Les Deux Alpes

Off season · opens 28 November 2026
Northern Alps Updated on 23 September 2026
1,650 mVillage altitude
3,600 mTop of the ski area
220 kmAlpine pistes
46Ski lifts
€66Adult day pass

Les 2 Alpes is a ski resort in the French department of Isère, Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes. The village sits at 1,650 m (5,413 ft) and lifts run to 3,600 m (11,811 ft). It has the largest skiable glacier in Europe and is France's second oldest ski resort behind Chamonix. It has the longest, normally open full on-piste vertical available in the world. It is a 71 km (44 mi) drive southeast of Grenoble. The famous Off-Piste resort La Grave is also reachable by foot from the top of the glacier.

Les Deux Alpes — view of the resort
Photo: Wikimedia Commons

Live webcams

All webcams (13) →
Webcam 3400m Les 2 Alpes Open at the operator ↗
Webcam Glacier 3200 Les 2 AlpesSkaping
Webcam Bellecombe Les 2 AlpesSkaping
Webcams La Fée Les 2 AlpesSkaping

Each player is the camera operator’s own, loaded only when you ask for it — it may set its own trackers.

Official players of the resort, live image. 9 more cameras on the webcam page. Checked on 16 October 2026.

Snow, opening and weather

Snow report →

The domain is due to open on 28 November 2026 and close on 2 May 2027. Open pistes and lifts will appear here as soon as the resort publishes its daily report.

Right now at the ALPE-D'HUEZ station (1,860 m)

Source: Météo-France, ALPE-D'HUEZ weather station, 9.4 km away. Hourly measurement — not the resort’s own snow report.

Good snow from mid-January to late March. 101 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, measured over 27 winters at the Météo-France “ALPE-D'HUEZ” station. Fortnight by fortnight, over 27 measured winters →

3-day forecast

Village 1,650 m · top 3,600 m

Loading…

Forecast corrected for altitude; fresh snow = forecast total at the top; UV = peak of the day. Beyond 3 days, check the resort’s own report. Source:Open-Meteo.

7-day forecast →

SkiRadar ratings

How ratings are computed →Computed on 16 October 2026

Seven criteria rated from 1 to 5 stars, in half-stars, from this page's sourced data. A rating is a rank among the 315 French resorts we cover — 5 stars means “among the best in France on this point”, not “perfect”. Nobody types these in.

  1. SnowCan you count on the snow?
    4 / 5

    Top of the ski area: 3,600 m · Bottom of the pistes: 1,300 m · Days above 30 cm per winter, measured: 101 days · Days above 30 cm, December to March, model: 96% · Glacier skiing

  2. Ski areaIs there enough to ski all week?
    4.5 / 5

    Km of pistes at the resort: 220 km · Lifts: 46 · Balance between piste levels: 90%

  3. ValueIs the lift pass reasonable for what you get?
    2.5 / 5

    Adult day pass: €66 · Day pass price per km of pistes: €0.3/km · Adult 6-day pass: €326.50

  4. Families and beginnersIs it right for children and beginners?
    4 / 5

    Share of green and blue pistes: 68% · Magic carpets: 8 · Sledging runs: 1 · ESF ski school · Ice rink, pool, rail sledge…: 3 · Famille Plus label

  5. AccessIs it easy to get to?
    2 / 5

    Average drive time from 20 major cities: 4 hr 41 · Nearest railway station: 59 min · Station-to-resort shuttles per day: 0 · Nearest airport: 1 hr 43

  6. Atmosphere and après-skiIs there life in the evening and off the slopes?
    4.5 / 5

    Bars and pubs: 18 · Nightclubs: 3 · Restaurants: 61 · Upcoming events: 0 · Collective tourist beds: 6,463 — index: what the map and the listings publish

  7. Luxury and comfortHow upmarket is the resort?
    3 / 5

    5-star hotels: 0 · 4-star hotels: 1 · Share of hotel rooms in 4 and 5 stars: 32% · Spas and saunas: 0 · Jewellers, watchmakers, fashion boutiques: 1 · Adult day pass: €66 — index: what the map and the listings publish

“Atmosphere” and “Luxury” are indexes: they count what OpenStreetMap and the event listings publish within 2.5 km (bars, nightclubs, rated hotels, spas, upcoming events), not what you experience there. A zero means “nothing mapped”, not “nothing there”. Sources per criterion: snow (altitudes declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), STRMTG register, OpenStreetMap; snow depth observed at the Météo-France station, ERA5-Land model) ; ski area (figures declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), national lift register (STRMTG), OpenStreetMap) ; value (the resort’s official price list) ; families and beginners (OpenStreetMap pistes, price list, ESF ski school, Famille Plus label, OpenStreetMap leisure) ; access (OSRM drive times from 20 cities, SNCF stations, GTFS shuttles, airports) ; atmosphere and après-ski (bars, nightclubs and restaurants within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap), upcoming events (OpenAgenda), collective tourist beds (INSEE)) ; luxury and comfort (rated hotels within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap) and by category across the commune (INSEE), spas and boutiques (OpenStreetMap), day pass price).

