La Foux d'Allos

Off season · opens 12 December 2026
Southern Alps Linked area Espace Lumière Updated on 23 September 2026
1,500 mVillage altitude
2,600 mTop of the ski area
17Ski lifts
€51Adult day pass

Not retained (conflicting sources): km of alpine pistes.

La Foux d'Allos is a ski resort located in the north of the département of Alpes-de-Haute-Provence in the Pelat and Trois-Évêchés massifs.

La Foux d'Allos — view of the resort
Photo: Wikimedia Commons

Live webcams

All webcams (12) →
Parc LoisirsWebcam-HD
Seignus BasWebcam-HD
Sommet Marin PascalWebcam-HD

Each player is the camera operator’s own, loaded only when you ask for it — it may set its own trackers.

Official players of the resort, live image. 8 more cameras on the webcam page. Checked on 16 October 2026.

Snow, opening and weather

Snow report →

The domain is due to open on 12 December 2026 and close on 4 April 2027. Open pistes and lifts will appear here as soon as the resort publishes its daily report.

Right now at the ALLOS_SAPC station (1,400 m)

Source: Météo-France, ALLOS_SAPC weather station, 6.9 km away. Hourly measurement — not the resort’s own snow report.

Good snow from January to March. Snow cover month by month →

3-day forecast

Village 1,500 m · top 2,600 m

Loading…

Forecast corrected for altitude; fresh snow = forecast total at the top; UV = peak of the day. Beyond 3 days, check the resort’s own report. Source:Open-Meteo.

7-day forecast →

SkiRadar ratings

How ratings are computed →Computed on 14 October 2026

Seven criteria rated from 1 to 5 stars, in half-stars, from this page's sourced data. A rating is a rank among the 315 French resorts we cover — 5 stars means “among the best in France on this point”, not “perfect”. Nobody types these in.

  1. SnowCan you count on the snow?
    3.5 / 5

    Top of the ski area: 2,600 m · Bottom of the pistes: 1,400 m · Days above 30 cm, December to March, model: 90%

  2. Ski areaIs there enough to ski all week?
    3.5 / 5

    Km skiable from the resort, linked area included: 180 km · Lifts: 17 · Balance between piste levels: 83%

  3. ValueIs the lift pass reasonable for what you get?
    3.5 / 5

    Adult day pass: €51 · Adult 6-day pass: €259

  4. Families and beginnersIs it right for children and beginners?
    3.5 / 5

    Share of green and blue pistes: 60% · Magic carpets: 4 · ESF ski school · Ice rink, pool, rail sledge…: 3 · Famille Plus label

  5. AccessIs it easy to get to?
    1.5 / 5

    Average drive time from 20 major cities: 5 hr 57 · Nearest railway station: 1 hr 24 · Station-to-resort shuttles per day: 0 · Nearest airport: 2 hr 26

  6. Atmosphere and après-skiIs there life in the evening and off the slopes?
    2.5 / 5

    Bars and pubs: 1 · Nightclubs: 0 · Restaurants: 7 · Upcoming events: 0 · Collective tourist beds: 1,337 — index: what the map and the listings publish

  7. Luxury and comfortHow upmarket is the resort?
    1 / 5

    5-star hotels: 0 · 4-star hotels: 0 · Share of hotel rooms in 4 and 5 stars: 0% · Spas and saunas: 0 · Jewellers, watchmakers, fashion boutiques: 0 · Adult day pass: €51 — index: what the map and the listings publish

“Atmosphere” and “Luxury” are indexes: they count what OpenStreetMap and the event listings publish within 2.5 km (bars, nightclubs, rated hotels, spas, upcoming events), not what you experience there. A zero means “nothing mapped”, not “nothing there”. Sources per criterion: snow (altitudes declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), STRMTG register, OpenStreetMap; snow depth observed at the Météo-France station, ERA5-Land model) ; ski area (figures declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), national lift register (STRMTG), OpenStreetMap) ; value (the resort’s official price list) ; families and beginners (OpenStreetMap pistes, price list, ESF ski school, Famille Plus label, OpenStreetMap leisure) ; access (OSRM drive times from 20 cities, SNCF stations, GTFS shuttles, airports) ; atmosphere and après-ski (bars, nightclubs and restaurants within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap), upcoming events (OpenAgenda), collective tourist beds (INSEE)) ; luxury and comfort (rated hotels within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap) and by category across the commune (INSEE), spas and boutiques (OpenStreetMap), day pass price).

