Les Orres

Off season · opens 5 December 2026
Southern Alps Updated on 27 September 2026
1,650 mVillage altitude
2,700 mTop of the ski area
25 kmAlpine pistes
17Ski lifts
€42Adult day pass

Les Orres is a French commune located in the département of Hautes-Alpes, in the Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur region. It is known for skiing: 36 alpine ski slopes, 100 kilometres of slopes. The resort is mainly divided into three parts: 'Les Orres 1550' (Pramouton), 'Les Orres 1650' (Centre Station) and 'Les Orres 1800' (Bois Méan).

Les Orres — view of the resort
Photo: Wikimedia Commons

Live webcams

All webcams (4) →

Each player is the camera operator’s own, loaded only when you ask for it — it may set its own trackers.

Official players of the resort, live image. Checked on 16 October 2026.

Snow, opening and weather

Snow report →

The domain is due to open on 5 December 2026 and close on 11 April 2027. Open pistes and lifts will appear here as soon as the resort publishes its daily report.

Right now at the PARPAILLON-NIVOSE station (2,545 m)

Source: Météo-France, PARPAILLON-NIVOSE weather station, 7.1 km away. Hourly measurement — not the resort’s own snow report.

Snow cover varies from one winter to the next — the best time runs from mid-January to mid-March. 53 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, and 186 cm of fresh snow, measured over 52 winters at the Météo-France “LES ORRES” station. Fortnight by fortnight, over 52 measured winters →

3-day forecast

Village 1,650 m · top 2,700 m

Loading…

Forecast corrected for altitude; fresh snow = forecast total at the top; UV = peak of the day. Beyond 3 days, check the resort’s own report. Source:Open-Meteo.

7-day forecast →

SkiRadar ratings

How ratings are computed →Computed on 16 October 2026

Seven criteria rated from 1 to 5 stars, in half-stars, from this page's sourced data. A rating is a rank among the 315 French resorts we cover — 5 stars means “among the best in France on this point”, not “perfect”. Nobody types these in.

  1. SnowCan you count on the snow?
    3.5 / 5

    Top of the ski area: 2,700 m · Bottom of the pistes: 1,550 m · Days above 30 cm per winter, measured: 53 days · Days above 30 cm, December to March, model: 93%

  2. Ski areaIs there enough to ski all week?
    3.5 / 5

    Km of pistes at the resort: 25 km · Lifts: 17 · Balance between piste levels: 90%

  3. ValueIs the lift pass reasonable for what you get?
    3 / 5

    Adult day pass: €42 · Day pass price per km of pistes: €1.68/km · Adult 6-day pass: €216

  4. Families and beginnersIs it right for children and beginners?
    3.5 / 5

    Share of green and blue pistes: 41% · Magic carpets: 7 · Sledging runs: 13 · ESF ski school · Ice rink, pool, rail sledge…: 2 · Famille Plus label

  5. AccessIs it easy to get to?
    2.5 / 5

    Average drive time from 20 major cities: 5 hr 23 · Nearest railway station: 17 min · Station-to-resort shuttles per day: 0 · Nearest airport: 2 hr 53

  6. Atmosphere and après-skiIs there life in the evening and off the slopes?
    2.5 / 5

    Bars and pubs: 2 · Nightclubs: 0 · Restaurants: 13 · Upcoming events: 0 · Collective tourist beds: 1,666 — index: what the map and the listings publish

  7. Luxury and comfortHow upmarket is the resort?
    1 / 5

    5-star hotels: 0 · 4-star hotels: 0 · Share of hotel rooms in 4 and 5 stars: 0% · Spas and saunas: 0 · Jewellers, watchmakers, fashion boutiques: 0 · Adult day pass: €42 — index: what the map and the listings publish

“Atmosphere” and “Luxury” are indexes: they count what OpenStreetMap and the event listings publish within 2.5 km (bars, nightclubs, rated hotels, spas, upcoming events), not what you experience there. A zero means “nothing mapped”, not “nothing there”. Sources per criterion: snow (altitudes declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), STRMTG register, OpenStreetMap; snow depth observed at the Météo-France station, ERA5-Land model) ; ski area (figures declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), national lift register (STRMTG), OpenStreetMap) ; value (the resort’s official price list) ; families and beginners (OpenStreetMap pistes, price list, ESF ski school, Famille Plus label, OpenStreetMap leisure) ; access (OSRM drive times from 20 cities, SNCF stations, GTFS shuttles, airports) ; atmosphere and après-ski (bars, nightclubs and restaurants within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap), upcoming events (OpenAgenda), collective tourist beds (INSEE)) ; luxury and comfort (rated hotels within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap) and by category across the commune (INSEE), spas and boutiques (OpenStreetMap), day pass price).

