Semnoz

Northern Alps Updated on 21 September 2026
1,475 mVillage altitude
1,699 mTop of the ski area
16 kmAlpine pistes
12Ski lifts
€18.50Adult day pass

Semnoz is a ski resort in the Northern Alps (Haute-Savoie), in the commune of Viuz-la-Chiésaz. The village sits at 1,475 m and the ski area rises to 1,699 m, a skiable vertical of 289 m.

Semnoz — view of the resort
Photo: Wikimedia Commons

Semnoz webcams

Semnoz broadcasts its images on its own page: the link takes you there. Checked on 12 September 2026.

Snow, opening and weather

Snow report →

Open pistes and lifts will appear here during the season, as published by the resort. Out of season we show nothing rather than a misleading zero.

Good snow from mid-January to late March. 105 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, measured over 18 winters at the Météo-France “ALLANT-NIVOSE” station. Fortnight by fortnight, over 18 measured winters →

3-day forecast

Village 1,475 m · top 1,699 m

Loading…

Forecast corrected for altitude; fresh snow = forecast total at the top; UV = peak of the day. Beyond 3 days, check the resort’s own report. Source:Open-Meteo.

7-day forecast →

SkiRadar ratings

How ratings are computed →Computed on 16 October 2026

Seven criteria rated from 1 to 5 stars, in half-stars, from this page's sourced data. A rating is a rank among the 315 French resorts we cover — 5 stars means “among the best in France on this point”, not “perfect”. Nobody types these in.

  1. SnowCan you count on the snow?
    3 / 5

    Top of the ski area: 1,699 m · Bottom of the pistes: 1,410 m · Days above 30 cm per winter, measured: 105 days · Days above 30 cm, December to March, model: 28%

  2. Ski areaIs there enough to ski all week?
    2.5 / 5

    Km of pistes at the resort: 16 km · Lifts: 12 · Balance between piste levels: 82%

  3. ValueIs the lift pass reasonable for what you get?
    4 / 5

    Adult day pass: €18.50 · Day pass price per km of pistes: €1.16/km · Adult 6-day pass: €93

  4. Families and beginnersIs it right for children and beginners?
    3 / 5

    Share of green and blue pistes: 71% · Magic carpets: 2 · Sledging runs: 1 · Special prices out of 4 (beginner, child, family, free age): 1 · ESF ski school · Ice rink, pool, rail sledge…: 1

  5. AccessIs it easy to get to?
    3.5 / 5

    Average drive time from 20 major cities: 4 hr 09 · Nearest railway station: 24 min · Station-to-resort shuttles per day: 0 · Nearest airport: 57 min

  6. Atmosphere and après-skiIs there life in the evening and off the slopes?
    1 / 5

    Bars and pubs: 0 · Nightclubs: 0 · Restaurants: 3 · Upcoming events: 0 · Collective tourist beds: 0 — index: what the map and the listings publish

  7. Luxury and comfortHow upmarket is the resort?
    1 / 5

    5-star hotels: 0 · 4-star hotels: 0 · Share of hotel rooms in 4 and 5 stars: 0% · Spas and saunas: 0 · Jewellers, watchmakers, fashion boutiques: 0 · Adult day pass: €18.50 — index: what the map and the listings publish

“Atmosphere” and “Luxury” are indexes: they count what OpenStreetMap and the event listings publish within 2.5 km (bars, nightclubs, rated hotels, spas, upcoming events), not what you experience there. A zero means “nothing mapped”, not “nothing there”. Sources per criterion: snow (altitudes declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), STRMTG register, OpenStreetMap; snow depth observed at the Météo-France station, ERA5-Land model) ; ski area (figures declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), national lift register (STRMTG), OpenStreetMap) ; value (the resort’s official price list) ; families and beginners (OpenStreetMap pistes, price list, ESF ski school, Famille Plus label, OpenStreetMap leisure) ; access (OSRM drive times from 20 cities, SNCF stations, GTFS shuttles, airports) ; atmosphere and après-ski (bars, nightclubs and restaurants within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap), upcoming events (OpenAgenda), collective tourist beds (INSEE)) ; luxury and comfort (rated hotels within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap) and by category across the commune (INSEE), spas and boutiques (OpenStreetMap), day pass price).

€93 6 days€200 Season€14 Child, 1 day€4 Pedestrian, 1 day

Read on the official price list, full price, excluding promotions. Season not stated on the price list. Official price list ↗

21 pistes, by level

11 green4 blue5 red1 black
Skiable vertical
289 m
Cross-country skiing
9 named trails — 46 km of marked loops (21 km of distinct track: the loops overlap), right by the resort
Snowpark
1 mapped zone — Slopestyle (difficult)

Ski-area figures — bottom, km of pistes, pistes by level: OpenStreetMap (1 Oct); top, lifts: STRMTG — French national lift register (1 Jan) .

