Saint-Colomban-des-Villards

Northern Alps Linked area Les Sybelles Updated on 27 September 2026
1,100 mVillage altitude
2,230 mTop of the ski area
310 kmLinked pistes · Les Sybelles
7Ski lifts
€42Adult day pass

Saint-Colomban-des-Villards is a French commune situated in the department of Savoie, in the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes region.

Saint-Colomban-des-Villards — view of the resort
Photo: Wikimedia Commons

Live webcams

All webcams (8) →
Charvin Express · PanoramiqueSkaping
Pointe du CorbierSkaping
Saint Sorlin d’Arves · Le RouetSkaping

Each player is the camera operator’s own, loaded only when you ask for it — it may set its own trackers.

Official players of the resort, live image. 4 more cameras on the webcam page. Checked on 16 October 2026.

Snow, opening and weather

Snow report →

Open pistes and lifts will appear here during the season, as published by the resort. Out of season we show nothing rather than a misleading zero.

Right now at the ST-SORLIN D'ARVES station (1,694 m)

Source: Météo-France, ST-SORLIN D'ARVES weather station, 7.7 km away. Hourly measurement — not the resort’s own snow report.

Good snow from early February to mid-March. 78 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, and 336 cm of fresh snow, measured over 31 winters at the Météo-France “ALBIEZ” station. Fortnight by fortnight, over 31 measured winters →

3-day forecast

Village 1,100 m · top 2,230 m

Loading…

Forecast corrected for altitude; fresh snow = forecast total at the top; UV = peak of the day. Beyond 3 days, check the resort’s own report. Source:Open-Meteo.

7-day forecast →

SkiRadar ratings

How ratings are computed →Computed on 11 October 2026

Seven criteria rated from 1 to 5 stars, in half-stars, from this page's sourced data. A rating is a rank among the 315 French resorts we cover — 5 stars means “among the best in France on this point”, not “perfect”. Nobody types these in.

  1. SnowCan you count on the snow?
    2.5 / 5

    Top of the ski area: 2,230 m · Bottom of the pistes: 1,100 m · Days above 30 cm per winter, measured: 78 days · Days above 30 cm, December to March, model: 74%

  2. Ski areaIs there enough to ski all week?
    3 / 5

    Km skiable from the resort, linked area included: 310 km · Lifts: 7

  3. ValueIs the lift pass reasonable for what you get?
    4 / 5

    Adult day pass: €42

  4. Families and beginnersIs it right for children and beginners?
    2 / 5

    Share of green and blue pistes: 49% · Magic carpets: 1 · ESF ski school · Ice rink, pool, rail sledge…: 0

  5. AccessIs it easy to get to?
    3.5 / 5

    Average drive time from 20 major cities: 4 hr 23 · Nearest railway station: 15 min · Station-to-resort shuttles per day: 0 · Nearest airport: 1 hr 11

  6. Atmosphere and après-skiIs there life in the evening and off the slopes?
    1.5 / 5

    Bars and pubs: 0 · Nightclubs: 0 · Restaurants: 3 · Upcoming events: 0 · Collective tourist beds: 299 — index: what the map and the listings publish

  7. Luxury and comfortHow upmarket is the resort?
    1 / 5

    5-star hotels: 0 · 4-star hotels: 0 · Share of hotel rooms in 4 and 5 stars: 0% · Spas and saunas: 0 · Jewellers, watchmakers, fashion boutiques: 0 · Adult day pass: €42 — index: what the map and the listings publish

“Atmosphere” and “Luxury” are indexes: they count what OpenStreetMap and the event listings publish within 2.5 km (bars, nightclubs, rated hotels, spas, upcoming events), not what you experience there. A zero means “nothing mapped”, not “nothing there”. Sources per criterion: snow (altitudes declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), STRMTG register, OpenStreetMap; snow depth observed at the Météo-France station, ERA5-Land model) ; ski area (figures declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), national lift register (STRMTG), OpenStreetMap) ; value (the resort’s official price list) ; families and beginners (OpenStreetMap pistes, price list, ESF ski school, Famille Plus label, OpenStreetMap leisure) ; access (OSRM drive times from 20 cities, SNCF stations, GTFS shuttles, airports) ; atmosphere and après-ski (bars, nightclubs and restaurants within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap), upcoming events (OpenAgenda), collective tourist beds (INSEE)) ; luxury and comfort (rated hotels within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap) and by category across the commune (INSEE), spas and boutiques (OpenStreetMap), day pass price).

