Serre-Eyraud

Off season · opens 19 December 2026
Southern Alps Updated on 23 September 2026
1,480 mVillage altitude
2,100 mTop of the ski area
16 kmAlpine pistes
3Ski lifts
€19Adult day pass

Serre-Eyraud is both a mountain village and a small winter sports resort, located in the commune of Orcières (Hautes-Alpes). The hamlet of Serre-Eyraud overlooks the Champsaur and the confluence of the Drac Noir and the Drac Blanc, at an altitude of 1,450 m, facing the Champoléon valley.

Serre-Eyraud — view of the resort
Photo: Wikimedia Commons

Serre-Eyraud webcams

Serre-Eyraud broadcasts its images on its own page: the link takes you there. Checked on 12 September 2026.

Snow, opening and weather

Snow report →

The domain is due to open on 19 December 2026 and close on 14 March 2027. Open pistes and lifts will appear here as soon as the resort publishes its daily report.

Right now at the ORCIERES-NIVOSE station (2,280 m)

Source: Météo-France, ORCIERES-NIVOSE weather station, 6.5 km away. Hourly measurement — not the resort’s own snow report.

Good snow from mid-January to late February. 87 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, and 267 cm of fresh snow, measured over 27 winters at the Météo-France “PUY-ST-VINCENT” station. Fortnight by fortnight, over 27 measured winters →

3-day forecast

Village 1,480 m · top 2,100 m

Loading…

Forecast corrected for altitude; fresh snow = forecast total at the top; UV = peak of the day. Beyond 3 days, check the resort’s own report. Source:Open-Meteo.

7-day forecast →

SkiRadar ratings

How ratings are computed →Computed on 16 October 2026

Seven criteria rated from 1 to 5 stars, in half-stars, from this page's sourced data. A rating is a rank among the 315 French resorts we cover — 5 stars means “among the best in France on this point”, not “perfect”. Nobody types these in.

  1. SnowCan you count on the snow?
    3 / 5

    Top of the ski area: 2,100 m · Bottom of the pistes: 1,480 m · Days above 30 cm per winter, measured: 87 days · Days above 30 cm, December to March, model: 83%

  2. Ski areaIs there enough to ski all week?
    3 / 5

    Km of pistes at the resort: 16 km · Lifts: 3 · Balance between piste levels: 99%

  3. ValueIs the lift pass reasonable for what you get?
    3.5 / 5

    Adult day pass: €19 · Day pass price per km of pistes: €1.19/km · Adult 6-day pass: €95

  4. Families and beginnersIs it right for children and beginners?
    1 / 5

    Share of green and blue pistes: 44% · Magic carpets: 0 · Sledging runs: 0 · Ice rink, pool, rail sledge…: 0

  5. AccessIs it easy to get to?
    2.5 / 5

    Average drive time from 20 major cities: 5 hr 01 · Nearest railway station: 35 min · Station-to-resort shuttles per day: 1 · Nearest airport: 2 hr 32

  6. Atmosphere and après-skiIs there life in the evening and off the slopes?
    1.5 / 5

    Bars and pubs: 0 · Nightclubs: 0 · Restaurants: 0 · Upcoming events: 0 · Collective tourist beds: 3,316 — index: what the map and the listings publish

  7. Luxury and comfortHow upmarket is the resort?
    1 / 5

    5-star hotels: 0 · 4-star hotels: 0 · Share of hotel rooms in 4 and 5 stars: 0% · Spas and saunas: 0 · Jewellers, watchmakers, fashion boutiques: 0 · Adult day pass: €19 — index: what the map and the listings publish

