Puy-Saint-Vincent

Southern Alps Updated on 27 September 2026
1,600 mVillage altitude
2,750 mTop of the ski area
75 kmAlpine pistes
16Ski lifts
€39.50Adult day pass

Puy-Saint-Vincent is a French commune located in the département of Hautes-Alpes, in the Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur region.

Puy-Saint-Vincent — view of the resort
Photo: Wikimedia Commons

Puy-Saint-Vincent webcams

Puy-Saint-Vincent broadcasts its images on its own page: the link takes you there. Checked on 16 October 2026.

Snow, opening and weather

Snow report →

Open pistes and lifts will appear here during the season, as published by the resort. Out of season we show nothing rather than a misleading zero.

Good snow from mid-January to late February. 87 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, and 267 cm of fresh snow, measured over 27 winters at the Météo-France “PUY-ST-VINCENT” station. Fortnight by fortnight, over 27 measured winters →

3-day forecast

Village 1,600 m · top 2,750 m

Loading…

Forecast corrected for altitude; fresh snow = forecast total at the top; UV = peak of the day. Beyond 3 days, check the resort’s own report. Source:Open-Meteo.

7-day forecast →

SkiRadar ratings

How ratings are computed →Computed on 16 October 2026

Seven criteria rated from 1 to 5 stars, in half-stars, from this page's sourced data. A rating is a rank among the 315 French resorts we cover — 5 stars means “among the best in France on this point”, not “perfect”. Nobody types these in.

  1. SnowCan you count on the snow?
    3.5 / 5

    Top of the ski area: 2,750 m · Bottom of the pistes: 1,400 m · Days above 30 cm per winter, measured: 87 days · Days above 30 cm, December to March, model: 89%

  2. Ski areaIs there enough to ski all week?
    3.5 / 5

    Km of pistes at the resort: 75 km · Lifts: 16 · Balance between piste levels: 81%

  3. ValueIs the lift pass reasonable for what you get?
    3.5 / 5

    Adult day pass: €39.50 · Day pass price per km of pistes: €0.53/km · Adult 6-day pass: €198.50

  4. Families and beginnersIs it right for children and beginners?
    3 / 5

    Share of green and blue pistes: 77% · Magic carpets: 1 · Sledging runs: 0 · ESF ski school · Ice rink, pool, rail sledge…: 3

  5. AccessIs it easy to get to?
    3 / 5

    Average drive time from 20 major cities: 5 hr 24 · Nearest railway station: 13 min · Station-to-resort shuttles per day: 2 · Nearest airport: 2 hr 15

  6. Atmosphere and après-skiIs there life in the evening and off the slopes?
    3 / 5

    Bars and pubs: 7 · Nightclubs: 0 · Restaurants: 13 · Upcoming events: 0 · Collective tourist beds: 1,439 — index: what the map and the listings publish

  7. Luxury and comfortHow upmarket is the resort?
    1.5 / 5

    5-star hotels: 0 · 4-star hotels: 0 · Share of hotel rooms in 4 and 5 stars: 0% · Spas and saunas: 1 · Jewellers, watchmakers, fashion boutiques: 0 · Adult day pass: €39.50 — index: what the map and the listings publish

“Atmosphere” and “Luxury” are indexes: they count what OpenStreetMap and the event listings publish within 2.5 km (bars, nightclubs, rated hotels, spas, upcoming events), not what you experience there. A zero means “nothing mapped”, not “nothing there”. Sources per criterion: snow (altitudes declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), STRMTG register, OpenStreetMap; snow depth observed at the Météo-France station, ERA5-Land model) ; ski area (figures declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), national lift register (STRMTG), OpenStreetMap) ; value (the resort’s official price list) ; families and beginners (OpenStreetMap pistes, price list, ESF ski school, Famille Plus label, OpenStreetMap leisure) ; access (OSRM drive times from 20 cities, SNCF stations, GTFS shuttles, airports) ; atmosphere and après-ski (bars, nightclubs and restaurants within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap), upcoming events (OpenAgenda), collective tourist beds (INSEE)) ; luxury and comfort (rated hotels within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap) and by category across the commune (INSEE), spas and boutiques (OpenStreetMap), day pass price).

