Gérardmer

Off season
Vosges Updated on 23 September 2026
850 mVillage altitude
1,140 mTop of the ski area
40 kmAlpine pistes
19Ski lifts
€35.50Adult day pass

Gérardmer is a ski resort in the Vosges (Vosges). The village sits at 850 m and the ski area rises to 1,140 m, a skiable vertical of 390 m.

Gérardmer — view of the resort
Photo: Wikimedia Commons

Live webcams

All webcams (5) →
Front de Neige Open at the operator ↗
TetrasWebcam-HD
Lac de GérardmerWebcam-HD
SkisleclairIPCamLive

Each player is the camera operator’s own, loaded only when you ask for it — it may set its own trackers.

Official players of the resort, live image. 1 more camera on the webcam page. Checked on 25 September 2026.

Snow, opening and weather

Snow report →

Open pistes and lifts will appear here during the season, as published by the resort. Out of season we show nothing rather than a misleading zero.

Natural snow is low on average: skiing depends on snowmaking and good years. 16 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, measured over 22 winters at the Météo-France “LONGEMER” station. Fortnight by fortnight, over 22 measured winters →

3-day forecast

Village 850 m · top 1,140 m

Loading…

Forecast corrected for altitude; fresh snow = forecast total at the top; UV = peak of the day. Beyond 3 days, check the resort’s own report. Source:Open-Meteo.

7-day forecast →

SkiRadar ratings

How ratings are computed →Computed on 24 September 2026

Seven criteria rated from 1 to 5 stars, in half-stars, from this page's sourced data. A rating is a rank among the 315 French resorts we cover — 5 stars means “among the best in France on this point”, not “perfect”. Nobody types these in.

  1. SnowCan you count on the snow?
    1 / 5

    Top of the ski area: 1,140 m · Bottom of the pistes: 750 m · Days above 30 cm per winter, measured: 16 days · Days above 30 cm, December to March, model: 1%

  2. Ski areaIs there enough to ski all week?
    4 / 5

    Km of pistes at the resort: 40 km · Lifts: 19 · Balance between piste levels: 89%

  3. ValueIs the lift pass reasonable for what you get?
    3.5 / 5

    Adult day pass: €35.50 · Day pass price per km of pistes: €0.89/km · Adult 6-day pass: €161.50

  4. Families and beginnersIs it right for children and beginners?
    3 / 5

    Share of green and blue pistes: 52% · Magic carpets: 1 · Sledging runs: 1 · ESF ski school · Ice rink, pool, rail sledge…: 4 · Famille Plus label

  5. AccessIs it easy to get to?
    2 / 5

    Average drive time from 20 major cities: 6 hr 08 · Nearest railway station: 39 min · Station-to-resort shuttles per day: 0 · Nearest airport: 1 hr 39

  6. Atmosphere and après-skiIs there life in the evening and off the slopes?
    4 / 5

    Bars and pubs: 17 · Nightclubs: 1 · Restaurants: 47 · Upcoming events: 0 · Collective tourist beds: 381 — index: what the map and the listings publish

  7. Luxury and comfortHow upmarket is the resort?
    3 / 5

    5-star hotels: 0 · 4-star hotels: 2 · Share of hotel rooms in 4 and 5 stars: 28% · Spas and saunas: 1 · Jewellers, watchmakers, fashion boutiques: 5 · Adult day pass: €35.50 — index: what the map and the listings publish

“Atmosphere” and “Luxury” are indexes: they count what OpenStreetMap and the event listings publish within 2.5 km (bars, nightclubs, rated hotels, spas, upcoming events), not what you experience there. A zero means “nothing mapped”, not “nothing there”. Sources per criterion: snow (altitudes declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), STRMTG register, OpenStreetMap; snow depth observed at the Météo-France station, ERA5-Land model) ; ski area (figures declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), national lift register (STRMTG), OpenStreetMap) ; value (the resort’s official price list) ; families and beginners (OpenStreetMap pistes, price list, ESF ski school, Famille Plus label, OpenStreetMap leisure) ; access (OSRM drive times from 20 cities, SNCF stations, GTFS shuttles, airports) ; atmosphere and après-ski (bars, nightclubs and restaurants within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap), upcoming events (OpenAgenda), collective tourist beds (INSEE)) ; luxury and comfort (rated hotels within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap) and by category across the commune (INSEE), spas and boutiques (OpenStreetMap), day pass price).

