Barèges
Off seasonNot retained (conflicting sources): ski lifts.
Barèges is a ski resort in the Pyrenees (Hautes-Pyrénées). The village sits at 1,800 m and the ski area rises to 2,500 m, a skiable vertical of 700 m.

Live webcams
All webcams (11) →Each player is the camera operator’s own, loaded only when you ask for it — it may set its own trackers.
Official players of the resort, live image. 7 more cameras on the webcam page. Checked on 24 September 2026.
Snow, opening and weather
Snow report →Open pistes and lifts will appear here during the season, as published by the resort. Out of season we show nothing rather than a misleading zero.
Right now at the LA MONGIE_SAPC station (1,779 m)
Source: Météo-France, LA MONGIE_SAPC weather station, 7 km away. Hourly measurement — not the resort’s own snow report.
Avalanche danger
Good snow from mid-January to mid-March. 105 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, and 536 cm of fresh snow, measured over 14 winters at the Météo-France “Piau” station. Fortnight by fortnight, over 14 measured winters →
3-day forecast
Village 1,800 m · top 2,500 m
Forecast corrected for altitude; fresh snow = forecast total at the top; UV = peak of the day. Beyond 3 days, check the resort’s own report. Source:Open-Meteo.
Seven criteria rated from 1 to 5 stars, in half-stars, from this page's sourced data. A rating is a rank among the 315 French resorts we cover — 5 stars means “among the best in France on this point”, not “perfect”. Nobody types these in.
- SnowCan you count on the snow?4 / 5
Top of the ski area: 2,500 m · Bottom of the pistes: 1,800 m · Days above 30 cm per winter, measured: 105 days · Days above 30 cm, December to March, model: 90%
- Ski areaIs there enough to ski all week?3.5 / 5
Km skiable from the resort, linked area included: 100 km
- ValueIs the lift pass reasonable for what you get?3.5 / 5
Adult day pass: €43 · Adult 6-day pass: €318
- Families and beginnersIs it right for children and beginners?3 / 5
Share of green and blue pistes: 75% · ESF ski school · Ice rink, pool, rail sledge…: 1
- AccessIs it easy to get to?2.5 / 5
Average drive time from 20 major cities: 7 hr 26 · Nearest railway station: 44 min · Station-to-resort shuttles per day: 3 · Nearest airport: 59 min
- Atmosphere and après-skiIs there life in the evening and off the slopes?3 / 5
Bars and pubs: 2 · Nightclubs: 0 · Restaurants: 9 · Upcoming events: 1 · Collective tourist beds: 103 — index: what the map and the listings publish
- Luxury and comfortHow upmarket is the resort?1 / 5
5-star hotels: 0 · 4-star hotels: 0 · Share of hotel rooms in 4 and 5 stars: 0% · Spas and saunas: 0 · Jewellers, watchmakers, fashion boutiques: 0 · Adult day pass: €43 — index: what the map and the listings publish
“Atmosphere” and “Luxury” are indexes: they count what OpenStreetMap and the event listings publish within 2.5 km (bars, nightclubs, rated hotels, spas, upcoming events), not what you experience there. A zero means “nothing mapped”, not “nothing there”. Sources per criterion: snow (altitudes declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), STRMTG register, OpenStreetMap; snow depth observed at the Météo-France station, ERA5-Land model) ; ski area (figures declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), national lift register (STRMTG), OpenStreetMap) ; value (the resort’s official price list) ; families and beginners (OpenStreetMap pistes, price list, ESF ski school, Famille Plus label, OpenStreetMap leisure) ; access (OSRM drive times from 20 cities, SNCF stations, GTFS shuttles, airports) ; atmosphere and après-ski (bars, nightclubs and restaurants within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap), upcoming events (OpenAgenda), collective tourist beds (INSEE)) ; luxury and comfort (rated hotels within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap) and by category across the commune (INSEE), spas and boutiques (OpenStreetMap), day pass price).
Lift passes
All prices (child, family, season) →€318 6 days€48 1 day · Grand Tourmalet pass (linked area)
Price declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association) — not the official price list, which prevails. Season not stated by the resort. ANMSM ↗
- Skiable vertical
- 700 m
Ski-area figures — village, bottom, top, km of the linked area: ANMSM — figures declared by the resort (25 Sept) . In a linked ski area the map cannot tell where the resort ends: its own km stay “n/a” until the resort declares them.
The ski area in figures
Measured on 9 September 2026Measured on OpenStreetMap (altitudes: IGN RGE ALTI), not taken from the brochure. The vertical above is that of one piste, not of the whole ski area. Population: INSEE municipal population via geo.api.gouv.fr.
Staying and hiring gear in Barèges
The partners covering this resort, shown side by side, and the shop to kit out before you leave. Some links earn us a commission — never at the expense of the price or of the data.
