Bernex
Off seasonBernex is a ski resort in the Northern Alps (Haute-Savoie). The village sits at 1,000 m and the ski area rises to 2,000 m, a skiable vertical of 1,000 m.

Live webcams
All webcams (4) →Each player is the camera operator’s own, loaded only when you ask for it — it may set its own trackers.
Official players of the resort, live image. Checked on 25 September 2026.
Snow, opening and weather
Snow report →Open pistes and lifts will appear here during the season, as published by the resort. Out of season we show nothing rather than a misleading zero.
Avalanche danger
Reliable snow mainly in the first half of February; more irregular the rest of the winter. 70 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, and 326 cm of fresh snow, measured over 39 winters at the Météo-France “CHATEL” station. Fortnight by fortnight, over 39 measured winters →
3-day forecast
Village 1,000 m · top 2,000 m
Forecast corrected for altitude; fresh snow = forecast total at the top; UV = peak of the day. Beyond 3 days, check the resort’s own report. Source:Open-Meteo.
Seven criteria rated from 1 to 5 stars, in half-stars, from this page's sourced data. A rating is a rank among the 315 French resorts we cover — 5 stars means “among the best in France on this point”, not “perfect”. Nobody types these in.
- SnowCan you count on the snow?2.5 / 5
Top of the ski area: 2,000 m · Bottom of the pistes: 1,000 m · Days above 30 cm per winter, measured: 70 days · Days above 30 cm, December to March, model: 96%
- Ski areaIs there enough to ski all week?3.5 / 5
Km skiable from the resort, linked area included: 70 km · Lifts: 14
- ValueIs the lift pass reasonable for what you get?4.5 / 5
Adult day pass: €24.50
- Families and beginnersIs it right for children and beginners?2.5 / 5
Share of green and blue pistes: 68% · Magic carpets: 0 · ESF ski school · Ice rink, pool, rail sledge…: 2
- AccessIs it easy to get to?3.5 / 5
Average drive time from 20 major cities: 4 hr 51 · Nearest railway station: 20 min · Station-to-resort shuttles per day: 5 · Nearest airport: 1 hr 30
- Atmosphere and après-skiIs there life in the evening and off the slopes?1.5 / 5
Bars and pubs: 0 · Nightclubs: 0 · Restaurants: 7 · Upcoming events: 0 · Collective tourist beds: 0 — index: what the map and the listings publish
- Luxury and comfortHow upmarket is the resort?1 / 5
5-star hotels: 0 · 4-star hotels: 0 · Spas and saunas: 0 · Jewellers, watchmakers, fashion boutiques: 0 · Adult day pass: €24.50 — index: what the map and the listings publish
“Atmosphere” and “Luxury” are indexes: they count what OpenStreetMap and the event listings publish within 2.5 km (bars, nightclubs, rated hotels, spas, upcoming events), not what you experience there. A zero means “nothing mapped”, not “nothing there”. Sources per criterion: snow (altitudes declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), STRMTG register, OpenStreetMap; snow depth observed at the Météo-France station, ERA5-Land model) ; ski area (figures declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), national lift register (STRMTG), OpenStreetMap) ; value (the resort’s official price list) ; families and beginners (OpenStreetMap pistes, price list, ESF ski school, Famille Plus label, OpenStreetMap leisure) ; access (OSRM drive times from 20 cities, SNCF stations, GTFS shuttles, airports) ; atmosphere and après-ski (bars, nightclubs and restaurants within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap), upcoming events (OpenAgenda), collective tourist beds (INSEE)) ; luxury and comfort (rated hotels within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap) and by category across the commune (INSEE), spas and boutiques (OpenStreetMap), day pass price).
Lift passes
All prices (child, family, season) →Price declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association) — not the official price list, which prevails. Season not stated by the resort. ANMSM ↗
- Skiable vertical
- 1,000 m
- Cross-country skiing
- 5 km of nordic trails
- Snowpark
- Yes
Ski-area figures — village, bottom, top, km of the linked area: ANMSM — figures declared by the resort (25 Sept); lifts: STRMTG — French national lift register (1 Jan) . In a linked ski area the map cannot tell where the resort ends: its own km stay “n/a” until the resort declares them.
The ski area in figures
Measured on 9 September 2026Measured on OpenStreetMap (altitudes: IGN RGE ALTI), not taken from the brochure. The vertical above is that of one piste, not of the whole ski area. Population: INSEE municipal population via geo.api.gouv.fr.
Source: national register of mechanical lifts (STRMTG, CAIRN), fleet as of 1 January 2025 — lifts attributed to Bernex only (“BERNEX”), magic carpets included.
