Bonneval sur Arc
Off season · opens 19 December 2026Bonneval sur Arc is a ski resort in the Northern Alps (Savoie), in the commune of Bonneval-sur-Arc. The village sits at 1,800 m and the ski area rises to 3,000 m, a skiable vertical of 1,200 m.

Bonneval sur Arc webcams
Bonneval sur Arc broadcasts its images on its own page: the link takes you there. 7 more cameras on the webcam page. Checked on 25 September 2026.
Snow, opening and weather
Snow report →The domain is due to open on 19 December 2026 and close on 24 April 2027. Open pistes and lifts will appear here as soon as the resort publishes its daily report.
Right now at the BONNEVAL-NIVOSE station (2,741 m)
Source: Météo-France, BONNEVAL-NIVOSE weather station, 2.5 km away. Hourly measurement — not the resort’s own snow report.
Avalanche danger
Good snow from mid-December to mid-April: a long, reliable season. 131 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, measured over 10 winters at the Météo-France “TIGNES_SAPC” station. Fortnight by fortnight, over 10 measured winters →
3-day forecast
Village 1,800 m · top 3,000 m
Forecast corrected for altitude; fresh snow = forecast total at the top; UV = peak of the day. Beyond 3 days, check the resort’s own report. Source:Open-Meteo.
Seven criteria rated from 1 to 5 stars, in half-stars, from this page's sourced data. A rating is a rank among the 315 French resorts we cover — 5 stars means “among the best in France on this point”, not “perfect”. Nobody types these in.
- SnowCan you count on the snow?4.5 / 5
Top of the ski area: 3,000 m · Bottom of the pistes: 1,800 m · Days above 30 cm per winter, measured: 131 days · Days above 30 cm, December to March, model: 99%
- Ski areaIs there enough to ski all week?3.5 / 5
Km of pistes at the resort: 31 km · Lifts: 11 · Balance between piste levels: 87%
- ValueIs the lift pass reasonable for what you get?3.5 / 5
Adult day pass: €32 · Day pass price per km of pistes: €1.03/km · Adult 6-day pass: €157
- Families and beginnersIs it right for children and beginners?3 / 5
Share of green and blue pistes: 77% · Magic carpets: 1 · Sledging runs: 1 · ESF ski school · Ice rink, pool, rail sledge…: 1
- AccessIs it easy to get to?2.5 / 5
Average drive time from 20 major cities: 5 hr 20 · Nearest railway station: 47 min · Station-to-resort shuttles per day: 1 · Nearest airport: 2 hr 09
- Atmosphere and après-skiIs there life in the evening and off the slopes?2 / 5
Bars and pubs: 0 · Nightclubs: 0 · Restaurants: 13 · Upcoming events: 0 · Collective tourist beds: 100 — index: what the map and the listings publish
- Luxury and comfortHow upmarket is the resort?1 / 5
5-star hotels: 0 · 4-star hotels: 0 · Share of hotel rooms in 4 and 5 stars: 0% · Spas and saunas: 0 · Jewellers, watchmakers, fashion boutiques: 0 · Adult day pass: €32 — index: what the map and the listings publish
“Atmosphere” and “Luxury” are indexes: they count what OpenStreetMap and the event listings publish within 2.5 km (bars, nightclubs, rated hotels, spas, upcoming events), not what you experience there. A zero means “nothing mapped”, not “nothing there”. Sources per criterion: snow (altitudes declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), STRMTG register, OpenStreetMap; snow depth observed at the Météo-France station, ERA5-Land model) ; ski area (figures declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), national lift register (STRMTG), OpenStreetMap) ; value (the resort’s official price list) ; families and beginners (OpenStreetMap pistes, price list, ESF ski school, Famille Plus label, OpenStreetMap leisure) ; access (OSRM drive times from 20 cities, SNCF stations, GTFS shuttles, airports) ; atmosphere and après-ski (bars, nightclubs and restaurants within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap), upcoming events (OpenAgenda), collective tourist beds (INSEE)) ; luxury and comfort (rated hotels within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap) and by category across the commune (INSEE), spas and boutiques (OpenStreetMap), day pass price).
Lift passes
All prices (child, family, season) →€157 6 days
Price declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association) — not the official price list, which prevails. Season not stated by the resort. ANMSM ↗
44 pistes, by level
- Skiable vertical
- 1,200 m
- Cross-country skiing
- 5 km of nordic trails
Ski-area figures — village, bottom, top: ANMSM — figures declared by the resort (25 Sept); km of pistes, pistes by level: OpenStreetMap; lifts: STRMTG — French national lift register (1 Jan) .
The ski area in figures
Measured on 9 September 2026Measured on OpenStreetMap (altitudes: IGN RGE ALTI), not taken from the brochure. The vertical above is that of one piste, not of the whole ski area. Population: INSEE municipal population via geo.api.gouv.fr.