€326.50 6 days

Price declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association) — not the official price list, which prevails. Season not stated by the resort. ANMSM ↗

96 pistes, by level

18 green47 blue17 red14 black
Skiable vertical
2,300 m
Snowpark
2 mapped zones, 4.4 km from the resort — Freestyle Land · Toura (easy)
Snowmaking
19% of pistes

Ski-area figures — village: ANMSM — figures declared by the resort (16 Oct); bottom, top, km of pistes, pistes by level: Resort’s official website (read by SkiRadar) (23 Sept); lifts: STRMTG — French national lift register (1 Jan) .

The ski area in figures

Measured on 7 October 2026
4 kmLongest piste — Diable 1 (black), 598 m of vertical
679 mBiggest vertical without changing piste — 2,379 → 1,701 m, 3 km
3,642 mHighest lift top — Dome La Lauze (drag lift), national lift register
63,122Total lift capacity, people per hour — 46 installations: 2 aerial tramways, 3 gondolas, 15 chairlifts, 16 drag lifts, 8 magic carpets, 2 funiculars and similar
23 yrsAverage age of the lift fleet — oldest 1960, newest 2024
3,600Biggest lift, people per hour — Bellecombe (detachable chairlift, 2005)
37 kmTotal length of lifts — 33 lifts mapped
2,100 haSki area boundary (OSM)
1,910Inhabitants — Les Deux Alpes (INSEE 38253)

Measured on OpenStreetMap (altitudes: IGN RGE ALTI), not taken from the brochure. The vertical above is that of one piste, not of the whole ski area. Population: INSEE municipal population via geo.api.gouv.fr.

Source: national register of mechanical lifts (STRMTG, CAIRN), fleet as of 1 January 2025 — lifts attributed to Les Deux Alpes only (“DEUX ALPES (LES)”), magic carpets included.

Staying and hiring gear in Les Deux Alpes

The partners covering this resort, shown side by side, and the shop to kit out before you leave. Some links earn us a commission — never at the expense of the price or of the data.

Collective accommodation

6,463 bed spaces in tourist residences, holiday villages and hostels

  • 24 hotels · 1,098 rooms (3 × 4★, 13 × 3★, 3 × 2★)
  • 4 holiday villages and family centres · 1,088 bed spaces
  • 16 tourist residences and apartment hotels · 4,621 bed spaces
  • 3 youth hostels and sports centres · 754 bed spaces
  • 2 campsites · 122 pitches

Commune: Les Deux Alpes · INSEE tourist accommodation survey, 2026, read on 12 September 2026. Collective accommodation only — privately let flats and second homes are not counted. INSEE dataset ↗

Stay & accommodation

Neilson
UK tour operator (ATOL 10794): Neilson chalets and hotels in the resort, flying from UK airports on Sundays.
See offers
Holidu
Holiday-rental comparison site.
See offers

Ski hire

Skiset UK
Skiset’s UK site: ski hire in the resort shops, booked in English, paid in pounds.
Book

Gear & equipment

Absolute Snow
UK ski and snowboard shop — delivers to UK addresses only.
Browse the shop
Hardloop
Mountain gear shop: ski touring, avalanche safety, winter clothing.
Browse the shop
Picture
Ski and snowboard jackets, pants and accessories — a French brand.
Browse the shop

All about staying in Les Deux Alpes →

Beyond skiing at Les Deux Alpes

Without skis on — 1 sledging run

Ice rink

  • Patinoire des Deux Alpes · Les Deux Alpes · 0.5 km away

Swimming pool

  • Piscine des 2 Alpes · Les Deux Alpes · 0.5 km away

Paragliding

Museum

Cinema

Bowling

  • Bowling Le Strike · OpenStreetMap

Source: DATAtourisme (open data), within 10 km of the resort; places in a large town of the valley are left out. Checked on 12 September 2026. Lines marked OpenStreetMap come from the map, within 3 km — opening times on site. Opening times and prices are the operator’s — check before you go.

