Le Monêtier-les-Bains

Off season
Southern Alps Linked area Serre Chevalier Updated on 23 September 2026
1,465 mVillage altitude
2,750 mTop of the ski area
250 kmLinked pistes · Serre Chevalier
16Ski lifts
€68Adult day pass · Serre Chevalier

Le Monêtier-les-Bains is a ski resort in the Southern Alps (Hautes-Alpes). The village sits at 1,465 m and the ski area rises to 2,750 m, a skiable vertical of 1,401 m.

Le Monêtier-les-Bains — view of the resort
Photo: Wikimedia Commons

Live webcams

All webcams (8) →
Refuge Clot Vaches Open at the operator ↗

Each player is the camera operator’s own, loaded only when you ask for it — it may set its own trackers.

Official players of the resort, live image. 4 more cameras on the webcam page. Checked on 24 September 2026.

Snow, opening and weather

Snow report →

Open pistes and lifts will appear here during the season, as published by the resort. Out of season we show nothing rather than a misleading zero.

Good snow from December to May: a long, reliable season. Snow cover month by month →

3-day forecast

Village 1,465 m · top 2,750 m

Loading…

Forecast corrected for altitude; fresh snow = forecast total at the top; UV = peak of the day. Beyond 3 days, check the resort’s own report. Source:Open-Meteo.

7-day forecast →

SkiRadar ratings

How ratings are computed →Computed on 24 September 2026

Seven criteria rated from 1 to 5 stars, in half-stars, from this page's sourced data. A rating is a rank among the 315 French resorts we cover — 5 stars means “among the best in France on this point”, not “perfect”. Nobody types these in.

  1. SnowCan you count on the snow?
    3.5 / 5

    Top of the ski area: 2,750 m · Bottom of the pistes: 1,349 m · Days above 30 cm, December to March, model: 99%

  2. Ski areaIs there enough to ski all week?
    4 / 5

    Km skiable from the resort, linked area included: 250 km · Lifts: 16

  3. ValueIs the lift pass reasonable for what you get?
    2.5 / 5

    Adult day pass: €68 · Day pass price per km of pistes: €0.27/km · Adult 6-day pass: €345 · Price read at a neighbouring resort of the same area

  4. Families and beginnersIs it right for children and beginners?
    2.5 / 5

    Share of green and blue pistes: 61% · Magic carpets: 3 · ESF ski school · Ice rink, pool, rail sledge…: 0

  5. AccessIs it easy to get to?
    3 / 5

    Average drive time from 20 major cities: 5 hr 05 · Nearest railway station: 21 min · Station-to-resort shuttles per day: 12 · Nearest airport: 2 hr 07

  6. Atmosphere and après-skiIs there life in the evening and off the slopes?
    3 / 5

    Bars and pubs: 2 · Nightclubs: 0 · Restaurants: 18 · Upcoming events: 0 · Collective tourist beds: 1,240 — index: what the map and the listings publish

  7. Luxury and comfortHow upmarket is the resort?
    2.5 / 5

    5-star hotels: 0 · 4-star hotels: 2 · Share of hotel rooms in 4 and 5 stars: 27% · Spas and saunas: 0 · Jewellers, watchmakers, fashion boutiques: 0 · Adult day pass: €68 — index: what the map and the listings publish

“Atmosphere” and “Luxury” are indexes: they count what OpenStreetMap and the event listings publish within 2.5 km (bars, nightclubs, rated hotels, spas, upcoming events), not what you experience there. A zero means “nothing mapped”, not “nothing there”. Sources per criterion: snow (altitudes declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), STRMTG register, OpenStreetMap; snow depth observed at the Météo-France station, ERA5-Land model) ; ski area (figures declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), national lift register (STRMTG), OpenStreetMap) ; value (the resort’s official price list) ; families and beginners (OpenStreetMap pistes, price list, ESF ski school, Famille Plus label, OpenStreetMap leisure) ; access (OSRM drive times from 20 cities, SNCF stations, GTFS shuttles, airports) ; atmosphere and après-ski (bars, nightclubs and restaurants within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap), upcoming events (OpenAgenda), collective tourist beds (INSEE)) ; luxury and comfort (rated hotels within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap) and by category across the commune (INSEE), spas and boutiques (OpenStreetMap), day pass price).

