Chamrousse

Northern Alps Linked area Chamrousse Updated on 21 September 2026
1,650 mVillage altitude
2,250 mTop of the ski area
84 kmAlpine pistes · 90 km across Chamrousse
15Ski lifts
€44Adult day pass

Chamrousse is a commune and a ski resort in the Isère department in Southeastern France. It is located in the Belledonne mountain range southeast of Grenoble. The commune was created in 1989 from parts of the communes Saint-Martin-d'Uriage, Vaulnaveys-le-Haut and Séchilienne. The ski resort is situated on the Recoin at 1,650 m (5,413 ft) and the Roche Béranger at 1,750 m (5,741 ft). The ski-lifts reach the Croix de Chamrousse at 2,253 m (7,392 ft).

Chamrousse — view of the resort
Photo: Wikimedia Commons

Live webcams

All webcams (10) →
Recoin · ArchivesSkaping
Panorama CasserousseSkaping
Les CrêtesSkaping

Each player is the camera operator’s own, loaded only when you ask for it — it may set its own trackers.

Official players of the resort, live image. 6 more cameras on the webcam page. Checked on 16 October 2026.

Snow, opening and weather

Snow report →

Open pistes and lifts will appear here during the season, as published by the resort. Out of season we show nothing rather than a misleading zero.

Right now at the CHAMROUSSE station (1,730 m)

Source: Météo-France, CHAMROUSSE weather station, 1.8 km away. Hourly measurement — not the resort’s own snow report.

Good snow from mid-January to late March. 100 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, measured over 21 winters at the Météo-France “LE GUA-NIVOSE” station. Fortnight by fortnight, over 21 measured winters →

3-day forecast

Village 1,650 m · top 2,250 m

Loading…

Forecast corrected for altitude; fresh snow = forecast total at the top; UV = peak of the day. Beyond 3 days, check the resort’s own report. Source:Open-Meteo.

7-day forecast →

SkiRadar ratings

How ratings are computed →Computed on 16 October 2026

Seven criteria rated from 1 to 5 stars, in half-stars, from this page's sourced data. A rating is a rank among the 315 French resorts we cover — 5 stars means “among the best in France on this point”, not “perfect”. Nobody types these in.

  1. SnowCan you count on the snow?
    3.5 / 5

    Top of the ski area: 2,250 m · Bottom of the pistes: 1,400 m · Days above 30 cm per winter, measured: 100 days · Days above 30 cm, December to March, model: 95%

  2. Ski areaIs there enough to ski all week?
    4 / 5

    Km of pistes at the resort: 84 km · Km skiable from the resort, linked area included: 90 km · Lifts: 15 · Balance between piste levels: 94%

  3. ValueIs the lift pass reasonable for what you get?
    3 / 5

    Adult day pass: €44 · Day pass price per km of pistes: €0.52/km

  4. Families and beginnersIs it right for children and beginners?
    3 / 5

    Share of green and blue pistes: 48% · Magic carpets: 4 · Sledging runs: 0 · ESF ski school · Ice rink, pool, rail sledge…: 1 · Famille Plus label

  5. AccessIs it easy to get to?
    3.5 / 5

    Average drive time from 20 major cities: 4 hr 08 · Nearest railway station: 32 min · Station-to-resort shuttles per day: 0 · Nearest airport: 1 hr 10

  6. Atmosphere and après-skiIs there life in the evening and off the slopes?
    3 / 5

    Bars and pubs: 2 · Nightclubs: 0 · Restaurants: 24 · Upcoming events: 0 · Collective tourist beds: 828 — index: what the map and the listings publish

  7. Luxury and comfortHow upmarket is the resort?
    1.5 / 5

    5-star hotels: 0 · 4-star hotels: 0 · Share of hotel rooms in 4 and 5 stars: 0% · Spas and saunas: 2 · Jewellers, watchmakers, fashion boutiques: 0 · Adult day pass: €44 — index: what the map and the listings publish

