Chantemerle

Off season
Southern Alps Linked area Serre Chevalier Updated on 21 September 2026
1,357 mVillage altitude
2,480 mTop of the ski area
250 kmLinked pistes · Serre Chevalier
18Ski lifts
€68Adult day pass · Serre Chevalier

Chantemerle is a ski resort in the Southern Alps (Hautes-Alpes), in the commune of Saint-Chaffrey. The village sits at 1,357 m and the ski area rises to 2,480 m.

Chantemerle — view of the resort
Photo: Wikimedia Commons

Live webcams

All webcams (8) →
ProrelSkaping
Saint-Chaffrey — Place du téléphériqueSkaping
MéaSkaping

Each player is the camera operator’s own, loaded only when you ask for it — it may set its own trackers.

Official players of the resort, live image. 4 more cameras on the webcam page. Checked on 12 September 2026.

Snow, opening and weather

Snow report →

Open pistes and lifts will appear here during the season, as published by the resort. Out of season we show nothing rather than a misleading zero.

Right now at the VILLAR ST PANCRACE station (1,310 m)

Source: Météo-France, VILLAR ST PANCRACE weather station, 7.2 km away. Hourly measurement — not the resort’s own snow report.

Reliable snow mainly in the second half of February; more irregular the rest of the winter. 77 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, and 276 cm of fresh snow, measured over 56 winters at the Météo-France “ARVIEUX LA CHALP” station. Fortnight by fortnight, over 56 measured winters →

3-day forecast

Village 1,357 m · top 2,480 m

Loading…

Forecast corrected for altitude; fresh snow = forecast total at the top; UV = peak of the day. Beyond 3 days, check the resort’s own report. Source:Open-Meteo.

7-day forecast →

SkiRadar ratings

How ratings are computed →Computed on 24 September 2026

Seven criteria rated from 1 to 5 stars, in half-stars, from this page's sourced data. A rating is a rank among the 315 French resorts we cover — 5 stars means “among the best in France on this point”, not “perfect”. Nobody types these in.

  1. SnowCan you count on the snow?
    3 / 5

    Top of the ski area: 2,480 m · Bottom of the pistes: 1,357 m · Days above 30 cm per winter, measured: 77 days · Days above 30 cm, December to March, model: 91%

  2. Ski areaIs there enough to ski all week?
    4 / 5

    Km skiable from the resort, linked area included: 250 km · Lifts: 18

  3. ValueIs the lift pass reasonable for what you get?
    2.5 / 5

    Adult day pass: €68 · Day pass price per km of pistes: €0.27/km · Adult 6-day pass: €345 · Price read at a neighbouring resort of the same area

  4. Families and beginnersIs it right for children and beginners?
    3.5 / 5

    Share of green and blue pistes: 77% · Magic carpets: 3 · ESF ski school · Ice rink, pool, rail sledge…: 3

  5. AccessIs it easy to get to?
    3.5 / 5

    Average drive time from 20 major cities: 5 hr 09 · Nearest railway station: 11 min · Station-to-resort shuttles per day: 17 · Nearest airport: 1 hr 57

  6. Atmosphere and après-skiIs there life in the evening and off the slopes?
    4 / 5

    Bars and pubs: 10 · Nightclubs: 1 · Restaurants: 32 · Upcoming events: 0 · Collective tourist beds: 1,082 — index: what the map and the listings publish

  7. Luxury and comfortHow upmarket is the resort?
    2.5 / 5

    5-star hotels: 0 · 4-star hotels: 2 · Share of hotel rooms in 4 and 5 stars: 56% · Spas and saunas: 0 · Jewellers, watchmakers, fashion boutiques: 0 · Adult day pass: €68 — index: what the map and the listings publish

“Atmosphere” and “Luxury” are indexes: they count what OpenStreetMap and the event listings publish within 2.5 km (bars, nightclubs, rated hotels, spas, upcoming events), not what you experience there. A zero means “nothing mapped”, not “nothing there”. Sources per criterion: snow (altitudes declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), STRMTG register, OpenStreetMap; snow depth observed at the Météo-France station, ERA5-Land model) ; ski area (figures declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), national lift register (STRMTG), OpenStreetMap) ; value (the resort’s official price list) ; families and beginners (OpenStreetMap pistes, price list, ESF ski school, Famille Plus label, OpenStreetMap leisure) ; access (OSRM drive times from 20 cities, SNCF stations, GTFS shuttles, airports) ; atmosphere and après-ski (bars, nightclubs and restaurants within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap), upcoming events (OpenAgenda), collective tourist beds (INSEE)) ; luxury and comfort (rated hotels within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap) and by category across the commune (INSEE), spas and boutiques (OpenStreetMap), day pass price).

