Alpe du Grand Serre
Alpe du Grand Serre is a ski resort located in the commune of La Morte in the department of Isère and region of Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, France. The resort is in the French Dauphine Alps at an altitude of 1,368 m (4,488 ft). The village itself is located at the summit of a mountain pass at the gates of the Oisans valley, between the Romanche valley and the Roizonne valley. Neighbouring mountains are the Taillefer and the Grand Serre summit. It remains a small mountain village with traditional alpine buildings and atmosphere. Thus, it is mostly visited by local people and families from the Grenoble urban area. It was announced in October 2024 that the resort would not open for 2024

Live webcams
All webcams (6) →Each player is the camera operator’s own, loaded only when you ask for it — it may set its own trackers.
Official players of the resort, live image. 2 more cameras on the webcam page. Checked on 16 October 2026.
Snow, opening and weather
Snow report →Open pistes and lifts will appear here during the season, as published by the resort. Out of season we show nothing rather than a misleading zero.
Avalanche danger
Good snow from mid-January to late March. 100 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, measured over 21 winters at the Météo-France “LE GUA-NIVOSE” station. Fortnight by fortnight, over 21 measured winters →
3-day forecast
Village 1,400 m · top 2,200 m
Forecast corrected for altitude; fresh snow = forecast total at the top; UV = peak of the day. Beyond 3 days, check the resort’s own report. Source:Open-Meteo.
Seven criteria rated from 1 to 5 stars, in half-stars, from this page's sourced data. A rating is a rank among the 315 French resorts we cover — 5 stars means “among the best in France on this point”, not “perfect”. Nobody types these in.
- SnowCan you count on the snow?3 / 5
Top of the ski area: 2,200 m · Bottom of the pistes: 1,367 m · Days above 30 cm per winter, measured: 100 days · Days above 30 cm, December to March, model: 84%
- Ski areaIs there enough to ski all week?3.5 / 5
Km of pistes at the resort: 55 km · Lifts: 14 · Balance between piste levels: 80%
- ValueIs the lift pass reasonable for what you get?3.5 / 5
Adult day pass: €33 · Day pass price per km of pistes: €0.6/km · Adult 6-day pass: €188
- Families and beginnersIs it right for children and beginners?1.5 / 5
Share of green and blue pistes: 43% · Magic carpets: 0 · Sledging runs: 1 · ESF ski school · Ice rink, pool, rail sledge…: 0
- AccessIs it easy to get to?3.5 / 5
Average drive time from 20 major cities: 4 hr 13 · Nearest railway station: 32 min · Station-to-resort shuttles per day: 0 · Nearest airport: 1 hr 16
- Atmosphere and après-skiIs there life in the evening and off the slopes?1.5 / 5
Bars and pubs: 0 · Nightclubs: 0 · Restaurants: 4 · Upcoming events: 0 · Collective tourist beds: 0 — index: what the map and the listings publish
- Luxury and comfortHow upmarket is the resort?1 / 5
5-star hotels: 0 · 4-star hotels: 0 · Spas and saunas: 0 · Jewellers, watchmakers, fashion boutiques: 0 · Adult day pass: €33 — index: what the map and the listings publish
“Atmosphere” and “Luxury” are indexes: they count what OpenStreetMap and the event listings publish within 2.5 km (bars, nightclubs, rated hotels, spas, upcoming events), not what you experience there. A zero means “nothing mapped”, not “nothing there”. Sources per criterion: snow (altitudes declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), STRMTG register, OpenStreetMap; snow depth observed at the Météo-France station, ERA5-Land model) ; ski area (figures declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), national lift register (STRMTG), OpenStreetMap) ; value (the resort’s official price list) ; families and beginners (OpenStreetMap pistes, price list, ESF ski school, Famille Plus label, OpenStreetMap leisure) ; access (OSRM drive times from 20 cities, SNCF stations, GTFS shuttles, airports) ; atmosphere and après-ski (bars, nightclubs and restaurants within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap), upcoming events (OpenAgenda), collective tourist beds (INSEE)) ; luxury and comfort (rated hotels within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap) and by category across the commune (INSEE), spas and boutiques (OpenStreetMap), day pass price).
Lift passes
All prices (child, family, season) →€188 6 days
Price declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association) — not the official price list, which prevails. Season not stated by the resort. ANMSM ↗
37 pistes, by level
- Skiable vertical
- 833 m
- Cross-country skiing
- 4 km of nordic trails
Ski-area figures — village, bottom, top, km of pistes, lifts, pistes by level: ANMSM — figures declared by the resort (16 Oct) . The national register attributes 15 lifts to Alpe du Grand Serre alone; the figure above comes from the most reliable source.