“Atmosphere” and “Luxury” are indexes: they count what OpenStreetMap and the event listings publish within 2.5 km (bars, nightclubs, rated hotels, spas, upcoming events), not what you experience there. A zero means “nothing mapped”, not “nothing there”. Sources per criterion: snow (altitudes declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), STRMTG register, OpenStreetMap; snow depth observed at the Météo-France station, ERA5-Land model) ; ski area (figures declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), national lift register (STRMTG), OpenStreetMap) ; value (the resort’s official price list) ; families and beginners (OpenStreetMap pistes, price list, ESF ski school, Famille Plus label, OpenStreetMap leisure) ; access (OSRM drive times from 20 cities, SNCF stations, GTFS shuttles, airports) ; atmosphere and après-ski (bars, nightclubs and restaurants within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap), upcoming events (OpenAgenda), collective tourist beds (INSEE)) ; luxury and comfort (rated hotels within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap) and by category across the commune (INSEE), spas and boutiques (OpenStreetMap), day pass price).

Price declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association) — not the official price list, which prevails. Season not stated by the resort. ANMSM ↗

54 pistes, by level

6 green20 blue16 red12 black
Skiable vertical
850 m
Cross-country skiing
1 named trail — 0.6 km of marked loops, 1.3 km from the resort
Snowpark
3 mapped zones — Initiatique park (very easy) · Kidpark (easy) · Snowpark (intermediate)

Ski-area figures — village, bottom, top, km of pistes, km of the linked area, lifts, pistes by level: ANMSM — figures declared by the resort (16 Oct) . The national register attributes 25 lifts to Chamrousse alone; the figure above comes from the most reliable source.

The ski area in figures

Measured on 7 October 2026
3 kmLongest piste — Olympique Dames (red), 573 m of vertical
573 mBiggest vertical without changing piste — 2,245 → 1,672 m, 3 km
2,253 mHighest lift top — La Croix (gondola), national lift register
30,347Total lift capacity, people per hour — 25 installations: 1 gondola, 7 chairlifts, 13 drag lifts, 4 magic carpets
29 yrsAverage age of the lift fleet — oldest 1962, newest 2023
3,000Biggest lift, people per hour — Bachat-Bouloud (Ecrin) (detachable chairlift, 2005)
14 kmTotal length of lifts — 18 lifts mapped
2,050 haSki area boundary (OSM)
453Inhabitants — Chamrousse (INSEE 38567)

Measured on OpenStreetMap (altitudes: IGN RGE ALTI), not taken from the brochure. The vertical above is that of one piste, not of the whole ski area. Population: INSEE municipal population via geo.api.gouv.fr.

Source: national register of mechanical lifts (STRMTG, CAIRN), fleet as of 1 January 2025 — lifts attributed to Chamrousse only (“CHAMROUSSE”), magic carpets included.

Staying and hiring gear in Chamrousse

The partners covering this resort, shown side by side, and the shop to kit out before you leave. Some links earn us a commission — never at the expense of the price or of the data.

Collective accommodation

828 bed spaces in tourist residences, holiday villages and hostels

  • 1 hotel · 15 rooms
  • 3 tourist residences and apartment hotels · 828 bed spaces
  • 1 campsite · 47 pitches

Commune: Chamrousse · INSEE tourist accommodation survey, 2026, read on 12 September 2026. Collective accommodation only — privately let flats and second homes are not counted. INSEE dataset ↗

Stay & accommodation

Holidu
Holiday-rental comparison site.
See offers
Ski Planet
Self-catering flats and all-inclusive ski holidays at the foot of the slopes, since 1999.
See offers
Montagne Vacances
Flats and chalets in the resort, at direct prices.
See offers

Ski hire

Skiset UK
Skiset’s UK site: ski hire in the resort shops, booked in English, paid in pounds.
Book

Gear & equipment

Absolute Snow
UK ski and snowboard shop — delivers to UK addresses only.
Browse the shop
Hardloop
Mountain gear shop: ski touring, avalanche safety, winter clothing.
Browse the shop
Picture
Ski and snowboard jackets, pants and accessories — a French brand.
Browse the shop

All about staying in Chamrousse →

Beyond skiing at Chamrousse

Without skis on — 5 km of snowshoe and walking trails

Ice rink

Swimming pool

Spa and thermal baths

Dog sledding

Paragliding

Museum

Cinema

Source: DATAtourisme (open data), within 10 km of the resort; places in a large town of the valley are left out. Checked on 12 September 2026. Lines marked OpenStreetMap come from the map, within 3 km — opening times on site. Opening times and prices are the operator’s — check before you go.

