Villard-de-Lans

Off season
Northern Alps Updated on 23 September 2026
1,143 mVillage altitude
2,050 mTop of the ski area
125 kmLinked pistes · Espace Villard Correncon
17Ski lifts
€43Adult day pass

Villard-de-Lans is a ski resort in the Northern Alps (Isère). The village sits at 1,143 m and the ski area rises to 2,050 m, a skiable vertical of 1,050 m.

Villard-de-Lans — view of the resort
Photo: Wikimedia Commons

Live webcams

All webcams (15) →
BoisWebcam-HD
PlateauWebcam-HD
Stand de TirWebcam-HD

Each player is the camera operator’s own, loaded only when you ask for it — it may set its own trackers.

Official players of the resort, live image. 11 more cameras on the webcam page. Checked on 25 September 2026.

Snow, opening and weather

Snow report →

Open pistes and lifts will appear here during the season, as published by the resort. Out of season we show nothing rather than a misleading zero.

Right now at the LE GUA-NIVOSE station (1,646 m)

Source: Météo-France, LE GUA-NIVOSE weather station, 4 km away. Hourly measurement — not the resort’s own snow report.

Good snow from mid-January to late March. 100 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, measured over 21 winters at the Météo-France “LE GUA-NIVOSE” station. Fortnight by fortnight, over 21 measured winters →

3-day forecast

Village 1,143 m · top 2,050 m

Loading…

Forecast corrected for altitude; fresh snow = forecast total at the top; UV = peak of the day. Beyond 3 days, check the resort’s own report. Source:Open-Meteo.

7-day forecast →

SkiRadar ratings

How ratings are computed →Computed on 24 September 2026

Seven criteria rated from 1 to 5 stars, in half-stars, from this page's sourced data. A rating is a rank among the 315 French resorts we cover — 5 stars means “among the best in France on this point”, not “perfect”. Nobody types these in.

  1. SnowCan you count on the snow?
    2.5 / 5

    Top of the ski area: 2,050 m · Bottom of the pistes: 1,000 m · Days above 30 cm per winter, measured: 100 days · Days above 30 cm, December to March, model: 75%

  2. Ski areaIs there enough to ski all week?
    3.5 / 5

    Km skiable from the resort, linked area included: 125 km · Lifts: 17

  3. ValueIs the lift pass reasonable for what you get?
    4 / 5

    Adult day pass: €43 · Adult 6-day pass: €242

  4. Families and beginnersIs it right for children and beginners?
    4 / 5

    Share of green and blue pistes: 70% · Magic carpets: 6 · ESF ski school · Ice rink, pool, rail sledge…: 2 · Famille Plus label

  5. AccessIs it easy to get to?
    3 / 5

    Average drive time from 20 major cities: 4 hr 00 · Nearest railway station: 48 min · Station-to-resort shuttles per day: 0 · Nearest airport: 1 hr 06

  6. Atmosphere and après-skiIs there life in the evening and off the slopes?
    2 / 5

    Bars and pubs: 0 · Nightclubs: 0 · Restaurants: 11 · Upcoming events: 0 · Collective tourist beds: 331 — index: what the map and the listings publish

  7. Luxury and comfortHow upmarket is the resort?
    1.5 / 5

    5-star hotels: 0 · 4-star hotels: 0 · Share of hotel rooms in 4 and 5 stars: 5% · Spas and saunas: 0 · Jewellers, watchmakers, fashion boutiques: 0 · Adult day pass: €43 — index: what the map and the listings publish

“Atmosphere” and “Luxury” are indexes: they count what OpenStreetMap and the event listings publish within 2.5 km (bars, nightclubs, rated hotels, spas, upcoming events), not what you experience there. A zero means “nothing mapped”, not “nothing there”. Sources per criterion: snow (altitudes declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), STRMTG register, OpenStreetMap; snow depth observed at the Météo-France station, ERA5-Land model) ; ski area (figures declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), national lift register (STRMTG), OpenStreetMap) ; value (the resort’s official price list) ; families and beginners (OpenStreetMap pistes, price list, ESF ski school, Famille Plus label, OpenStreetMap leisure) ; access (OSRM drive times from 20 cities, SNCF stations, GTFS shuttles, airports) ; atmosphere and après-ski (bars, nightclubs and restaurants within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap), upcoming events (OpenAgenda), collective tourist beds (INSEE)) ; luxury and comfort (rated hotels within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap) and by category across the commune (INSEE), spas and boutiques (OpenStreetMap), day pass price).