€198.50 6 days

Price declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association) — not the official price list, which prevails. Season not stated by the resort. ANMSM ↗

102 pistes, by level

22 green57 blue17 red6 black
Skiable vertical
1,350 m
Cross-country skiing
9 named trails — 33 km of marked loops (18 km of distinct track: the loops overlap) · Domaine Nordique de la Vallouise area, 800 m from the resort
Snowpark
Yes

Ski-area figures — village: ANMSM — figures declared by the resort (16 Oct); bottom, top, km of pistes: Resort’s official website (read by SkiRadar) (23 Sept); lifts: STRMTG — French national lift register (1 Jan); pistes by level: OpenStreetMap (1 Oct) .

The ski area in figures

Measured on 7 October 2026
2 kmLongest piste — Vallouise (blue), 428 m of vertical
509 mBiggest vertical without changing piste — 2,317 → 1,808 m, 2 km
2,668 mHighest lift top — La PENDINE (chairlift), national lift register
20,408Total lift capacity, people per hour — 16 installations: 8 chairlifts, 7 drag lifts, 1 magic carpet
25 yrsAverage age of the lift fleet — oldest 1971, newest 2018
2,525Biggest lift, people per hour — CRETE des BANS (detachable chairlift, 2018)
11 kmTotal length of lifts — 10 lifts mapped
708 haSki area boundary (OSM)
270Inhabitants — Puy-Saint-Vincent (INSEE 05110)

Measured on OpenStreetMap (altitudes: IGN RGE ALTI), not taken from the brochure. The vertical above is that of one piste, not of the whole ski area. Population: INSEE municipal population via geo.api.gouv.fr.

Source: national register of mechanical lifts (STRMTG, CAIRN), fleet as of 1 January 2025 — lifts attributed to Puy-Saint-Vincent only (“PUY SAINT VINCENT”), magic carpets included.

Staying and hiring gear in Puy-Saint-Vincent

The partners covering this resort, shown side by side, and the shop to kit out before you leave. Some links earn us a commission — never at the expense of the price or of the data.

Collective accommodation

1,439 bed spaces in tourist residences, holiday villages and hostels

  • 3 hotels · 73 rooms (1 × 3★, 2 × 2★)
  • 1 holiday village or family centre · 643 bed spaces
  • 2 tourist residences and apartment hotels · 796 bed spaces
  • 1 campsite · 45 pitches

Commune: Puy-Saint-Vincent · INSEE tourist accommodation survey, 2026, read on 12 September 2026. Collective accommodation only — privately let flats and second homes are not counted. INSEE dataset ↗

Stay & accommodation

Holidu
Holiday-rental comparison site.
See offers
Ski Planet
Self-catering flats and all-inclusive ski holidays at the foot of the slopes, since 1999.
See offers
Montagne Vacances
Flats and chalets in the resort, at direct prices.
See offers

Gear & equipment

Absolute Snow
UK ski and snowboard shop — delivers to UK addresses only.
Browse the shop
Hardloop
Mountain gear shop: ski touring, avalanche safety, winter clothing.
Browse the shop
Picture
Ski and snowboard jackets, pants and accessories — a French brand.
Browse the shop

All about staying in Puy-Saint-Vincent →

Beyond skiing at Puy-Saint-Vincent

Toboggan runs

  • Luge sur rail · 1.5 km away · OpenStreetMap

Swimming pool

Spa and thermal baths

  • PSV308C · 1.6 km away · OpenStreetMap

Paragliding

Cinema

  • Cinéma L'eau vive · L'Argentière-la-Bessée · 7 km away
  • Cinéma Jean Marais · 1.2 km away · OpenStreetMap

Source: DATAtourisme (open data), within 10 km of the resort; places in a large town of the valley are left out. Checked on 12 September 2026. Lines marked OpenStreetMap come from the map, within 3 km — opening times on site. Opening times and prices are the operator’s — check before you go.

