Lans-en-Vercors

Off season
Northern Alps Updated on 23 September 2026
1,400 mVillage altitude
1,768 mTop of the ski area
25 kmAlpine pistes
15Ski lifts
€24Adult day pass

Lans-en-Vercors is a ski resort in the Northern Alps (Isère). The village sits at 1,400 m and the ski area rises to 1,768 m, a skiable vertical of 368 m.

Lans-en-Vercors — view of the resort
Photo: Wikimedia Commons

Live webcams

All webcams (13) →
Les Montagnes de Lans Ski Alpin Alt 1430m Open at the operator ↗
Le Vertige des Cimes Ski alpin Alt 1715mWebcam-HD
Les Allières Ski nordique Alt 1449mWebcam-HD
Tyrolienne Géante Vercors, Chatelard Méaudre Alt.1040mWebcam-HD

Each player is the camera operator’s own, loaded only when you ask for it — it may set its own trackers.

Official players of the resort, live image. 9 more cameras on the webcam page. Checked on 25 September 2026.

Snow, opening and weather

Snow report →

Open pistes and lifts will appear here during the season, as published by the resort. Out of season we show nothing rather than a misleading zero.

Good snow from mid-January to late March. 100 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, measured over 21 winters at the Météo-France “LE GUA-NIVOSE” station. Fortnight by fortnight, over 21 measured winters →

3-day forecast

Village 1,400 m · top 1,768 m

Loading…

Forecast corrected for altitude; fresh snow = forecast total at the top; UV = peak of the day. Beyond 3 days, check the resort’s own report. Source:Open-Meteo.

7-day forecast →

SkiRadar ratings

How ratings are computed →Computed on 24 September 2026

Seven criteria rated from 1 to 5 stars, in half-stars, from this page's sourced data. A rating is a rank among the 315 French resorts we cover — 5 stars means “among the best in France on this point”, not “perfect”. Nobody types these in.

  1. SnowCan you count on the snow?
    2.5 / 5

    Top of the ski area: 1,768 m · Bottom of the pistes: 1,400 m · Days above 30 cm per winter, measured: 100 days · Days above 30 cm, December to March, model: 25%

  2. Ski areaIs there enough to ski all week?
    3 / 5

    Km of pistes at the resort: 25 km · Lifts: 15 · Balance between piste levels: 81%

  3. ValueIs the lift pass reasonable for what you get?
    3.5 / 5

    Adult day pass: €24 · Day pass price per km of pistes: €0.96/km

  4. Families and beginnersIs it right for children and beginners?
    3.5 / 5

    Share of green and blue pistes: 78% · Magic carpets: 2 · Sledging runs: 1 · ESF ski school · Ice rink, pool, rail sledge…: 2

  5. AccessIs it easy to get to?
    4 / 5

    Average drive time from 20 major cities: 4 hr 00 · Nearest railway station: 38 min · Station-to-resort shuttles per day: 6 · Nearest airport: 1 hr 01

  6. Atmosphere and après-skiIs there life in the evening and off the slopes?
    2 / 5

    Bars and pubs: 1 · Nightclubs: 0 · Restaurants: 9 · Upcoming events: 0 · Collective tourist beds: 0 — index: what the map and the listings publish

  7. Luxury and comfortHow upmarket is the resort?
    1 / 5

    5-star hotels: 0 · 4-star hotels: 0 · Share of hotel rooms in 4 and 5 stars: 0% · Spas and saunas: 0 · Jewellers, watchmakers, fashion boutiques: 0 · Adult day pass: €24 — index: what the map and the listings publish

“Atmosphere” and “Luxury” are indexes: they count what OpenStreetMap and the event listings publish within 2.5 km (bars, nightclubs, rated hotels, spas, upcoming events), not what you experience there. A zero means “nothing mapped”, not “nothing there”. Sources per criterion: snow (altitudes declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), STRMTG register, OpenStreetMap; snow depth observed at the Météo-France station, ERA5-Land model) ; ski area (figures declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), national lift register (STRMTG), OpenStreetMap) ; value (the resort’s official price list) ; families and beginners (OpenStreetMap pistes, price list, ESF ski school, Famille Plus label, OpenStreetMap leisure) ; access (OSRM drive times from 20 cities, SNCF stations, GTFS shuttles, airports) ; atmosphere and après-ski (bars, nightclubs and restaurants within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap), upcoming events (OpenAgenda), collective tourist beds (INSEE)) ; luxury and comfort (rated hotels within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap) and by category across the commune (INSEE), spas and boutiques (OpenStreetMap), day pass price).