Price declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association) — not the official price list, which prevails. Season not stated by the resort. ANMSM ↗

Skiable vertical
1,130 m
Cross-country skiing
1 named trail — 2.2 km of marked loops (1.7 km of distinct track: the loops overlap) · Domaine nordique des Îles area, 8 km from the resort

Ski-area figures — village, bottom, top, km of the linked area: ANMSM — figures declared by the resort (16 Oct); lifts: STRMTG — French national lift register (1 Jan) . In a linked ski area the map cannot tell where the resort ends: its own km stay “n/a” until the resort declares them.

The ski area in figures

Measured on 7 October 2026
5 kmLongest piste — Panoramique (blue), 440 m of vertical
620 mBiggest vertical without changing piste — 2,207 → 1,587 m, 3 km
2,234 mHighest lift top — Col De Bellard (chairlift), national lift register
5,644Total lift capacity, people per hour — 7 installations: 3 chairlifts, 3 drag lifts, 1 magic carpet
30 yrsAverage age of the lift fleet — oldest 1970, newest 2013
1,100Biggest lift, people per hour — Ormet (chairlift, 1988)
49 kmTotal length of lifts — 58 lifts mapped
5,091 haSki area boundary (OSM)
143Inhabitants — Saint-Colomban-des-Villards (INSEE 73230)

Measured on OpenStreetMap (altitudes: IGN RGE ALTI), not taken from the brochure. The vertical above is that of one piste, not of the whole ski area. Population: INSEE municipal population via geo.api.gouv.fr.

Source: national register of mechanical lifts (STRMTG, CAIRN), fleet as of 1 January 2025 — lifts attributed to Saint-Colomban-des-Villards only (“SAINT COLOMBAN DES VILLARDS”), magic carpets included.

Staying and hiring gear in Saint-Colomban-des-Villards

The partners covering this resort, shown side by side, and the shop to kit out before you leave. Some links earn us a commission — never at the expense of the price or of the data.

Collective accommodation

299 bed spaces in tourist residences, holiday villages and hostels

  • 2 hotels · 20 rooms
  • 1 tourist residence or apartment hotel · 299 bed spaces
  • 2 campsites · 48 pitches

Commune: Saint-Colomban-des-Villards · INSEE tourist accommodation survey, 2026, read on 12 September 2026. Collective accommodation only — privately let flats and second homes are not counted. INSEE dataset ↗

Stay & accommodation

Holidu
Holiday-rental comparison site.
See offers
Ski Planet
Self-catering flats and all-inclusive ski holidays at the foot of the slopes, since 1999.
See offers
Montagne Vacances
Flats and chalets in the resort, at direct prices.
See offers

Gear & equipment

Absolute Snow
UK ski and snowboard shop — delivers to UK addresses only.
Browse the shop
Hardloop
Mountain gear shop: ski touring, avalanche safety, winter clothing.
Browse the shop
Picture
Ski and snowboard jackets, pants and accessories — a French brand.
Browse the shop

All about staying in Saint-Colomban-des-Villards →

Beyond skiing at Saint-Colomban-des-Villards

Without skis on — 1 km of snowshoe and walking trails

Toboggan runs

  • Tubing · Fontcouverte-la-Toussuire · 4.9 km away

Swimming pool

  • Piscine des Soldanelles · Fontcouverte-la-Toussuire · 4.5 km away
  • Spa d’altitude Ô des Cimes – Résidence CGH L'Alpaga · Fontcouverte-la-Toussuire · 5 km away
  • Piscine extérieure chauffée · Villarembert · 6.6 km away
  • Centre nautique et Espace aqualudique · Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne · 9.1 km away

Paragliding

  • Parapente Airline · Fontcouverte-la-Toussuire · 4.5 km away
  • Corbier Parapente · Villarembert · 6.3 km away
  • Envergure Parapente · La Chambre · 9.4 km away

Museum

Cinema

Source: DATAtourisme (open data), within 10 km of the resort; places in a large town of the valley are left out. Checked on 12 September 2026. Opening times and prices are the operator’s — check before you go.

