Vaujany

Northern Alps Linked area Alpe d'Huez Grand Domaine Ski Updated on 27 September 2026
1,250 mVillage altitude
3,200 mTop of the ski area
250 kmLinked pistes · Alpe d'Huez Grand Domaine Ski
15Ski lifts
€39Adult day pass

Vaujany is a French commune located in the département of Isère, in the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes region. It is included in the canton du Bourg-d'Oisans and the communauté de communes de l'Oisans. The resort of Vaujany, located on its territory, is linked to l'Alpe d'Huez by ski slopes.

Vaujany — view of the resort
Photo: Wikimedia Commons

Live webcams

All webcams (14) →
3060mSkaping
LesignalSkaping
AurisSkaping

Each player is the camera operator’s own, loaded only when you ask for it — it may set its own trackers.

Official players of the resort, live image. 10 more cameras on the webcam page. Checked on 16 October 2026.

Snow, opening and weather

Snow report →

Open pistes and lifts will appear here during the season, as published by the resort. Out of season we show nothing rather than a misleading zero.

Right now at the AIGLETON-NIVOSE station (2,240 m)

Source: Météo-France, AIGLETON-NIVOSE weather station, 8.7 km away. Hourly measurement — not the resort’s own snow report.

Snow cover varies from one winter to the next — the best time runs from mid-January to late February. 52 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, and 272 cm of fresh snow, measured over 18 winters at the Météo-France “BESSE” station. Fortnight by fortnight, over 18 measured winters →

3-day forecast

Village 1,250 m · top 3,200 m

Loading…

Forecast corrected for altitude; fresh snow = forecast total at the top; UV = peak of the day. Beyond 3 days, check the resort’s own report. Source:Open-Meteo.

7-day forecast →

SkiRadar ratings

How ratings are computed →Computed on 11 October 2026

Seven criteria rated from 1 to 5 stars, in half-stars, from this page's sourced data. A rating is a rank among the 315 French resorts we cover — 5 stars means “among the best in France on this point”, not “perfect”. Nobody types these in.

  1. SnowCan you count on the snow?
    3 / 5

    Top of the ski area: 3,200 m · Bottom of the pistes: 1,125 m · Days above 30 cm per winter, measured: 52 days · Days above 30 cm, December to March, model: 89%

  2. Ski areaIs there enough to ski all week?
    4 / 5

    Km skiable from the resort, linked area included: 250 km · Lifts: 15

  3. ValueIs the lift pass reasonable for what you get?
    4 / 5

    Adult day pass: €39 · Adult 6-day pass: €181

  4. Families and beginnersIs it right for children and beginners?
    4 / 5

    Share of green and blue pistes: 71% · Magic carpets: 2 · ESF ski school · Ice rink, pool, rail sledge…: 2 · Famille Plus label

  5. AccessIs it easy to get to?
    2.5 / 5

    Average drive time from 20 major cities: 4 hr 27 · Nearest railway station: 44 min · Station-to-resort shuttles per day: 0 · Nearest airport: 1 hr 28

  6. Atmosphere and après-skiIs there life in the evening and off the slopes?
    2 / 5

    Bars and pubs: 0 · Nightclubs: 0 · Restaurants: 9 · Upcoming events: 0 · Collective tourist beds: 1,796 — index: what the map and the listings publish

  7. Luxury and comfortHow upmarket is the resort?
    2 / 5

    5-star hotels: 0 · 4-star hotels: 0 · Share of hotel rooms in 4 and 5 stars: 71% · Spas and saunas: 1 · Jewellers, watchmakers, fashion boutiques: 0 · Adult day pass: €39 — index: what the map and the listings publish

“Atmosphere” and “Luxury” are indexes: they count what OpenStreetMap and the event listings publish within 2.5 km (bars, nightclubs, rated hotels, spas, upcoming events), not what you experience there. A zero means “nothing mapped”, not “nothing there”. Sources per criterion: snow (altitudes declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), STRMTG register, OpenStreetMap; snow depth observed at the Météo-France station, ERA5-Land model) ; ski area (figures declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), national lift register (STRMTG), OpenStreetMap) ; value (the resort’s official price list) ; families and beginners (OpenStreetMap pistes, price list, ESF ski school, Famille Plus label, OpenStreetMap leisure) ; access (OSRM drive times from 20 cities, SNCF stations, GTFS shuttles, airports) ; atmosphere and après-ski (bars, nightclubs and restaurants within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap), upcoming events (OpenAgenda), collective tourist beds (INSEE)) ; luxury and comfort (rated hotels within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap) and by category across the commune (INSEE), spas and boutiques (OpenStreetMap), day pass price).