The ski area in figures
Measured on 7 October 2026Measured on OpenStreetMap (altitudes: IGN RGE ALTI), not taken from the brochure. The vertical above is that of one piste, not of the whole ski area. Population: INSEE municipal population via geo.api.gouv.fr.
Source: national register of mechanical lifts (STRMTG, CAIRN), fleet as of 1 January 2025 — lifts attributed to Alpe du Grand Serre only (“ALPE DU GRAND SERRE (L')”), magic carpets included.
Staying and hiring gear in Alpe du Grand Serre
The partners covering this resort, shown side by side, and the shop to kit out before you leave. Some links earn us a commission — never at the expense of the price or of the data.
Stay & accommodation
Gear & equipment
Beyond skiing at Alpe du Grand Serre
Without skis on — 1 sledging run
Swimming pool
- Piscine municipale · Livet-et-Gavet · 6.1 km away
- Piscine de Vizille · Vizille · 9.5 km away
Dog sledding
- Guillaume - Musher, cani-rando, traineaux · La Morte · 1 km away
- SAS Barbot - Chiens de traineaux Chamrousse · Chamrousse · 8.6 km away
Paragliding
- Matheysine parapente · Saint-Jean-de-Vaulx · 8.9 km away
Museum
- Musée de René Mistral - Exposition d'objets anciens · La Morte · 1.6 km away
- Musée de la Romanche · Livet-et-Gavet · 8.2 km away
- Domaine de Vizille - Musée de la Révolution française · Vizille · 9.2 km away
Cinema
- Salle Le Jeu de Paume · Vizille · 9 km away
- Cinéma Le Jeu de Paume · Vizille · 9 km away
- Cinéma Le Schuss · Chamrousse · 9.8 km away
Source: DATAtourisme (open data), within 10 km of the resort; places in a large town of the valley are left out. Checked on 12 September 2026. Opening times and prices are the operator’s — check before you go.
Ski schools and practical information
Ski school
ESF Alpe Du Grand Serre
19 instructors
🇬🇧 9 English-speaking instructors — lessons in English available
🗓️ This school sells its lessons online — book ↗
Source: esf.net
Resort contacts and documents
- Tourist office
- Bureau d'information touristique · 636 Route de La Mure, 38350 · 04 76 56 24 72 · ags@matheysine-tourisme.com (declared by the resort, ANMSM)
- Shuttle timetable (PDF)
- transaltitude 2025 2026 (declared by the resort, ANMSM)
In case of accident
112 — the European emergency number, free of charge, triggers mountain rescue. On the pistes, the ski patrol number is printed on the piste map and at lift ticket offices. Piste rescue is charged: check your insurance or take the option sold with the lift pass.
Resort data: declared by Bureau d'information touristique and distributed by ANMSM · read on 16 October
Off the pistes: off-piste and ski touring
The resorts for off-piste skiing →Named itineraries: Rifs
Itineraries surveyed on OpenStreetMap within a 4 km radius (7 September 2026): “marked” means an itinerary exists on the map, not that it is open or safe on the day.
Ski touring routes described
12 ski touring routes documented within 10 km of Alpe du Grand Serre — up to 1,730 m of climb.
| Summit and route | Ski grade | Climb | Altitude | Aspect | From resort |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grand Bec de la Roizonne · Couloir SW | 4.1 | 980 m | 1,300 → 2,276 m | SW | 1.3 km |
| Grand Serre · Par les pistes | n/a · PD- | 1,100 m | 1,350 → 2,141 m | n/a | 1.6 km |
| Grand Serre · Couloir N | 4.2 · E2 · D | 750 m | 1,400 → 2,141 m | N | 1.6 km |
| Croix du Sergent Pinelli · Arête de Brouffier | n/a · PD+ | 1,200 m | 1,420 → 2,616 m | W | 2 km |
The other 8 routes, with grades and vertical →
Source: Camptocamp.org topo guide (CC BY-SA), routes starting within 10 km, read on 13 October 2026. Descriptions and photos are on Camptocamp; an empty cell is a field nobody has filled in. Camptocamp ski touring routes ↗
Piste map
Open on OpenSnowMap ↗Official piste map
Pistes coloured by level, lifts as lines. The resort’s official map is the reference in season.
Base map © OpenTopoMap (CC-BY-SA) · pistes © OpenSnowMap (CC-BY-SA) · data ©OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).
Getting to Alpe du Grand Serre
From Paris: 6 hr 39 (614 km) by road.