“Atmosphere” and “Luxury” are indexes: they count what OpenStreetMap and the event listings publish within 2.5 km (bars, nightclubs, rated hotels, spas, upcoming events), not what you experience there. A zero means “nothing mapped”, not “nothing there”. Sources per criterion: snow (altitudes declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), STRMTG register, OpenStreetMap; snow depth observed at the Météo-France station, ERA5-Land model) ; ski area (figures declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), national lift register (STRMTG), OpenStreetMap) ; value (the resort’s official price list) ; families and beginners (OpenStreetMap pistes, price list, ESF ski school, Famille Plus label, OpenStreetMap leisure) ; access (OSRM drive times from 20 cities, SNCF stations, GTFS shuttles, airports) ; atmosphere and après-ski (bars, nightclubs and restaurants within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap), upcoming events (OpenAgenda), collective tourist beds (INSEE)) ; luxury and comfort (rated hotels within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap) and by category across the commune (INSEE), spas and boutiques (OpenStreetMap), day pass price).

€95 6 days

Price declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association) — not the official price list, which prevails. Season not stated by the resort. ANMSM ↗

9 pistes, by level

2 green2 blue3 red2 black
Skiable vertical
620 m

Ski-area figures — village, bottom, top, lifts, pistes by level: ANMSM — figures declared by the resort (16 Oct); km of pistes: OpenStreetMap (1 Oct) .

The ski area in figures

Measured on 7 October 2026
1 kmLongest piste — La Croix du Lauzet (red), 320 m of vertical
341 mBiggest vertical without changing piste — 1,989 → 1,648 m, 1 km
1,986 mHighest lift top — Croix Du Louret (platter lift), national lift register
2,035Total lift capacity, people per hour — 3 installations: 3 drag lifts
52 yrsAverage age of the lift fleet — oldest 1963, newest 1983
900Biggest lift, people per hour — Croix Du Louret (platter lift, 1983)
2 kmTotal length of lifts — 3 lifts mapped
73 haSki area boundary (OSM)
651Inhabitants — Orcières (INSEE 05096)

Measured on OpenStreetMap (altitudes: IGN RGE ALTI), not taken from the brochure. The vertical above is that of one piste, not of the whole ski area. Population: INSEE municipal population via geo.api.gouv.fr.

Source: national register of mechanical lifts (STRMTG, CAIRN), fleet as of 1 January 2025 — lifts attributed to Serre-Eyraud only (“SERRE EYRAUD”), magic carpets included.

Staying and hiring gear in Serre-Eyraud

The partners covering this resort, shown side by side, and the shop to kit out before you leave. Some links earn us a commission — never at the expense of the price or of the data.

Collective accommodation

3,316 bed spaces in tourist residences, holiday villages and hostels

  • 5 hotels · 80 rooms (1 × 3★, 2 × 2★)
  • 1 holiday village or family centre · 588 bed spaces
  • 5 tourist residences and apartment hotels · 2,728 bed spaces
  • 1 campsite · 25 pitches

Commune: Orcières · INSEE tourist accommodation survey, 2026, read on 12 September 2026. Collective accommodation only — privately let flats and second homes are not counted. INSEE dataset ↗

Stay & accommodation

Holidu
Holiday-rental comparison site.
See offers

Gear & equipment

Absolute Snow
UK ski and snowboard shop — delivers to UK addresses only.
Browse the shop
Hardloop
Mountain gear shop: ski touring, avalanche safety, winter clothing.
Browse the shop
Picture
Ski and snowboard jackets, pants and accessories — a French brand.
Browse the shop

All about staying in Serre-Eyraud →

Beyond skiing at Serre-Eyraud

Ice rink

Swimming pool

Paragliding

Museum

  • Musée du moulin - visite de l'annexe · Saint-Jean-Saint-Nicolas · 3.9 km away
  • Le refuge des animaux · Saint-Léger-les-Mélèzes · 7.1 km away
  • Du vent dans les plumes - Le Refuge des animaux · Saint-Léger-les-Mélèzes · 7.1 km away
  • Musée de la Casse · Orcières · 7.7 km away

Source: DATAtourisme (open data), within 10 km of the resort; places in a large town of the valley are left out. Checked on 12 September 2026. Opening times and prices are the operator’s — check before you go.

