Prabouré

Massif Central Updated on 21 September 2026
1,276 mVillage altitude
1,290 mTop of the ski area
6 kmAlpine pistes
4Ski lifts
€15Adult day pass

Prabouré is a small family winter sports resort in Puy-de-Dôme located in the commune of Saint-Anthème. The history of skiing in Prabouré begins in 1954 with the installation of a first rope tow. The first fixed detachable drag lift opens in 1963, three others will follow at the end of the 60s.

Prabouré — view of the resort
Photo: Wikimedia Commons

Live webcams

All webcams (1) →

Each player is the camera operator’s own, loaded only when you ask for it — it may set its own trackers.

Official players of the resort, live image. Checked on 12 September 2026.

Snow, opening and weather

Snow report →

Open pistes and lifts will appear here during the season, as published by the resort. Out of season we show nothing rather than a misleading zero.

Right now at the ST-ANTHEME station (1,263 m)

Source: Météo-France, ST-ANTHEME weather station, 1.8 km away. Hourly measurement — not the resort’s own snow report.

3-day forecast

Village 1,276 m · top 1,290 m

Loading…

Forecast corrected for altitude; fresh snow = forecast total at the top; UV = peak of the day. Beyond 3 days, check the resort’s own report. Source:Open-Meteo.

7-day forecast →

SkiRadar ratings

How ratings are computed →Computed on 15 October 2026

Seven criteria rated from 1 to 5 stars, in half-stars, from this page's sourced data. A rating is a rank among the 315 French resorts we cover — 5 stars means “among the best in France on this point”, not “perfect”. Nobody types these in.

  1. SnowCan you count on the snow?
    1.5 / 5

    Top of the ski area: 1,290 m · Bottom of the pistes: 1,276 m · Days above 30 cm, December to March, model: 1%

  2. Ski areaIs there enough to ski all week?
    1.5 / 5

    Km of pistes at the resort: 6 km · Lifts: 4 · Balance between piste levels: 75%

  3. ValueIs the lift pass reasonable for what you get?
    3 / 5

    Adult day pass: €15 · Day pass price per km of pistes: €2.5/km

  4. Families and beginnersIs it right for children and beginners?
    2.5 / 5

    Share of green and blue pistes: 75% · Magic carpets: 1 · Sledging runs: 1 · Special prices out of 4 (beginner, child, family, free age): 1 · Ice rink, pool, rail sledge…: 0

  5. AccessIs it easy to get to?
    3 / 5

    Average drive time from 20 major cities: 4 hr 10 · Nearest railway station: 34 min · Station-to-resort shuttles per day: 0 · Nearest airport: 1 hr 44

  6. Atmosphere and après-skiIs there life in the evening and off the slopes?
    1.5 / 5

    Bars and pubs: 0 · Nightclubs: 0 · Restaurants: 2 · Upcoming events: 1 · Collective tourist beds: 0 — index: what the map and the listings publish

  7. Luxury and comfortHow upmarket is the resort?
    1 / 5

    5-star hotels: 0 · 4-star hotels: 0 · Spas and saunas: 0 · Jewellers, watchmakers, fashion boutiques: 0 · Adult day pass: €15 — index: what the map and the listings publish

“Atmosphere” and “Luxury” are indexes: they count what OpenStreetMap and the event listings publish within 2.5 km (bars, nightclubs, rated hotels, spas, upcoming events), not what you experience there. A zero means “nothing mapped”, not “nothing there”. Sources per criterion: snow (altitudes declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), STRMTG register, OpenStreetMap; snow depth observed at the Météo-France station, ERA5-Land model) ; ski area (figures declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), national lift register (STRMTG), OpenStreetMap) ; value (the resort’s official price list) ; families and beginners (OpenStreetMap pistes, price list, ESF ski school, Famille Plus label, OpenStreetMap leisure) ; access (OSRM drive times from 20 cities, SNCF stations, GTFS shuttles, airports) ; atmosphere and après-ski (bars, nightclubs and restaurants within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap), upcoming events (OpenAgenda), collective tourist beds (INSEE)) ; luxury and comfort (rated hotels within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap) and by category across the commune (INSEE), spas and boutiques (OpenStreetMap), day pass price).