€345 6 days

Price declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association) — not the official price list, which prevails. Serre Chevalier pass, covering the whole linked area. Season not stated by the resort. ANMSM ↗

Skiable vertical
1,401 m
Cross-country skiing
9 named trails — 107 km of marked loops (35 km of distinct track: the loops overlap) · Site Nordique de Serre Chevalier area, right by the resort

Ski-area figures — bottom: OpenStreetMap; top, lifts: STRMTG — French national lift register (1 Jan); km of the linked area: ANMSM — figures declared by the resort (25 Sept) . In a linked ski area the map cannot tell where the resort ends: its own km stay “n/a” until the resort declares them.

The ski area in figures

Measured on 9 September 2026
10 kmLongest piste — Tabuc (black), 633 m of vertical
860 mBiggest vertical without changing piste — 2,264 → 1,405 m, 3 km
2,750 mHighest lift top — Yret (chairlift), national lift register
17,477Total lift capacity, people per hour — 16 installations: 7 chairlifts, 6 drag lifts, 3 magic carpets
29 yrsAverage age of the lift fleet — oldest 1961, newest 2019
2,400Biggest lift, people per hour — Eychauda (detachable chairlift, 2019)
50 kmTotal length of lifts — 47 lifts mapped
5,124 haSki area boundary (OSM)
923Inhabitants — Le Monêtier-les-Bains (INSEE 05079)

Measured on OpenStreetMap (altitudes: IGN RGE ALTI), not taken from the brochure. The vertical above is that of one piste, not of the whole ski area. Population: INSEE municipal population via geo.api.gouv.fr.

Source: national register of mechanical lifts (STRMTG, CAIRN), fleet as of 1 January 2025 — lifts attributed to Le Monêtier-les-Bains only (“SERRE CHEVALIER 1500 (MONETIER)”), magic carpets included.

Staying and hiring gear in Le Monêtier-les-Bains

The partners covering this resort, shown side by side, and the shop to kit out before you leave. Some links earn us a commission — never at the expense of the price or of the data.

Collective accommodation

1,240 bed spaces in tourist residences, holiday villages and hostels

  • 7 hotels · 122 rooms (2 × 4★, 2 × 2★)
  • 1 holiday village or family centre · 420 bed spaces
  • 3 tourist residences and apartment hotels · 820 bed spaces
  • 1 campsite · 98 pitches

Commune: Le Monêtier-les-Bains · INSEE tourist accommodation survey, 2026, read on 12 September 2026. Collective accommodation only — privately let flats and second homes are not counted. INSEE dataset ↗

Stay & accommodation

Holidu
Holiday-rental comparison site.
See offers

Ski hire

Skiset UK
Skiset’s UK site: ski hire in the resort shops, booked in English, paid in pounds.
Book

Gear & equipment

Absolute Snow
UK ski and snowboard shop — delivers to UK addresses only.
Browse the shop
Hardloop
Mountain gear shop: ski touring, avalanche safety, winter clothing.
Browse the shop
Picture
Ski and snowboard jackets, pants and accessories — a French brand.
Browse the shop

All about staying in Le Monêtier-les-Bains →

Beyond skiing at Le Monêtier-les-Bains

Swimming pool

Spa and thermal baths

Paragliding

Museum

  • Musée d'Art Sacré · Le Monêtier-les-Bains · 0.5 km away
  • Musée Autrefois mon village · La Salle-les-Alpes · 5.2 km away

Cinema

  • Cinéma Le Lumière · Le Monêtier-les-Bains · 0.4 km away

Source: DATAtourisme (open data), within 10 km of the resort; places in a large town of the valley are left out. Checked on 12 September 2026. Opening times and prices are the operator’s — check before you go.

Ski schools and practical information

Ski school

ESF Serre Che. Monetier

📞 04 92 24 42 66

🌐 esf-serrechevalier1500.com

96 instructors

🇬🇧 64 English-speaking instructors — lessons in English available

🗓️ This school sells its lessons online — book ↗

Source: esf.net

All about the ski school in Le Monêtier-les-Bains →

Resort contacts and documents

Shuttle timetable (PDF)
551_ BRIANCON_LE MONETIER_ETE 2023 (declared by the resort, ANMSM)
Resort app
Android (declared by the resort, ANMSM)

In case of accident

112 — the European emergency number, free of charge, triggers mountain rescue. On the pistes, the ski patrol number is printed on the piste map and at lift ticket offices. Piste rescue is charged: check your insurance or take the option sold with the lift pass.

Resort data: declared by Office de Tourisme and distributed by ANMSM · read on 25 September

Off the pistes: off-piste and ski touring

The resorts for off-piste skiing →
4 Marked off-piste itineraries · 4 km
2 km Ski touring routes

Named itineraries: Cibouït · Col du Vent · Col du vent · Cibouit

Itineraries surveyed on OpenStreetMap within a 4 km radius (7 September 2026): “marked” means an itinerary exists on the map, not that it is open or safe on the day.