Collective accommodation
103 bed spaces in tourist residences, holiday villages and hostels
- 5 hotels · 58 rooms (3 × 3★, 1 × 2★)
- 1 holiday village or family centre · 103 bed spaces
- 1 campsite · 27 pitches
Commune: Barèges · INSEE tourist accommodation survey, 2026, read on 12 September 2026. Collective accommodation only — privately let flats and second homes are not counted. INSEE dataset ↗
Stay & accommodation
Ski hire
Gear & equipment
Beyond skiing at Barèges
Cinema
- Cinéma Le Refuge · 1.9 km away · OpenStreetMap
Source: DATAtourisme (open data), within 10 km of the resort; places in a large town of the valley are left out. Checked on 12 September 2026. Lines marked OpenStreetMap come from the map, within 3 km — opening times on site. Opening times and prices are the operator’s — check before you go.
Ski schools and practical information
Ski school
ESF Bareges
40 instructors
🇬🇧 20 English-speaking instructors — lessons in English available
🗓️ This school sells its lessons online — book ↗
Source: esf.net
Resort contacts and documents
- Tourist office
- OFFICE DE TOURISME TOURMALET PIC DU MIDI · 3, allées Tournefort, 65200 · 0562955071 · info@tourmaletpicdumidi.fr (declared by the resort, ANMSM)
In case of accident
112 — the European emergency number, free of charge, triggers mountain rescue. On the pistes, the ski patrol number is printed on the piste map and at lift ticket offices. Piste rescue is charged: check your insurance or take the option sold with the lift pass.
Resort data: declared by OFFICE DE TOURISME TOURMALET PIC DU MIDI and distributed by ANMSM · read on 25 September
Off the pistes: off-piste and ski touring
The resorts for off-piste skiing →Named itineraries: Caoubère
Itineraries surveyed on OpenStreetMap within a 4 km radius (7 September 2026): “marked” means an itinerary exists on the map, not that it is open or safe on the day.
Ski touring routes described
12 ski touring routes documented within 10 km of Barèges — up to 1,330 m of climb.
| Summit and route | Ski grade | Climb | Altitude | Aspect | From resort |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| La Laquette · Du Lienz et ou de Tournaboup | 1.2 · F | 550 m | 1,450 → 1,720 m | NE · W | 0.8 km |
| Allée Verte · Depuis Barèges | 2.2 · PD- | 340 m | 1,250 → 1,540 m | N | 0.8 km |
| Pic d'Ourdégon · Couloir E (du point coté 2395) | 3.1 | 950 m | 2,395 m | E | 1.2 km |
| Pène Blanque Pointe E · La diagonale du Lac d'Oncet | 5.1 · E3 · TD- | 1,330 m | 1,450 → 2,705 m | S | 1.5 km |
The other 8 routes, with grades and vertical →
Source: Camptocamp.org topo guide (CC BY-SA), routes starting within 10 km, read on 13 September 2026. Descriptions and photos are on Camptocamp; an empty cell is a field nobody has filled in. Camptocamp ski touring routes ↗
Piste map
Open on OpenSnowMap ↗Official piste map
Pistes coloured by level, lifts as lines. The resort’s official map is the reference in season.
Base map © OpenTopoMap (CC-BY-SA) · pistes © OpenSnowMap (CC-BY-SA) · data ©OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).
Getting to Barèges
From Paris: 9 hr 25 (869 km) by road.
By road
- From Pau: 1 hr 31 · 82 km
- From Toulouse: 2 hr 48 · 219 km · via Lourdes station
- From Bordeaux: 3 hr 32 · 292 km
- From Perpignan: 4 hr 38 · 415 km · via Lourdes station
- From Montpellier: 5 hr 06 · 449 km · via Lourdes station
From other major cities (15)
- From Clermont-Ferrand: 6 hr 41 · 588 km · via Lourdes station
- From Marseille: 6 hr 46 · 612 km · via Lourdes station
- From Valence: 6 hr 56 · 647 km · via Lourdes station
- From Grenoble: 7 hr 38 · 707 km
- From Lyon: 7 hr 48 · 715 km
- From Saint-Étienne: 8 hr 06 · 626 km · via Lourdes station
- From Nice: 8 hr 09 · 739 km
- From Chambéry: 8 hr 23 · 766 km
- From Annecy: 8 hr 48 · 825 km
- From Genève: 9 hr 18 · 862 km
- From Dijon: 9 hr 21 · 852 km
- From Paris: 9 hr 25 · 869 km
- From Besançon: 9 hr 57 · 910 km
- From Nancy: 11 hr 28 · 1063 km
- From Strasbourg: 12 hr 20 · 1148 km
Excluding traffic and winter conditions; passes closed in winter are avoided.