€150 Season€13 Child, 1 day

Read on the official price list, full price, excluding promotions. Season not stated on the price list. Official price list ↗

12 pistes, by level

6 green3 blue3 red0 black
Skiable vertical
14 m
Cross-country skiing
27 km of nordic trails

Ski-area figures — top, lifts: STRMTG — French national lift register (1 Jan); km of pistes, pistes by level: OpenStreetMap (1 Oct) .

The ski area in figures

Measured on 7 October 2026
1 kmLongest piste — La Forestière (blue), 120 m of vertical
127 mBiggest vertical without changing piste — 1,384 → 1,257 m, 1 km
1,290 mHighest lift top — Les Jonquilles (drag lift), national lift register
2,300Total lift capacity, people per hour — 4 installations: 3 drag lifts, 1 magic carpet
11 yrsAverage age of the lift fleet — oldest 2006, newest 2022
850Biggest lift, people per hour — Les Jonquilles (drag lift, 2010)
1 kmTotal length of lifts — 5 lifts mapped
64 haSki area boundary (OSM)
716Inhabitants — Saint-Anthème (INSEE 63319)

Measured on OpenStreetMap (altitudes: IGN RGE ALTI), not taken from the brochure. The vertical above is that of one piste, not of the whole ski area. Population: INSEE municipal population via geo.api.gouv.fr.

Source: national register of mechanical lifts (STRMTG, CAIRN), fleet as of 1 January 2025 — lifts attributed to Prabouré only (“SAINT ANTHEME PRABOURE”), magic carpets included.

Staying and hiring gear in Prabouré

The partners covering this resort, shown side by side, and the shop to kit out before you leave. Some links earn us a commission — never at the expense of the price or of the data.

Collective accommodation

  • 1 campsite · 50 pitches

Commune: Saint-Anthème · INSEE tourist accommodation survey, 2026, read on 12 September 2026. Collective accommodation only — privately let flats and second homes are not counted. INSEE dataset ↗

Stay & accommodation

Holidu
Holiday-rental comparison site.
See offers

Gear & equipment

Absolute Snow
UK ski and snowboard shop — delivers to UK addresses only.
Browse the shop
Hardloop
Mountain gear shop: ski touring, avalanche safety, winter clothing.
Browse the shop
Picture
Ski and snowboard jackets, pants and accessories — a French brand.
Browse the shop

Beyond skiing at Prabouré

Without skis on — 1 sledging run

Paragliding

Museum

Cinema

Source: DATAtourisme (open data), within 10 km of the resort; places in a large town of the valley are left out. Checked on 12 September 2026. Opening times and prices are the operator’s — check before you go.

Ski schools and practical information

Tourist office

Office de tourisme

📍 23 Place de l'Aubépin

📞 +33 4 73 95 47 06

In case of accident

112 — the European emergency number, free of charge, triggers mountain rescue. On the pistes, the ski patrol number is printed on the piste map and at lift ticket offices. Piste rescue is charged: check your insurance or take the option sold with the lift pass.

Off the pistes: off-piste and ski touring

The resorts for off-piste skiing →
1 Marked off-piste itineraries · 0 km
— Ski touring routes

Named itineraries: Les Bruyères

Itineraries surveyed on OpenStreetMap within a 4 km radius (7 September 2026): “marked” means an itinerary exists on the map, not that it is open or safe on the day.

Safety. Off-piste terrain is neither marked nor made safe by the resort: a transceiver, a shovel, a probe and reading the avalanche bulletin are the minimum — and going with a mountain guide is better still. Today's avalanche risk (Météo-France scale of 1 to 5) will appear here during the season.

Official piste map

No downloadable piste map published by the resort.

Pistes coloured by level, lifts as lines. The resort’s official map is the reference in season.

Base map © OpenTopoMap (CC-BY-SA) · pistes © OpenSnowMap (CC-BY-SA) · data ©OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).

Getting to Prabouré

From Paris: 5 hr 54 (525 km) by road.