Ski schools and practical information

Ski school

ESF Les Deux Alpes

📞 04 76 79 21 21

🌐 esf2alpes.com

207 instructors

🇬🇧 135 English-speaking instructors — lessons in English available

🗓️ This school sells its lessons online — book ↗

Source: esf.net

All about the ski school in Les Deux Alpes →

Resort contacts and documents

Resort app
Android (declared by the resort, ANMSM)

In case of accident

112 — the European emergency number, free of charge, triggers mountain rescue. On the pistes, the ski patrol number is printed on the piste map and at lift ticket offices. Piste rescue is charged: check your insurance or take the option sold with the lift pass.

Resort data: declared by Maison des 2 Alpes and distributed by ANMSM · read on 16 October

Off the pistes: off-piste and ski touring

The resorts for off-piste skiing →
9 Marked off-piste itineraries · 11 km
— Ski touring routes

Named itineraries: Thuit 4 · Pierre Grosse 5 · Rivets · Ancienne piste noire "Vallée Blanche 5" · Diable 2 · ancienne piste intermédiare "Bons"

Itineraries surveyed on OpenStreetMap within a 4 km radius (7 September 2026): “marked” means an itinerary exists on the map, not that it is open or safe on the day.

Ski touring routes described

12 ski touring routes documented within 10 km of Les Deux Alpes — up to 2,050 m of climb.

Summit and routeSki gradeClimbAltitudeAspectFrom resort
Le Mais · par les pistes1.2 · E1 · F450 m1,650 → 2,106 mE1.3 km
Pied Moutet · Versant E4.1 · E3 · D-1,020 m1,317 → 2,339 mE1.5 km
Tête des Rachas · Face N des Rachas et déversoir du lac du Plann/a · PD52 m2,696 → 2,748 mNW1.5 km
La Grande Aiguille (2 Alpes) · Couloir NE5.1 · E2 · TD-930 m1,247 → 2,181 mNE2.2 km

The other 8 routes, with grades and vertical →

Not a piste. Neither marked, nor patrolled, nor secured: transceiver, shovel, probe, the day’s avalanche bulletin and, better still, a guide. Ski grade (1.1–5.6) = steepness and commitment; exposure (E1–E4) = consequence of a fall.

Source: Camptocamp.org topo guide (CC BY-SA), routes starting within 10 km, read on 13 October 2026. Descriptions and photos are on Camptocamp; an empty cell is a field nobody has filled in. Camptocamp ski touring routes ↗

Official piste map

Open the piste map (image, 5.8 MB) ↗

Published by Les 2 Alpes Tourisme · file dated 15 October 2025 · link checked on 10 October 2026 · official page

Link to the resort’s own file — a piste map is a copyrighted artwork, we host no copy.

Pistes coloured by level, lifts as lines. The resort’s official map is the reference in season.

Base map © OpenTopoMap (CC-BY-SA) · pistes © OpenSnowMap (CC-BY-SA) · data ©OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).

Getting to Les Deux Alpes

From Paris: 7 hr 06 (641 km) by road.

By road

  • From Grenoble: 1 hr 17 · 69 km
  • From Chambéry: 1 hr 56 · 128 km
  • From Valence: 2 hr 13 · 158 km
  • From Annecy: 2 hr 25 · 175 km
  • From Lyon: 2 hr 29 · 171 km
From other major cities (15)
  • From Genève: 2 hr 54 · 212 km
  • From Saint-Étienne: 3 hr 02 · 220 km
  • From Marseille: 4 hr 17 · 295 km
  • From Montpellier: 4 hr 20 · 362 km
  • From Dijon: 4 hr 21 · 372 km
  • From Clermont-Ferrand: 4 hr 22 · 337 km
  • From Besançon: 4 hr 40 · 401 km
  • From Nice: 5 hr 36 · 404 km · avoids Col de Restefond, closed in winter
  • From Perpignan: 5 hr 42 · 510 km
  • From Nancy: 6 hr 28 · 583 km
  • From Toulouse: 6 hr 38 · 596 km
  • From Strasbourg: 7 hr 03 · 639 km
  • From Paris: 7 hr 06 · 641 km
  • From Bordeaux: 8 hr 20 · 726 km
  • From Pau: 8 hr 32 · 786 km

Excluding traffic and winter conditions; passes closed in winter are avoided.

By train

Jarrie - Vizille station

halt · then 59 min drive (54 km)

Nearest main station: Grenoble, 1 hr 17 by road.