€161.50 6 days

Price declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association) — not the official price list, which prevails. Season not stated by the resort. ANMSM ↗

21 pistes, by level

8 green3 blue8 red2 black
Skiable vertical
390 m
Cross-country skiing
13 km of nordic trails
Snowpark
Yes

Ski-area figures — village, bottom, top, km of pistes, lifts, pistes by level: ANMSM — figures declared by the resort (25 Sept) . The national register attributes 22 lifts to Gérardmer alone; the figure above comes from the most reliable source.

The ski area in figures

Measured on 9 September 2026
1 kmLongest piste — Le Renard (green), 185 m of vertical
312 mBiggest vertical without changing piste — 1,092 → 779 m, 1 km
1,132 mHighest lift top — Hêtres (platter lift), national lift register
21,580Total lift capacity, people per hour — 22 installations: 2 chairlifts, 19 drag lifts, 1 magic carpet
27 yrsAverage age of the lift fleet — oldest 1970, newest 2017
3,000Biggest lift, people per hour — Grand Haut (detachable chairlift, 2015)
3 kmTotal length of lifts — 8 lifts mapped
204 haSki area boundary (OSM)
7,581Inhabitants — Gérardmer (INSEE 88196)

Measured on OpenStreetMap (altitudes: IGN RGE ALTI), not taken from the brochure. The vertical above is that of one piste, not of the whole ski area. Population: INSEE municipal population via geo.api.gouv.fr.

Source: national register of mechanical lifts (STRMTG, CAIRN), fleet as of 1 January 2025 — lifts attributed to Gérardmer only (“GERARDMER”), magic carpets included.

Staying and hiring gear in Gérardmer

The partners covering this resort, shown side by side, and the shop to kit out before you leave. Some links earn us a commission — never at the expense of the price or of the data.

Collective accommodation

381 bed spaces in tourist residences, holiday villages and hostels

  • 20 hotels · 518 rooms (3 × 4★, 6 × 3★, 6 × 2★)
  • 1 holiday village or family centre · 162 bed spaces
  • 3 tourist residences and apartment hotels · 163 bed spaces
  • 1 youth hostel or sports centre · 56 bed spaces
  • 4 campsites · 382 pitches

Commune: Gérardmer · INSEE tourist accommodation survey, 2026, read on 12 September 2026. Collective accommodation only — privately let flats and second homes are not counted. INSEE dataset ↗

Stay & accommodation

Holidu
Holiday-rental comparison site.
See offers
Ski Planet
Self-catering flats and all-inclusive ski holidays at the foot of the slopes, since 1999.
See offers
Montagne Vacances
Flats and chalets in the resort, at direct prices.
See offers

Gear & equipment

Absolute Snow
UK ski and snowboard shop — delivers to UK addresses only.
Browse the shop
Hardloop
Mountain gear shop: ski touring, avalanche safety, winter clothing.
Browse the shop
Picture
Ski and snowboard jackets, pants and accessories — a French brand.
Browse the shop

All about staying in Gérardmer →

Beyond skiing at Gérardmer

Without skis on — 7 km of snowshoe and walking trails · 1 sledging run

Toboggan runs

  • Luge d'été · Soultzeren · 9.4 km away

Ice rink

Swimming pool

Spa and thermal baths

  • Espace Bien-Être · 2.4 km away · OpenStreetMap

Dog sledding

Paragliding

Cinema

Source: DATAtourisme (open data), within 10 km of the resort; places in a large town of the valley are left out. Checked on 12 September 2026. Lines marked OpenStreetMap come from the map, within 3 km — opening times on site. Opening times and prices are the operator’s — check before you go.