By road

  • From Saint-Étienne: 59 min · 59 km
  • From Clermont-Ferrand: 1 hr 41 · 106 km
  • From Lyon: 1 hr 50 · 119 km
  • From Valence: 2 hr 21 · 177 km
  • From Grenoble: 2 hr 41 · 209 km
From other major cities (15)
  • From Chambéry: 2 hr 43 · 206 km
  • From Annecy: 3 hr 02 · 243 km
  • From Dijon: 3 hr 29 · 307 km
  • From Genève: 3 hr 30 · 294 km
  • From Besançon: 4 hr 05 · 365 km
  • From Montpellier: 4 hr 24 · 379 km
  • From Marseille: 4 hr 29 · 388 km
  • From Perpignan: 5 hr 21 · 469 km
  • From Toulouse: 5 hr 23 · 426 km
  • From Nancy: 5 hr 36 · 518 km
  • From Bordeaux: 5 hr 44 · 506 km
  • From Paris: 5 hr 54 · 525 km
  • From Nice: 6 hr 07 · 546 km
  • From Strasbourg: 6 hr 28 · 603 km
  • From Pau: 7 hr 27 · 628 km

Excluding traffic and winter conditions; passes closed in winter are avoided.

By train

Montbrison station

regional station · then 34 min drive (33 km)

Nearest main station: Saint-Étienne Châteaucreux, 59 min by road.

No direct bus line from the station to the resort appears in the open-data timetables (checked on 11 October 2026): ask the resort about a private shuttle or a taxi.

Shuttles and buses from the station: see the resort’s official website.

By plane

  • Clermont-Ferrand Auvergne (CFE): 1 hr 44 by road · 97 km
  • Lyon-Saint-Exupéry (LYS): 1 hr 57 by road · 134 km

Take me there

These links open the app with Prabouré as the destination. Your starting point is never sent by us — the app asks you for it, if you agree.

Charging an electric car

No freely accessible charge point is declared within 2 km of the resort (checked on 9 October 2026). Covered car parks in the resort may offer chargers reserved for their customers: those are not listed here.

Freely accessible charge points read from the French national EV charging database (data.gouv.fr ↗, operators’ own declarations), checked on 9 October 2026. Check availability before you leave: the database says what is installed, not what is free tonight.

Road conditions

From 1 November to 31 March, snow chains or winter tyres are compulsory in most mountain areas (French “Loi Montagne II”).

Driving times computed on the OpenStreetMap road network (OSRM), SNCF stations (open data), airports (Wikidata). Indicative, not a timetable: allow extra time in snow.

Translated from the French Wikipedia article (CC BY-SA), machine translation.

Frequently asked questions

How high is Prabouré?

Prabouré sits at 1,276 m at village level, and its ski area rises to 1,290 m.

How many kilometres of pistes does Prabouré have?

Prabouré has 6 km of slopes, 4 lifts.

What is the longest piste in Prabouré?

The longest piste is La Forestière: 1 km (blue run), for 120 m of vertical. Measured on the OpenStreetMap map, segments of the same name and level joined end to end, altitudes from the IGN RGE ALTI terrain model — a resort sometimes advertises a longer run by chaining several pistes.

How high do the lifts go in Prabouré?

The highest lift, Les Jonquilles (drag lift), tops out at 1,290 m. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How many lifts does Prabouré have, and what is their capacity?

The French national register of mechanical lifts records 4 installations at Prabouré (3 drag lifts, 1 magic carpet), for an authorised capacity of 2,300 people per hour, of which 850 for Les Jonquilles alone. The fleet spans 2006 to 2022, an average age of 11 years. This count covers the resort itself, magic carpets included, not the whole linked ski area — a resort brochure often announces a different number. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How much is a lift pass in Prabouré?

The adult day pass costs €15 (season not stated on the price list, read on the official price list).

How do I get to Prabouré?

By road, Prabouré is 59 min from Saint-Étienne (59 km), excluding traffic and winter conditions. By train, the nearest station is Montbrison, 34 min by road from the resort. No direct bus line from the station to the resort appears in the open-data timetables. The nearest airport is Clermont-Ferrand Auvergne, 1 hr 44 away.

How long is the drive from Paris to Prabouré?

5 hr 54 for 525 km from central Paris, excluding traffic and winter conditions. Computed on the real road network (OpenStreetMap): allow more on a school-holiday Saturday.

Is Prabouré good for beginners and families?

75% of the pistes are green or blue: a very accessible area.

Nearby resorts

Full page in French. The French page carries the editorial guides and a few extra readings; every figure, webcam and price on this page is the same one. Prabouré in French →

Every figure carries its source and date; a missing figure shows as “—”, never estimated. Embed this widget on your site