Source: national register of mechanical lifts (STRMTG, CAIRN), fleet as of 1 January 2025 — lifts attributed to Bonneval sur Arc only (“BONNEVAL SUR ARC”), magic carpets included.
Staying and hiring gear in Bonneval sur Arc
The partners covering this resort, shown side by side, and the shop to kit out before you leave. Some links earn us a commission — never at the expense of the price or of the data.
Collective accommodation
100 bed spaces in tourist residences, holiday villages and hostels
- 1 hotel · 19 rooms
- 1 tourist residence or apartment hotel · 100 bed spaces
Commune: Bonneval-sur-Arc · INSEE tourist accommodation survey, 2026, read on 12 September 2026. Collective accommodation only — privately let flats and second homes are not counted. INSEE dataset ↗
Stay & accommodation
Gear & equipment
Beyond skiing at Bonneval sur Arc
Without skis on — 6 km of snowshoe and walking trails · 1 sledging run
Ice rink
- Patinoire · OpenStreetMap
Paragliding
- Val d'Isère Parapente · Val-d'Isère · 7.9 km away
Source: DATAtourisme (open data), within 10 km of the resort; places in a large town of the valley are left out. Checked on 12 September 2026. Lines marked OpenStreetMap come from the map, within 3 km — opening times on site. Opening times and prices are the operator’s — check before you go.
Ski schools and practical information
Ski school
ESF Bonneval Sur Arc
32 instructors
🇬🇧 22 English-speaking instructors — lessons in English available
🗓️ This school sells its lessons online — book ↗
Source: esf.net
Resort contacts and documents
- Tourist office
- Office de tourisme de Haute Maurienne Vanoise · La Ciamarella, 73480 · 0479059595 · info@hautemaurienne.com (declared by the resort, ANMSM)
In case of accident
112 — the European emergency number, free of charge, triggers mountain rescue. On the pistes, the ski patrol number is printed on the piste map and at lift ticket offices. Piste rescue is charged: check your insurance or take the option sold with the lift pass.
Resort data: declared by Office de tourisme de Haute Maurienne Vanoise and distributed by ANMSM · read on 25 September
Off the pistes: off-piste and ski touring
The resorts for off-piste skiing →Named itineraries: Gypaète
Itineraries surveyed on OpenStreetMap within a 4 km radius (7 September 2026): “marked” means an itinerary exists on the map, not that it is open or safe on the day.
Ski touring routes described
12 ski touring routes documented within 10 km of Bonneval sur Arc — up to 5,000 m of climb.
| Summit and route | Ski grade | Climb | Altitude | Aspect | From resort |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bonneval sur Arc - Village · Raid à ski au départ de Bonneval-sur-Arc | n/a · PD+ | 5,000 m | 1,700 → 3,637 m | N · NE · E · S · SW · SE · W · NW | 0.2 km |
| Tralenta · Couloir de la Fontaine | n/a | 350 m | 1,950 → 2,300 m | NW | 0.8 km |
| Pointe de la Met · Versant N - depuis Bonneval sur Arc | 3.2 · E2 · PD | 1,240 m | 1,800 → 3,041 m | N | 1.5 km |
| Ouille du Midi · Crête W | n/a · PD | 1,234 m | 1,808 → 3,042 m | N | 1.7 km |
The other 8 routes, with grades and vertical →
Source: Camptocamp.org topo guide (CC BY-SA), routes starting within 10 km, read on 13 September 2026. Descriptions and photos are on Camptocamp; an empty cell is a field nobody has filled in. Camptocamp ski touring routes ↗
Piste map
Open on OpenSnowMap ↗Official piste map
Pistes coloured by level, lifts as lines. The resort’s official map is the reference in season.
Base map © OpenTopoMap (CC-BY-SA) · pistes © OpenSnowMap (CC-BY-SA) · data ©OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).
Getting to Bonneval sur Arc
From Paris: 7 hr 45 (715 km) by road.
By road
- From Chambéry: 1 hr 58 · 146 km
- From Grenoble: 2 hr 15 · 176 km
- From Annecy: 2 hr 27 · 193 km
- From Genève: 2 hr 57 · 231 km
- From Lyon: 3 hr 08 · 245 km
From other major cities (15)
- From Valence: 3 hr 18 · 268 km
- From Saint-Étienne: 3 hr 42 · 293 km
- From Dijon: 5 hr 01 · 446 km
- From Clermont-Ferrand: 5 hr 01 · 413 km
- From Besançon: 5 hr 17 · 403 km
- From Marseille: 5 hr 22 · 369 km
- From Montpellier: 5 hr 25 · 473 km
- From Nice: 5 hr 27 · 426 km · via Modane station
- From Perpignan: 6 hr 47 · 621 km
- From Nancy: 7 hr 08 · 656 km
- From Strasbourg: 7 hr 12 · 621 km
- From Toulouse: 7 hr 43 · 707 km
- From Paris: 7 hr 45 · 715 km
- From Bordeaux: 9 hr 00 · 800 km
- From Pau: 9 hr 37 · 897 km
Excluding traffic and winter conditions; passes closed in winter are avoided.
