Serre Chevalier

Off season · opens 5 December 2026
Southern Alps Linked area Serre Chevalier Updated on 21 September 2026
1,200 mVillage altitude
2,800 mTop of the ski area
133 kmAlpine pistes · 250 km across Serre Chevalier
59Ski lifts
€68Adult day pass · Serre Chevalier

Serre Chevalier is a major ski resort in Southeastern France, near the Italian border, located in the Hautes-Alpes department, Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur region. Situated to the northeast of Écrins National Park in the French Alps, the resort encompasses a large skiing area, with 250 km (155 mi) of slopes and favourable weather, boasting 300 days of sunshine a year. In Serre Chevalier, 80 km (50 mi) of the slopes are covered by snow cannons to supplement natural snowfall. The resort is owned by Compagnie des Alpes.

Serre Chevalier — view of the resort
Photo: Wikimedia Commons

Live webcams

All webcams (8) →
ColdulautaretSkaping
BrianconSkaping
ProrelSkaping

Each player is the camera operator’s own, loaded only when you ask for it — it may set its own trackers.

Official players of the resort, live image. 4 more cameras on the webcam page. Checked on 24 September 2026.

Snow, opening and weather

Snow report →

The domain is due to open on 5 December 2026 and close on 18 April 2027. Open pistes and lifts will appear here as soon as the resort publishes its daily report.

Right now at the VILLAR ST PANCRACE station (1,310 m)

Source: Météo-France, VILLAR ST PANCRACE weather station, 9.2 km away. Hourly measurement — not the resort’s own snow report.

Good snow from mid-January to mid-April. 112 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, measured over 11 winters at the Météo-France “GALIBIER-NIVOSE” station. Fortnight by fortnight, over 11 measured winters →

3-day forecast

Village 1,200 m · top 2,800 m

Loading…

Forecast corrected for altitude; fresh snow = forecast total at the top; UV = peak of the day. Beyond 3 days, check the resort’s own report. Source:Open-Meteo.

7-day forecast →

SkiRadar ratings

How ratings are computed →Computed on 16 October 2026

Seven criteria rated from 1 to 5 stars, in half-stars, from this page's sourced data. A rating is a rank among the 315 French resorts we cover — 5 stars means “among the best in France on this point”, not “perfect”. Nobody types these in.

  1. SnowCan you count on the snow?
    3.5 / 5

    Top of the ski area: 2,800 m · Bottom of the pistes: 1,200 m · Days above 30 cm per winter, measured: 112 days · Days above 30 cm, December to March, model: 97%

  2. Ski areaIs there enough to ski all week?
    4.5 / 5

    Km of pistes at the resort: 133 km · Km skiable from the resort, linked area included: 250 km · Lifts: 59 · Balance between piste levels: 96%

  3. ValueIs the lift pass reasonable for what you get?
    2.5 / 5

    Adult day pass: €68 · Day pass price per km of pistes: €0.27/km · Adult 6-day pass: €345 · Price read at a neighbouring resort of the same area

  4. Families and beginnersIs it right for children and beginners?
    2.5 / 5

    Share of green and blue pistes: 49% · Magic carpets: 0 · Sledging runs: 2 · ESF ski school · Ice rink, pool, rail sledge…: 3

  5. AccessIs it easy to get to?
    3.5 / 5

    Average drive time from 20 major cities: 5 hr 07 · Nearest railway station: 14 min · Station-to-resort shuttles per day: 12 · Nearest airport: 2 hr 00

  6. Atmosphere and après-skiIs there life in the evening and off the slopes?
    4 / 5

    Bars and pubs: 11 · Nightclubs: 1 · Restaurants: 42 · Upcoming events: 0 · Collective tourist beds: 2,811 — index: what the map and the listings publish

  7. Luxury and comfortHow upmarket is the resort?
    2.5 / 5

    5-star hotels: 0 · 4-star hotels: 3 · Share of hotel rooms in 4 and 5 stars: 33% · Spas and saunas: 0 · Jewellers, watchmakers, fashion boutiques: 0 · Adult day pass: €68 — index: what the map and the listings publish

“Atmosphere” and “Luxury” are indexes: they count what OpenStreetMap and the event listings publish within 2.5 km (bars, nightclubs, rated hotels, spas, upcoming events), not what you experience there. A zero means “nothing mapped”, not “nothing there”. Sources per criterion: snow (altitudes declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), STRMTG register, OpenStreetMap; snow depth observed at the Météo-France station, ERA5-Land model) ; ski area (figures declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), national lift register (STRMTG), OpenStreetMap) ; value (the resort’s official price list) ; families and beginners (OpenStreetMap pistes, price list, ESF ski school, Famille Plus label, OpenStreetMap leisure) ; access (OSRM drive times from 20 cities, SNCF stations, GTFS shuttles, airports) ; atmosphere and après-ski (bars, nightclubs and restaurants within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap), upcoming events (OpenAgenda), collective tourist beds (INSEE)) ; luxury and comfort (rated hotels within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap) and by category across the commune (INSEE), spas and boutiques (OpenStreetMap), day pass price).