No direct bus line from the station to the resort appears in the open-data timetables (checked on 11 October 2026): ask the resort about a private shuttle or a taxi.

Shuttles and buses from the station: see the resort’s official website.

By plane

  • Grenoble-Alpes-Isère (GNB): 1 hr 43 by road · 111 km
  • Chambéry-Savoie (CMF): 2 hr 07 by road · 135 km

Take me there

These links open the app with Les Deux Alpes as the destination. Your starting point is never sent by us — the app asks you for it, if you agree.

Charging an electric car

7 charging stations within 2 km

20 charging points · up to 60 kW

  • LES DEUX ALPES - Rue des Vikings · EASYCHARGE · 3 points · 60 kW · 0.3 km
  • LES DEUX ALPES - Place des Deux Alpes · EASYCHARGE · 2 points · 22 kW · 0.4 km
  • LES DEUX ALPES - Place des Deux Alpes · EASYCHARGE · 3 points · 60 kW · 0.4 km
  • LES DEUX ALPES - Mont de Lans parking village · EASYCHARGE · 2 points · 22 kW · 0.7 km
  • LES DEUX ALPES - Entrée Station · EASYCHARGE · 3 points · 60 kW · 1.2 km

Freely accessible charge points read from the French national EV charging database (data.gouv.fr ↗, operators’ own declarations), checked on 9 October 2026. Check availability before you leave: the database says what is installed, not what is free tonight.

Road conditions

From 1 November to 31 March, snow chains or winter tyres are compulsory in most mountain areas (French “Loi Montagne II”).

Driving times computed on the OpenStreetMap road network (OSRM), SNCF stations (open data), airports (Wikidata). Indicative, not a timetable: allow extra time in snow.

Introduction from the English Wikipedia article (CC BY-SA).

Frequently asked questions

How high is Les Deux Alpes?

Les Deux Alpes sits at 1,650 m at village level, and its ski area rises to 3,600 m.

How many kilometres of pistes does Les Deux Alpes have?

Les Deux Alpes has 220 km of slopes, 46 lifts.

What is the longest piste in Les Deux Alpes?

The longest piste is Diable 1: 4 km (black run), for 598 m of vertical. Measured on the OpenStreetMap map, segments of the same name and level joined end to end, altitudes from the IGN RGE ALTI terrain model — a resort sometimes advertises a longer run by chaining several pistes.

How high do the lifts go in Les Deux Alpes?

The highest lift, Dome La Lauze (drag lift), tops out at 3,642 m. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How many lifts does Les Deux Alpes have, and what is their capacity?

The French national register of mechanical lifts records 46 installations at Les Deux Alpes (2 aerial tramways, 3 gondolas, 15 chairlifts, 16 drag lifts, 8 magic carpets, 2 funiculars and similar), for an authorised capacity of 63,122 people per hour, of which 3,600 for Bellecombe alone. The fleet spans 1960 to 2024, an average age of 23 years. This count covers the resort itself, magic carpets included, not the whole linked ski area — a resort brochure often announces a different number. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How much is a lift pass in Les Deux Alpes?

The adult day pass costs €66 and the 6-day pass €326.50 (season not stated by the resort, declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association)).

How do I get to Les Deux Alpes?

By road, Les Deux Alpes is 1 hr 17 from Grenoble (69 km), excluding traffic and winter conditions. By train, the nearest station is Jarrie - Vizille, 59 min by road from the resort. No direct bus line from the station to the resort appears in the open-data timetables. The nearest airport is Grenoble-Alpes-Isère, 1 hr 43 away.

How long is the drive from Paris to Les Deux Alpes?

7 hr 06 for 641 km from central Paris, excluding traffic and winter conditions. Computed on the real road network (OpenStreetMap): allow more on a school-holiday Saturday.

When does Les Deux Alpes open?

According to the official website, the resort opens on 28 November 2026 and closes on 2 May 2027 (2026-2027 season).

Is the snow reliable in Les Deux Alpes?

Good snow from mid-January to late March. 101 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, measured over 27 winters at the Météo-France “ALPE-D'HUEZ” station. This verdict rests on 27 winters of Météo-France measurements (1988-2026); in season the daily report prevails.

Is Les Deux Alpes good for beginners and families?

68% of the pistes are green or blue: a rather easy area. The resort holds the Famille Plus family label.

Nearby resorts

Full page in French. The French page carries the editorial guides and a few extra readings; every figure, webcam and price on this page is the same one. Les Deux Alpes in French →

Every figure carries its source and date; a missing figure shows as “—”, never estimated. Embed this widget on your site