Price declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association) — not the official price list, which prevails. Season not stated by the resort. ANMSM ↗

37 pistes, by level

11 green18 blue7 red1 black
Skiable vertical
368 m
Cross-country skiing
6 named trails — 38 km of marked loops (17 km of distinct track: the loops overlap), right by the resort

Ski-area figures — village, bottom, top: ANMSM — figures declared by the resort (25 Sept); km of pistes, pistes by level: OpenStreetMap; lifts: STRMTG — French national lift register (1 Jan) .

The ski area in figures

Measured on 9 September 2026
2 kmLongest piste — Chevreuils (blue), 257 m of vertical
367 mBiggest vertical without changing piste — 1,786 → 1,419 m, 1 km
1,801 mHighest lift top — Trois Buissons (platter lift), national lift register
10,091Total lift capacity, people per hour — 15 installations: 13 drag lifts, 2 magic carpets
43 yrsAverage age of the lift fleet — oldest 1971, newest 2005
900Biggest lift, people per hour — Bachassons (platter lift, 1975)
8 kmTotal length of lifts — 13 lifts mapped
n/aSki area boundary (OSM)
2,751Inhabitants — Lans-en-Vercors (INSEE 38205)

Measured on OpenStreetMap (altitudes: IGN RGE ALTI), not taken from the brochure. The vertical above is that of one piste, not of the whole ski area. Population: INSEE municipal population via geo.api.gouv.fr.

Source: national register of mechanical lifts (STRMTG, CAIRN), fleet as of 1 January 2025 — lifts attributed to Lans-en-Vercors only (“LANS EN VERCORS”), magic carpets included.

Staying and hiring gear in Lans-en-Vercors

The partners covering this resort, shown side by side, and the shop to kit out before you leave. Some links earn us a commission — never at the expense of the price or of the data.

Collective accommodation

  • 2 hotels · 37 rooms (1 × 3★, 1 × 2★)
  • 1 campsite · 87 pitches

Commune: Lans-en-Vercors · INSEE tourist accommodation survey, 2026, read on 12 September 2026. Collective accommodation only — privately let flats and second homes are not counted. INSEE dataset ↗

Stay & accommodation

Holidu
Holiday-rental comparison site.
See offers

Gear & equipment

Absolute Snow
UK ski and snowboard shop — delivers to UK addresses only.
Browse the shop
Hardloop
Mountain gear shop: ski touring, avalanche safety, winter clothing.
Browse the shop
Picture
Ski and snowboard jackets, pants and accessories — a French brand.
Browse the shop

All about staying in Lans-en-Vercors →

Beyond skiing at Lans-en-Vercors

Without skis on — 1 sledging run

Ice rink

Swimming pool

Spa and thermal baths

Paragliding

Museum

  • La Magie des Automates · Lans-en-Vercors · 2.7 km away
  • Maison du Patrimoine · Villard-de-Lans · 6.8 km away
  • Histo Bus Dauphinois · Le Pont-de-Claix · 7.8 km away
  • Musée Champollion · Vif · 8.5 km away

Cinema

Source: DATAtourisme (open data), within 10 km of the resort; places in a large town of the valley are left out. Checked on 12 September 2026. Lines marked OpenStreetMap come from the map, within 3 km — opening times on site. Opening times and prices are the operator’s — check before you go.

Ski schools and practical information

Ski school

ESF Lans En Vercors

📞 04 76 95 43 19

🌐 esf-lans-en-vercors.net

34 instructors

🇬🇧 18 English-speaking instructors — lessons in English available

🗓️ This school sells its lessons online — book ↗

Source: esf.net

All about the ski school in Lans-en-Vercors →

Resort contacts and documents

Shuttle timetable (PDF)
Web (declared by the resort, ANMSM)

In case of accident

112 — the European emergency number, free of charge, triggers mountain rescue. On the pistes, the ski patrol number is printed on the piste map and at lift ticket offices. Piste rescue is charged: check your insurance or take the option sold with the lift pass.