€345 6 days

Price declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association) — not the official price list, which prevails. Serre Chevalier pass, covering the whole linked area. Season not stated by the resort. ANMSM ↗

81 pistes, by level

15 green25 blue28 red13 black
Skiable vertical
1,600 m
Cross-country skiing
9 named trails — 107 km of marked loops (35 km of distinct track: the loops overlap) · Site Nordique de Serre Chevalier area, 1.1 km from the resort
Snowpark
Yes

Ski-area figures — village, bottom, top, km of pistes, km of the linked area, lifts, pistes by level: ANMSM — figures declared by the resort (16 Oct) .

The ski area in figures

Measured on 7 October 2026
13 kmLongest piste — Chemin (blue), 643 m of vertical
860 mBiggest vertical without changing piste — 2,264 → 1,405 m, 3 km
2,764 mHighest lift top — Yret (chairlift)
57 kmTotal length of lifts — 57 lifts mapped
5,124 haSki area boundary (OSM)
892Inhabitants — La Salle-les-Alpes (INSEE 05161)

Measured on OpenStreetMap (altitudes: IGN RGE ALTI), not taken from the brochure. The vertical above is that of one piste, not of the whole ski area. Population: INSEE municipal population via geo.api.gouv.fr.

Staying and hiring gear in Serre Chevalier

The partners covering this resort, shown side by side, and the shop to kit out before you leave. Some links earn us a commission — never at the expense of the price or of the data.

Collective accommodation

2,811 bed spaces in tourist residences, holiday villages and hostels

  • 8 hotels · 275 rooms (2 × 4★, 4 × 3★)
  • 3 holiday villages and family centres · 1,539 bed spaces
  • 2 tourist residences and apartment hotels · 1,202 bed spaces
  • 1 youth hostel or sports centre · 70 bed spaces

Commune: La Salle-les-Alpes · INSEE tourist accommodation survey, 2026, read on 12 September 2026. Collective accommodation only — privately let flats and second homes are not counted. INSEE dataset ↗

Stay & accommodation

Vacances Bleues
Club hotels and holiday villages, often full board.
See offers
Sowell
Club hotels and flats in the resorts, northern and southern Alps.
See offers
Holidu
Holiday-rental comparison site.
See offers

Ski hire

Skiset UK
Skiset’s UK site: ski hire in the resort shops, booked in English, paid in pounds.
Book

Gear & equipment

Absolute Snow
UK ski and snowboard shop — delivers to UK addresses only.
Browse the shop
Hardloop
Mountain gear shop: ski touring, avalanche safety, winter clothing.
Browse the shop
Picture
Ski and snowboard jackets, pants and accessories — a French brand.
Browse the shop

All about staying in Serre Chevalier →

Beyond skiing at Serre Chevalier

Without skis on — 2 sledging runs

Ice rink

Swimming pool

Spa and thermal baths

Dog sledding

Paragliding

Museum

  • Musée Autrefois mon village · La Salle-les-Alpes · 0.3 km away
  • Musée d'Art Sacré · Le Monêtier-les-Bains · 5.8 km away
  • Mini musée du four à pain du Serre · Val-des-Prés · 8.9 km away

Cinema

Bowling

  • Bowling des neiges · 2 km away · OpenStreetMap

Source: DATAtourisme (open data), within 10 km of the resort; places in a large town of the valley are left out. Checked on 12 September 2026. Lines marked OpenStreetMap come from the map, within 3 km — opening times on site. Opening times and prices are the operator’s — check before you go.

Ski schools and practical information

Ski school

ESF Serre Che. Villeneuve

📞 04 92 24 71 99

🌐 esf-serrechevalier-villeneuve.com

174 instructors

🇬🇧 148 English-speaking instructors — lessons in English available

🗓️ This school sells its lessons online — book ↗

Source: esf.net

All about the ski school in Serre Chevalier →

Resort contacts and documents

Shuttle timetable (PDF)
551_ BRIANCON_LE MONETIER_ETE 2023 (declared by the resort, ANMSM)
Resort app
Android (declared by the resort, ANMSM)

In case of accident

112 — the European emergency number, free of charge, triggers mountain rescue. On the pistes, the ski patrol number is printed on the piste map and at lift ticket offices. Piste rescue is charged: check your insurance or take the option sold with the lift pass.