€259 6 days

Price declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association) — not the official price list, which prevails. Season not stated by the resort. ANMSM ↗

43 pistes, by level

5 green21 blue14 red3 black
Skiable vertical
1,200 m
Cross-country skiing
1 named trail — 3.3 km of marked loops, 11 km from the resort
Snowpark
Yes

Ski-area figures — village, bottom, top: ANMSM — figures declared by the resort (16 Oct); lifts, pistes by level: Resort’s official website (read by SkiRadar) (23 Sept) . In a linked ski area the map cannot tell where the resort ends: its own km stay “n/a” until the resort declares them. The national register attributes 19 lifts to La Foux d'Allos alone; the figure above comes from the most reliable source.

The ski area in figures

Measured on 7 October 2026
3 kmLongest piste — Sources du Verdon (red), 589 m of vertical
766 mBiggest vertical without changing piste — 2,400 → 1,635 m, 3 km
2,500 mHighest lift top — Pouret (chairlift), national lift register
25,595Total lift capacity, people per hour — 19 installations: 8 chairlifts, 7 drag lifts, 4 magic carpets
32 yrsAverage age of the lift fleet — oldest 1963, newest 2018
3,000Biggest lift, people per hour — Chauvets 1 (regie Val D'allos 04) (magic carpet, 2017)
38 kmTotal length of lifts — 39 lifts mapped
3,958 haSki area boundary (OSM)
812Inhabitants — Allos (INSEE 04006)

Measured on OpenStreetMap (altitudes: IGN RGE ALTI), not taken from the brochure. The vertical above is that of one piste, not of the whole ski area. Population: INSEE municipal population via geo.api.gouv.fr.

Source: national register of mechanical lifts (STRMTG, CAIRN), fleet as of 1 January 2025 — lifts attributed to La Foux d'Allos only (“FOUX D'ALLOS (LA)”), magic carpets included.

Staying and hiring gear in La Foux d'Allos

The partners covering this resort, shown side by side, and the shop to kit out before you leave. Some links earn us a commission — never at the expense of the price or of the data.

Collective accommodation

1,337 bed spaces in tourist residences, holiday villages and hostels

  • 7 hotels · 109 rooms (2 × 3★, 2 × 2★)
  • 1 holiday village or family centre · 220 bed spaces
  • 3 tourist residences and apartment hotels · 1,117 bed spaces

Commune: Allos · INSEE tourist accommodation survey, 2026, read on 12 September 2026. Collective accommodation only — privately let flats and second homes are not counted. INSEE dataset ↗

Stay & accommodation

Holidu
Holiday-rental comparison site.
See offers

Ski hire

Skiset UK
Skiset’s UK site: ski hire in the resort shops, booked in English, paid in pounds.
Book

Gear & equipment

Absolute Snow
UK ski and snowboard shop — delivers to UK addresses only.
Browse the shop
Hardloop
Mountain gear shop: ski touring, avalanche safety, winter clothing.
Browse the shop
Picture
Ski and snowboard jackets, pants and accessories — a French brand.
Browse the shop

All about staying in La Foux d'Allos →

Beyond skiing at La Foux d'Allos

Toboggan runs

Ice rink

  • Patinoire · Allos · 0.1 km away

Paragliding

Cinema

  • L'Aiguille · OpenStreetMap

Source: DATAtourisme (open data), within 10 km of the resort; places in a large town of the valley are left out. Checked on 12 September 2026. Lines marked OpenStreetMap come from the map, within 3 km — opening times on site. Opening times and prices are the operator’s — check before you go.