By train
Lourdes station
main station, high-speed trains · then 44 min drive (42 km)
- From Lourdes station (stop “LOURDES - Gare SNCF”): line 968 — LOURDES - LUZ (.liO 65), 1 hr 03 to the “BARÈGES - Place du Dr. Fourment” stop — 3 departures a day on weekdays, 3 a day at weekends · first 08:00, last 15:45 · timetable from 15 December 2026 to 15 April 2027 · official timetable ↗
Direct journeys read from the official timetable files published on transport.data.gouv.fr — no connections.
By plane
- Tarbes-Lourdes-Pyrénées (LDE): 59 min by road · 54 km
- Pau-Pyrénées (PUF): 1 hr 37 by road · 91 km
Take me there
These links open the app with Barèges as the destination. Your starting point is never sent by us — the app asks you for it, if you agree.
Charging an electric car
3 charging stations within 2 km
4 charging points · up to 44 kW
- FR-S65-E65481-001-1 · Load Stations · 1 point · 22 kW · 1.4 km
- FR-S65-E65481-001-2 · Load Stations · 1 point · 22 kW · 1.4 km
- CU-SDE65-BAR1-65120-1 · Load Stations · 2 points · 44 kW · 1.9 km
Freely accessible charge points read from the French national EV charging database (data.gouv.fr ↗, operators’ own declarations), checked on 9 September 2026. Check availability before you leave: the database says what is installed, not what is free tonight.
Road conditions
From 1 November to 31 March, snow chains or winter tyres are compulsory in most mountain areas (French “Loi Montagne II”).
Driving times computed on the OpenStreetMap road network (OSRM), SNCF stations (open data), airports (Wikidata). Indicative, not a timetable: allow extra time in snow.
What's on around Barèges
All events →-
29 September 2026 · 09:00
IMPACT : le tour de France des solutions RSE
Forum de Luz-Saint-Sauveur · Luz-Saint-Sauveur
Événement La French Tech
Source: OpenAgenda, agenda “La French Tech Pyrénées Adour” · View on OpenAgenda ↗
Also near: Luz-Ardiden (5.1 km), Cauterets (9.2 km)
Events published on OpenAgenda by the agendas named above, kept when they take place within 10 km of the resort. We organise nothing: times, prices and cancellations are the organiser's.
The area offers 100 km of alpine pistes across Grand Tourmalet.
Barèges belongs to the linked Grand Tourmalet area: one lift pass covers the neighbouring resorts.
Measured on the OpenStreetMap map: the longest piste runs 3 km (Pourteilh) and the highest lift tops out at 2,856 m.
Access: 1 h 31 by road from Pau and 44 min from Lourdes railway station.
11 official webcams show the pistes live (on the French page).
Frequently asked questions
How high is Barèges?
Barèges sits at 1,800 m at village level, and its ski area rises to 2,500 m.
How many kilometres of pistes does Barèges have?
From Barèges you can ski 100 km of slopes across Grand Tourmalet.
What is the longest piste in Barèges?
The longest piste is Pourteilh: 3 km (black run), for 216 m of vertical. Measured on the OpenStreetMap map, segments of the same name and level joined end to end, altitudes from the IGN RGE ALTI terrain model — a resort sometimes advertises a longer run by chaining several pistes.
How high do the lifts go in Barèges?
The highest lift, Pic du Midi 2, tops out at 2,856 m (IGN RGE ALTI terrain model). The 24 lifts mapped on OpenStreetMap total 20 km.
How much is a lift pass in Barèges?
The adult day pass costs €43 and the 6-day pass €318 (season not stated by the resort, declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association)). The Grand Tourmalet pass, covering the whole linked area, costs €48 a day.
How do I get to Barèges?
By road, Barèges is 1 hr 31 from Pau (82 km), excluding traffic and winter conditions. By train, the nearest station is Lourdes (main station, high-speed trains), 44 min by road from the resort. From Lourdes station, line 968 — LOURDES - LUZ (.liO 65) reaches the “BARÈGES - Place du Dr. Fourment” stop in 1 hr 03, 3 departures a day on weekdays, 3 a day at weekends. The nearest airport is Tarbes-Lourdes-Pyrénées, 59 min away.
How long is the drive from Paris to Barèges?
9 hr 25 for 869 km from central Paris, excluding traffic and winter conditions. Computed on the real road network (OpenStreetMap): allow more on a school-holiday Saturday.
Is the snow reliable in Barèges?
Good snow from mid-January to mid-March. 105 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, and 536 cm of fresh snow, measured over 14 winters at the Météo-France “Piau” station. This verdict rests on 14 winters of Météo-France measurements (1992-2022); in season the daily report prevails.
Nearby resorts
Every figure carries its source and date; a missing figure shows as “—”, never estimated. Embed this widget on your site