The ski area in figures

Measured on 7 October 2026
2 kmLongest piste — Gentianes (green), 168 m of vertical
247 mBiggest vertical without changing piste — 1,663 → 1,416 m, 1 km
1,699 mHighest lift top — TSCD du Belvédère (chair-and-gondola lift), national lift register
11,380Total lift capacity, people per hour — 12 installations: 2 chairlifts, 8 drag lifts, 2 magic carpets
19 yrsAverage age of the lift fleet — oldest 1968, newest 2018
2,600Biggest lift, people per hour — TSCD du Belvédère (chair-and-gondola lift, 2018)
5 kmTotal length of lifts — 9 lifts mapped
517 haSki area boundary (OSM)
1,351Inhabitants — Viuz-la-Chiésaz (INSEE 74310)

Measured on OpenStreetMap (altitudes: IGN RGE ALTI), not taken from the brochure. The vertical above is that of one piste, not of the whole ski area. Population: INSEE municipal population via geo.api.gouv.fr.

Source: national register of mechanical lifts (STRMTG, CAIRN), fleet as of 1 January 2025 — lifts attributed to Semnoz only (“SEMNOZ (LE)”), magic carpets included.

Staying and hiring gear in Semnoz

The partners covering this resort, shown side by side, and the shop to kit out before you leave. Some links earn us a commission — never at the expense of the price or of the data.

Collective accommodation

  • 1 hotel · 15 rooms

Commune: Viuz-la-Chiésaz · INSEE tourist accommodation survey, 2026, read on 12 September 2026. Collective accommodation only — privately let flats and second homes are not counted. INSEE dataset ↗

Stay & accommodation

Holidu
Holiday-rental comparison site.
See offers

Gear & equipment

Absolute Snow
UK ski and snowboard shop — delivers to UK addresses only.
Browse the shop
Hardloop
Mountain gear shop: ski touring, avalanche safety, winter clothing.
Browse the shop
Picture
Ski and snowboard jackets, pants and accessories — a French brand.
Browse the shop

Beyond skiing at Semnoz

Without skis on — 1 sledging run

Toboggan runs

Paragliding

Museum

Cinema

Source: DATAtourisme (open data), within 10 km of the resort; places in a large town of the valley are left out. Checked on 12 September 2026. Opening times and prices are the operator’s — check before you go.

Ski schools and practical information

Ski school

ESF Annecy Semnoz

📞 04 50 01 40 05

🌐 esfannecysemnoz.fr

40 instructors

Source: esf.net

All about the ski school in Semnoz →

In case of accident

112 — the European emergency number, free of charge, triggers mountain rescue. On the pistes, the ski patrol number is printed on the piste map and at lift ticket offices. Piste rescue is charged: check your insurance or take the option sold with the lift pass.

Off the pistes: off-piste and ski touring

The resorts for off-piste skiing →
0 0

Ski touring routes described

7 ski touring routes documented within 10 km of Semnoz — up to 1,000 m of climb.

Summit and routeSki gradeClimbAltitudeAspectFrom resort
Semnoz - Crêt de Chatillon · Versant W1.2 · E1 · F230 m1,470 → 1,699 mW0.4 km
Semnoz - Crêt de Chatillon · Crêt de l'Aigle boucle depuis la Maison du Semnoz1.2 · E1 · PD-600 m1,440 → 1,699 mn/a1.2 km
Le Semnoz · Couloir du Maquis4.3 · E2 · TD-1,000 m700 → 1,699 mW2.4 km
Crêt de l'Aigle · Versant SW2.2 · E1 · PD-1,000 m675 → 1,646 mSW4.4 km

The other 3 routes, with grades and vertical →

Not a piste. Neither marked, nor patrolled, nor secured: transceiver, shovel, probe, the day’s avalanche bulletin and, better still, a guide. Ski grade (1.1–5.6) = steepness and commitment; exposure (E1–E4) = consequence of a fall.

Source: Camptocamp.org topo guide (CC BY-SA), routes starting within 10 km, read on 13 October 2026. Descriptions and photos are on Camptocamp; an empty cell is a field nobody has filled in. Camptocamp ski touring routes ↗

Official piste map

No downloadable piste map published by the resort.

Pistes coloured by level, lifts as lines. The resort’s official map is the reference in season.

Base map © OpenTopoMap (CC-BY-SA) · pistes © OpenSnowMap (CC-BY-SA) · data ©OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).

Getting to Semnoz

From Paris: 6 hr 17 (559 km) by road.