Ski schools and practical information

Ski school

ESF St Colomban Des Villards

📞 04 79 59 12 71

🌐 esf-st-colomban-des-villards.com

8 instructors

🗓️ This school sells its lessons online — book ↗

Source: esf.net

All about the ski school in Saint-Colomban-des-Villards →

Resort contacts and documents

Resort app
Android (declared by the resort, ANMSM)

In case of accident

112 — the European emergency number, free of charge, triggers mountain rescue. On the pistes, the ski patrol number is printed on the piste map and at lift ticket offices. Piste rescue is charged: check your insurance or take the option sold with the lift pass.

Resort data: declared by Office de Tourisme Espace Glandon and distributed by ANMSM · read on 16 October

Off the pistes: off-piste and ski touring

The resorts for off-piste skiing →
6 Marked off-piste itineraries · 13 km
12 km Ski touring routes

Named itineraries: Planet · 1811 · La Marolay · Les Bres · Col Du Glandon

Itineraries surveyed on OpenStreetMap within a 4 km radius (7 September 2026): “marked” means an itinerary exists on the map, not that it is open or safe on the day.

Ski touring routes described

12 ski touring routes documented within 10 km of Saint-Colomban-des-Villards — up to 1,680 m of climb.

Summit and routeSki gradeClimbAltitudeAspectFrom resort
Pic de Fremezan · Tour du pic de Fremezan par la combe Rousse4.1 · E31,600 m1,150 → 2,438 mn/a1.6 km
Brèche du Villonet · Traversée NE >> SWn/a · PD+1,460 m1,200 → 2,660 mS2 km
Rochers de Vallorin · Versant S4.21,000 m1,609 → 2,593 mn/a2.1 km
Col des Fouages (Rochers de Vallorin) · Versant N3.1 · AD-1,367 m1,053 → 2,420 mN2.7 km

The other 8 routes, with grades and vertical →

Not a piste. Neither marked, nor patrolled, nor secured: transceiver, shovel, probe, the day’s avalanche bulletin and, better still, a guide. Ski grade (1.1–5.6) = steepness and commitment; exposure (E1–E4) = consequence of a fall.

Source: Camptocamp.org topo guide (CC BY-SA), routes starting within 10 km, read on 13 October 2026. Descriptions and photos are on Camptocamp; an empty cell is a field nobody has filled in. Camptocamp ski touring routes ↗

Official piste map

No downloadable piste map published by the resort.

Pistes coloured by level, lifts as lines. The resort’s official map is the reference in season.

Base map © OpenTopoMap (CC-BY-SA) · pistes © OpenSnowMap (CC-BY-SA) · data ©OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).

Getting to Saint-Colomban-des-Villards

From Paris: 6 hr 47 (646 km) by road.

By road

  • From Chambéry: 59 min · 77 km
  • From Grenoble: 1 hr 16 · 106 km
  • From Annecy: 1 hr 28 · 124 km
  • From Genève: 1 hr 58 · 162 km
  • From Lyon: 2 hr 10 · 176 km
From other major cities (15)
  • From Valence: 2 hr 19 · 199 km
  • From Saint-Étienne: 2 hr 43 · 224 km
  • From Dijon: 4 hr 02 · 377 km
  • From Clermont-Ferrand: 4 hr 03 · 341 km
  • From Besançon: 4 hr 18 · 334 km
  • From Montpellier: 4 hr 26 · 404 km
  • From Marseille: 4 hr 31 · 413 km
  • From Nice: 5 hr 15 · 427 km
  • From Perpignan: 5 hr 48 · 552 km
  • From Nancy: 6 hr 09 · 587 km
  • From Strasbourg: 6 hr 13 · 552 km
  • From Toulouse: 6 hr 44 · 638 km
  • From Paris: 6 hr 47 · 646 km
  • From Bordeaux: 8 hr 01 · 731 km
  • From Pau: 8 hr 38 · 828 km

Excluding traffic and winter conditions; passes closed in winter are avoided.