Ski schools and practical information

Resort contacts and documents

In case of accident

112 — the European emergency number, free of charge, triggers mountain rescue. On the pistes, the ski patrol number is printed on the piste map and at lift ticket offices. Piste rescue is charged: check your insurance or take the option sold with the lift pass.

Resort data: declared by Office de Tourisme d'Orcières and distributed by ANMSM · read on 16 October

Off the pistes: off-piste and ski touring

The resorts for off-piste skiing →
0 0

Ski touring routes described

12 ski touring routes documented within 10 km of Serre-Eyraud — up to 1,800 m of climb.

Summit and routeSki gradeClimbAltitudeAspectFrom resort
La Recula (Petite Autane d'Orcières) · Versant N3.2 · E2 · AD1,070 m1,470 → 2,549 mN1.5 km
Grande Autane · Couloir N du point 25994.2 · E3 · D1,400 m1,400 → 2,782 mS1.8 km
Col de Combeau · versant N3.1 · E1 · PD+1,000 m1,370 → 2,363 mN2.1 km
Petite Autane · Versants NE et SE en boucle3.3 · E2 · AD1,800 m1,330 → 2,519 mE2.6 km

The other 8 routes, with grades and vertical →

Not a piste. Neither marked, nor patrolled, nor secured: transceiver, shovel, probe, the day’s avalanche bulletin and, better still, a guide. Ski grade (1.1–5.6) = steepness and commitment; exposure (E1–E4) = consequence of a fall.

Source: Camptocamp.org topo guide (CC BY-SA), routes starting within 10 km, read on 13 October 2026. Descriptions and photos are on Camptocamp; an empty cell is a field nobody has filled in. Camptocamp ski touring routes ↗

Official piste map

No downloadable piste map published by the resort.

Pistes coloured by level, lifts as lines. The resort’s official map is the reference in season.

Base map © OpenTopoMap (CC-BY-SA) · pistes © OpenSnowMap (CC-BY-SA) · data ©OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).

Getting to Serre-Eyraud

From Paris: 7 hr 54 (682 km) by road.

By road

  • From Grenoble: 2 hr 05 · 109 km
  • From Chambéry: 2 hr 44 · 168 km
  • From Marseille: 2 hr 45 · 210 km
  • From Valence: 3 hr 02 · 198 km
  • From Annecy: 3 hr 13 · 215 km
From other major cities (15)
  • From Lyon: 3 hr 17 · 211 km
  • From Genève: 3 hr 43 · 253 km
  • From Saint-Étienne: 3 hr 51 · 260 km
  • From Montpellier: 4 hr 03 · 333 km
  • From Nice: 4 hr 04 · 319 km
  • From Dijon: 5 hr 09 · 412 km
  • From Clermont-Ferrand: 5 hr 10 · 377 km
  • From Perpignan: 5 hr 25 · 481 km
  • From Besançon: 5 hr 28 · 442 km
  • From Toulouse: 6 hr 21 · 567 km
  • From Nancy: 7 hr 17 · 623 km
  • From Strasbourg: 7 hr 52 · 680 km
  • From Paris: 7 hr 54 · 682 km
  • From Pau: 8 hr 15 · 757 km
  • From Bordeaux: 8 hr 44 · 809 km

Excluding traffic and winter conditions; passes closed in winter are avoided.

By train

Gap station

regional station · then 35 min drive (29 km)

Nearest main station: Grenoble, 2 hr 05 by road.

  • From Gap station (stop “IUT - Pôle d'Échanges Reynier”): line 524 — 524 _ ORCIERES-GAP (ZOU ! Proximité), 40 min to the “Les Garnauds” stop — 1 departure a day on weekdays, 1 a day at weekends · first 12:30, last 18:15 · timetable from 15 December 2026 to 31 December 2026 · official timetable ↗

Direct journeys read from the official timetable files published on transport.data.gouv.fr — no connections.