Ski schools and practical information

Ski school

ESF Chamrousse

📞 04 76 89 94 25

🌐 esf-chamrousse.com.fr

149 instructors

🇬🇧 63 English-speaking instructors — lessons in English available

🗓️ This school sells its lessons online — book ↗

Source: esf.net

All about the ski school in Chamrousse →

Resort contacts and documents

Resort app
Android (declared by the resort, ANMSM)

In case of accident

112 — the European emergency number, free of charge, triggers mountain rescue. On the pistes, the ski patrol number is printed on the piste map and at lift ticket offices. Piste rescue is charged: check your insurance or take the option sold with the lift pass.

Resort data: declared by OFFICE DE TOURISME and distributed by ANMSM · read on 16 October

Off the pistes: off-piste and ski touring

The resorts for off-piste skiing →
5 Marked off-piste itineraries · 2 km
14 km Ski touring routes

Named itineraries: Marmottes · Soldanelles · Anthracite · Ours

Itineraries surveyed on OpenStreetMap within a 4 km radius (7 September 2026): “marked” means an itinerary exists on the map, not that it is open or safe on the day.

Ski touring routes described

12 ski touring routes documented within 10 km of Chamrousse — up to 1,360 m of climb.

Summit and routeSki gradeClimbAltitudeAspectFrom resort
Croix de Chamrousse · Depuis Chamrousse - Roche Béranger1.2 · E1 · F450 m1,750 → 2,250 mSW0.9 km
Col de l'Infernet · Sentiers du balcon de Chamrousse1.1 · E1 · F250 m1,750 → 2,000 mSW1 km
Cime des Fraches · Versant W en boucle1.1 · E1 · F350 m1,700 → 1,942 mW1.1 km
Grand Van · Par les lacs Achard2.2 · E1870 m1,620 → 2,448 mS1.6 km

The other 8 routes, with grades and vertical →

Not a piste. Neither marked, nor patrolled, nor secured: transceiver, shovel, probe, the day’s avalanche bulletin and, better still, a guide. Ski grade (1.1–5.6) = steepness and commitment; exposure (E1–E4) = consequence of a fall.

Source: Camptocamp.org topo guide (CC BY-SA), routes starting within 10 km, read on 13 October 2026. Descriptions and photos are on Camptocamp; an empty cell is a field nobody has filled in. Camptocamp ski touring routes ↗

Official piste map

No downloadable piste map published by the resort.

Pistes coloured by level, lifts as lines. The resort’s official map is the reference in season.

Base map © OpenTopoMap (CC-BY-SA) · pistes © OpenSnowMap (CC-BY-SA) · data ©OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).

Getting to Chamrousse

From Paris: 6 hr 33 (608 km) by road.

By road

  • From Grenoble: 41 min · 32 km
  • From Chambéry: 1 hr 13 · 81 km
  • From Valence: 1 hr 40 · 125 km
  • From Annecy: 1 hr 42 · 129 km
  • From Lyon: 1 hr 56 · 138 km
From other major cities (15)
  • From Genève: 2 hr 12 · 166 km
  • From Saint-Étienne: 2 hr 29 · 187 km
  • From Montpellier: 3 hr 47 · 329 km
  • From Dijon: 3 hr 48 · 339 km
  • From Clermont-Ferrand: 3 hr 49 · 304 km
  • From Marseille: 3 hr 52 · 339 km
  • From Besançon: 4 hr 07 · 369 km
  • From Perpignan: 5 hr 09 · 477 km
  • From Nice: 5 hr 28 · 392 km
  • From Nancy: 5 hr 55 · 550 km
  • From Toulouse: 6 hr 05 · 564 km
  • From Strasbourg: 6 hr 27 · 556 km
  • From Paris: 6 hr 33 · 608 km
  • From Bordeaux: 7 hr 47 · 693 km
  • From Pau: 7 hr 59 · 754 km

Excluding traffic and winter conditions; passes closed in winter are avoided.