Resort data: declared by Office de Tourisme intercommunal Vercors - LANS en VERCORS and distributed by ANMSM · read on 25 September

Off the pistes: off-piste and ski touring

The resorts for off-piste skiing →
2 Marked off-piste itineraries · 2 km
— Ski touring routes

Named itineraries: Combe Oursière · Coq de Bruyère

Itineraries surveyed on OpenStreetMap within a 4 km radius (7 September 2026): “marked” means an itinerary exists on the map, not that it is open or safe on the day.

Ski touring routes described

12 ski touring routes documented within 10 km of Lans-en-Vercors — up to 1,000 m of climb.

Summit and routeSki gradeClimbAltitudeAspectFrom resort
Le Grand Cheval · Par les pistes1.3 · E1 · F430 m1,400 → 1,827 mW0.8 km
Grande Roche Saint Michel · Par la piste de Roche Rousse1.3 · E1 · PD-480 m1,383 → 1,863 mNW1.7 km
Grande Roche Saint Michel · depuis le Furon1.3 · E1 · F723 m1,140 → 1,863 mW2.1 km
Pic Saint Michel · Versant W2.1 · E1 · PD-700 m1,270 → 1,966 mW2.4 km

The other 8 routes, with grades and vertical →

Not a piste. Neither marked, nor patrolled, nor secured: transceiver, shovel, probe, the day’s avalanche bulletin and, better still, a guide. Ski grade (1.1–5.6) = steepness and commitment; exposure (E1–E4) = consequence of a fall.

Source: Camptocamp.org topo guide (CC BY-SA), routes starting within 10 km, read on 13 September 2026. Descriptions and photos are on Camptocamp; an empty cell is a field nobody has filled in. Camptocamp ski touring routes ↗

Official piste map

No downloadable piste map published by the resort.

Pistes coloured by level, lifts as lines. The resort’s official map is the reference in season.

Base map © OpenTopoMap (CC-BY-SA) · pistes © OpenSnowMap (CC-BY-SA) · data ©OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).

Getting to Lans-en-Vercors

From Paris: 6 hr 24 (595 km) by road.

By road

  • From Grenoble: 40 min · 31 km
  • From Chambéry: 1 hr 22 · 89 km
  • From Valence: 1 hr 24 · 81 km
  • From Lyon: 1 hr 47 · 125 km
  • From Annecy: 1 hr 51 · 136 km
From other major cities (15)
  • From Genève: 2 hr 21 · 174 km
  • From Saint-Étienne: 2 hr 21 · 174 km
  • From Montpellier: 3 hr 31 · 285 km
  • From Marseille: 3 hr 36 · 294 km
  • From Dijon: 3 hr 39 · 326 km
  • From Clermont-Ferrand: 3 hr 40 · 293 km
  • From Besançon: 3 hr 58 · 355 km
  • From Perpignan: 4 hr 53 · 433 km
  • From Nice: 5 hr 14 · 452 km
  • From Nancy: 5 hr 46 · 537 km
  • From Toulouse: 5 hr 49 · 519 km
  • From Strasbourg: 6 hr 21 · 593 km
  • From Paris: 6 hr 24 · 595 km
  • From Bordeaux: 7 hr 38 · 680 km
  • From Pau: 7 hr 43 · 709 km

Excluding traffic and winter conditions; passes closed in winter are avoided.

By train

Échirolles station

regional station · then 38 min drive (31 km)

Nearest main station: Grenoble, 40 min by road.

  • From Grenoble station (stop “Gare Routiere”): line T65 — LANS EN VERCORS-ST NIZIER-GRENOBLE (REGION - cars Région Isère), 53 min to the “Les Bernards” stop — 6 departures a day on weekdays, 5 a day at weekends · first 07:25, last 19:00 · timetable from 15 December 2026 to 15 April 2027 · official timetable ↗

Direct journeys read from the official timetable files published on transport.data.gouv.fr — no connections.