Ski schools and practical information

Ski school

ESF Gerardmer

📞 03 29 63 33 23

🌐 esf-gerardmer.fr

73 instructors

🇬🇧 44 English-speaking instructors — lessons in English available

🗓️ This school sells its lessons online — book ↗

Source: esf.net

All about the ski school in Gérardmer →

Resort contacts and documents

Resort app
Android (declared by the resort, ANMSM)

In case of accident

112 — the European emergency number, free of charge, triggers mountain rescue. On the pistes, the ski patrol number is printed on the piste map and at lift ticket offices. Piste rescue is charged: check your insurance or take the option sold with the lift pass.

Resort data: declared by OTC GERARDMER HAUTES VOSGES and distributed by ANMSM · read on 25 September

Off the pistes: off-piste and ski touring

The resorts for off-piste skiing →
0 0

Ski touring routes described

12 ski touring routes documented within 10 km of Gérardmer — up to 1,850 m of climb.

Summit and routeSki gradeClimbAltitudeAspectFrom resort
Hohneck · tour des rochesn/a200 m909 → 1,177 mN4.4 km
Haut Rouan · depuis la Vallée du Chajouxn/a · PD-750 m710 mSW · W5.5 km
La Bresse · roche beutyn/a · AD250 m710 → 960 mN5.5 km
Cabane du Lac de Blanchemer · Blanchemer- Honeck - Kastelberg - Blanchemer1.3 · E1 · F+1,000 m900 → 1,350 mNE6.1 km

The other 8 routes, with grades and vertical →

Not a piste. Neither marked, nor patrolled, nor secured: transceiver, shovel, probe, the day’s avalanche bulletin and, better still, a guide. Ski grade (1.1–5.6) = steepness and commitment; exposure (E1–E4) = consequence of a fall.

Source: Camptocamp.org topo guide (CC BY-SA), routes starting within 10 km, read on 13 September 2026. Descriptions and photos are on Camptocamp; an empty cell is a field nobody has filled in. Camptocamp ski touring routes ↗

Official piste map

Open the piste map (image, 84 KB) ↗

Published by Gérardmer Ski (ski-area operator) · file dated 16 March 2026 · link checked on 12 September 2026 · official page

Link to the resort’s own file — a piste map is a copyrighted artwork, we host no copy.

Pistes coloured by level, lifts as lines. The resort’s official map is the reference in season.

Base map © OpenTopoMap (CC-BY-SA) · pistes © OpenSnowMap (CC-BY-SA) · data ©OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).

Getting to Gérardmer

From Paris: 5 hr 04 (431 km) by road.

By road

  • From Nancy: 1 hr 34 · 109 km
  • From Strasbourg: 1 hr 48 · 118 km
  • From Besançon: 2 hr 19 · 148 km
  • From Dijon: 2 hr 58 · 241 km
  • From Genève: 4 hr 36 · 308 km
From other major cities (15)
  • From Lyon: 4 hr 46 · 391 km
  • From Paris: 5 hr 04 · 431 km
  • From Annecy: 5 hr 06 · 352 km
  • From Grenoble: 5 hr 32 · 477 km
  • From Chambéry: 5 hr 33 · 394 km
  • From Saint-Étienne: 5 hr 34 · 450 km
  • From Valence: 5 hr 51 · 490 km
  • From Clermont-Ferrand: 6 hr 11 · 533 km
  • From Montpellier: 7 hr 54 · 692 km
  • From Marseille: 8 hr 00 · 701 km
  • From Perpignan: 9 hr 16 · 839 km
  • From Nice: 9 hr 17 · 754 km
  • From Bordeaux: 9 hr 43 · 924 km
  • From Toulouse: 9 hr 48 · 874 km
  • From Pau: 11 hr 45 · 1066 km

Excluding traffic and winter conditions; passes closed in winter are avoided.

By train

Kruth station

halt · then 39 min drive (33 km)

Nearest main station: Colmar, 1 hr 02 by road.

No direct bus line from the station to the resort appears in the open-data timetables (checked on 20 September 2026): ask the resort about a private shuttle or a taxi.

