one piste, not of the whole ski area. Population: INSEE municipal population via geo.api.gouv.fr.

Source: national register of mechanical lifts (STRMTG, CAIRN), fleet as of 1 January 2025 — lifts attributed to Valfréjus only (“VAL FREJUS”), magic carpets included.

Staying and hiring gear in Valfréjus

The partners covering this resort, shown side by side, and the shop to kit out before you leave. Some links earn us a commission — never at the expense of the price or of the data.

Collective accommodation

933 bed spaces in tourist residences, holiday villages and hostels

  • 6 hotels · 235 rooms (1 × 3★, 3 × 2★)
  • 3 tourist residences and apartment hotels · 883 bed spaces
  • 1 youth hostel or sports centre · 50 bed spaces
  • 1 campsite · 57 pitches

Commune: Modane · INSEE tourist accommodation survey, 2026, read on 12 September 2026. Collective accommodation only — privately let flats and second homes are not counted. INSEE dataset ↗

Stay & accommodation

Sowell
Club hotels and flats in the resorts, northern and southern Alps.
See offers
Holidu
Holiday-rental comparison site.
See offers
Ski Planet
Self-catering flats and all-inclusive ski holidays at the foot of the slopes, since 1999.
See offers

Ski hire

Skiset UK
Skiset’s UK site: ski hire in the resort shops, booked in English, paid in pounds.
Book

Gear & equipment

Absolute Snow
UK ski and snowboard shop — delivers to UK addresses only.
Browse the shop
Hardloop
Mountain gear shop: ski touring, avalanche safety, winter clothing.
Browse the shop
Picture
Ski and snowboard jackets, pants and accessories — a French brand.
Browse the shop

All about staying in Valfréjus →

Beyond skiing at Valfréjus

Without skis on — 2 sledging runs

Toboggan runs

Swimming pool

Spa and thermal baths

Paragliding

Museum

Cinema

Source: DATAtourisme (open data), within 10 km of the resort; places in a large town of the valley are left out. Checked on 12 September 2026. Lines marked OpenStreetMap come from the map, within 3 km — opening times on site. Opening times and prices are the operator’s — check before you go.

Ski schools and practical information

Ski school

ESF Valfrejus

📞 04 79 05 05 97

🌐 esf-valfrejus.com

38 instructors

🇬🇧 26 English-speaking instructors — lessons in English available

🗓️ This school sells its lessons online — book ↗

Source: esf.net

All about the ski school in Valfréjus →

Resort contacts and documents

In case of accident

112 — the European emergency number, free of charge, triggers mountain rescue. On the pistes, the ski patrol number is printed on the piste map and at lift ticket offices. Piste rescue is charged: check your insurance or take the option sold with the lift pass.

Resort data: declared by Office de Tourisme de Modane-Valfréjus and distributed by ANMSM · read on 16 October

Off the pistes: off-piste and ski touring

The resorts for off-piste skiing →
3 Marked off-piste itineraries · 3 km
— Ski touring routes

Named itineraries: Corniche · Punta Bagna

Itineraries surveyed on OpenStreetMap within a 4 km radius (7 September 2026): “marked” means an itinerary exists on the map, not that it is open or safe on the day.

Ski touring routes described

12 ski touring routes documented within 10 km of Valfréjus — up to 1,600 m of climb.

Summit and routeSki gradeClimbAltitudeAspectFrom resort
Col de Fontaine Froide · Traversée W -E du col de Fontaine Froide par le col de la vallée étroite2.3 · E1 · PD-1,020 m1,600 → 2,541 mN · NW · W · SW · S · NE0.6 km
Col de Névache · Traversée Valfréjus - Valloire2.3 · E1n/a3,080 mSE0.6 km
Pointe des Sarrasins · Traversée NW >> SW3.1 · E1 · AD-1,600 m1,548 → 2,963 mSW · S · E · NE · N2.1 km
Le Truc · Versant E - depuis Valfréjusn/a · F1,000 m1,500 → 2,500 mE2.3 km

The other 8 routes, with grades and vertical →

Not a piste. Neither marked, nor patrolled, nor secured: transceiver, shovel, probe, the day’s avalanche bulletin and, better still, a guide. Ski grade (1.1–5.6) = steepness and commitment; exposure (E1–E4) = consequence of a fall.

Source: Camptocamp.org topo guide (CC BY-SA), routes starting within 10 km, read on 13 October 2026. Descriptions and photos are on Camptocamp; an empty cell is a field nobody has filled in. Camptocamp ski touring routes ↗

Official piste map

No downloadable piste map published by the resort.

Pistes coloured by level, lifts as lines. The resort’s official map is the reference in season.

Base map © OpenTopoMap (CC-BY-SA) · pistes © OpenSnowMap (CC-BY-SA) · data ©OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).

Getting to Valfréjus

From Paris: 7 hr 09 (678 km) by road.