€216 6 days

Price declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association) — not the official price list, which prevails. Season not stated by the resort. ANMSM ↗

37 pistes, by level

10 green5 blue17 red5 black
Skiable vertical
1,150 m
Cross-country skiing
2 named trails — 10 km of marked loops (5.5 km of distinct track: the loops overlap) · Domaine nordique de la Draye area, 4.3 km from the resort
Snowpark
4 mapped zones, 3.1 km from the resort — Snowpark des Fontaines (difficult) · Espace initiation (very easy) · Jardin des Neiges (Bois Méan) (very easy) · Snowpark de Prévieux (easy)

Ski-area figures — village, bottom, top, lifts, pistes by level: ANMSM — figures declared by the resort (16 Oct); km of pistes: OpenStreetMap (1 Oct) . The national register attributes 22 lifts to Les Orres alone; the figure above comes from the most reliable source.

The ski area in figures

Measured on 7 October 2026
4 kmLongest piste — Edelweiss 2 (green), 578 m of vertical
757 mBiggest vertical without changing piste — 2,524 → 1,767 m, 4 km
2,704 mHighest lift top — GENEPI (ex MARMOTTES) (drag lift), national lift register
26,345Total lift capacity, people per hour — 22 installations: 7 chairlifts, 8 drag lifts, 7 magic carpets
26 yrsAverage age of the lift fleet — oldest 1966, newest 2023
2,615Biggest lift, people per hour — Prelongis (detachable chairlift, 1999)
13 kmTotal length of lifts — 15 lifts mapped
747 haSki area boundary (OSM)
510Inhabitants — Les Orres (INSEE 05098)

Measured on OpenStreetMap (altitudes: IGN RGE ALTI), not taken from the brochure. The vertical above is that of one piste, not of the whole ski area. Population: INSEE municipal population via geo.api.gouv.fr.

Source: national register of mechanical lifts (STRMTG, CAIRN), fleet as of 1 January 2025 — lifts attributed to Les Orres only (“ORRES (LES)”), magic carpets included.

Staying and hiring gear in Les Orres

The partners covering this resort, shown side by side, and the shop to kit out before you leave. Some links earn us a commission — never at the expense of the price or of the data.

Collective accommodation

1,666 bed spaces in tourist residences, holiday villages and hostels

  • 5 hotels · 153 rooms (1 × 3★, 3 × 2★)
  • 4 tourist residences and apartment hotels · 1,406 bed spaces
  • 1 youth hostel or sports centre · 260 bed spaces

Commune: Les Orres · INSEE tourist accommodation survey, 2026, read on 12 September 2026. Collective accommodation only — privately let flats and second homes are not counted. INSEE dataset ↗

Stay & accommodation

Holidu
Holiday-rental comparison site.
See offers
Ski Planet
Self-catering flats and all-inclusive ski holidays at the foot of the slopes, since 1999.
See offers
Montagne Vacances
Flats and chalets in the resort, at direct prices.
See offers

Ski hire

Skiset UK
Skiset’s UK site: ski hire in the resort shops, booked in English, paid in pounds.
Book

Gear & equipment

Absolute Snow
UK ski and snowboard shop — delivers to UK addresses only.
Browse the shop
Hardloop
Mountain gear shop: ski touring, avalanche safety, winter clothing.
Browse the shop
Picture
Ski and snowboard jackets, pants and accessories — a French brand.
Browse the shop

All about staying in Les Orres →

Beyond skiing at Les Orres

Without skis on — 13 sledging runs

Toboggan runs

  • Luge sur rail L'Orrian Express · Les Orres · 2.4 km away

Ice rink

  • Patinoire · Les Orres · 2.5 km away

Swimming pool

Spa and thermal baths

Dog sledding

  • Wild Expériences chiens de traineau · Crévoux · 5.7 km away
  • Nunatak Chiens de Traîneau / Chiens Nordiques · Crots · 6.2 km away

Paragliding

Museum

Cinema

  • L'Ubac · 2.4 km away · OpenStreetMap

Source: DATAtourisme (open data), within 10 km of the resort; places in a large town of the valley are left out. Checked on 12 September 2026. Lines marked OpenStreetMap come from the map, within 3 km — opening times on site. Opening times and prices are the operator’s — check before you go.