€345 6 days

Price declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association) — not the official price list, which prevails. Serre Chevalier pass, covering the whole linked area. Season not stated by the resort. ANMSM ↗

Skiable vertical
1,123 m
Cross-country skiing
9 named trails — 107 km of marked loops (35 km of distinct track: the loops overlap) · Site Nordique de Serre Chevalier area, 3.1 km from the resort
Snowpark
4 mapped zones, 1.1 km from the resort — Mélézone · Freestyle Airbag (easy) · Boardercross (easy) · FunnyCross

Ski-area figures — top, lifts: STRMTG — French national lift register (1 Jan); km of the linked area: ANMSM — figures declared by the resort (25 Sept) . In a linked ski area the map cannot tell where the resort ends: its own km stay “n/a” until the resort declares them.

The ski area in figures

Measured on 9 September 2026
10 kmLongest piste — Tabuc (black), 633 m of vertical
860 mBiggest vertical without changing piste — 2,264 → 1,405 m, 3 km
2,480 mHighest lift top — Grand Serre (detachable chairlift), national lift register
24,900Total lift capacity, people per hour — 18 installations: 1 aerial tramway, 1 gondola, 6 chairlifts, 7 drag lifts, 3 magic carpets
33 yrsAverage age of the lift fleet — oldest 1962, newest 2019
2,800Biggest lift, people per hour — Les COMBES (detachable chairlift, 2007)
51 kmTotal length of lifts — 48 lifts mapped
5,124 haSki area boundary (OSM)
1,494Inhabitants — Saint-Chaffrey (INSEE 05133)

Measured on OpenStreetMap (altitudes: IGN RGE ALTI), not taken from the brochure. The vertical above is that of one piste, not of the whole ski area. Population: INSEE municipal population via geo.api.gouv.fr.

Source: national register of mechanical lifts (STRMTG, CAIRN), fleet as of 1 January 2025 — lifts attributed to Chantemerle only (“SERRE CHEVALIER 1350 (SAINT CHAFFREY)”), magic carpets included.

Staying and hiring gear in Chantemerle

The partners covering this resort, shown side by side, and the shop to kit out before you leave. Some links earn us a commission — never at the expense of the price or of the data.

Collective accommodation

1,082 bed spaces in tourist residences, holiday villages and hostels

  • 3 hotels · 114 rooms (1 × 4★, 1 × 3★)
  • 2 holiday villages and family centres · 310 bed spaces
  • 2 tourist residences and apartment hotels · 772 bed spaces

Commune: Saint-Chaffrey · INSEE tourist accommodation survey, 2026, read on 12 September 2026. Collective accommodation only — privately let flats and second homes are not counted. INSEE dataset ↗

Stay & accommodation

Holidu
Holiday-rental comparison site.
See offers

Ski hire

Skiset UK
Skiset’s UK site: ski hire in the resort shops, booked in English, paid in pounds.
Book

Gear & equipment

Absolute Snow
UK ski and snowboard shop — delivers to UK addresses only.
Browse the shop
Hardloop
Mountain gear shop: ski touring, avalanche safety, winter clothing.
Browse the shop
Picture
Ski and snowboard jackets, pants and accessories — a French brand.
Browse the shop

All about staying in Chantemerle →

Beyond skiing at Chantemerle

Without skis on — 2 sledging runs

Ice rink

Swimming pool

Spa and thermal baths

Paragliding

Museum

  • Musée Autrefois mon village · La Salle-les-Alpes · 2.3 km away
  • Mini musée du four à pain du Serre · Val-des-Prés · 7.6 km away
  • Musée d'Art Sacré · Le Monêtier-les-Bains · 7.8 km away

Cinema

Bowling

  • Bowling des neiges · OpenStreetMap

Source: DATAtourisme (open data), within 10 km of the resort; places in a large town of the valley are left out. Checked on 12 September 2026. Lines marked OpenStreetMap come from the map, within 3 km — opening times on site. Opening times and prices are the operator’s — check before you go.

Ski schools and practical information

Ski school

ESF Serre Che. Villeneuve

📞 04 92 24 71 99

🌐 esf-serrechevalier-villeneuve.com

174 instructors

🇬🇧 148 English-speaking instructors — lessons in English available

🗓️ This school sells its lessons online — book ↗

Source: esf.net

All about the ski school in Chantemerle →

Resort contacts and documents

Shuttle timetable (PDF)
551_ BRIANCON_LE MONETIER_ETE 2023 (declared by the resort, ANMSM)
Resort app
Android (declared by the resort, ANMSM)

In case of accident

112 — the European emergency number, free of charge, triggers mountain rescue. On the pistes, the ski patrol number is printed on the piste map and at lift ticket offices. Piste rescue is charged: check your insurance or take the option sold with the lift pass.