Resort data: declared by Office de Tourisme and distributed by ANMSM · read on 16 October

Off the pistes: off-piste and ski touring

The resorts for off-piste skiing →
4 Marked off-piste itineraries · 9 km
— Ski touring routes

Named itineraries: Bois · Isolée · Trafleche · Mur Chevalier

Itineraries surveyed on OpenStreetMap within a 4 km radius (7 September 2026): “marked” means an itinerary exists on the map, not that it is open or safe on the day.

Ski touring routes described

12 ski touring routes documented within 10 km of Serre Chevalier — up to 1,424 m of climb.

Summit and routeSki gradeClimbAltitudeAspectFrom resort
Col du Prorel · Traversée S → Nn/a · F760 m1,350 → 2,396 mN · W · NW · SW · S · SE · E · NE1.9 km
Le Grand Aréa · Versant S3.1 · E2 · AD-1,371 m1,498 → 2,869 mS2.1 km
Le Grand Aréa · face/couloir SE avec variantes4.1 · E2 · AD+1,370 m1,500 → 2,869 mn/a2.1 km
Le Grand Aréa · dalla strada del col du Granon4.1 · E1 · AD1,070 m1,800 → 2,870 mE2.1 km

The other 8 routes, with grades and vertical →

Not a piste. Neither marked, nor patrolled, nor secured: transceiver, shovel, probe, the day’s avalanche bulletin and, better still, a guide. Ski grade (1.1–5.6) = steepness and commitment; exposure (E1–E4) = consequence of a fall.

Source: Camptocamp.org topo guide (CC BY-SA), routes starting within 10 km, read on 13 October 2026. Descriptions and photos are on Camptocamp; an empty cell is a field nobody has filled in. Camptocamp ski touring routes ↗

Official piste map

Open the piste map (PDF, 6.5 MB) ↗

Published by Serre Chevalier Vallée Briançon · file dated 30 October 2025 · link checked on 10 October 2026 · official page

Link to the resort’s own file — a piste map is a copyrighted artwork, we host no copy.

Pistes coloured by level, lifts as lines. The resort’s official map is the reference in season.

Base map © OpenTopoMap (CC-BY-SA) · pistes © OpenSnowMap (CC-BY-SA) · data ©OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).

Getting to Serre Chevalier

From Paris: 7 hr 40 (680 km) by road.

By road

  • From Grenoble: 1 hr 51 · 108 km
  • From Chambéry: 2 hr 27 · 172 km · via Briançon station
  • From Valence: 2 hr 47 · 197 km
  • From Annecy: 2 hr 56 · 219 km · via Briançon station
  • From Lyon: 3 hr 03 · 210 km
From other major cities (14)
  • From Genève: 3 hr 26 · 257 km · via Briançon station
  • From Saint-Étienne: 3 hr 36 · 259 km
  • From Marseille: 3 hr 39 · 268 km
  • From Montpellier: 4 hr 54 · 401 km
  • From Dijon: 4 hr 55 · 411 km
  • From Clermont-Ferrand: 4 hr 56 · 376 km
  • From Besançon: 5 hr 14 · 440 km
  • From Perpignan: 6 hr 16 · 549 km
  • From Nancy: 7 hr 02 · 622 km
  • From Toulouse: 7 hr 12 · 635 km
  • From Strasbourg: 7 hr 20 · 623 km
  • From Paris: 7 hr 40 · 680 km
  • From Bordeaux: 8 hr 54 · 765 km
  • From Pau: 9 hr 06 · 825 km

Excluding traffic and winter conditions; passes closed in winter are avoided.

By train

Briançon station

regional station · then 14 min drive (10 km)

Nearest main station: Grenoble, 1 hr 51 by road.

  • From Briançon station (stop “BRIANCON- GARE SNCF/GARE ROUTIÈRE”): line LIGNE 6 — LIGNE 6 LE MONETIER LES BAINS ↔ BRIANCON (ALTIGO), 21 min to the “LA SALLE LES ALPES- LES ALPES D'AZUR” stop — 8 departures a day on weekdays, 3 a day at weekends · first 06:25, last 18:15 · timetable from 15 December 2026 to 15 April 2027 · official timetable ↗
  • From Briançon station (stop “Briançon - Gare SNCF”): line 55 — 55 _ BRIANCON - GRENOBLE via SERRE CHEVALIER (ZOU ! Express Bus), 1 hr 20 to the “Serre Chevalier - Mairie” stop — 4 departures a day on weekdays · first 08:45, last 15:45 · timetable from 15 December 2026 to 7 April 2027 · official timetable ↗

Direct journeys read from the official timetable files published on transport.data.gouv.fr — no connections.