Ski schools and practical information

Ski school

ESF Les Orres

📞 04 92 44 01 30

🌐 esf-lesorres.com

117 instructors

🇬🇧 67 English-speaking instructors — lessons in English available

Source: esf.net

All about the ski school in Les Orres →

Resort contacts and documents

Shuttle timetable (PDF)
560_EMBRUN_LES ORRES_Ete 2025 (declared by the resort, ANMSM)
Resort app
Android (declared by the resort, ANMSM)

In case of accident

112 — the European emergency number, free of charge, triggers mountain rescue. On the pistes, the ski patrol number is printed on the piste map and at lift ticket offices. Piste rescue is charged: check your insurance or take the option sold with the lift pass.

Resort data: declared by OFFICE DE TOURISME - SEMLORE and distributed by ANMSM · read on 16 October

Off the pistes: off-piste and ski touring

The resorts for off-piste skiing →
0 0

Ski touring routes described

12 ski touring routes documented within 10 km of Les Orres — up to 1,450 m of climb.

Summit and routeSki gradeClimbAltitudeAspectFrom resort
Le Méale · Versant N2.3 · E1 · PD1,080 m1,350 → 2,426 mN2.5 km
Pic de Boussolenc · Versant N en boucle par le Col de Terre Rouge, depuis Les Ribes2.3 · E2 · PD+1,400 m1,438 → 2,832 mN2.8 km
Croix des Enfers · Versant N2.3 · E1 · PD-1,050 m1,492 → 2,524 mN2.9 km
Pic de Boussolenc · Versant NE, de la station des Orres3.1 · E2160 m1,440 → 2,832 mN3.5 km

The other 8 routes, with grades and vertical →

Not a piste. Neither marked, nor patrolled, nor secured: transceiver, shovel, probe, the day’s avalanche bulletin and, better still, a guide. Ski grade (1.1–5.6) = steepness and commitment; exposure (E1–E4) = consequence of a fall.

Source: Camptocamp.org topo guide (CC BY-SA), routes starting within 10 km, read on 13 October 2026. Descriptions and photos are on Camptocamp; an empty cell is a field nobody has filled in. Camptocamp ski touring routes ↗

Official piste map

No downloadable piste map published by the resort.

Pistes coloured by level, lifts as lines. The resort’s official map is the reference in season.

Base map © OpenTopoMap (CC-BY-SA) · pistes © OpenSnowMap (CC-BY-SA) · data ©OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).

Getting to Les Orres

From Paris: 8 hr 25 (714 km) by road.

By road

  • From Grenoble: 2 hr 36 · 142 km
  • From Marseille: 2 hr 50 · 222 km
  • From Chambéry: 3 hr 13 · 220 km
  • From Valence: 3 hr 32 · 231 km
  • From Annecy: 3 hr 42 · 267 km
From other major cities (15)
  • From Lyon: 3 hr 48 · 244 km
  • From Montpellier: 4 hr 08 · 345 km
  • From Nice: 4 hr 09 · 331 km · avoids Col de Restefond, closed in winter
  • From Genève: 4 hr 11 · 305 km
  • From Saint-Étienne: 4 hr 22 · 293 km
  • From Perpignan: 5 hr 30 · 493 km
  • From Dijon: 5 hr 40 · 445 km
  • From Clermont-Ferrand: 5 hr 41 · 410 km
  • From Besançon: 5 hr 59 · 474 km
  • From Toulouse: 6 hr 26 · 579 km
  • From Nancy: 7 hr 47 · 656 km
  • From Pau: 8 hr 20 · 769 km
  • From Strasbourg: 8 hr 22 · 712 km
  • From Paris: 8 hr 25 · 714 km
  • From Bordeaux: 8 hr 49 · 821 km

Excluding traffic and winter conditions; passes closed in winter are avoided.