By plane

  • Grenoble-Alpes-Isère (GNB): 2 hr 32 by road · 151 km
  • Chambéry-Savoie (CMF): 2 hr 56 by road · 176 km

Take me there

These links open the app with Serre-Eyraud as the destination. Your starting point is never sent by us — the app asks you for it, if you agree.

Charging an electric car

No freely accessible charge point is declared within 2 km of the resort (checked on 9 October 2026). Covered car parks in the resort may offer chargers reserved for their customers: those are not listed here.

Freely accessible charge points read from the French national EV charging database (data.gouv.fr ↗, operators’ own declarations), checked on 9 October 2026. Check availability before you leave: the database says what is installed, not what is free tonight.

Road conditions

From 1 November to 31 March, snow chains or winter tyres are compulsory in most mountain areas (French “Loi Montagne II”).

Driving times computed on the OpenStreetMap road network (OSRM), SNCF stations (open data), airports (Wikidata). Indicative, not a timetable: allow extra time in snow.

Translated from the French Wikipedia article (CC BY-SA), machine translation.

Frequently asked questions

How high is Serre-Eyraud?

Serre-Eyraud sits at 1,480 m at village level, and its ski area rises to 2,100 m.

How many kilometres of pistes does Serre-Eyraud have?

Serre-Eyraud has 16 km of slopes, 3 lifts.

What is the longest piste in Serre-Eyraud?

The longest piste is La Croix du Lauzet: 1 km (red run), for 320 m of vertical. Measured on the OpenStreetMap map, segments of the same name and level joined end to end, altitudes from the IGN RGE ALTI terrain model — a resort sometimes advertises a longer run by chaining several pistes.

How high do the lifts go in Serre-Eyraud?

The highest lift, Croix Du Louret (platter lift), tops out at 1,986 m. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How many lifts does Serre-Eyraud have, and what is their capacity?

The French national register of mechanical lifts records 3 installations at Serre-Eyraud (3 drag lifts), for an authorised capacity of 2,035 people per hour, of which 900 for Croix Du Louret alone. The fleet spans 1963 to 1983, an average age of 52 years. This count covers the resort itself, magic carpets included, not the whole linked ski area — a resort brochure often announces a different number. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How much is a lift pass in Serre-Eyraud?

The adult day pass costs €19 and the 6-day pass €95 (season not stated by the resort, declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association)).

How do I get to Serre-Eyraud?

By road, Serre-Eyraud is 2 hr 05 from Grenoble (109 km), excluding traffic and winter conditions. By train, the nearest station is Gap, 35 min by road from the resort. From Gap station, line 524 — 524 _ ORCIERES-GAP (ZOU ! Proximité) reaches the “Les Garnauds” stop in 40 min, 1 departure a day on weekdays, 1 a day at weekends. The nearest airport is Grenoble-Alpes-Isère, 2 hr 32 away.

How long is the drive from Paris to Serre-Eyraud?

7 hr 54 for 682 km from central Paris, excluding traffic and winter conditions. Computed on the real road network (OpenStreetMap): allow more on a school-holiday Saturday.

When does Serre-Eyraud open?

According to the dates declared by the resort (ANMSM feed), the resort opens on 19 December 2026 and closes on 14 March 2027 (2026-2027 season).

Is the snow reliable in Serre-Eyraud?

Good snow from mid-January to late February. 87 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, and 267 cm of fresh snow, measured over 27 winters at the Météo-France “PUY-ST-VINCENT” station. This verdict rests on 27 winters of Météo-France measurements (1992-2024); in season the daily report prevails.

Is Serre-Eyraud good for beginners and families?

44% of the pistes are green or blue: a rather technical area.

Nearby resorts

Full page in French. The French page carries the editorial guides and a few extra readings; every figure, webcam and price on this page is the same one. Serre-Eyraud in French →

Every figure carries its source and date; a missing figure shows as “—”, never estimated. Embed this widget on your site