Staying and hiring gear in Bernex
The partners covering this resort, shown side by side, and the shop to kit out before you leave. Some links earn us a commission — never at the expense of the price or of the data.
Stay & accommodation
Ski hire
Gear & equipment
Beyond skiing at Bernex
Without skis on — 2 km of snowshoe and walking trails
Toboggan runs
- BobKart · Bernex · 0.5 km away
Swimming pool
- Centre nautique · Évian-les-Bains · 9.5 km away
Paragliding
- Thollon Parapente · Thollon-les-Mémises · 3.9 km away
- Ecole de Parapente : Air Léman · Thollon-les-Mémises · 4.4 km away
Cinema
- Cinéma "Le Royal" · Évian-les-Bains · 8.6 km away
- Le Starting Block · 1.2 km away · OpenStreetMap
Bowling
- 2.6 km away · OpenStreetMap
Source: DATAtourisme (open data), within 10 km of the resort; places in a large town of the valley are left out. Checked on 12 September 2026. Lines marked OpenStreetMap come from the map, within 3 km — opening times on site. Opening times and prices are the operator’s — check before you go.
Ski schools and practical information
Ski school
ESF Bernex
52 instructors
🇬🇧 40 English-speaking instructors — lessons in English available
🗓️ This school sells its lessons online — book ↗
Source: esf.net
Resort contacts and documents
- Tourist office
- Bernex Dent d'Oche · 20 Route du Champ de Foire, 74500 · 0450736072 · bernex@ot-peva.com (declared by the resort, ANMSM)
- Resort app
- Android (declared by the resort, ANMSM)
In case of accident
112 — the European emergency number, free of charge, triggers mountain rescue. On the pistes, the ski patrol number is printed on the piste map and at lift ticket offices. Piste rescue is charged: check your insurance or take the option sold with the lift pass.
Resort data: declared by Bernex Dent d'Oche and distributed by ANMSM · read on 25 September
Off the pistes: off-piste and ski touring
The resorts for off-piste skiing →Named itineraries: Les Gentianes
Itineraries surveyed on OpenStreetMap within a 4 km radius (7 September 2026): “marked” means an itinerary exists on the map, not that it is open or safe on the day.
Ski touring routes described
12 ski touring routes documented within 10 km of Bernex — up to 1,700 m of climb.
| Summit and route | Ski grade | Climb | Altitude | Aspect | From resort |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pointe de Pelluaz · Depuis Bernex : boucle Mt Baron - Pelluaz - lac de la Case | 2.1 · E1 · PD+ | 1,190 m | 988 → 1,908 m | n/a | 0.1 km |
| Mont Baron · En boucle depuis Bernex | 1.3 · E1 · F | 746 m | 940 → 1,566 m | N | 0.6 km |
| Pointe de Pelluaz · En traversée | n/a · PD- | 1,000 m | 990 → 1,908 m | N | 1.4 km |
| Pointe de Pelluaz · Par les pistes | 2.1 · E1 · PD | 918 m | 990 → 1,908 m | N | 1.4 km |
The other 8 routes, with grades and vertical →
Source: Camptocamp.org topo guide (CC BY-SA), routes starting within 10 km, read on 13 September 2026. Descriptions and photos are on Camptocamp; an empty cell is a field nobody has filled in. Camptocamp ski touring routes ↗
Piste map
Open on OpenSnowMap ↗Official piste map
Pistes coloured by level, lifts as lines. The resort’s official map is the reference in season.
Base map © OpenTopoMap (CC-BY-SA) · pistes © OpenSnowMap (CC-BY-SA) · data ©OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).
Getting to Bernex
From Paris: 6 hr 42 (596 km) by road.
By road
- From Genève: 1 hr 05 · 53 km
- From Annecy: 1 hr 34 · 101 km
- From Chambéry: 2 hr 01 · 143 km
- From Grenoble: 2 hr 35 · 198 km
- From Lyon: 2 hr 50 · 204 km
From other major cities (15)
- From Besançon: 3 hr 01 · 194 km
- From Saint-Étienne: 3 hr 33 · 279 km
- From Valence: 3 hr 33 · 300 km
- From Dijon: 3 hr 50 · 317 km
- From Strasbourg: 4 hr 27 · 368 km
- From Clermont-Ferrand: 4 hr 32 · 375 km
- From Nancy: 5 hr 36 · 441 km
- From Montpellier: 5 hr 40 · 505 km
- From Marseille: 5 hr 45 · 514 km
- From Paris: 6 hr 42 · 596 km
- From Nice: 7 hr 00 · 553 km
- From Perpignan: 7 hr 02 · 653 km
- From Toulouse: 7 hr 58 · 739 km
- From Bordeaux: 8 hr 31 · 762 km
- From Pau: 9 hr 52 · 929 km
Excluding traffic and winter conditions; passes closed in winter are avoided.