By plane

  • Grenoble-Alpes-Isère (GNB): 1 hr 01 by road · 65 km
  • Lyon-Saint-Exupéry (LYS): 1 hr 31 by road · 112 km

Take me there

These links open the app with Lans-en-Vercors as the destination. Your starting point is never sent by us — the app asks you for it, if you agree.

Charging an electric car

1 charging station within 2 km

2 charging points · up to 24 kW

  • LANS-EN-VERCORS - parking Rue des Ecoles · EASYCHARGE · 2 points · 24 kW · 1.8 km

Freely accessible charge points read from the French national EV charging database (data.gouv.fr ↗, operators’ own declarations), checked on 9 September 2026. Check availability before you leave: the database says what is installed, not what is free tonight.

Road conditions

From 1 November to 31 March, snow chains or winter tyres are compulsory in most mountain areas (French “Loi Montagne II”).

Driving times computed on the OpenStreetMap road network (OSRM), SNCF stations (open data), airports (Wikidata). Indicative, not a timetable: allow extra time in snow.

The area offers 25 km of alpine pistes, 37 marked pistes (11 green, 18 blue, 7 red, 1 black), 15 ski lifts. Green and blue runs dominate: terrain suited to beginners and families.

Measured on the OpenStreetMap map: the longest piste runs 2 km (Chevreuils) and the highest lift tops out at 1,789 m.

The resort holds the Flocon Vert and Station Verte labels.

Access: 40 min by road from Grenoble and 38 min from Échirolles railway station.

13 official webcams show the pistes live (on the French page).

Frequently asked questions

How high is Lans-en-Vercors?

Lans-en-Vercors sits at 1,400 m at village level, and its ski area rises to 1,768 m.

How many kilometres of pistes does Lans-en-Vercors have?

Lans-en-Vercors has 25 km of slopes, 15 lifts.

What is the longest piste in Lans-en-Vercors?

The longest piste is Chevreuils: 2 km (blue run), for 257 m of vertical. Measured on the OpenStreetMap map, segments of the same name and level joined end to end, altitudes from the IGN RGE ALTI terrain model — a resort sometimes advertises a longer run by chaining several pistes.

How high do the lifts go in Lans-en-Vercors?

The highest lift, Trois Buissons (platter lift), tops out at 1,801 m. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How many lifts does Lans-en-Vercors have, and what is their capacity?

The French national register of mechanical lifts records 15 installations at Lans-en-Vercors (13 drag lifts, 2 magic carpets), for an authorised capacity of 10,091 people per hour, of which 900 for Bachassons alone. The fleet spans 1971 to 2005, an average age of 43 years. This count covers the resort itself, magic carpets included, not the whole linked ski area — a resort brochure often announces a different number. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How much is a lift pass in Lans-en-Vercors?

The adult day pass costs €24 (season not stated by the resort, declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association)).

How do I get to Lans-en-Vercors?

By road, Lans-en-Vercors is 40 min from Grenoble (31 km), excluding traffic and winter conditions. By train, the nearest station is Échirolles, 38 min by road from the resort. From Grenoble station, line T65 — LANS EN VERCORS-ST NIZIER-GRENOBLE (REGION - cars Région Isère) reaches the “Les Bernards” stop in 53 min, 6 departures a day on weekdays, 5 a day at weekends. The nearest airport is Grenoble-Alpes-Isère, 1 hr 01 away.

How long is the drive from Paris to Lans-en-Vercors?

6 hr 24 for 595 km from central Paris, excluding traffic and winter conditions. Computed on the real road network (OpenStreetMap): allow more on a school-holiday Saturday.

Is the snow reliable in Lans-en-Vercors?

Good snow from mid-January to late March. 100 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, measured over 21 winters at the Météo-France “LE GUA-NIVOSE” station. This verdict rests on 21 winters of Météo-France measurements (1999-2026); in season the daily report prevails.

Is Lans-en-Vercors good for beginners and families?

78% of the pistes are green or blue: a very accessible area.

Nearby resorts

Full page in French. The French page carries the editorial guides and a few extra readings; every figure, webcam and price on this page is the same one. Lans-en-Vercors in French →

Every figure carries its source and date; a missing figure shows as “—”, never estimated. Embed this widget on your site