By road

  • From Annecy: 22 min · 16 km
  • From Chambéry: 54 min · 55 km
  • From Genève: 1 hr 03 · 62 km
  • From Grenoble: 1 hr 28 · 110 km
  • From Lyon: 1 hr 53 · 142 km
From other major cities (15)
  • From Saint-Étienne: 2 hr 26 · 191 km
  • From Valence: 2 hr 26 · 212 km
  • From Besançon: 3 hr 23 · 235 km
  • From Dijon: 3 hr 26 · 281 km
  • From Clermont-Ferrand: 3 hr 46 · 308 km
  • From Montpellier: 4 hr 33 · 417 km
  • From Marseille: 4 hr 38 · 426 km
  • From Strasbourg: 5 hr 18 · 452 km
  • From Nancy: 5 hr 28 · 484 km
  • From Perpignan: 5 hr 55 · 565 km
  • From Nice: 6 hr 16 · 584 km
  • From Paris: 6 hr 17 · 559 km
  • From Toulouse: 6 hr 51 · 651 km
  • From Bordeaux: 7 hr 44 · 697 km
  • From Pau: 8 hr 45 · 841 km

Excluding traffic and winter conditions; passes closed in winter are avoided.

By train

Annecy station

main station, high-speed trains · then 24 min drive (18 km)

No direct bus line from the station to the resort appears in the open-data timetables (checked on 11 October 2026): ask the resort about a private shuttle or a taxi.

Shuttles and buses from the station: see the resort’s official website.

By plane

  • Chambéry-Savoie (CMF): 57 min by road · 54 km
  • Genève (GVA): 1 hr 16 by road · 67 km

Take me there

These links open the app with Semnoz as the destination. Your starting point is never sent by us — the app asks you for it, if you agree.

Charging an electric car

No freely accessible charge point is declared within 2 km of the resort (checked on 9 October 2026). Covered car parks in the resort may offer chargers reserved for their customers: those are not listed here.

Freely accessible charge points read from the French national EV charging database (data.gouv.fr ↗, operators’ own declarations), checked on 9 October 2026. Check availability before you leave: the database says what is installed, not what is free tonight.

Road conditions

From 1 November to 31 March, snow chains or winter tyres are compulsory in most mountain areas (French “Loi Montagne II”).

Driving times computed on the OpenStreetMap road network (OSRM), SNCF stations (open data), airports (Wikidata). Indicative, not a timetable: allow extra time in snow.

The area offers 16 km of alpine pistes, 21 marked pistes (11 green, 4 blue, 5 red, 1 black), 12 ski lifts, plus a snowpark. Green and blue runs dominate: terrain suited to beginners and families.

Measured on the OpenStreetMap map: the longest piste runs 2 km (Gentianes) and the highest lift tops out at 1,693 m.

Access: 22 min by road from Annecy and 24 min from Annecy railway station.

1 official webcam shows the pistes live (on the French page).

Frequently asked questions

How high is Semnoz?

Semnoz sits at 1,475 m at village level, and its ski area rises to 1,699 m.

How many kilometres of pistes does Semnoz have?

Semnoz has 16 km of slopes, 12 lifts.

What is the longest piste in Semnoz?

The longest piste is Gentianes: 2 km (green run), for 168 m of vertical. Measured on the OpenStreetMap map, segments of the same name and level joined end to end, altitudes from the IGN RGE ALTI terrain model — a resort sometimes advertises a longer run by chaining several pistes.

How high do the lifts go in Semnoz?

The highest lift, TSCD du Belvédère (chair-and-gondola lift), tops out at 1,699 m. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How many lifts does Semnoz have, and what is their capacity?

The French national register of mechanical lifts records 12 installations at Semnoz (2 chairlifts, 8 drag lifts, 2 magic carpets), for an authorised capacity of 11,380 people per hour, of which 2,600 for TSCD du Belvédère alone. The fleet spans 1968 to 2018, an average age of 19 years. This count covers the resort itself, magic carpets included, not the whole linked ski area — a resort brochure often announces a different number. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How much is a lift pass in Semnoz?

The adult day pass costs €18.50 and the 6-day pass €93 (season not stated on the price list, read on the official price list).

How do I get to Semnoz?

By road, Semnoz is 22 min from Annecy (16 km), excluding traffic and winter conditions. By train, the nearest station is Annecy (main station, high-speed trains), 24 min by road from the resort. No direct bus line from the station to the resort appears in the open-data timetables. The nearest airport is Chambéry-Savoie, 57 min away.

How long is the drive from Paris to Semnoz?

6 hr 17 for 559 km from central Paris, excluding traffic and winter conditions. Computed on the real road network (OpenStreetMap): allow more on a school-holiday Saturday.

Is the snow reliable in Semnoz?

Good snow from mid-January to late March. 105 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, measured over 18 winters at the Météo-France “ALLANT-NIVOSE” station. This verdict rests on 18 winters of Météo-France measurements (2008-2026); in season the daily report prevails.

Is Semnoz good for beginners and families?

71% of the pistes are green or blue: a rather easy area.

Nearby resorts

Full page in French. The French page carries the editorial guides and a few extra readings; every figure, webcam and price on this page is the same one. Semnoz in French →

Every figure carries its source and date; a missing figure shows as “—”, never estimated. Embed this widget on your site