By train

Embrun station

regional station · then 17 min drive (13 km)

Nearest main station: Grenoble, 2 hr 36 by road.

No direct bus line from the station to the resort appears in the open-data timetables (checked on 11 October 2026): ask the resort about a private shuttle or a taxi.

Shuttles and buses from the station: see the resort’s official website.

By plane

  • Cuneo (CUF): 3 hr 00 by road · 167 km
  • Turin-Caselle (TRN): 2 hr 53 by road · 180 km

Take me there

These links open the app with Les Orres as the destination. Your starting point is never sent by us — the app asks you for it, if you agree.

Charging an electric car

No freely accessible charge point is declared within 2 km of the resort (checked on 9 October 2026). Covered car parks in the resort may offer chargers reserved for their customers: those are not listed here.

Freely accessible charge points read from the French national EV charging database (data.gouv.fr ↗, operators’ own declarations), checked on 9 October 2026. Check availability before you leave: the database says what is installed, not what is free tonight.

Road conditions

From 1 November to 31 March, snow chains or winter tyres are compulsory in most mountain areas (French “Loi Montagne II”).

Driving times computed on the OpenStreetMap road network (OSRM), SNCF stations (open data), airports (Wikidata). Indicative, not a timetable: allow extra time in snow.

Translated from the French Wikipedia article (CC BY-SA), machine translation.

Frequently asked questions

How high is Les Orres?

Les Orres sits at 1,650 m at village level, and its ski area rises to 2,700 m.

How many kilometres of pistes does Les Orres have?

Les Orres has 25 km of slopes, 17 lifts.

What is the longest piste in Les Orres?

The longest piste is Edelweiss 2: 4 km (green run), for 578 m of vertical. Measured on the OpenStreetMap map, segments of the same name and level joined end to end, altitudes from the IGN RGE ALTI terrain model — a resort sometimes advertises a longer run by chaining several pistes.

How high do the lifts go in Les Orres?

The highest lift, GENEPI (ex MARMOTTES) (drag lift), tops out at 2,704 m. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How many lifts does Les Orres have, and what is their capacity?

The French national register of mechanical lifts records 22 installations at Les Orres (7 chairlifts, 8 drag lifts, 7 magic carpets), for an authorised capacity of 26,345 people per hour, of which 2,615 for Prelongis alone. The fleet spans 1966 to 2023, an average age of 26 years. This count covers the resort itself, magic carpets included, not the whole linked ski area — a resort brochure often announces a different number. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How much is a lift pass in Les Orres?

The adult day pass costs €42 and the 6-day pass €216 (season not stated by the resort, declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association)).

How do I get to Les Orres?

By road, Les Orres is 2 hr 36 from Grenoble (142 km), excluding traffic and winter conditions. By train, the nearest station is Embrun, 17 min by road from the resort. No direct bus line from the station to the resort appears in the open-data timetables. The nearest airport is Cuneo, 3 hr 00 away.

How long is the drive from Paris to Les Orres?

8 hr 25 for 714 km from central Paris, excluding traffic and winter conditions. Computed on the real road network (OpenStreetMap): allow more on a school-holiday Saturday.

When does Les Orres open?

According to the dates declared by the resort (ANMSM feed), the resort opens on 5 December 2026 and closes on 11 April 2027 (2026-2027 season).

Is the snow reliable in Les Orres?

Snow cover varies from one winter to the next — the best time runs from mid-January to mid-March. 53 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, and 186 cm of fresh snow, measured over 52 winters at the Météo-France “LES ORRES” station. This verdict rests on 52 winters of Météo-France measurements (1968-2023); in season the daily report prevails.

Is Les Orres good for beginners and families?

41% of the pistes are green or blue: a rather technical area. The resort holds the Famille Plus family label.

Nearby resorts

Full page in French. The French page carries the editorial guides and a few extra readings; every figure, webcam and price on this page is the same one. Les Orres in French →

Every figure carries its source and date; a missing figure shows as “—”, never estimated. Embed this widget on your site