Saint-Lary-Soulan
Pla d'Adet or Saint-Lary 1700 is a ski resort in the French Pyrenees, in the department of Hautes-Pyrénées, and the Occitania region. The resort is situated above the village of Saint-Lary-Soulan, at an altitude of 1,680 metres (5,510 ft). The climb to the ski station is frequently used as a stage finish in the Tour de France cycle race.

Live webcams
All webcams (9) →Each player is the camera operator’s own, loaded only when you ask for it — it may set its own trackers.
Official players of the resort, live image. 5 more cameras on the webcam page.
Snow, opening and weather
Snow report →Open pistes and lifts will appear here during the season, as published by the resort. Out of season we show nothing rather than a misleading zero.
Avalanche danger
Good snow from mid-January to mid-March. 105 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, and 536 cm of fresh snow, measured over 14 winters at the Météo-France “Piau” station. Fortnight by fortnight, over 14 measured winters →
3-day forecast
Village 1,700 m · top 2,500 m
Forecast corrected for altitude; fresh snow = forecast total at the top; UV = peak of the day. Beyond 3 days, check the resort’s own report. Source:Open-Meteo.
Seven criteria rated from 1 to 5 stars, in half-stars, from this page's sourced data. A rating is a rank among the 315 French resorts we cover — 5 stars means “among the best in France on this point”, not “perfect”. Nobody types these in.
- SnowCan you count on the snow?3.5 / 5
Top of the ski area: 2,500 m · Bottom of the pistes: 1,700 m · Days above 30 cm per winter, measured: 105 days · Days above 30 cm, December to March, model: 55%
- Ski areaIs there enough to ski all week?3.5 / 5
Km of pistes at the resort: 28 km · Lifts: 24 · Balance between piste levels: 92%
- ValueIs the lift pass reasonable for what you get?2.5 / 5
Adult day pass: €54 · Day pass price per km of pistes: €1.93/km · Adult 6-day pass: €275
- Families and beginnersIs it right for children and beginners?3 / 5
Share of green and blue pistes: 56% · Magic carpets: 3 · Sledging runs: 1 · ESF ski school · Ice rink, pool, rail sledge…: 1 · Famille Plus label
- AccessIs it easy to get to?1.5 / 5
Average drive time from 20 major cities: 7 hr 07 · Nearest railway station: 54 min · Station-to-resort shuttles per day: 0 · Nearest airport: 1 hr 26
- Atmosphere and après-skiIs there life in the evening and off the slopes?3 / 5
Bars and pubs: 4 · Nightclubs: 0 · Restaurants: 22 · Upcoming events: 0 · Collective tourist beds: 2,708 — index: what the map and the listings publish
- Luxury and comfortHow upmarket is the resort?2.5 / 5
5-star hotels: 0 · 4-star hotels: 1 · Share of hotel rooms in 4 and 5 stars: 52% · Spas and saunas: 0 · Jewellers, watchmakers, fashion boutiques: 0 · Adult day pass: €54 — index: what the map and the listings publish
“Atmosphere” and “Luxury” are indexes: they count what OpenStreetMap and the event listings publish within 2.5 km (bars, nightclubs, rated hotels, spas, upcoming events), not what you experience there. A zero means “nothing mapped”, not “nothing there”. Sources per criterion: snow (altitudes declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), STRMTG register, OpenStreetMap; snow depth observed at the Météo-France station, ERA5-Land model) ; ski area (figures declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), national lift register (STRMTG), OpenStreetMap) ; value (the resort’s official price list) ; families and beginners (OpenStreetMap pistes, price list, ESF ski school, Famille Plus label, OpenStreetMap leisure) ; access (OSRM drive times from 20 cities, SNCF stations, GTFS shuttles, airports) ; atmosphere and après-ski (bars, nightclubs and restaurants within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap), upcoming events (OpenAgenda), collective tourist beds (INSEE)) ; luxury and comfort (rated hotels within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap) and by category across the commune (INSEE), spas and boutiques (OpenStreetMap), day pass price).
Lift passes
All prices (child, family, season) →€275 6 days
Price declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association) — not the official price list, which prevails. Season not stated by the resort. ANMSM ↗
59 pistes, by level
- Skiable vertical
- 800 m
Ski-area figures — village, bottom, top, lifts, pistes by level: ANMSM — figures declared by the resort (16 Oct); km of pistes: OpenStreetMap (1 Oct) . The national register attributes 25 lifts to Saint-Lary-Soulan alone; the figure above comes from the most reliable source.