Shuttles and buses from the station: see the resort’s official website.

By plane

  • Bâle-Mulhouse (BSL): 1 hr 39 by road · 99 km
  • Strasbourg-Entzheim (SXB): 1 hr 41 by road · 108 km

Take me there

These links open the app with Gérardmer as the destination. Your starting point is never sent by us — the app asks you for it, if you agree.

Charging an electric car

No freely accessible charge point is declared within 2 km of the resort (checked on 9 September 2026). Covered car parks in the resort may offer chargers reserved for their customers: those are not listed here.

Freely accessible charge points read from the French national EV charging database (data.gouv.fr ↗, operators’ own declarations), checked on 9 September 2026. Check availability before you leave: the database says what is installed, not what is free tonight.

Road conditions

From 1 November to 31 March, snow chains or winter tyres are compulsory in most mountain areas (French “Loi Montagne II”).

Driving times computed on the OpenStreetMap road network (OSRM), SNCF stations (open data), airports (Wikidata). Indicative, not a timetable: allow extra time in snow.

The area offers 40 km of alpine pistes, 21 marked pistes (8 green, 3 blue, 8 red, 2 black), 19 ski lifts, plus a snowpark.

Measured on the OpenStreetMap map: the longest piste runs 1 km (Le Renard) and the highest lift tops out at 1,091 m.

The resort holds the Famille Plus and Station classée de tourisme labels.

Access: 1 h 34 by road from Nancy and 39 min from Kruth railway station.

5 official webcams show the pistes live (on the French page).

Frequently asked questions

How high is Gérardmer?

Gérardmer sits at 850 m at village level, and its ski area rises to 1,140 m.

How many kilometres of pistes does Gérardmer have?

Gérardmer has 40 km of slopes, 19 lifts.

What is the longest piste in Gérardmer?

The longest piste is Le Renard: 1 km (green run), for 185 m of vertical. Measured on the OpenStreetMap map, segments of the same name and level joined end to end, altitudes from the IGN RGE ALTI terrain model — a resort sometimes advertises a longer run by chaining several pistes.

How high do the lifts go in Gérardmer?

The highest lift, Hêtres (platter lift), tops out at 1,132 m. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How many lifts does Gérardmer have, and what is their capacity?

The French national register of mechanical lifts records 22 installations at Gérardmer (2 chairlifts, 19 drag lifts, 1 magic carpet), for an authorised capacity of 21,580 people per hour, of which 3,000 for Grand Haut alone. The fleet spans 1970 to 2017, an average age of 27 years. This count covers the resort itself, magic carpets included, not the whole linked ski area — a resort brochure often announces a different number. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How much is a lift pass in Gérardmer?

The adult day pass costs €35.50 and the 6-day pass €161.50 (season not stated by the resort, declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association)).

How do I get to Gérardmer?

By road, Gérardmer is 1 hr 34 from Nancy (109 km), excluding traffic and winter conditions. By train, the nearest station is Kruth, 39 min by road from the resort. No direct bus line from the station to the resort appears in the open-data timetables. The nearest airport is Bâle-Mulhouse, 1 hr 39 away.

How long is the drive from Paris to Gérardmer?

5 hr 04 for 431 km from central Paris, excluding traffic and winter conditions. Computed on the real road network (OpenStreetMap): allow more on a school-holiday Saturday.

Is the snow reliable in Gérardmer?

Natural snow is low on average: skiing depends on snowmaking and good years. 16 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, measured over 22 winters at the Météo-France “LONGEMER” station. This verdict rests on 22 winters of Météo-France measurements (1991-2022); in season the daily report prevails.

Is Gérardmer good for beginners and families?

52% of the pistes are green or blue: a rather technical area. The resort holds the Famille Plus family label.

Nearby resorts

Full page in French. The French page carries the editorial guides and a few extra readings; every figure, webcam and price on this page is the same one. Gérardmer in French →

Every figure carries its source and date; a missing figure shows as “—”, never estimated. Embed this widget on your site