Gréolières 1400

Southern Alps Updated on 21 September 2026
1,400 mVillage altitude
1,800 mTop of the ski area
30 kmAlpine pistes
11Ski lifts
€19Adult day pass

Gréolières 1400 is a ski resort in the Alpes-Maritimes, located in the commune of Gréolières. This small family ski resort has the distinction of being the resort closest to the coast, just 21 kilometres from the sea. From its summit, it is possible to catch sight of Italy, Toulon, the Mercantour, the Alps and even, in fine weather, Corsica.

Gréolières 1400 — view of the resort
Photo: Wikimedia Commons

Live webcams

All webcams (3) →
Front de Neige · Photo Open at the operator ↗
Front de NeigeSkaping
HuskiesSkaping

Each player is the camera operator’s own, loaded only when you ask for it — it may set its own trackers.

Official players of the resort, live image.

Snow, opening and weather

Snow report →

Open pistes and lifts will appear here during the season, as published by the resort. Out of season we show nothing rather than a misleading zero.

Right now at the CAUSSOLS station (1,268 m)

Source: Météo-France, CAUSSOLS weather station, 9.6 km away. Hourly measurement — not the resort’s own snow report.

3-day forecast

Village 1,400 m · top 1,800 m

Loading…

Forecast corrected for altitude; fresh snow = forecast total at the top; UV = peak of the day. Beyond 3 days, check the resort’s own report. Source:Open-Meteo.

7-day forecast →

SkiRadar ratings

How ratings are computed →Computed on 16 October 2026

Seven criteria rated from 1 to 5 stars, in half-stars, from this page's sourced data. A rating is a rank among the 315 French resorts we cover — 5 stars means “among the best in France on this point”, not “perfect”. Nobody types these in.

  1. SnowCan you count on the snow?
    2 / 5

    Top of the ski area: 1,800 m · Bottom of the pistes: 1,400 m · Days above 30 cm, December to March, model: 0%

  2. Ski areaIs there enough to ski all week?
    3 / 5

    Km of pistes at the resort: 30 km · Lifts: 11 · Balance between piste levels: 81%

  3. ValueIs the lift pass reasonable for what you get?
    3.5 / 5

    Adult day pass: €19 · Day pass price per km of pistes: €0.63/km

  4. Families and beginnersIs it right for children and beginners?
    1.5 / 5

    Share of green and blue pistes: 35% · Magic carpets: 1 · Sledging runs: 0 · ESF ski school · Ice rink, pool, rail sledge…: 0

  5. AccessIs it easy to get to?
    2 / 5

    Average drive time from 20 major cities: 6 hr 25 · Nearest railway station: 51 min · Station-to-resort shuttles per day: 0 · Nearest airport: 1 hr 02

  6. Atmosphere and après-skiIs there life in the evening and off the slopes?
    1 / 5

    Bars and pubs: 0 · Nightclubs: 0 · Restaurants: 2 · Upcoming events: 0 · Collective tourist beds: 0 — index: what the map and the listings publish

  7. Luxury and comfortHow upmarket is the resort?
    1 / 5

    5-star hotels: 0 · 4-star hotels: 0 · Share of hotel rooms in 4 and 5 stars: 0% · Spas and saunas: 0 · Jewellers, watchmakers, fashion boutiques: 0 · Adult day pass: €19 — index: what the map and the listings publish

“Atmosphere” and “Luxury” are indexes: they count what OpenStreetMap and the event listings publish within 2.5 km (bars, nightclubs, rated hotels, spas, upcoming events), not what you experience there. A zero means “nothing mapped”, not “nothing there”. Sources per criterion: snow (altitudes declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), STRMTG register, OpenStreetMap; snow depth observed at the Météo-France station, ERA5-Land model) ; ski area (figures declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), national lift register (STRMTG), OpenStreetMap) ; value (the resort’s official price list) ; families and beginners (OpenStreetMap pistes, price list, ESF ski school, Famille Plus label, OpenStreetMap leisure) ; access (OSRM drive times from 20 cities, SNCF stations, GTFS shuttles, airports) ; atmosphere and après-ski (bars, nightclubs and restaurants within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap), upcoming events (OpenAgenda), collective tourist beds (INSEE)) ; luxury and comfort (rated hotels within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap) and by category across the commune (INSEE), spas and boutiques (OpenStreetMap), day pass price).

Price declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association) — not the official price list, which prevails. Season not stated by the resort. ANMSM ↗

26 pistes, by level

4 green5 blue15 red2 black
Skiable vertical
400 m
Cross-country skiing
13 km of nordic trails

Ski-area figures — village, bottom, top, km of pistes, lifts, pistes by level: ANMSM — figures declared by the resort (16 Oct) . The national register attributes 10 lifts to Gréolières 1400 alone; the figure above comes from the most reliable source.