€181 6 days

Price declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association) — not the official price list, which prevails. Season not stated by the resort. ANMSM ↗

Skiable vertical
2,075 m
Cross-country skiing
1 named trail — 2.1 km of marked loops, 8.9 km from the resort
Snowpark
1 mapped zone, 1.7 km from the resort — Snowpark Montfrais

Ski-area figures — village, bottom, top, km of the linked area: ANMSM — figures declared by the resort (16 Oct); lifts: STRMTG — French national lift register (1 Jan) . In a linked ski area the map cannot tell where the resort ends: its own km stay “n/a” until the resort declares them.

The ski area in figures

Measured on 7 October 2026
8 kmLongest piste — Sarenne (black), 1,657 m of vertical
1,657 mBiggest vertical without changing piste — 3,306 → 1,650 m, 8 km
2,817 mHighest lift top — Dôme des Rousses 2ème t. (Alpette-Rousses) (aerial tramway), national lift register
13,111Total lift capacity, people per hour — 15 installations: 4 aerial tramways, 3 gondolas, 3 chairlifts, 3 drag lifts, 2 magic carpets
26 yrsAverage age of the lift fleet — oldest 1987, newest 2023
1,920Biggest lift, people per hour — Dôme des Rousses 2ème t. (Alpette-Rousses) (aerial tramway, 1988)
54 kmTotal length of lifts — 60 lifts mapped
5,890 haSki area boundary (OSM)
357Inhabitants — Vaujany (INSEE 38527)

Measured on OpenStreetMap (altitudes: IGN RGE ALTI), not taken from the brochure. The vertical above is that of one piste, not of the whole ski area. Population: INSEE municipal population via geo.api.gouv.fr.

Source: national register of mechanical lifts (STRMTG, CAIRN), fleet as of 1 January 2025 — lifts attributed to Vaujany only (“VAUJANY”), magic carpets included.

Staying and hiring gear in Vaujany

The partners covering this resort, shown side by side, and the shop to kit out before you leave. Some links earn us a commission — never at the expense of the price or of the data.

Collective accommodation

1,796 bed spaces in tourist residences, holiday villages and hostels

  • 2 hotels · 35 rooms (1 × 4★, 1 × 3★)
  • 7 tourist residences and apartment hotels · 1,748 bed spaces
  • 1 youth hostel or sports centre · 48 bed spaces

Commune: Vaujany · INSEE tourist accommodation survey, 2026, read on 12 September 2026. Collective accommodation only — privately let flats and second homes are not counted. INSEE dataset ↗

Stay & accommodation

Holidu
Holiday-rental comparison site.
See offers
Ski Planet
Self-catering flats and all-inclusive ski holidays at the foot of the slopes, since 1999.
See offers
Montagne Vacances
Flats and chalets in the resort, at direct prices.
See offers

Ski hire

Skiset UK
Skiset’s UK site: ski hire in the resort shops, booked in English, paid in pounds.
Book

Gear & equipment

Absolute Snow
UK ski and snowboard shop — delivers to UK addresses only.
Browse the shop
Hardloop
Mountain gear shop: ski touring, avalanche safety, winter clothing.
Browse the shop
Picture
Ski and snowboard jackets, pants and accessories — a French brand.
Browse the shop

All about staying in Vaujany →

Beyond skiing at Vaujany

Without skis on — 1 km of snowshoe and walking trails

Ice rink

Swimming pool

Spa and thermal baths

Museum

  • Espace Musée de Vaujany · Vaujany · 0.1 km away
  • Maison du bouquetin - Espace York Mallory · Allemond · 5.8 km away
  • Musée d'histoire et d'archéologie de l'Alpe d'Huez · Huez · 7.6 km away

Cinema

Bowling

  • in the resort · OpenStreetMap

Source: DATAtourisme (open data), within 10 km of the resort; places in a large town of the valley are left out. Checked on 12 September 2026. Lines marked OpenStreetMap come from the map, within 3 km — opening times on site. Opening times and prices are the operator’s — check before you go.

