Font-Romeu

Off season · opens 4 December 2026
Pyrenees Updated on 21 September 2026
1,800 mVillage altitude
2,213 mTop of the ski area
34 kmAlpine pistes
24Ski lifts
€47.50Adult day pass

Font-Romeu is a winter sports resort in the French Pyrenees located in the Pyrénées-Orientales, in the Occitanie region. Together with the resort Bolquère - Pyrénées 2000, it forms the Font-Romeu Pyrénées 2000 ski area. It is in the territory of the commune of Font-Romeu-Odeillo-Via.

Font-Romeu — view of the resort
Photo: Wikimedia Commons

Font-Romeu webcams

Font-Romeu broadcasts its images on its own page: the link takes you there. 2 more cameras on the webcam page. Checked on 16 October 2026.

Snow, opening and weather

Snow report →

The domain is due to open on 4 December 2026. Open pistes and lifts will appear here as soon as the resort publishes its daily report.

Right now at the TARGASONNE station (1,600 m)

Source: Météo-France, TARGASONNE weather station, 5.4 km away. Hourly measurement — not the resort’s own snow report.

3-day forecast

Village 1,800 m · top 2,213 m

Loading…

Forecast corrected for altitude; fresh snow = forecast total at the top; UV = peak of the day. Beyond 3 days, check the resort’s own report. Source:Open-Meteo.

7-day forecast →

SkiRadar ratings

How ratings are computed →Computed on 16 October 2026

Seven criteria rated from 1 to 5 stars, in half-stars, from this page's sourced data. A rating is a rank among the 315 French resorts we cover — 5 stars means “among the best in France on this point”, not “perfect”. Nobody types these in.

  1. SnowCan you count on the snow?
    3 / 5

    Top of the ski area: 2,213 m · Bottom of the pistes: 1,712 m · Days above 30 cm, December to March, model: 20%

  2. Ski areaIs there enough to ski all week?
    4 / 5

    Km of pistes at the resort: 34 km · Lifts: 24 · Balance between piste levels: 96%

  3. ValueIs the lift pass reasonable for what you get?
    3 / 5

    Adult day pass: €47.50 · Day pass price per km of pistes: €1.4/km · Adult 6-day pass: €203

  4. Families and beginnersIs it right for children and beginners?
    3 / 5

    Share of green and blue pistes: 63% · Magic carpets: 0 · Sledging runs: 0 · ESF ski school · Ice rink, pool, rail sledge…: 2 · Famille Plus label

  5. AccessIs it easy to get to?
    3 / 5

    Average drive time from 20 major cities: 6 hr 14 · Nearest railway station: 5 min · Nearest airport: 1 hr 29

  6. Atmosphere and après-skiIs there life in the evening and off the slopes?
    3 / 5

    Bars and pubs: 2 · Nightclubs: 0 · Restaurants: 20 · Upcoming events: 0 · Collective tourist beds: 2,206 — index: what the map and the listings publish

  7. Luxury and comfortHow upmarket is the resort?
    2 / 5

    5-star hotels: 0 · 4-star hotels: 1 · Share of hotel rooms in 4 and 5 stars: 0% · Spas and saunas: 0 · Jewellers, watchmakers, fashion boutiques: 1 · Adult day pass: €47.50 — index: what the map and the listings publish

“Atmosphere” and “Luxury” are indexes: they count what OpenStreetMap and the event listings publish within 2.5 km (bars, nightclubs, rated hotels, spas, upcoming events), not what you experience there. A zero means “nothing mapped”, not “nothing there”. Sources per criterion: snow (altitudes declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), STRMTG register, OpenStreetMap; snow depth observed at the Météo-France station, ERA5-Land model) ; ski area (figures declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), national lift register (STRMTG), OpenStreetMap) ; value (the resort’s official price list) ; families and beginners (OpenStreetMap pistes, price list, ESF ski school, Famille Plus label, OpenStreetMap leisure) ; access (OSRM drive times from 20 cities, SNCF stations, GTFS shuttles, airports) ; atmosphere and après-ski (bars, nightclubs and restaurants within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap), upcoming events (OpenAgenda), collective tourist beds (INSEE)) ; luxury and comfort (rated hotels within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap) and by category across the commune (INSEE), spas and boutiques (OpenStreetMap), day pass price).

€203 6 days

Price declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association) — not the official price list, which prevails. Season not stated by the resort. ANMSM ↗

41 pistes, by level

16 green10 blue7 red8 black
Skiable vertical
501 m
Cross-country skiing
14 km of nordic trails
Snowpark
Yes

Ski-area figures — village, bottom, top, lifts, pistes by level: ANMSM — figures declared by the resort (16 Oct); km of pistes: OpenStreetMap (1 Oct) .