The ski area in figures

Measured on 7 October 2026
3 kmLongest piste — unnamed on the map (blue), 322 m of vertical
322 mBiggest vertical without changing piste — 1,764 → 1,441 m, 3 km
1,765 mHighest lift top — Haut Cheiron (platter lift), national lift register
8,400Total lift capacity, people per hour — 10 installations: 1 chairlift, 8 drag lifts, 1 magic carpet
36 yrsAverage age of the lift fleet — oldest 1964, newest 2016
1,500Biggest lift, people per hour — Huskies (chairlift, 2006)
5 kmTotal length of lifts — 9 lifts mapped
n/aSki area boundary (OSM)
631Inhabitants — Gréolières (INSEE 06070)

Measured on OpenStreetMap (altitudes: IGN RGE ALTI), not taken from the brochure. The vertical above is that of one piste, not of the whole ski area. Population: INSEE municipal population via geo.api.gouv.fr.

Source: national register of mechanical lifts (STRMTG, CAIRN), fleet as of 1 January 2025 — lifts attributed to Gréolières 1400 only (“GREOLIERES”), magic carpets included.

Staying and hiring gear in Gréolières 1400

The partners covering this resort, shown side by side, and the shop to kit out before you leave. Some links earn us a commission — never at the expense of the price or of the data.

Collective accommodation

  • 1 hotel · 12 rooms (1 × 3★)

Commune: Gréolières · INSEE tourist accommodation survey, 2026, read on 12 September 2026. Collective accommodation only — privately let flats and second homes are not counted. INSEE dataset ↗

Stay & accommodation

Holidu
Holiday-rental comparison site.
See offers

Gear & equipment

Absolute Snow
UK ski and snowboard shop — delivers to UK addresses only.
Browse the shop
Hardloop
Mountain gear shop: ski touring, avalanche safety, winter clothing.
Browse the shop
Picture
Ski and snowboard jackets, pants and accessories — a French brand.
Browse the shop

Beyond skiing at Gréolières 1400

Paragliding

  • Nice Parapente - Ailéments · Nice · 4.2 km away

Source: DATAtourisme (open data), within 10 km of the resort; places in a large town of the valley are left out. Checked on 12 September 2026. Opening times and prices are the operator’s — check before you go.

Ski schools and practical information

Ski school

ESF Greolieres Les Neiges

📞 04 93 59 70 03

🌐 esf-greoliereslesneiges.com

12 instructors

🇬🇧 16 English-speaking instructors — lessons in English available

Source: esf.net

All about the ski school in Gréolières 1400 →

Resort contacts and documents

Shuttle timetable (PDF)
Navette des Neiges - Antibes<>Station (declared by the resort, ANMSM)

In case of accident

112 — the European emergency number, free of charge, triggers mountain rescue. On the pistes, the ski patrol number is printed on the piste map and at lift ticket offices. Piste rescue is charged: check your insurance or take the option sold with the lift pass.

Resort data: declared by Office de Tourisme de Gréolières and distributed by ANMSM · read on 16 October

Off the pistes: off-piste and ski touring

The resorts for off-piste skiing →
0 0

Ski touring routes described

2 ski touring routes documented within 10 km of Gréolières 1400 — up to 700 m of climb.

Summit and routeSki gradeClimbAltitudeAspectFrom resort
Cime du Cheiron · Face W du Cheironn/a · PD+700 m1,409 → 1,778 mW2.1 km
Cime du Cheiron · Par les crêtes de Jérusalemn/a · F378 m1,400 → 1,778 mN2.1 km
Not a piste. Neither marked, nor patrolled, nor secured: transceiver, shovel, probe, the day’s avalanche bulletin and, better still, a guide. Ski grade (1.1–5.6) = steepness and commitment; exposure (E1–E4) = consequence of a fall.

Source: Camptocamp.org topo guide (CC BY-SA), routes starting within 10 km, read on 13 October 2026. Descriptions and photos are on Camptocamp; an empty cell is a field nobody has filled in. Camptocamp ski touring routes ↗

Official piste map

No downloadable piste map published by the resort.

Pistes coloured by level, lifts as lines. The resort’s official map is the reference in season.

Base map © OpenTopoMap (CC-BY-SA) · pistes © OpenSnowMap (CC-BY-SA) · data ©OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).

Getting to Gréolières 1400

From Paris: 10 hr 17 (845 km) by road.