Ski schools and practical information

Ski school

ESF Vaujany

📞 04 76 80 71 80

🌐 esf-vaujany.fr/homepage

44 instructors

🇬🇧 43 English-speaking instructors — lessons in English available

Source: esf.net

All about the ski school in Vaujany →

Resort contacts and documents

Resort app
Android (declared by the resort, ANMSM)

In case of accident

112 — the European emergency number, free of charge, triggers mountain rescue. On the pistes, the ski patrol number is printed on the piste map and at lift ticket offices. Piste rescue is charged: check your insurance or take the option sold with the lift pass.

Resort data: declared by Maison de Vaujany - Office de Tourisme de Vaujany and distributed by ANMSM · read on 16 October

Off the pistes: off-piste and ski touring

The resorts for off-piste skiing →
0 0

Ski touring routes described

12 ski touring routes documented within 10 km of Vaujany — up to 2,300 m of climb.

Summit and routeSki gradeClimbAltitudeAspectFrom resort
Pic Bayle · Grand tour de l'Eau d'Ollen/a · AD+2,300 m3,323 → 3,465 mn/a1.1 km
Le Rissiou · Versant S par le collet du Gros Treun/a · AD+1,250 m1,340 → 2,622 mSE2 km
Le Rissiou · Versant SE4.1 · E1 · AD+1,210 m1,410 → 2,622 mSE2 km
Col du Rissiou (ou Brèche des Casses) · Versant SEn/a · AD-1,100 m1,360 → 2,463 mSE2.1 km

The other 8 routes, with grades and vertical →

Not a piste. Neither marked, nor patrolled, nor secured: transceiver, shovel, probe, the day’s avalanche bulletin and, better still, a guide. Ski grade (1.1–5.6) = steepness and commitment; exposure (E1–E4) = consequence of a fall.

Source: Camptocamp.org topo guide (CC BY-SA), routes starting within 10 km, read on 13 October 2026. Descriptions and photos are on Camptocamp; an empty cell is a field nobody has filled in. Camptocamp ski touring routes ↗

Official piste map

No downloadable piste map published by the resort.

Pistes coloured by level, lifts as lines. The resort’s official map is the reference in season.

Base map © OpenTopoMap (CC-BY-SA) · pistes © OpenSnowMap (CC-BY-SA) · data ©OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).

Getting to Vaujany

From Paris: 6 hr 51 (627 km) by road.

By road

  • From Grenoble: 1 hr 02 · 55 km
  • From Chambéry: 1 hr 41 · 114 km · avoids Col du Glandon, closed in winter
  • From Valence: 1 hr 58 · 144 km
  • From Annecy: 2 hr 11 · 161 km · via Jarrie - Vizille station
  • From Lyon: 2 hr 14 · 157 km
From other major cities (15)
  • From Genève: 2 hr 41 · 199 km · via Jarrie - Vizille station
  • From Saint-Étienne: 2 hr 47 · 206 km
  • From Montpellier: 4 hr 05 · 348 km
  • From Dijon: 4 hr 06 · 358 km
  • From Clermont-Ferrand: 4 hr 07 · 323 km
  • From Marseille: 4 hr 10 · 358 km
  • From Besançon: 4 hr 25 · 387 km
  • From Perpignan: 5 hr 27 · 496 km
  • From Nice: 5 hr 31 · 400 km · avoids Col de Restefond, closed in winter
  • From Nancy: 6 hr 13 · 569 km
  • From Toulouse: 6 hr 23 · 582 km
  • From Strasbourg: 6 hr 48 · 625 km
  • From Paris: 6 hr 51 · 627 km
  • From Bordeaux: 8 hr 05 · 712 km
  • From Pau: 8 hr 17 · 772 km

Excluding traffic and winter conditions; passes closed in winter are avoided.