€242 6 days

Price declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association) — not the official price list, which prevails. Season not stated by the resort. ANMSM ↗

Skiable vertical
1,050 m
Cross-country skiing
7 km of nordic trails

Ski-area figures — village, top, km of the linked area: ANMSM — figures declared by the resort (25 Sept); bottom: OpenStreetMap; lifts: STRMTG — French national lift register (1 Jan) . In a linked ski area the map cannot tell where the resort ends: its own km stay “n/a” until the resort declares them.

The ski area in figures

Measured on 9 September 2026
3 kmLongest piste — Retour Villard Village (green), 342 m of vertical
493 mBiggest vertical without changing piste — 2,013 → 1,520 m, 3 km
1,982 mHighest lift top — Les Cretes (detachable chairlift), national lift register
16,556Total lift capacity, people per hour — 17 installations: 2 gondolas, 4 chairlifts, 5 drag lifts, 6 magic carpets
30 yrsAverage age of the lift fleet — oldest 1970, newest 2019
3,080Biggest lift, people per hour — Grand Canyon (detachable chairlift, 2006)
8 kmTotal length of lifts — 10 lifts mapped
1,690 haSki area boundary (OSM)
4,328Inhabitants — Villard-de-Lans (INSEE 38548)

Measured on OpenStreetMap (altitudes: IGN RGE ALTI), not taken from the brochure. The vertical above is that of one piste, not of the whole ski area. Population: INSEE municipal population via geo.api.gouv.fr.

Source: national register of mechanical lifts (STRMTG, CAIRN), fleet as of 1 January 2025 — lifts attributed to Villard-de-Lans only (“VILLARD DE LANS”), magic carpets included.

Staying and hiring gear in Villard-de-Lans

The partners covering this resort, shown side by side, and the shop to kit out before you leave. Some links earn us a commission — never at the expense of the price or of the data.

Collective accommodation

331 bed spaces in tourist residences, holiday villages and hostels

  • 11 hotels · 178 rooms (1 × 4★, 5 × 3★, 3 × 2★, 1 × 1★)
  • 2 tourist residences and apartment hotels · 331 bed spaces
  • 1 campsite · 146 pitches

Commune: Villard-de-Lans · INSEE tourist accommodation survey, 2026, read on 12 September 2026. Collective accommodation only — privately let flats and second homes are not counted. INSEE dataset ↗

Stay & accommodation

Holidu
Holiday-rental comparison site.
See offers
Ski Planet
Self-catering flats and all-inclusive ski holidays at the foot of the slopes, since 1999.
See offers
Montagne Vacances
Flats and chalets in the resort, at direct prices.
See offers

Ski hire

Skiset UK
Skiset’s UK site: ski hire in the resort shops, booked in English, paid in pounds.
Book

Gear & equipment

Absolute Snow
UK ski and snowboard shop — delivers to UK addresses only.
Browse the shop
Hardloop
Mountain gear shop: ski touring, avalanche safety, winter clothing.
Browse the shop
Picture
Ski and snowboard jackets, pants and accessories — a French brand.
Browse the shop

All about staying in Villard-de-Lans →

Beyond skiing at Villard-de-Lans

Without skis on — 8 sledging runs

Toboggan runs

  • Luge sur rail · OpenStreetMap

Ice rink

Swimming pool

Dog sledding

Paragliding

Museum

  • Maison du Patrimoine · Villard-de-Lans · 2.9 km away
  • Musée Champollion · Vif · 8.7 km away
  • Micro Musée International et Indépendant de l'Art Postal · Rencurel · 9.8 km away

Cinema

Source: DATAtourisme (open data), within 10 km of the resort; places in a large town of the valley are left out. Checked on 12 September 2026. Lines marked OpenStreetMap come from the map, within 3 km — opening times on site. Opening times and prices are the operator’s — check before you go.