By road

  • From Nice: 1 hr 10 · 61 km
  • From Marseille: 2 hr 56 · 225 km
  • From Montpellier: 4 hr 18 · 354 km
  • From Grenoble: 4 hr 28 · 272 km
  • From Valence: 4 hr 30 · 398 km
From other major cities (15)
  • From Chambéry: 5 hr 07 · 331 km
  • From Annecy: 5 hr 36 · 378 km
  • From Lyon: 5 hr 38 · 497 km
  • From Perpignan: 5 hr 39 · 502 km
  • From Saint-Étienne: 5 hr 53 · 516 km
  • From Genève: 6 hr 06 · 416 km
  • From Toulouse: 6 hr 35 · 588 km
  • From Clermont-Ferrand: 7 hr 25 · 658 km
  • From Dijon: 7 hr 32 · 575 km
  • From Besançon: 7 hr 51 · 605 km
  • From Pau: 8 hr 30 · 778 km
  • From Bordeaux: 8 hr 59 · 830 km
  • From Nancy: 9 hr 39 · 786 km
  • From Strasbourg: 10 hr 11 · 853 km
  • From Paris: 10 hr 17 · 845 km

Excluding traffic and winter conditions; passes closed in winter are avoided.

By train

Grasse station

regional station · then 51 min drive (46 km)

Nearest main station: Cannes, 1 hr 07 by road.

No direct bus line from the station to the resort appears in the open-data timetables (checked on 11 October 2026): ask the resort about a private shuttle or a taxi.

Shuttles and buses from the station: see the resort’s official website.

By plane

  • Nice-Côte d’Azur (NCE): 1 hr 02 by road · 55 km
  • Toulon-Hyères (TLN): 2 hr 24 by road · 178 km

Take me there

These links open the app with Gréolières 1400 as the destination. Your starting point is never sent by us — the app asks you for it, if you agree.

Charging an electric car

1 charging station within 2 km

2 charging points · up to 22 kW

  • WiiiZ - Gréolières 1400, Parking Station · EVzen · 2 points · 22 kW · 0.4 km

Freely accessible charge points read from the French national EV charging database (data.gouv.fr ↗, operators’ own declarations), checked on 9 October 2026. Check availability before you leave: the database says what is installed, not what is free tonight.

Road conditions

From 1 November to 31 March, snow chains or winter tyres are compulsory in most mountain areas (French “Loi Montagne II”).

Driving times computed on the OpenStreetMap road network (OSRM), SNCF stations (open data), airports (Wikidata). Indicative, not a timetable: allow extra time in snow.

Translated from the French Wikipedia article (CC BY-SA), machine translation.

Frequently asked questions

How high is Gréolières 1400?

Gréolières 1400 sits at 1,400 m at village level, and its ski area rises to 1,800 m.

How many kilometres of pistes does Gréolières 1400 have?

Gréolières 1400 has 30 km of slopes, 11 lifts.

What is the longest piste in Gréolières 1400?

The longest single descent: 3 km (blue run), for 322 m of vertical. Measured on the OpenStreetMap map, segments of the same name and level joined end to end, altitudes from the IGN RGE ALTI terrain model — a resort sometimes advertises a longer run by chaining several pistes.

How high do the lifts go in Gréolières 1400?

The highest lift, Haut Cheiron (platter lift), tops out at 1,765 m. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How many lifts does Gréolières 1400 have, and what is their capacity?

The French national register of mechanical lifts records 10 installations at Gréolières 1400 (1 chairlift, 8 drag lifts, 1 magic carpet), for an authorised capacity of 8,400 people per hour, of which 1,500 for Huskies alone. The fleet spans 1964 to 2016, an average age of 36 years. This count covers the resort itself, magic carpets included, not the whole linked ski area — a resort brochure often announces a different number. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How much is a lift pass in Gréolières 1400?

The adult day pass costs €19 (season not stated by the resort, declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association)).

How do I get to Gréolières 1400?

By road, Gréolières 1400 is 1 hr 10 from Nice (61 km), excluding traffic and winter conditions. By train, the nearest station is Grasse, 51 min by road from the resort. No direct bus line from the station to the resort appears in the open-data timetables. The nearest airport is Nice-Côte d’Azur, 1 hr 02 away.

How long is the drive from Paris to Gréolières 1400?

10 hr 17 for 845 km from central Paris, excluding traffic and winter conditions. Computed on the real road network (OpenStreetMap): allow more on a school-holiday Saturday.

Is Gréolières 1400 good for beginners and families?

35% of the pistes are green or blue: a rather technical area.

Nearby resorts

Full page in French. The French page carries the editorial guides and a few extra readings; every figure, webcam and price on this page is the same one. Gréolières 1400 in French →

Every figure carries its source and date; a missing figure shows as “—”, never estimated. Embed this widget on your site