By road
- From Grenoble: 50 min · 42 km
- From Chambéry: 1 hr 29 · 101 km
- From Valence: 1 hr 46 · 131 km
- From Annecy: 1 hr 58 · 148 km
- From Lyon: 2 hr 02 · 144 km
From other major cities (15)
- From Genève: 2 hr 28 · 186 km
- From Saint-Étienne: 2 hr 35 · 193 km
- From Marseille: 3 hr 42 · 265 km
- From Montpellier: 3 hr 53 · 335 km
- From Dijon: 3 hr 54 · 345 km
- From Clermont-Ferrand: 3 hr 55 · 310 km
- From Besançon: 4 hr 13 · 374 km
- From Nice: 5 hr 01 · 374 km
- From Perpignan: 5 hr 15 · 483 km
- From Nancy: 6 hr 01 · 556 km
- From Toulouse: 6 hr 11 · 569 km
- From Strasbourg: 6 hr 36 · 612 km
- From Paris: 6 hr 39 · 614 km
- From Bordeaux: 7 hr 53 · 699 km
- From Pau: 8 hr 05 · 759 km
Excluding traffic and winter conditions; passes closed in winter are avoided.
By train
Jarrie - Vizille station
halt · then 32 min drive (27 km)
Nearest main station: Grenoble, 50 min by road.
No direct bus line from the station to the resort appears in the open-data timetables (checked on 11 October 2026): ask the resort about a private shuttle or a taxi.
Shuttles and buses from the station: see the resort’s official website.
By plane
- Grenoble-Alpes-Isère (GNB): 1 hr 16 by road · 84 km
- Chambéry-Savoie (CMF): 1 hr 40 by road · 108 km
Take me there
These links open the app with Alpe du Grand Serre as the destination. Your starting point is never sent by us — the app asks you for it, if you agree.
Charging an electric car
1 charging station within 2 km
2 charging points · up to 22 kW
- LA MORTE - Place De La Mairie · EASYCHARGE · 2 points · 22 kW · 0.9 km
Freely accessible charge points read from the French national EV charging database (data.gouv.fr ↗, operators’ own declarations), checked on 9 October 2026. Check availability before you leave: the database says what is installed, not what is free tonight.
Road conditions
From 1 November to 31 March, snow chains or winter tyres are compulsory in most mountain areas (French “Loi Montagne II”).
Driving times computed on the OpenStreetMap road network (OSRM), SNCF stations (open data), airports (Wikidata). Indicative, not a timetable: allow extra time in snow.
Introduction from the English Wikipedia article (CC BY-SA).
Frequently asked questions
How high is Alpe du Grand Serre?
Alpe du Grand Serre sits at 1,400 m at village level, and its ski area rises to 2,200 m.
How many kilometres of pistes does Alpe du Grand Serre have?
Alpe du Grand Serre has 55 km of slopes, 14 lifts.
What is the longest piste in Alpe du Grand Serre?
The longest piste is Blanche: 3 km (red run), for 317 m of vertical. Measured on the OpenStreetMap map, segments of the same name and level joined end to end, altitudes from the IGN RGE ALTI terrain model — a resort sometimes advertises a longer run by chaining several pistes.
How high do the lifts go in Alpe du Grand Serre?
The highest lift, Perollier (platter lift), tops out at 2,221 m. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.
How many lifts does Alpe du Grand Serre have, and what is their capacity?
The French national register of mechanical lifts records 15 installations at Alpe du Grand Serre (3 chairlifts, 12 drag lifts), for an authorised capacity of 13,486 people per hour, of which 2,400 for Blache alone. The fleet spans 1961 to 2004, an average age of 43 years. This count covers the resort itself, magic carpets included, not the whole linked ski area — a resort brochure often announces a different number. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.
How much is a lift pass in Alpe du Grand Serre?
The adult day pass costs €33 and the 6-day pass €188 (season not stated by the resort, declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association)).
How do I get to Alpe du Grand Serre?
By road, Alpe du Grand Serre is 50 min from Grenoble (42 km), excluding traffic and winter conditions. By train, the nearest station is Jarrie - Vizille, 32 min by road from the resort. No direct bus line from the station to the resort appears in the open-data timetables. The nearest airport is Grenoble-Alpes-Isère, 1 hr 16 away.
How long is the drive from Paris to Alpe du Grand Serre?
6 hr 39 for 614 km from central Paris, excluding traffic and winter conditions. Computed on the real road network (OpenStreetMap): allow more on a school-holiday Saturday.
Is the snow reliable in Alpe du Grand Serre?
Good snow from mid-January to late March. 100 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, measured over 21 winters at the Météo-France “LE GUA-NIVOSE” station. This verdict rests on 21 winters of Météo-France measurements (1999-2026); in season the daily report prevails.
Is Alpe du Grand Serre good for beginners and families?
43% of the pistes are green or blue: a rather technical area.
Nearby resorts
Every figure carries its source and date; a missing figure shows as “—”, never estimated. Embed this widget on your site