Ski touring routes described

12 ski touring routes documented within 10 km of Le Monêtier-les-Bains — up to 2,300 m of climb.

Summit and routeSki gradeClimbAltitudeAspectFrom resort
Brèche supérieure du Casset · versant S depuis Le Monetier3.2 · E1 · PD+1,350 m1,490 → 2,821 mN · NE · S · SE · E0.5 km
La Cucumelle · Combe N2.2n/a1,500 → 2,698 mn/a1.8 km
Rocher de l'Yret · Vallon de la Montagnolle4.1 · AD+1,400 m1,470 → 2,830 mNW1.9 km
Vallon du Grand Tabuc · En aller-retour1.2 · E1 · PD-600 m1,500 → 2,100 mNE1.9 km

The other 8 routes, with grades and vertical →

Not a piste. Neither marked, nor patrolled, nor secured: transceiver, shovel, probe, the day’s avalanche bulletin and, better still, a guide. Ski grade (1.1–5.6) = steepness and commitment; exposure (E1–E4) = consequence of a fall.

Source: Camptocamp.org topo guide (CC BY-SA), routes starting within 10 km, read on 13 September 2026. Descriptions and photos are on Camptocamp; an empty cell is a field nobody has filled in. Camptocamp ski touring routes ↗

Official piste map

No downloadable piste map published by the resort.

Pistes coloured by level, lifts as lines. The resort’s official map is the reference in season.

Base map © OpenTopoMap (CC-BY-SA) · pistes © OpenSnowMap (CC-BY-SA) · data ©OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).

Getting to Le Monêtier-les-Bains

From Paris: 7 hr 35 (675 km) by road.

By road

  • From Grenoble: 1 hr 46 · 103 km
  • From Chambéry: 2 hr 34 · 178 km · via Briançon station
  • From Valence: 2 hr 42 · 192 km
  • From Lyon: 2 hr 58 · 205 km
  • From Annecy: 3 hr 03 · 225 km · via Briançon station
From other major cities (14)
  • From Saint-Étienne: 3 hr 32 · 254 km
  • From Genève: 3 hr 33 · 263 km · via Briançon station
  • From Marseille: 3 hr 46 · 274 km
  • From Montpellier: 4 hr 49 · 396 km
  • From Dijon: 4 hr 50 · 406 km
  • From Clermont-Ferrand: 4 hr 51 · 374 km
  • From Besançon: 5 hr 09 · 436 km
  • From Perpignan: 6 hr 11 · 544 km
  • From Nancy: 6 hr 57 · 617 km
  • From Toulouse: 7 hr 07 · 630 km
  • From Strasbourg: 7 hr 15 · 618 km
  • From Paris: 7 hr 35 · 675 km
  • From Bordeaux: 8 hr 49 · 760 km
  • From Pau: 9 hr 02 · 820 km

Excluding traffic and winter conditions; passes closed in winter are avoided.

By train

Briançon station

regional station · then 21 min drive (16 km)

Nearest main station: Grenoble, 1 hr 46 by road.

  • From Briançon station (stop “BRIANCON- GARE SNCF/GARE ROUTIÈRE”): line LIGNE 6 — LIGNE 6 LE MONETIER LES BAINS ↔ BRIANCON (ALTIGO), 27 min to the “LE MONETIER LES BAINS- LE SERRE BARBIN” stop — 8 departures a day on weekdays, 3 a day at weekends · first 06:25, last 18:15 · timetable from 15 December 2026 to 15 April 2027 · official timetable ↗
  • From Briançon station (stop “Briançon - Gare SNCF”): line 55 — 55 _ BRIANCON - GRENOBLE via SERRE CHEVALIER (ZOU ! Express Bus), 1 hr 33 to the “Serre Chevalier - l'Église” stop — 4 departures a day on weekdays · first 08:45, last 15:45 · timetable from 15 December 2026 to 28 January 2027 · official timetable ↗

Direct journeys read from the official timetable files published on transport.data.gouv.fr — no connections.

By plane

  • Turin-Caselle (TRN): 2 hr 07 by road · 135 km
  • Grenoble-Alpes-Isère (GNB): 2 hr 12 by road · 145 km

Take me there

These links open the app with Le Monêtier-les-Bains as the destination. Your starting point is never sent by us — the app asks you for it, if you agree.