Ski schools and practical information

Ski school

ESF La Foux D Allos

📞 04 92 83 81 64

🌐 esf-valdalloslafoux.com

73 instructors

🇬🇧 28 English-speaking instructors — lessons in English available

🗓️ This school sells its lessons online — book ↗

Source: esf.net

All about the ski school in La Foux d'Allos →

Resort contacts and documents

In case of accident

112 — the European emergency number, free of charge, triggers mountain rescue. On the pistes, the ski patrol number is printed on the piste map and at lift ticket offices. Piste rescue is charged: check your insurance or take the option sold with the lift pass.

Resort data: declared by Office de tourisme du Val d'Allos and distributed by ANMSM · read on 16 October

Off the pistes: off-piste and ski touring

The resorts for off-piste skiing →
57 Marked off-piste itineraries · 65 km
4 km Ski touring routes

Named itineraries: 3 Évêchés · Aigle · Génépy · Jonquilles · Couloir Hors Piste · Buse

Itineraries surveyed on OpenStreetMap within a 4 km radius (7 September 2026): “marked” means an itinerary exists on the map, not that it is open or safe on the day.

Ski touring routes described

12 ski touring routes documented within 10 km of La Foux d'Allos — up to 1,330 m of climb.

Summit and routeSki gradeClimbAltitudeAspectFrom resort
Les Trois Évêchés · Combe ENE4.1 · E3 · AD1,100 m1,750 → 2,818 mE1.4 km
La Tête Noire (Allos) · Depuis la Fouxn/a · PD-810 m1,750 → 2,560 mE1.6 km
Col E - Dent des Trois Évêchés · De la Foux d'Allos3.1 · E2 · PD+565 m1,860 → 2,425 mN · NE2 km
Tête de la Sestrière · Par le Vallon de Sestrièren/a · F750 m1,873 → 2,575 mSE2.2 km

The other 8 routes, with grades and vertical →

Not a piste. Neither marked, nor patrolled, nor secured: transceiver, shovel, probe, the day’s avalanche bulletin and, better still, a guide. Ski grade (1.1–5.6) = steepness and commitment; exposure (E1–E4) = consequence of a fall.

Source: Camptocamp.org topo guide (CC BY-SA), routes starting within 10 km, read on 13 October 2026. Descriptions and photos are on Camptocamp; an empty cell is a field nobody has filled in. Camptocamp ski touring routes ↗

Official piste map

No downloadable piste map published by the resort.

Pistes coloured by level, lifts as lines. The resort’s official map is the reference in season.

Base map © OpenTopoMap (CC-BY-SA) · pistes © OpenSnowMap (CC-BY-SA) · data ©OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).

Getting to La Foux d'Allos

From Paris: 9 hr 16 (765 km) by road.

By road

  • From Nice: 2 hr 31 · 136 km
  • From Marseille: 3 hr 11 · 216 km
  • From Grenoble: 3 hr 27 · 193 km
  • From Chambéry: 4 hr 06 · 252 km
  • From Valence: 4 hr 17 · 250 km
From other major cities (15)
  • From Montpellier: 4 hr 30 · 339 km
  • From Annecy: 4 hr 35 · 299 km
  • From Lyon: 4 hr 39 · 295 km
  • From Genève: 5 hr 05 · 336 km
  • From Saint-Étienne: 5 hr 13 · 344 km
  • From Perpignan: 5 hr 51 · 486 km
  • From Dijon: 6 hr 31 · 496 km
  • From Clermont-Ferrand: 6 hr 32 · 461 km
  • From Toulouse: 6 hr 47 · 573 km
  • From Besançon: 6 hr 50 · 525 km
  • From Nancy: 8 hr 38 · 707 km
  • From Pau: 8 hr 42 · 763 km
  • From Bordeaux: 9 hr 11 · 815 km
  • From Strasbourg: 9 hr 13 · 763 km
  • From Paris: 9 hr 16 · 765 km

Excluding traffic and winter conditions; passes closed in winter are avoided.