Ski schools and practical information

Ski school

ESF Villard De Lans

📞 04 76 95 10 94

🌐 esf-villard-de-lans.net

119 instructors

🇬🇧 72 English-speaking instructors — lessons in English available

🗓️ This school sells its lessons online — book ↗

Source: esf.net

All about the ski school in Villard-de-Lans →

Resort contacts and documents

Shuttle timetable (PDF)
2025-11-17 horaires navettes 20 déc. au 4 janv. 2026 (2) (declared by the resort, ANMSM)
Resort app
Android (declared by the resort, ANMSM)

In case of accident

112 — the European emergency number, free of charge, triggers mountain rescue. On the pistes, the ski patrol number is printed on the piste map and at lift ticket offices. Piste rescue is charged: check your insurance or take the option sold with the lift pass.

Resort data: declared by Office Municipal du Tourisme and distributed by ANMSM · read on 25 September

Off the pistes: off-piste and ski touring

The resorts for off-piste skiing →
6 Marked off-piste itineraries · 5 km
— Ski touring routes

Named itineraries: Loup · Épervier · Escalier · Mouflon

Itineraries surveyed on OpenStreetMap within a 4 km radius (7 September 2026): “marked” means an itinerary exists on the map, not that it is open or safe on the day.

Ski touring routes described

12 ski touring routes documented within 10 km of Villard-de-Lans — up to 1,000 m of climb.

Summit and routeSki gradeClimbAltitudeAspectFrom resort
Pas de l'Œille · Versant Wn/a · PD-250 m1,120 → 1,960 mNW0.7 km
Rochers des Jaux (La Cote 2000) · Versant NW - depuis le Balcon de Villard1.3 · E1 · F800 m1,130 → 2,062 mNW1.6 km
Col des Deux Sœurs · Versant N2.1 · E1 · F950 m1,232 → 2,056 mN2 km
Plateau du Cornafion · Combe de Pissevache2.2 · E1 · PD830 m1,080 → 1,906 mSW2.2 km

The other 8 routes, with grades and vertical →

Not a piste. Neither marked, nor patrolled, nor secured: transceiver, shovel, probe, the day’s avalanche bulletin and, better still, a guide. Ski grade (1.1–5.6) = steepness and commitment; exposure (E1–E4) = consequence of a fall.

Source: Camptocamp.org topo guide (CC BY-SA), routes starting within 10 km, read on 13 September 2026. Descriptions and photos are on Camptocamp; an empty cell is a field nobody has filled in. Camptocamp ski touring routes ↗

Official piste map

Open the piste map (image, 2.1 MB) ↗

Published by Villard-de-Lans / Corrençon-en-Vercors · file dated 3 November 2022 · link checked on 12 September 2026 · official page

Link to the resort’s own file — a piste map is a copyrighted artwork, we host no copy.

Pistes coloured by level, lifts as lines. The resort’s official map is the reference in season.

Base map © OpenTopoMap (CC-BY-SA) · pistes © OpenSnowMap (CC-BY-SA) · data ©OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).

Getting to Villard-de-Lans

From Paris: 6 hr 29 (601 km) by road.

By road

  • From Grenoble: 50 min · 37 km
  • From Valence: 1 hr 13 · 72 km
  • From Chambéry: 1 hr 31 · 95 km
  • From Lyon: 1 hr 52 · 131 km
  • From Annecy: 2 hr 00 · 142 km
From other major cities (15)
  • From Saint-Étienne: 2 hr 26 · 179 km
  • From Genève: 2 hr 30 · 180 km
  • From Montpellier: 3 hr 20 · 276 km
  • From Marseille: 3 hr 26 · 285 km
  • From Dijon: 3 hr 44 · 331 km
  • From Clermont-Ferrand: 3 hr 45 · 299 km
  • From Besançon: 4 hr 03 · 361 km
  • From Perpignan: 4 hr 42 · 424 km
  • From Nice: 5 hr 03 · 443 km
  • From Toulouse: 5 hr 38 · 510 km
  • From Nancy: 5 hr 51 · 542 km
  • From Strasbourg: 6 hr 26 · 599 km
  • From Paris: 6 hr 29 · 601 km
  • From Pau: 7 hr 33 · 700 km
  • From Bordeaux: 7 hr 43 · 686 km

Excluding traffic and winter conditions; passes closed in winter are avoided.