By plane

  • Turin-Caselle (TRN): 2 hr 00 by road · 128 km
  • Grenoble-Alpes-Isère (GNB): 2 hr 17 by road · 150 km

Take me there

These links open the app with Serre Chevalier as the destination. Your starting point is never sent by us — the app asks you for it, if you agree.

Charging an electric car

14 charging stations within 2 km

31 charging points · up to 50 kW

  • PARKING MAIRIE - LA SALLE-LES-ALPES · ELECTRIC 55 CHARGING · 2 points · 22 kW · 0 km
  • PARKING ENTRE LES EAUX - LA SALLE-LES-ALPES · ELECTRIC 55 CHARGING · 2 points · 22 kW · 0.2 km
  • LA SALLE LES ALPES - Parking entre les Eaux · EASYCHARGE · 3 points · 50 kW · 0.2 km
  • PARKING L'ARAVET - LA SALLE-LES-ALPES · ELECTRIC 55 CHARGING · 2 points · 22 kW · 0.2 km
  • PARKING PEYTAVINES - LA SALLE-LES-ALPES · ELECTRIC 55 CHARGING · 2 points · 22 kW · 0.4 km

Freely accessible charge points read from the French national EV charging database (data.gouv.fr ↗, operators’ own declarations), checked on 9 October 2026. Check availability before you leave: the database says what is installed, not what is free tonight.

Road conditions

From 1 November to 31 March, snow chains or winter tyres are compulsory in most mountain areas (French “Loi Montagne II”).

Driving times computed on the OpenStreetMap road network (OSRM), SNCF stations (open data), airports (Wikidata). Indicative, not a timetable: allow extra time in snow.

Introduction from the English Wikipedia article (CC BY-SA).

Frequently asked questions

How high is Serre Chevalier?

Serre Chevalier sits at 1,200 m at village level, and its ski area rises to 2,800 m.

How many kilometres of pistes does Serre Chevalier have?

Serre Chevalier has 133 km of slopes (250 km across Serre Chevalier), 59 lifts.

What is the longest piste in Serre Chevalier?

The longest piste is Chemin: 13 km (blue run), for 643 m of vertical. Measured on the OpenStreetMap map, segments of the same name and level joined end to end, altitudes from the IGN RGE ALTI terrain model — a resort sometimes advertises a longer run by chaining several pistes.

How high do the lifts go in Serre Chevalier?

The highest lift, Yret, tops out at 2,764 m (IGN RGE ALTI terrain model). The 57 lifts mapped on OpenStreetMap total 57 km.

How much is a lift pass in Serre Chevalier?

The adult day pass for the Serre Chevalier linked area costs €68 and the 6-day pass €345 (season not stated by the resort, declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association)).

How do I get to Serre Chevalier?

By road, Serre Chevalier is 1 hr 51 from Grenoble (108 km), excluding traffic and winter conditions. By train, the nearest station is Briançon, 14 min by road from the resort. From Briançon station, line LIGNE 6 — LIGNE 6 LE MONETIER LES BAINS ↔ BRIANCON (ALTIGO) reaches the “LA SALLE LES ALPES- LES ALPES D'AZUR” stop in 21 min, 8 departures a day on weekdays, 3 a day at weekends. The nearest airport is Turin-Caselle, 2 hr 00 away.

How long is the drive from Paris to Serre Chevalier?

7 hr 40 for 680 km from central Paris, excluding traffic and winter conditions. Computed on the real road network (OpenStreetMap): allow more on a school-holiday Saturday.

What time do the lifts open in Serre Chevalier?

Lifts are announced open from 09:00 to 16:15 (saison 2026-2027), according to the official website (read on 29 September 2026).

When does Serre Chevalier open?

According to the dates declared by the resort (ANMSM feed), the resort opens on 5 December 2026 and closes on 18 April 2027 (2026-2027 season).

Is the snow reliable in Serre Chevalier?

Good snow from mid-January to mid-April. 112 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, measured over 11 winters at the Météo-France “GALIBIER-NIVOSE” station. This verdict rests on 11 winters of Météo-France measurements (2015-2026); in season the daily report prevails.

Is Serre Chevalier good for beginners and families?

49% of the pistes are green or blue: a rather technical area.

Nearby resorts

Full page in French. The French page carries the editorial guides and a few extra readings; every figure, webcam and price on this page is the same one. Serre Chevalier in French →

Every figure carries its source and date; a missing figure shows as “—”, never estimated. Embed this widget on your site