By train

Jarrie - Vizille station

halt · then 32 min drive (28 km)

Nearest main station: Grenoble, 43 min by road.

No direct bus line from the station to the resort appears in the open-data timetables (checked on 11 October 2026): ask the resort about a private shuttle or a taxi.

Shuttles and buses from the station: see the resort’s official website.

By plane

  • Grenoble-Alpes-Isère (GNB): 1 hr 10 by road · 78 km
  • Chambéry-Savoie (CMF): 1 hr 25 by road · 89 km

Take me there

These links open the app with Chamrousse as the destination. Your starting point is never sent by us — the app asks you for it, if you agree.

Charging an electric car

3 charging stations within 2 km

7 charging points · up to 24 kW

  • CHAMROUSSE - Place des Trolles · EASYCHARGE · 2 points · 22 kW · 0 km
  • CHAMROUSSE - Rue Du Pere Tasse · EASYCHARGE · 3 points · 24 kW · 0.3 km
  • CHAMROUSSE - Le recoin · EASYCHARGE · 2 points · 22 kW · 1.4 km

Freely accessible charge points read from the French national EV charging database (data.gouv.fr ↗, operators’ own declarations), checked on 9 October 2026. Check availability before you leave: the database says what is installed, not what is free tonight.

Road conditions

From 1 November to 31 March, snow chains or winter tyres are compulsory in most mountain areas (French “Loi Montagne II”).

Driving times computed on the OpenStreetMap road network (OSRM), SNCF stations (open data), airports (Wikidata). Indicative, not a timetable: allow extra time in snow.

Introduction from the English Wikipedia article (CC BY-SA).

Frequently asked questions

How high is Chamrousse?

Chamrousse sits at 1,650 m at village level, and its ski area rises to 2,250 m.

How many kilometres of pistes does Chamrousse have?

Chamrousse has 84 km of slopes (90 km across Chamrousse), 15 lifts.

What is the longest piste in Chamrousse?

The longest piste is Olympique Dames: 3 km (red run), for 573 m of vertical. Measured on the OpenStreetMap map, segments of the same name and level joined end to end, altitudes from the IGN RGE ALTI terrain model — a resort sometimes advertises a longer run by chaining several pistes.

How high do the lifts go in Chamrousse?

The highest lift, La Croix (gondola), tops out at 2,253 m. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How many lifts does Chamrousse have, and what is their capacity?

The French national register of mechanical lifts records 25 installations at Chamrousse (1 gondola, 7 chairlifts, 13 drag lifts, 4 magic carpets), for an authorised capacity of 30,347 people per hour, of which 3,000 for Bachat-Bouloud (Ecrin) alone. The fleet spans 1962 to 2023, an average age of 29 years. This count covers the resort itself, magic carpets included, not the whole linked ski area — a resort brochure often announces a different number. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How much is a lift pass in Chamrousse?

The adult day pass costs €44 (season not stated by the resort, declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association)).

How do I get to Chamrousse?

By road, Chamrousse is 41 min from Grenoble (32 km), excluding traffic and winter conditions. By train, the nearest station is Jarrie - Vizille, 32 min by road from the resort. No direct bus line from the station to the resort appears in the open-data timetables. The nearest airport is Grenoble-Alpes-Isère, 1 hr 10 away.

How long is the drive from Paris to Chamrousse?

6 hr 33 for 608 km from central Paris, excluding traffic and winter conditions. Computed on the real road network (OpenStreetMap): allow more on a school-holiday Saturday.

Is the snow reliable in Chamrousse?

Good snow from mid-January to late March. 100 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, measured over 21 winters at the Météo-France “LE GUA-NIVOSE” station. This verdict rests on 21 winters of Météo-France measurements (1999-2026); in season the daily report prevails.

Is Chamrousse good for beginners and families?

48% of the pistes are green or blue: a rather technical area. The resort holds the Famille Plus family label.

Nearby resorts

Full page in French. The French page carries the editorial guides and a few extra readings; every figure, webcam and price on this page is the same one. Chamrousse in French →

Every figure carries its source and date; a missing figure shows as “—”, never estimated. Embed this widget on your site