By road

  • From Chambéry: 1 hr 21 · 109 km
  • From Grenoble: 1 hr 38 · 138 km
  • From Annecy: 1 hr 50 · 156 km
  • From Genève: 2 hr 20 · 194 km
  • From Lyon: 2 hr 32 · 207 km
From other major cities (15)
  • From Valence: 2 hr 41 · 231 km
  • From Saint-Étienne: 3 hr 05 · 256 km
  • From Dijon: 4 hr 24 · 408 km
  • From Clermont-Ferrand: 4 hr 25 · 373 km
  • From Besançon: 4 hr 40 · 366 km
  • From Marseille: 4 hr 43 · 324 km
  • From Nice: 4 hr 44 · 384 km
  • From Montpellier: 4 hr 48 · 435 km
  • From Perpignan: 6 hr 10 · 583 km
  • From Nancy: 6 hr 31 · 619 km
  • From Strasbourg: 6 hr 35 · 583 km
  • From Toulouse: 7 hr 06 · 669 km
  • From Paris: 7 hr 09 · 678 km
  • From Bordeaux: 8 hr 23 · 762 km
  • From Pau: 9 hr 00 · 859 km

Excluding traffic and winter conditions; passes closed in winter are avoided.

By train

Modane station

regional station · then 16 min drive (10 km)

Nearest main station: Chambéry - Challes-les-Eaux, 1 hr 20 by road.

No direct bus line from the station to the resort appears in the open-data timetables (checked on 11 October 2026): ask the resort about a private shuttle or a taxi.

Shuttles and buses from the station: see the resort’s official website.

By plane

  • Chambéry-Savoie (CMF): 1 hr 33 by road · 116 km
  • Turin-Caselle (TRN): 1 hr 46 by road · 123 km

Take me there

These links open the app with Valfréjus as the destination. Your starting point is never sent by us — the app asks you for it, if you agree.

Charging an electric car

1 charging station within 2 km

2 charging points · up to 24 kW

  • MODANE - Rue des Bettets (val Frejus) · EASYCHARGE · 2 points · 24 kW · 0 km

Freely accessible charge points read from the French national EV charging database (data.gouv.fr ↗, operators’ own declarations), checked on 9 October 2026. Check availability before you leave: the database says what is installed, not what is free tonight.

Road conditions

From 1 November to 31 March, snow chains or winter tyres are compulsory in most mountain areas (French “Loi Montagne II”).

Driving times computed on the OpenStreetMap road network (OSRM), SNCF stations (open data), airports (Wikidata). Indicative, not a timetable: allow extra time in snow.

Introduction from the English Wikipedia article (CC BY-SA).

Frequently asked questions

How high is Valfréjus?

Valfréjus sits at 1,550 m at village level, and its ski area rises to 2,737 m.

How many kilometres of pistes does Valfréjus have?

Valfréjus has 45 km of slopes, 9 lifts.

What is the longest piste in Valfréjus?

The longest piste is Combe: 3 km (blue run), for 382 m of vertical. Measured on the OpenStreetMap map, segments of the same name and level joined end to end, altitudes from the IGN RGE ALTI terrain model — a resort sometimes advertises a longer run by chaining several pistes.

How high do the lifts go in Valfréjus?

The highest lift, Punta Bagna (detachable chairlift), tops out at 2,731 m. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How many lifts does Valfréjus have, and what is their capacity?

The French national register of mechanical lifts records 12 installations at Valfréjus (1 gondola, 4 chairlifts, 5 drag lifts, 2 magic carpets), for an authorised capacity of 14,863 people per hour, of which 2,200 for Punta Bagna alone. The fleet spans 1985 to 2019, an average age of 20 years. This count covers the resort itself, magic carpets included, not the whole linked ski area — a resort brochure often announces a different number. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How much is a lift pass in Valfréjus?

The adult day pass costs €29 and the 6-day pass €148 (season not stated by the resort, declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association)).

How do I get to Valfréjus?

By road, Valfréjus is 1 hr 21 from Chambéry (109 km), excluding traffic and winter conditions. By train, the nearest station is Modane, 16 min by road from the resort. No direct bus line from the station to the resort appears in the open-data timetables. The nearest airport is Chambéry-Savoie, 1 hr 33 away.

How long is the drive from Paris to Valfréjus?

7 hr 09 for 678 km from central Paris, excluding traffic and winter conditions. Computed on the real road network (OpenStreetMap): allow more on a school-holiday Saturday.

When does Valfréjus open?

According to the official website, the resort opens on 19 December 2026 and closes on 10 April 2027 (2026-2027 season).

Is the snow reliable in Valfréjus?

Good snow from early February to mid-March. 93 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, and 355 cm of fresh snow, measured over 24 winters at the Météo-France “Les Menuires” station. This verdict rests on 24 winters of Météo-France measurements (1972-2023); in season the daily report prevails.

Is Valfréjus good for beginners and families?

50% of the pistes are green or blue: a rather technical area.

Nearby resorts

Full page in French. The French page carries the editorial guides and a few extra readings; every figure, webcam and price on this page is the same one. Valfréjus in French →

Every figure carries its source and date; a missing figure shows as “—”, never estimated. Embed this widget on your site