By train
Évian-les-Bains station
regional station · then 20 min drive (14 km)
Nearest main station: Annecy, 1 hr 32 by road.
- From Évian-les-Bains station (stop “GARE SNCF EVIAN”): line 11B — Évian Gare SNCF ↔ Bernex Station (EVIAN - ÉVA'D), 30 min to the “EGLISE” stop — 5 departures a day on weekdays, 3 a day at weekends · first 08:45, last 18:55 · timetable from 15 December 2026 to 15 April 2027 · official timetable ↗
Direct journeys read from the official timetable files published on transport.data.gouv.fr — no connections.
By plane
- Genève (GVA): 1 hr 30 by road · 61 km
- Chambéry-Savoie (CMF): 2 hr 05 by road · 142 km
Take me there
These links open the app with Bernex as the destination. Your starting point is never sent by us — the app asks you for it, if you agree.
Charging an electric car
1 charging station within 2 km
2 charging points · up to 24 kW
- BERNEX - Devant la mairie · EASYCHARGE · 2 points · 24 kW · 1.1 km
Freely accessible charge points read from the French national EV charging database (data.gouv.fr ↗, operators’ own declarations), checked on 9 September 2026. Check availability before you leave: the database says what is installed, not what is free tonight.
Road conditions
From 1 November to 31 March, snow chains or winter tyres are compulsory in most mountain areas (French “Loi Montagne II”).
Driving times computed on the OpenStreetMap road network (OSRM), SNCF stations (open data), airports (Wikidata). Indicative, not a timetable: allow extra time in snow.
The area offers 70 km of alpine pistes across Thollon Les Mémises, 14 ski lifts, plus a snowpark.
Measured on the OpenStreetMap map: the longest piste runs 2 km (Route de la Dent d'Oche) and the highest lift tops out at 1,870 m.
The resort holds the Station Verte label.
Access: 1 h 05 by road from Genève and 20 min from Évian-les-Bains railway station.
4 official webcams show the pistes live (on the French page).
Frequently asked questions
How high is Bernex?
Bernex sits at 1,000 m at village level, and its ski area rises to 2,000 m.
How many kilometres of pistes does Bernex have?
From Bernex you can ski 70 km of slopes across Thollon Les Mémises, 14 lifts.
What is the longest piste in Bernex?
The longest piste is Route de la Dent d'Oche: 2 km (blue run), for 231 m of vertical. Measured on the OpenStreetMap map, segments of the same name and level joined end to end, altitudes from the IGN RGE ALTI terrain model — a resort sometimes advertises a longer run by chaining several pistes.
How high do the lifts go in Bernex?
The highest lift, TS de Pelluaz (chairlift), tops out at 1,871 m. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.
How many lifts does Bernex have, and what is their capacity?
The French national register of mechanical lifts records 14 installations at Bernex (3 chairlifts, 11 drag lifts), for an authorised capacity of 13,535 people per hour, of which 2,040 for TSD de Pré Richard alone. The fleet spans 1974 to 2018, an average age of 30 years. This count covers the resort itself, magic carpets included, not the whole linked ski area — a resort brochure often announces a different number. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.
How much is a lift pass in Bernex?
The adult day pass costs €24.50 (season not stated by the resort, declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association)).
How do I get to Bernex?
By road, Bernex is 1 hr 05 from Genève (53 km), excluding traffic and winter conditions. By train, the nearest station is Évian-les-Bains, 20 min by road from the resort. From Évian-les-Bains station, line 11B — Évian Gare SNCF ↔ Bernex Station (EVIAN - ÉVA'D) reaches the “EGLISE” stop in 30 min, 5 departures a day on weekdays, 3 a day at weekends. The nearest airport is Genève, 1 hr 30 away.
How long is the drive from Paris to Bernex?
6 hr 42 for 596 km from central Paris, excluding traffic and winter conditions. Computed on the real road network (OpenStreetMap): allow more on a school-holiday Saturday.
Is the snow reliable in Bernex?
Reliable snow mainly in the first half of February; more irregular the rest of the winter. 70 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, and 326 cm of fresh snow, measured over 39 winters at the Météo-France “CHATEL” station. This verdict rests on 39 winters of Météo-France measurements (1983-2022); in season the daily report prevails.
Nearby resorts
Every figure carries its source and date; a missing figure shows as “—”, never estimated. Embed this widget on your site