Ski schools and practical information

Ski school

ESF Puy St Vincent

📞 04 92 23 35 11

🌐 esf-puy-st-vincent-pelvoux.com

109 instructors

🇬🇧 51 English-speaking instructors — lessons in English available

🗓️ This school sells its lessons online — book ↗

Source: esf.net

All about the ski school in Puy-Saint-Vincent →

Resort contacts and documents

Resort app
Android (declared by the resort, ANMSM)

In case of accident

112 — the European emergency number, free of charge, triggers mountain rescue. On the pistes, the ski patrol number is printed on the piste map and at lift ticket offices. Piste rescue is charged: check your insurance or take the option sold with the lift pass.

Resort data: declared by Office de Tourisme du Pays des Écrins and distributed by ANMSM · read on 16 October

Off the pistes: off-piste and ski touring

The resorts for off-piste skiing →
5 Marked off-piste itineraries · 2 km
1 km Ski touring routes

Named itineraries: Rocher Noir · Carmen · Pendine

Itineraries surveyed on OpenStreetMap within a 4 km radius (7 September 2026): “marked” means an itinerary exists on the map, not that it is open or safe on the day.

Ski touring routes described

12 ski touring routes documented within 10 km of Puy-Saint-Vincent — up to 1,850 m of climb.

Summit and routeSki gradeClimbAltitudeAspectFrom resort
Crête de Reychard · Versant En/a · PD-950 m1,462 → 2,400 mSE1.7 km
Crête de la Pendine · Par les pistes de ski2.2 · E1 · F900 m1,462 → 2,749 mNE2.2 km
Le Coul Mélèze · De la chapelle St Vincentn/a · PD-900 m1,400 → 2,300 mE2.2 km
Crête de Plarol · Vallon de Narreyrouxn/a · PD1,250 m1,500 → 2,750 mN2.9 km

The other 8 routes, with grades and vertical →

Not a piste. Neither marked, nor patrolled, nor secured: transceiver, shovel, probe, the day’s avalanche bulletin and, better still, a guide. Ski grade (1.1–5.6) = steepness and commitment; exposure (E1–E4) = consequence of a fall.

Source: Camptocamp.org topo guide (CC BY-SA), routes starting within 10 km, read on 13 October 2026. Descriptions and photos are on Camptocamp; an empty cell is a field nobody has filled in. Camptocamp ski touring routes ↗

Official piste map

No downloadable piste map published by the resort.

Pistes coloured by level, lifts as lines. The resort’s official map is the reference in season.

Base map © OpenTopoMap (CC-BY-SA) · pistes © OpenSnowMap (CC-BY-SA) · data ©OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).

Getting to Puy-Saint-Vincent

From Paris: 8 hr 14 (708 km) by road.

By road

  • From Grenoble: 2 hr 25 · 135 km
  • From Chambéry: 2 hr 35 · 181 km
  • From Annecy: 3 hr 04 · 228 km
  • From Valence: 3 hr 21 · 224 km
  • From Marseille: 3 hr 24 · 255 km
From other major cities (14)
  • From Genève: 3 hr 34 · 265 km
  • From Lyon: 3 hr 37 · 237 km
  • From Saint-Étienne: 4 hr 10 · 286 km
  • From Montpellier: 4 hr 42 · 378 km
  • From Dijon: 5 hr 29 · 438 km
  • From Clermont-Ferrand: 5 hr 30 · 403 km
  • From Besançon: 5 hr 48 · 468 km
  • From Perpignan: 6 hr 04 · 525 km
  • From Toulouse: 7 hr 00 · 612 km
  • From Nancy: 7 hr 36 · 649 km
  • From Strasbourg: 7 hr 49 · 655 km
  • From Paris: 8 hr 14 · 708 km
  • From Pau: 8 hr 54 · 802 km
  • From Bordeaux: 9 hr 23 · 854 km

Excluding traffic and winter conditions; passes closed in winter are avoided.

By train

L'Argentière Les Écrins station

halt · then 13 min drive (10 km)

Nearest main station: Grenoble, 2 hr 25 by road.

  • From L'Argentière Les Écrins station (stop “Giratoire de la Gare”): line 542 — 542 _ PELVOUX-VALLOUISE-L'ARGENTIERE-BRIANCON (ZOU ! Proximité), 10 min to the “La Casse” stop — 2 departures a day on weekdays · first 12:45, last 18:45 · timetable from 15 December 2026 to 31 December 2026 · official timetable ↗

Direct journeys read from the official timetable files published on transport.data.gouv.fr — no connections.