Staying and hiring gear in Font-Romeu

The partners covering this resort, shown side by side, and the shop to kit out before you leave. Some links earn us a commission — never at the expense of the price or of the data.

Collective accommodation

2,206 bed spaces in tourist residences, holiday villages and hostels

  • 5 hotels · 177 rooms (2 × 3★, 1 × 2★)
  • 8 tourist residences and apartment hotels · 2,206 bed spaces
  • 1 campsite · 170 pitches

Commune: Font-Romeu-Odeillo-Via · INSEE tourist accommodation survey, 2026, read on 12 September 2026. Collective accommodation only — privately let flats and second homes are not counted. INSEE dataset ↗

Stay & accommodation

Holidu
Holiday-rental comparison site.
See offers
Ski Planet
Self-catering flats and all-inclusive ski holidays at the foot of the slopes, since 1999.
See offers
Montagne Vacances
Flats and chalets in the resort, at direct prices.
See offers

Ski hire

Skiset UK
Skiset’s UK site: ski hire in the resort shops, booked in English, paid in pounds.
Book

Gear & equipment

Absolute Snow
UK ski and snowboard shop — delivers to UK addresses only.
Browse the shop
Hardloop
Mountain gear shop: ski touring, avalanche safety, winter clothing.
Browse the shop
Picture
Ski and snowboard jackets, pants and accessories — a French brand.
Browse the shop

All about staying in Font-Romeu →

Beyond skiing at Font-Romeu

Without skis on — 27 km of snowshoe and walking trails

Toboggan runs

Ice rink

  • Patinoire Philippe Candeloro · 1.2 km away · OpenStreetMap

Swimming pool

Spa and thermal baths

Paragliding

  • ECOLE DE PARAPENTE VOL'AIME · Égat · 1.9 km away
  • PARAPENTE VOLER INFO · Les Angles · 8.6 km away

Cinema

  • CASINO - CINEMA · Font-Romeu-Odeillo-Via · 0.1 km away

Source: DATAtourisme (open data), within 10 km of the resort; places in a large town of the valley are left out. Checked on 12 September 2026. Lines marked OpenStreetMap come from the map, within 3 km — opening times on site. Opening times and prices are the operator’s — check before you go.

Ski schools and practical information

Ski school

ESF Font Romeu

📞 04 68 30 03 74

🌐 esf-font-romeu.com

121 instructors

🇬🇧 53 English-speaking instructors — lessons in English available

🗓️ This school sells its lessons online — book ↗

Source: esf.net

All about the ski school in Font-Romeu →

Resort contacts and documents

In case of accident

112 — the European emergency number, free of charge, triggers mountain rescue. On the pistes, the ski patrol number is printed on the piste map and at lift ticket offices. Piste rescue is charged: check your insurance or take the option sold with the lift pass.

Resort data: declared by OFFICE DE TOURISME DE FONT-ROMEU and distributed by ANMSM · read on 16 October

Off the pistes: off-piste and ski touring

The resorts for off-piste skiing →
0 0

Ski touring routes described

12 ski touring routes documented within 10 km of Font-Romeu — up to 1,950 m of climb.

Summit and routeSki gradeClimbAltitudeAspectFrom resort
Roc de la Calma · En circuit par les Bouillouses2.1 · E2 · F+550 m1,715 → 2,200 mSW6.7 km
Porteille des Bésines · Traversée de Font-Romeu à Mérens2.2 · E1 · AD1,000 m2,000 → 2,490 mE · N · W · S6.9 km
Cambre d'Aze · Par l'épaule N/NW depuis la station d'Eynen/a · E1 · F1,000 m1,750 → 2,711 mN7.1 km
Cambre d'Aze · En circuit par la vallée d'Eynen/a · E1 · AD1,170 m1,680 → 2,711 mSW7.6 km

The other 8 routes, with grades and vertical →

Not a piste. Neither marked, nor patrolled, nor secured: transceiver, shovel, probe, the day’s avalanche bulletin and, better still, a guide. Ski grade (1.1–5.6) = steepness and commitment; exposure (E1–E4) = consequence of a fall.

Source: Camptocamp.org topo guide (CC BY-SA), routes starting within 10 km, read on 13 October 2026. Descriptions and photos are on Camptocamp; an empty cell is a field nobody has filled in. Camptocamp ski touring routes ↗

Official piste map

Open the piste map (PDF, 6.7 MB) ↗

Published by Tourinsoft, the regional tourism database (Pyrenees) · file dated 4 February 2015 · link checked on 10 October 2026 · official page

Link to the resort’s own file — a piste map is a copyrighted artwork, we host no copy.