By train

Chorges station

halt · then 1 hr 24 drive (81 km)

Nearest main station: Les Arcs - Draguignan, 2 hr 29 by road.

No direct bus line from the station to the resort appears in the open-data timetables (checked on 11 October 2026): ask the resort about a private shuttle or a taxi.

Shuttles and buses from the station: see the resort’s official website.

By plane

  • Nice-Côte d’Azur (NCE): 2 hr 26 by road · 132 km
  • Cuneo (CUF): 2 hr 38 by road · 146 km

Take me there

These links open the app with La Foux d'Allos as the destination. Your starting point is never sent by us — the app asks you for it, if you agree.

Charging an electric car

2 charging stations within 2 km

5 charging points · up to 60 kW

  • ALLOS - Chemin de la patinoire · EASYCHARGE · 2 points · 22 kW · 0.1 km
  • ALLOS - La Foux · EASYCHARGE · 3 points · 60 kW · 0.1 km

Freely accessible charge points read from the French national EV charging database (data.gouv.fr ↗, operators’ own declarations), checked on 9 October 2026. Check availability before you leave: the database says what is installed, not what is free tonight.

Road conditions

From 1 November to 31 March, snow chains or winter tyres are compulsory in most mountain areas (French “Loi Montagne II”).

Driving times computed on the OpenStreetMap road network (OSRM), SNCF stations (open data), airports (Wikidata). Indicative, not a timetable: allow extra time in snow.

Translated from the French Wikipedia article (CC BY-SA), machine translation.

Frequently asked questions

How high is La Foux d'Allos?

La Foux d'Allos sits at 1,500 m at village level, and its ski area rises to 2,600 m.

What is the longest piste in La Foux d'Allos?

The longest piste is Sources du Verdon: 3 km (red run), for 589 m of vertical. Measured on the OpenStreetMap map, segments of the same name and level joined end to end, altitudes from the IGN RGE ALTI terrain model — a resort sometimes advertises a longer run by chaining several pistes.

How high do the lifts go in La Foux d'Allos?

The highest lift, Pouret (chairlift), tops out at 2,500 m. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How many lifts does La Foux d'Allos have, and what is their capacity?

The French national register of mechanical lifts records 19 installations at La Foux d'Allos (8 chairlifts, 7 drag lifts, 4 magic carpets), for an authorised capacity of 25,595 people per hour, of which 3,000 for Chauvets 1 (regie Val D'allos 04) alone. The fleet spans 1963 to 2018, an average age of 32 years. This count covers the resort itself, magic carpets included, not the whole linked ski area — a resort brochure often announces a different number. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How much is a lift pass in La Foux d'Allos?

The adult day pass costs €51 and the 6-day pass €259 (season not stated by the resort, declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association)).

How do I get to La Foux d'Allos?

By road, La Foux d'Allos is 2 hr 31 from Nice (136 km), excluding traffic and winter conditions. By train, the nearest station is Chorges, 1 hr 24 by road from the resort. No direct bus line from the station to the resort appears in the open-data timetables. The nearest airport is Nice-Côte d’Azur, 2 hr 26 away.

How long is the drive from Paris to La Foux d'Allos?

9 hr 16 for 765 km from central Paris, excluding traffic and winter conditions. Computed on the real road network (OpenStreetMap): allow more on a school-holiday Saturday.

When does La Foux d'Allos open?

According to the dates declared by the resort (ANMSM feed), the resort opens on 12 December 2026 and closes on 4 April 2027 (2026-2027 season).

Is the snow reliable in La Foux d'Allos?

Good snow from January to March. This verdict rests on 10 winters of reanalysis (estimate, 2015-2025); in season the daily report prevails.

Is La Foux d'Allos good for beginners and families?

60% of the pistes are green or blue: a rather easy area. The resort holds the Famille Plus family label.

Nearby resorts

Full page in French. The French page carries the editorial guides and a few extra readings; every figure, webcam and price on this page is the same one. La Foux d'Allos in French →

Every figure carries its source and date; a missing figure shows as “—”, never estimated. Embed this widget on your site