By train

Grenoble station

main station, high-speed trains · then 48 min drive (37 km)

No direct bus line from the station to the resort appears in the open-data timetables (checked on 20 September 2026): ask the resort about a private shuttle or a taxi.

Shuttles and buses from the station: see the resort’s official website.

By plane

  • Grenoble-Alpes-Isère (GNB): 1 hr 06 by road · 70 km
  • Lyon-Saint-Exupéry (LYS): 1 hr 36 by road · 118 km

Take me there

These links open the app with Villard-de-Lans as the destination. Your starting point is never sent by us — the app asks you for it, if you agree.

Charging an electric car

No freely accessible charge point is declared within 2 km of the resort (checked on 9 September 2026). Covered car parks in the resort may offer chargers reserved for their customers: those are not listed here.

Freely accessible charge points read from the French national EV charging database (data.gouv.fr ↗, operators’ own declarations), checked on 9 September 2026. Check availability before you leave: the database says what is installed, not what is free tonight.

Road conditions

From 1 November to 31 March, snow chains or winter tyres are compulsory in most mountain areas (French “Loi Montagne II”).

Driving times computed on the OpenStreetMap road network (OSRM), SNCF stations (open data), airports (Wikidata). Indicative, not a timetable: allow extra time in snow.

The area offers 125 km of alpine pistes across Espace Villard Correncon, 17 ski lifts.

Measured on the OpenStreetMap map: the longest piste runs 3 km (Retour Villard Village) and the highest lift tops out at 1,919 m.

The resort holds the Famille Plus and Station classée de tourisme labels.

Access: 50 min by road from Grenoble and 48 min from Grenoble railway station.

15 official webcams show the pistes live (on the French page).

Frequently asked questions

How high is Villard-de-Lans?

Villard-de-Lans sits at 1,143 m at village level, and its ski area rises to 2,050 m.

How many kilometres of pistes does Villard-de-Lans have?

From Villard-de-Lans you can ski 125 km of slopes across Espace Villard Correncon, 17 lifts.

What is the longest piste in Villard-de-Lans?

The longest piste is Retour Villard Village: 3 km (green run), for 342 m of vertical. Measured on the OpenStreetMap map, segments of the same name and level joined end to end, altitudes from the IGN RGE ALTI terrain model — a resort sometimes advertises a longer run by chaining several pistes.

How high do the lifts go in Villard-de-Lans?

The highest lift, Les Cretes (detachable chairlift), tops out at 1,982 m. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How many lifts does Villard-de-Lans have, and what is their capacity?

The French national register of mechanical lifts records 17 installations at Villard-de-Lans (2 gondolas, 4 chairlifts, 5 drag lifts, 6 magic carpets), for an authorised capacity of 16,556 people per hour, of which 3,080 for Grand Canyon alone. The fleet spans 1970 to 2019, an average age of 30 years. This count covers the resort itself, magic carpets included, not the whole linked ski area — a resort brochure often announces a different number. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How much is a lift pass in Villard-de-Lans?

The adult day pass costs €43 and the 6-day pass €242 (season not stated by the resort, declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association)).

How do I get to Villard-de-Lans?

By road, Villard-de-Lans is 50 min from Grenoble (37 km), excluding traffic and winter conditions. By train, the nearest station is Grenoble (main station, high-speed trains), 48 min by road from the resort. No direct bus line from the station to the resort appears in the open-data timetables. The nearest airport is Grenoble-Alpes-Isère, 1 hr 06 away.

How long is the drive from Paris to Villard-de-Lans?

6 hr 29 for 601 km from central Paris, excluding traffic and winter conditions. Computed on the real road network (OpenStreetMap): allow more on a school-holiday Saturday.

Is the snow reliable in Villard-de-Lans?

Good snow from mid-January to late March. 100 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, measured over 21 winters at the Météo-France “LE GUA-NIVOSE” station. This verdict rests on 21 winters of Météo-France measurements (1999-2026); in season the daily report prevails.

Is Villard-de-Lans good for beginners and families?

The resort holds the Famille Plus family label.

Nearby resorts

Full page in French. The French page carries the editorial guides and a few extra readings; every figure, webcam and price on this page is the same one. Villard-de-Lans in French →

Every figure carries its source and date; a missing figure shows as “—”, never estimated. Embed this widget on your site