By train
Modane station
regional station · then 47 min drive (44 km)
Nearest main station: Chambéry - Challes-les-Eaux, 1 hr 57 by road.
- From Modane station (stop “Gare Routiere”): line S53 — MODANE ↔ BONNEVAL SUR ARC (REGION - cars Région Savoie), 1 hr 18 to the “Village” stop — 1 departure a day on weekdays · first 11:00, last 19:20 · timetable from 15 December 2026 to 15 April 2027 · official timetable ↗
Direct journeys read from the official timetable files published on transport.data.gouv.fr — no connections.
By plane
- Turin-Caselle (TRN): 2 hr 29 by road · 165 km
- Chambéry-Savoie (CMF): 2 hr 09 by road · 154 km
Take me there
These links open the app with Bonneval sur Arc as the destination. Your starting point is never sent by us — the app asks you for it, if you agree.
Charging an electric car
No freely accessible charge point is declared within 2 km of the resort (checked on 9 September 2026). Covered car parks in the resort may offer chargers reserved for their customers: those are not listed here.
Freely accessible charge points read from the French national EV charging database (data.gouv.fr ↗, operators’ own declarations), checked on 9 September 2026. Check availability before you leave: the database says what is installed, not what is free tonight.
Road conditions
From 1 November to 31 March, snow chains or winter tyres are compulsory in most mountain areas (French “Loi Montagne II”).
Driving times computed on the OpenStreetMap road network (OSRM), SNCF stations (open data), airports (Wikidata). Indicative, not a timetable: allow extra time in snow.
The area offers 31 km of alpine pistes, 44 marked pistes (16 green, 18 blue, 7 red, 3 black), 11 ski lifts. Green and blue runs dominate: terrain suited to beginners and families.
Measured on the OpenStreetMap map: the longest piste runs 8 km (Bartavelle) and the highest lift tops out at 2,950 m.
The resort holds the Les Plus Beaux Villages de France label.
Access: 1 h 58 by road from Chambéry and 47 min from Modane railway station.
10 official webcams show the pistes live (on the French page).
Frequently asked questions
How high is Bonneval sur Arc?
Bonneval sur Arc sits at 1,800 m at village level, and its ski area rises to 3,000 m.
How many kilometres of pistes does Bonneval sur Arc have?
Bonneval sur Arc has 31 km of slopes, 11 lifts.
What is the longest piste in Bonneval sur Arc?
The longest piste is Bartavelle: 8 km (blue run), for 527 m of vertical. Measured on the OpenStreetMap map, segments of the same name and level joined end to end, altitudes from the IGN RGE ALTI terrain model — a resort sometimes advertises a longer run by chaining several pistes.
How high do the lifts go in Bonneval sur Arc?
The highest lift, 3000 (chairlift), tops out at 2,937 m. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.
How many lifts does Bonneval sur Arc have, and what is their capacity?
The French national register of mechanical lifts records 11 installations at Bonneval sur Arc (3 chairlifts, 7 drag lifts, 1 magic carpet), for an authorised capacity of 7,881 people per hour, of which 1,300 for Andagne alone. The fleet spans 1972 to 2017, an average age of 29 years. This count covers the resort itself, magic carpets included, not the whole linked ski area — a resort brochure often announces a different number. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.
How much is a lift pass in Bonneval sur Arc?
The adult day pass costs €32 and the 6-day pass €157 (season not stated by the resort, declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association)).
How do I get to Bonneval sur Arc?
By road, Bonneval sur Arc is 1 hr 58 from Chambéry (146 km), excluding traffic and winter conditions. By train, the nearest station is Modane, 47 min by road from the resort. From Modane station, line S53 — MODANE ↔ BONNEVAL SUR ARC (REGION - cars Région Savoie) reaches the “Village” stop in 1 hr 18, 1 departure a day on weekdays. The nearest airport is Turin-Caselle, 2 hr 29 away.
How long is the drive from Paris to Bonneval sur Arc?
7 hr 45 for 715 km from central Paris, excluding traffic and winter conditions. Computed on the real road network (OpenStreetMap): allow more on a school-holiday Saturday.
When does Bonneval sur Arc open?
According to the official website, the resort opens on 19 December 2026 and closes on 24 April 2027 (2026-2027 season).
Is the snow reliable in Bonneval sur Arc?
Good snow from mid-December to mid-April: a long, reliable season. 131 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, measured over 10 winters at the Météo-France “TIGNES_SAPC” station. This verdict rests on 10 winters of Météo-France measurements (2015-2026); in season the daily report prevails.
Is Bonneval sur Arc good for beginners and families?
77% of the pistes are green or blue: a very accessible area.
Nearby resorts
Every figure carries its source and date; a missing figure shows as “—”, never estimated. Embed this widget on your site