Pistes coloured by level, lifts as lines. The resort’s official map is the reference in season.

Base map © OpenTopoMap (CC-BY-SA) · pistes © OpenSnowMap (CC-BY-SA) · data ©OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).

Getting to Font-Romeu

From Paris: 9 hr 40 (859 km) by road.

By road

  • From Perpignan: 1 hr 25 · 89 km
  • From Toulouse: 2 hr 40 · 182 km
  • From Montpellier: 3 hr 03 · 239 km
  • From Pau: 4 hr 18 · 294 km
  • From Marseille: 4 hr 43 · 402 km
From other major cities (15)
  • From Valence: 4 hr 52 · 437 km
  • From Bordeaux: 5 hr 04 · 424 km
  • From Grenoble: 5 hr 50 · 528 km
  • From Clermont-Ferrand: 5 hr 53 · 517 km
  • From Lyon: 6 hr 00 · 536 km
  • From Saint-Étienne: 6 hr 15 · 555 km
  • From Nice: 6 hr 21 · 560 km
  • From Chambéry: 6 hr 35 · 587 km
  • From Annecy: 7 hr 00 · 646 km
  • From Genève: 7 hr 29 · 684 km
  • From Dijon: 8 hr 01 · 729 km
  • From Besançon: 8 hr 33 · 788 km
  • From Paris: 9 hr 40 · 859 km
  • From Nancy: 10 hr 08 · 939 km
  • From Strasbourg: 10 hr 56 · 1026 km

Excluding traffic and winter conditions; passes closed in winter are avoided.

By train

Font-Romeu-Odeillo-Via station

halt · then 5 min drive (3 km)

Nearest main station: Perpignan, 1 hr 23 by road.

Shuttles and buses from the station: see the resort’s official website.

By plane

  • Perpignan-Rivesaltes (PGF): 1 hr 29 by road · 92 km
  • Carcassonne-Salvaza (CCF): 2 hr 12 by road · 129 km

Take me there

These links open the app with Font-Romeu as the destination. Your starting point is never sent by us — the app asks you for it, if you agree.

Charging an electric car

6 charging stations within 2 km

12 charging points · up to 180 kW

  • S66-E66124-001-1B · Load Stations · 1 point · 22 kW · 0.2 km
  • S66-E66124-001-1 · Load Stations · 1 point · 22 kW · 0.2 km
  • FONT-ROMEU-ODEILLO-VIA - Rue du Dr Cappelle · Bouygues Energies & Services · 4 points · 180 kW · 0.2 km
  • FR-S66-E66124-002-1 · Load Stations · 2 points · 44 kW · 0.2 km
  • FR-S66-E66124-004-1 · Load Stations · 2 points · 44 kW · 0.3 km

Freely accessible charge points read from the French national EV charging database (data.gouv.fr ↗, operators’ own declarations), checked on 9 October 2026. Check availability before you leave: the database says what is installed, not what is free tonight.

Road conditions

From 1 November to 31 March, snow chains or winter tyres are compulsory in most mountain areas (French “Loi Montagne II”).

Driving times computed on the OpenStreetMap road network (OSRM), SNCF stations (open data), airports (Wikidata). Indicative, not a timetable: allow extra time in snow.

Translated from the French Wikipedia article (CC BY-SA), machine translation.

Frequently asked questions

How high is Font-Romeu?

Font-Romeu sits at 1,800 m at village level, and its ski area rises to 2,213 m.

How many kilometres of pistes does Font-Romeu have?

Font-Romeu has 34 km of slopes, 24 lifts.

How much is a lift pass in Font-Romeu?

The adult day pass costs €47.50 and the 6-day pass €203 (season not stated by the resort, declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association)).

How do I get to Font-Romeu?

By road, Font-Romeu is 1 hr 25 from Perpignan (89 km), excluding traffic and winter conditions. By train, the nearest station is Font-Romeu-Odeillo-Via, 5 min by road from the resort. The nearest airport is Perpignan-Rivesaltes, 1 hr 29 away.

How long is the drive from Paris to Font-Romeu?

9 hr 40 for 859 km from central Paris, excluding traffic and winter conditions. Computed on the real road network (OpenStreetMap): allow more on a school-holiday Saturday.

When does Font-Romeu open?

According to the official website, the resort opens on 4 December 2026 (2026-2027 season).

Is Font-Romeu good for beginners and families?

63% of the pistes are green or blue: a rather easy area. The resort holds the Famille Plus family label.

Nearby resorts

Full page in French. The French page carries the editorial guides and a few extra readings; every figure, webcam and price on this page is the same one. Font-Romeu in French →

Every figure carries its source and date; a missing figure shows as “—”, never estimated. Embed this widget on your site