Charging an electric car

8 charging stations within 2 km

16 charging points · up to 22 kW

  • PARKING PRE CHABERT - MONETIER-LES-BAINS · ELECTRIC 55 CHARGING · 2 points · 22 kW · 0.1 km
  • PARKING DE LA POSTE - MONETIER-LES-BAINS · ELECTRIC 55 CHARGING · 2 points · 22 kW · 0.5 km
  • LE MONETIER LES BAINS - Route de Grenoble · EASYCHARGE · 2 points · 22 kW · 0.6 km
  • PARKING DU MARCHE - LE MONETIER-LES-BAINS · ELECTRIC 55 CHARGING · 2 points · 22 kW · 0.6 km
  • PARKING LES CONCHIERS - LE MONETIER-LES-BAINS · ELECTRIC 55 CHARGING · 2 points · 22 kW · 0.7 km

Freely accessible charge points read from the French national EV charging database (data.gouv.fr ↗, operators’ own declarations), checked on 9 September 2026. Check availability before you leave: the database says what is installed, not what is free tonight.

Road conditions

From 1 November to 31 March, snow chains or winter tyres are compulsory in most mountain areas (French “Loi Montagne II”).

Driving times computed on the OpenStreetMap road network (OSRM), SNCF stations (open data), airports (Wikidata). Indicative, not a timetable: allow extra time in snow.

The area offers 250 km of alpine pistes across Serre Chevalier, 16 ski lifts.

Le Monêtier-les-Bains belongs to the linked Serre Chevalier area: one lift pass covers the neighbouring resorts.

Measured on the OpenStreetMap map: the longest piste runs 10 km (Tabuc) and the highest lift tops out at 2,764 m.

The resort holds the Station classée de tourisme label.

Access: 1 h 46 by road from Grenoble and 21 min from Briançon railway station.

3 official webcams show the pistes live (on the French page).

Frequently asked questions

How high is Le Monêtier-les-Bains?

Le Monêtier-les-Bains sits at 1,465 m at village level, and its ski area rises to 2,750 m.

How many kilometres of pistes does Le Monêtier-les-Bains have?

From Le Monêtier-les-Bains you can ski 250 km of slopes across Serre Chevalier, 16 lifts.

What is the longest piste in Le Monêtier-les-Bains?

The longest piste is Tabuc: 10 km (black run), for 633 m of vertical. Measured on the OpenStreetMap map, segments of the same name and level joined end to end, altitudes from the IGN RGE ALTI terrain model — a resort sometimes advertises a longer run by chaining several pistes.

How high do the lifts go in Le Monêtier-les-Bains?

The highest lift, Yret (chairlift), tops out at 2,750 m. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How many lifts does Le Monêtier-les-Bains have, and what is their capacity?

The French national register of mechanical lifts records 16 installations at Le Monêtier-les-Bains (7 chairlifts, 6 drag lifts, 3 magic carpets), for an authorised capacity of 17,477 people per hour, of which 2,400 for Eychauda alone. The fleet spans 1961 to 2019, an average age of 29 years. This count covers the resort itself, magic carpets included, not the whole linked ski area — a resort brochure often announces a different number. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How much is a lift pass in Le Monêtier-les-Bains?

The adult day pass for the Serre Chevalier linked area costs €68 and the 6-day pass €345 (season not stated by the resort, declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association)).

How do I get to Le Monêtier-les-Bains?

By road, Le Monêtier-les-Bains is 1 hr 46 from Grenoble (103 km), excluding traffic and winter conditions. By train, the nearest station is Briançon, 21 min by road from the resort. From Briançon station, line LIGNE 6 — LIGNE 6 LE MONETIER LES BAINS ↔ BRIANCON (ALTIGO) reaches the “LE MONETIER LES BAINS- LE SERRE BARBIN” stop in 27 min, 8 departures a day on weekdays, 3 a day at weekends. The nearest airport is Turin-Caselle, 2 hr 07 away.

How long is the drive from Paris to Le Monêtier-les-Bains?

7 hr 35 for 675 km from central Paris, excluding traffic and winter conditions. Computed on the real road network (OpenStreetMap): allow more on a school-holiday Saturday.

Is the snow reliable in Le Monêtier-les-Bains?

Good snow from December to May: a long, reliable season. This verdict rests on 10 winters of reanalysis (estimate, 2015-2025); in season the daily report prevails.

Nearby resorts

Full page in French. The French page carries the editorial guides and a few extra readings; every figure, webcam and price on this page is the same one. Le Monêtier-les-Bains in French →

Every figure carries its source and date; a missing figure shows as “—”, never estimated. Embed this widget on your site