By plane

  • Turin-Caselle (TRN): 2 hr 15 by road · 141 km
  • Cuneo (CUF): 2 hr 57 by road · 199 km

Take me there

These links open the app with Puy-Saint-Vincent as the destination. Your starting point is never sent by us — the app asks you for it, if you agree.

Charging an electric car

2 charging stations within 2 km

4 charging points · up to 22 kW

  • PUY SAINT VINCENT - Le Laux · EASYCHARGE · 2 points · 22 kW · 1 km
  • VALLOUISE PELVOUX - Pelvoux · EASYCHARGE · 2 points · 22 kW · 1.6 km

Freely accessible charge points read from the French national EV charging database (data.gouv.fr ↗, operators’ own declarations), checked on 9 October 2026. Check availability before you leave: the database says what is installed, not what is free tonight.

Road conditions

From 1 November to 31 March, snow chains or winter tyres are compulsory in most mountain areas (French “Loi Montagne II”).

Driving times computed on the OpenStreetMap road network (OSRM), SNCF stations (open data), airports (Wikidata). Indicative, not a timetable: allow extra time in snow.

Translated from the French Wikipedia article (CC BY-SA), machine translation.

Frequently asked questions

How high is Puy-Saint-Vincent?

Puy-Saint-Vincent sits at 1,600 m at village level, and its ski area rises to 2,750 m.

How many kilometres of pistes does Puy-Saint-Vincent have?

Puy-Saint-Vincent has 75 km of slopes, 16 lifts.

What is the longest piste in Puy-Saint-Vincent?

The longest piste is Vallouise: 2 km (blue run), for 428 m of vertical. Measured on the OpenStreetMap map, segments of the same name and level joined end to end, altitudes from the IGN RGE ALTI terrain model — a resort sometimes advertises a longer run by chaining several pistes.

How high do the lifts go in Puy-Saint-Vincent?

The highest lift, La PENDINE (chairlift), tops out at 2,668 m. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How many lifts does Puy-Saint-Vincent have, and what is their capacity?

The French national register of mechanical lifts records 16 installations at Puy-Saint-Vincent (8 chairlifts, 7 drag lifts, 1 magic carpet), for an authorised capacity of 20,408 people per hour, of which 2,525 for CRETE des BANS alone. The fleet spans 1971 to 2018, an average age of 25 years. This count covers the resort itself, magic carpets included, not the whole linked ski area — a resort brochure often announces a different number. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How much is a lift pass in Puy-Saint-Vincent?

The adult day pass costs €39.50 and the 6-day pass €198.50 (season not stated by the resort, declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association)).

How do I get to Puy-Saint-Vincent?

By road, Puy-Saint-Vincent is 2 hr 25 from Grenoble (135 km), excluding traffic and winter conditions. By train, the nearest station is L'Argentière Les Écrins, 13 min by road from the resort. From L'Argentière Les Écrins station, line 542 — 542 _ PELVOUX-VALLOUISE-L'ARGENTIERE-BRIANCON (ZOU ! Proximité) reaches the “La Casse” stop in 10 min, 2 departures a day on weekdays. The nearest airport is Turin-Caselle, 2 hr 15 away.

How long is the drive from Paris to Puy-Saint-Vincent?

8 hr 14 for 708 km from central Paris, excluding traffic and winter conditions. Computed on the real road network (OpenStreetMap): allow more on a school-holiday Saturday.

Is the snow reliable in Puy-Saint-Vincent?

Good snow from mid-January to late February. 87 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, and 267 cm of fresh snow, measured over 27 winters at the Météo-France “PUY-ST-VINCENT” station. This verdict rests on 27 winters of Météo-France measurements (1992-2024); in season the daily report prevails.

Is Puy-Saint-Vincent good for beginners and families?

77% of the pistes are green or blue: a very accessible area.

Nearby resorts

Full page in French. The French page carries the editorial guides and a few extra readings; every figure, webcam and price on this page is the same one. Puy-Saint-Vincent in French →

Every figure carries its source and date; a missing figure shows as “—”, never estimated. Embed this widget on your site