Resort data: declared by Office de Tourisme and distributed by ANMSM · read on 25 September

Off the pistes: off-piste and ski touring

The resorts for off-piste skiing →
7 Marked off-piste itineraries · 11 km
— Ski touring routes

Named itineraries: Bois · Couloirs · Arthur Bauchet · Cabane du Berger · Isolée · Trafleche

Itineraries surveyed on OpenStreetMap within a 4 km radius (7 September 2026): “marked” means an itinerary exists on the map, not that it is open or safe on the day.

Ski touring routes described

12 ski touring routes documented within 10 km of Chantemerle — up to 1,371 m of climb.

Summit and routeSki gradeClimbAltitudeAspectFrom resort
Col du Prorel · Traversée S → Nn/a · F760 m1,350 → 2,396 mN · W · NW · SW · S · SE · E · NE0.2 km
Le Petit Meyret · Voie normale de St-Chaffrey2.1 · E1 · F1,000 m1,455 → 2,473 mS2.7 km
Le Grand Aréa · Versant S3.1 · E2 · AD-1,371 m1,498 → 2,869 mS3.1 km
Le Grand Aréa · face/couloir SE avec variantes4.1 · E2 · AD+1,370 m1,500 → 2,869 mn/a3.1 km

The other 8 routes, with grades and vertical →

Not a piste. Neither marked, nor patrolled, nor secured: transceiver, shovel, probe, the day’s avalanche bulletin and, better still, a guide. Ski grade (1.1–5.6) = steepness and commitment; exposure (E1–E4) = consequence of a fall.

Source: Camptocamp.org topo guide (CC BY-SA), routes starting within 10 km, read on 13 September 2026. Descriptions and photos are on Camptocamp; an empty cell is a field nobody has filled in. Camptocamp ski touring routes ↗

Official piste map

No downloadable piste map published by the resort.

Pistes coloured by level, lifts as lines. The resort’s official map is the reference in season.

Base map © OpenTopoMap (CC-BY-SA) · pistes © OpenSnowMap (CC-BY-SA) · data ©OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).

Getting to Chantemerle

From Paris: 7 hr 44 (683 km) by road.

By road

  • From Grenoble: 1 hr 55 · 111 km
  • From Chambéry: 2 hr 24 · 170 km · via Briançon station
  • From Valence: 2 hr 52 · 200 km
  • From Annecy: 2 hr 53 · 217 km · via Briançon station
  • From Lyon: 3 hr 07 · 213 km
From other major cities (14)
  • From Genève: 3 hr 23 · 255 km · via Briançon station
  • From Marseille: 3 hr 36 · 266 km
  • From Saint-Étienne: 3 hr 41 · 261 km
  • From Montpellier: 4 hr 55 · 389 km
  • From Dijon: 4 hr 59 · 414 km
  • From Clermont-Ferrand: 5 hr 00 · 381 km
  • From Besançon: 5 hr 18 · 443 km
  • From Perpignan: 6 hr 17 · 537 km
  • From Nancy: 7 hr 06 · 625 km
  • From Toulouse: 7 hr 13 · 623 km
  • From Strasbourg: 7 hr 25 · 626 km
  • From Paris: 7 hr 44 · 683 km
  • From Bordeaux: 8 hr 58 · 768 km
  • From Pau: 9 hr 07 · 813 km

Excluding traffic and winter conditions; passes closed in winter are avoided.

By train

Briançon station

regional station · then 11 min drive (8 km)

Nearest main station: Grenoble, 1 hr 55 by road.

  • From Briançon station (stop “BRIANCON- COLLEGE LES GARCINS”): line LIGNE 6 — LIGNE 6 LE MONETIER LES BAINS ↔ BRIANCON (ALTIGO), 18 min to the “SAINT CHAFFREY- CHAMPS ARNOUX” stop — 9 departures a day on weekdays, 3 a day at weekends · first 06:25, last 18:15 · timetable from 15 December 2026 to 15 April 2027 · official timetable ↗
  • From Briançon station (stop “BRIANCON- PROREL”): line LIGNE 2 — LIGNE 2 CHANTOISEAU ↔ CHANTOISEAU (ALTIGO), 20 min to the “SAINT CHAFFREY- LE VERDAREL” stop — 4 departures a day on weekdays, 4 a day at weekends · first 08:39, last 15:59 · timetable from 15 December 2026 to 15 April 2027 · official timetable ↗
  • From Briançon station (stop “Briançon - Gare SNCF”): line 55 — 55 _ BRIANCON - GRENOBLE via SERRE CHEVALIER (ZOU ! Express Bus), 1 hr 30 to the “Serre Chevalier - Chantem. Crocus” stop — 4 departures a day on weekdays · first 08:45, last 15:45 · timetable from 15 December 2026 to 28 January 2027 · official timetable ↗

Direct journeys read from the official timetable files published on transport.data.gouv.fr — no connections.