By train

Jarrie - Vizille station

halt · then 44 min drive (40 km)

Nearest main station: Grenoble, 1 hr 02 by road.

No direct bus line from the station to the resort appears in the open-data timetables (checked on 11 October 2026): ask the resort about a private shuttle or a taxi.

Shuttles and buses from the station: see the resort’s official website.

By plane

  • Grenoble-Alpes-Isère (GNB): 1 hr 28 by road · 97 km
  • Chambéry-Savoie (CMF): 1 hr 52 by road · 121 km

Take me there

These links open the app with Vaujany as the destination. Your starting point is never sent by us — the app asks you for it, if you agree.

Charging an electric car

No freely accessible charge point is declared within 2 km of the resort (checked on 9 October 2026). Covered car parks in the resort may offer chargers reserved for their customers: those are not listed here.

Freely accessible charge points read from the French national EV charging database (data.gouv.fr ↗, operators’ own declarations), checked on 9 October 2026. Check availability before you leave: the database says what is installed, not what is free tonight.

Road conditions

From 1 November to 31 March, snow chains or winter tyres are compulsory in most mountain areas (French “Loi Montagne II”).

Driving times computed on the OpenStreetMap road network (OSRM), SNCF stations (open data), airports (Wikidata). Indicative, not a timetable: allow extra time in snow.

Translated from the French Wikipedia article (CC BY-SA), machine translation.

Frequently asked questions

How high is Vaujany?

Vaujany sits at 1,250 m at village level, and its ski area rises to 3,200 m.

How many kilometres of pistes does Vaujany have?

From Vaujany you can ski 250 km of slopes across Alpe d'Huez Grand Domaine Ski, 15 lifts.

What is the longest piste in Vaujany?

The longest piste is Sarenne: 8 km (black run), for 1,657 m of vertical. Measured on the OpenStreetMap map, segments of the same name and level joined end to end, altitudes from the IGN RGE ALTI terrain model — a resort sometimes advertises a longer run by chaining several pistes.

How high do the lifts go in Vaujany?

The highest lift, Dôme des Rousses 2ème t. (Alpette-Rousses) (aerial tramway), tops out at 2,817 m. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How many lifts does Vaujany have, and what is their capacity?

The French national register of mechanical lifts records 15 installations at Vaujany (4 aerial tramways, 3 gondolas, 3 chairlifts, 3 drag lifts, 2 magic carpets), for an authorised capacity of 13,111 people per hour, of which 1,920 for Dôme des Rousses 2ème t. (Alpette-Rousses) alone. The fleet spans 1987 to 2023, an average age of 26 years. This count covers the resort itself, magic carpets included, not the whole linked ski area — a resort brochure often announces a different number. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How much is a lift pass in Vaujany?

The adult day pass costs €39 and the 6-day pass €181 (season not stated by the resort, declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association)).

How do I get to Vaujany?

By road, Vaujany is 1 hr 02 from Grenoble (55 km), excluding traffic and winter conditions. By train, the nearest station is Jarrie - Vizille, 44 min by road from the resort. No direct bus line from the station to the resort appears in the open-data timetables. The nearest airport is Grenoble-Alpes-Isère, 1 hr 28 away.

How long is the drive from Paris to Vaujany?

6 hr 51 for 627 km from central Paris, excluding traffic and winter conditions. Computed on the real road network (OpenStreetMap): allow more on a school-holiday Saturday.

Is the snow reliable in Vaujany?

Snow cover varies from one winter to the next — the best time runs from mid-January to late February. 52 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, and 272 cm of fresh snow, measured over 18 winters at the Météo-France “BESSE” station. This verdict rests on 18 winters of Météo-France measurements (2000-2019); in season the daily report prevails.

Is Vaujany good for beginners and families?

The resort holds the Famille Plus family label.

Nearby resorts

Full page in French. The French page carries the editorial guides and a few extra readings; every figure, webcam and price on this page is the same one. Vaujany in French →

Every figure carries its source and date; a missing figure shows as “—”, never estimated. Embed this widget on your site