By train

Saint-Avre - La Chambre station

halt · then 15 min drive (13 km)

Nearest main station: Chambéry - Challes-les-Eaux, 58 min by road.

No direct bus line from the station to the resort appears in the open-data timetables (checked on 11 October 2026): ask the resort about a private shuttle or a taxi.

Shuttles and buses from the station: see the resort’s official website.

By plane

  • Chambéry-Savoie (CMF): 1 hr 11 by road · 85 km
  • Grenoble-Alpes-Isère (GNB): 1 hr 49 by road · 152 km

Take me there

These links open the app with Saint-Colomban-des-Villards as the destination. Your starting point is never sent by us — the app asks you for it, if you agree.

Charging an electric car

No freely accessible charge point is declared within 2 km of the resort (checked on 9 October 2026). Covered car parks in the resort may offer chargers reserved for their customers: those are not listed here.

Freely accessible charge points read from the French national EV charging database (data.gouv.fr ↗, operators’ own declarations), checked on 9 October 2026. Check availability before you leave: the database says what is installed, not what is free tonight.

Road conditions

From 1 November to 31 March, snow chains or winter tyres are compulsory in most mountain areas (French “Loi Montagne II”).

Driving times computed on the OpenStreetMap road network (OSRM), SNCF stations (open data), airports (Wikidata). Indicative, not a timetable: allow extra time in snow.

Translated from the French Wikipedia article (CC BY-SA), machine translation.

Frequently asked questions

How high is Saint-Colomban-des-Villards?

Saint-Colomban-des-Villards sits at 1,100 m at village level, and its ski area rises to 2,230 m.

How many kilometres of pistes does Saint-Colomban-des-Villards have?

From Saint-Colomban-des-Villards you can ski 310 km of slopes across Les Sybelles, 7 lifts.

What is the longest piste in Saint-Colomban-des-Villards?

The longest piste is Panoramique: 5 km (blue run), for 440 m of vertical. Measured on the OpenStreetMap map, segments of the same name and level joined end to end, altitudes from the IGN RGE ALTI terrain model — a resort sometimes advertises a longer run by chaining several pistes.

How high do the lifts go in Saint-Colomban-des-Villards?

The highest lift, Col De Bellard (chairlift), tops out at 2,234 m. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How many lifts does Saint-Colomban-des-Villards have, and what is their capacity?

The French national register of mechanical lifts records 7 installations at Saint-Colomban-des-Villards (3 chairlifts, 3 drag lifts, 1 magic carpet), for an authorised capacity of 5,644 people per hour, of which 1,100 for Ormet alone. The fleet spans 1970 to 2013, an average age of 30 years. This count covers the resort itself, magic carpets included, not the whole linked ski area — a resort brochure often announces a different number. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How much is a lift pass in Saint-Colomban-des-Villards?

The adult day pass costs €42 (season not stated by the resort, declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association)).

How do I get to Saint-Colomban-des-Villards?

By road, Saint-Colomban-des-Villards is 59 min from Chambéry (77 km), excluding traffic and winter conditions. By train, the nearest station is Saint-Avre - La Chambre, 15 min by road from the resort. No direct bus line from the station to the resort appears in the open-data timetables. The nearest airport is Chambéry-Savoie, 1 hr 11 away.

How long is the drive from Paris to Saint-Colomban-des-Villards?

6 hr 47 for 646 km from central Paris, excluding traffic and winter conditions. Computed on the real road network (OpenStreetMap): allow more on a school-holiday Saturday.

Is the snow reliable in Saint-Colomban-des-Villards?

Good snow from early February to mid-March. 78 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, and 336 cm of fresh snow, measured over 31 winters at the Météo-France “ALBIEZ” station. This verdict rests on 31 winters of Météo-France measurements (1992-2023); in season the daily report prevails.

Nearby resorts

Full page in French. The French page carries the editorial guides and a few extra readings; every figure, webcam and price on this page is the same one. Saint-Colomban-des-Villards in French →

Every figure carries its source and date; a missing figure shows as “—”, never estimated. Embed this widget on your site