By plane

  • Turin-Caselle (TRN): 1 hr 57 by road · 126 km
  • Grenoble-Alpes-Isère (GNB): 2 hr 21 by road · 153 km

Take me there

These links open the app with Chantemerle as the destination. Your starting point is never sent by us — the app asks you for it, if you agree.

Charging an electric car

3 charging stations within 2 km

6 charging points · up to 22 kW

  • SAINT CHAFFREY - Le Coolidge · EASYCHARGE · 2 points · 22 kW · 0.2 km
  • PARKING FRIZETTE - LA SALLE-LES-ALPES · ELECTRIC 55 CHARGING · 2 points · 22 kW · 1.6 km
  • PARKING DE LA SALLE - LA SALLE-LES-ALPES · ELECTRIC 55 CHARGING · 2 points · 22 kW · 1.6 km

Freely accessible charge points read from the French national EV charging database (data.gouv.fr ↗, operators’ own declarations), checked on 9 September 2026. Check availability before you leave: the database says what is installed, not what is free tonight.

Road conditions

From 1 November to 31 March, snow chains or winter tyres are compulsory in most mountain areas (French “Loi Montagne II”).

Driving times computed on the OpenStreetMap road network (OSRM), SNCF stations (open data), airports (Wikidata). Indicative, not a timetable: allow extra time in snow.

The area offers 250 km of alpine pistes across Serre Chevalier, 18 ski lifts, plus a snowpark.

Chantemerle belongs to the linked Serre Chevalier area: one lift pass covers the neighbouring resorts.

Measured on the OpenStreetMap map: the longest piste runs 10 km (Tabuc) and the highest lift tops out at 2,764 m.

The resort holds the Station classée de tourisme label.

Access: 1 h 55 by road from Grenoble and 11 min from Briançon railway station.

8 official webcams show the pistes live (on the French page).

Frequently asked questions

How high is Chantemerle?

Chantemerle sits at 1,357 m at village level, and its ski area rises to 2,480 m.

How many kilometres of pistes does Chantemerle have?

From Chantemerle you can ski 250 km of slopes across Serre Chevalier, 18 lifts.

What is the longest piste in Chantemerle?

The longest piste is Tabuc: 10 km (black run), for 633 m of vertical. Measured on the OpenStreetMap map, segments of the same name and level joined end to end, altitudes from the IGN RGE ALTI terrain model — a resort sometimes advertises a longer run by chaining several pistes.

How high do the lifts go in Chantemerle?

The highest lift, Grand Serre (detachable chairlift), tops out at 2,480 m. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How many lifts does Chantemerle have, and what is their capacity?

The French national register of mechanical lifts records 18 installations at Chantemerle (1 aerial tramway, 1 gondola, 6 chairlifts, 7 drag lifts, 3 magic carpets), for an authorised capacity of 24,900 people per hour, of which 2,800 for Les COMBES alone. The fleet spans 1962 to 2019, an average age of 33 years. This count covers the resort itself, magic carpets included, not the whole linked ski area — a resort brochure often announces a different number. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How much is a lift pass in Chantemerle?

The adult day pass for the Serre Chevalier linked area costs €68 and the 6-day pass €345 (season not stated by the resort, declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association)).

How do I get to Chantemerle?

By road, Chantemerle is 1 hr 55 from Grenoble (111 km), excluding traffic and winter conditions. By train, the nearest station is Briançon, 11 min by road from the resort. From Briançon station, line LIGNE 6 — LIGNE 6 LE MONETIER LES BAINS ↔ BRIANCON (ALTIGO) reaches the “SAINT CHAFFREY- CHAMPS ARNOUX” stop in 18 min, 9 departures a day on weekdays, 3 a day at weekends. The nearest airport is Turin-Caselle, 1 hr 57 away.

How long is the drive from Paris to Chantemerle?

7 hr 44 for 683 km from central Paris, excluding traffic and winter conditions. Computed on the real road network (OpenStreetMap): allow more on a school-holiday Saturday.

Is the snow reliable in Chantemerle?

Reliable snow mainly in the second half of February; more irregular the rest of the winter. 77 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, and 276 cm of fresh snow, measured over 56 winters at the Météo-France “ARVIEUX LA CHALP” station. This verdict rests on 56 winters of Météo-France measurements (1969-2026); in season the daily report prevails.

Nearby resorts

Full page in French. The French page carries the editorial guides and a few extra readings; every figure, webcam and price on this page is the same one. Chantemerle in French →

Every figure carries its source and date; a missing figure shows as “—”, never estimated. Embed this widget on your site