The ski area in figures
Measured on 7 October 2026Measured on OpenStreetMap (altitudes: IGN RGE ALTI), not taken from the brochure. The vertical above is that of one piste, not of the whole ski area. Population: INSEE municipal population via geo.api.gouv.fr.
Source: national register of mechanical lifts (STRMTG, CAIRN), fleet as of 1 January 2025 — lifts attributed to Saint-Lary-Soulan only (“SAINT LARY SOULAN”), magic carpets included.
Staying and hiring gear in Saint-Lary-Soulan
The partners covering this resort, shown side by side, and the shop to kit out before you leave. Some links earn us a commission — never at the expense of the price or of the data.
Collective accommodation
2,708 bed spaces in tourist residences, holiday villages and hostels
- 6 hotels · 172 rooms (2 × 4★, 3 × 3★)
- 5 holiday villages and family centres · 1,221 bed spaces
- 7 tourist residences and apartment hotels · 1,344 bed spaces
- 1 youth hostel or sports centre · 143 bed spaces
- 1 campsite · 107 pitches
Commune: Saint-Lary-Soulan · INSEE tourist accommodation survey, 2026, read on 12 September 2026. Collective accommodation only — privately let flats and second homes are not counted. INSEE dataset ↗
Stay & accommodation
Ski hire
Gear & equipment
Beyond skiing at Saint-Lary-Soulan
Without skis on — 1 sledging run
Cinema
- Cinema Lumiére · 2 km away · OpenStreetMap
Source: DATAtourisme (open data), within 10 km of the resort; places in a large town of the valley are left out. Checked on 12 September 2026. Lines marked OpenStreetMap come from the map, within 3 km — opening times on site. Opening times and prices are the operator’s — check before you go.
Ski schools and practical information
Ski school
ESF St Lary
131 instructors
🇬🇧 46 English-speaking instructors — lessons in English available
🗓️ This school sells its lessons online — book ↗
Source: esf.net
Resort contacts and documents
- Tourist office
- OFFICE DE TOURISME · 37 RUE VINCENT MIR, 65170 · 0562395081 · info@saintlary.com (declared by the resort, ANMSM)
- Shuttle timetable (PDF)
- Navettes hiver (declared by the resort, ANMSM)
- Resort app
- Android (declared by the resort, ANMSM)
In case of accident
112 — the European emergency number, free of charge, triggers mountain rescue. On the pistes, the ski patrol number is printed on the piste map and at lift ticket offices. Piste rescue is charged: check your insurance or take the option sold with the lift pass.
Resort data: declared by OFFICE DE TOURISME and distributed by ANMSM · read on 16 October
Off the pistes: off-piste and ski touring
The resorts for off-piste skiing →Named itineraries: Arbizon 1
Itineraries surveyed on OpenStreetMap within a 4 km radius (7 September 2026): “marked” means an itinerary exists on the map, not that it is open or safe on the day.
Ski touring routes described
12 ski touring routes documented within 10 km of Saint-Lary-Soulan — up to 1,700 m of climb.
| Summit and route | Ski grade | Climb | Altitude | Aspect | From resort |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cap du Mont · Depuis Ens | 3.3 · E2 · AD- | n/a | n/a | NE · N | 3.4 km |
| Cap de Laubère · Depuis Ens | 2.1 · E1 · F+ | 1,000 m | 1,197 → 2,211 m | NE | 3.7 km |
| Pic de Pichebrou · Combe N | 3.1 · E2 · D | 950 m | 2,183 m | N | 3.7 km |
| Pic d'Aret · Boucle face SW / descente face NW | 4.1 · E2 · D- | 1,650 m | 1,290 → 2,939 m | NW | 4.2 km |
The other 8 routes, with grades and vertical →
Source: Camptocamp.org topo guide (CC BY-SA), routes starting within 10 km, read on 13 October 2026. Descriptions and photos are on Camptocamp; an empty cell is a field nobody has filled in. Camptocamp ski touring routes ↗
Piste map
Open on OpenSnowMap ↗Official piste map
Pistes coloured by level, lifts as lines. The resort’s official map is the reference in season.
Base map © OpenTopoMap (CC-BY-SA) · pistes © OpenSnowMap (CC-BY-SA) · data ©OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).
Getting to Saint-Lary-Soulan
From Paris: 9 hr 13 (841 km) by road.
By road
- From Pau: 1 hr 49 · 126 km
- From Toulouse: 2 hr 16 · 169 km
- From Bordeaux: 3 hr 48 · 330 km
- From Perpignan: 4 hr 06 · 365 km
- From Montpellier: 4 hr 34 · 400 km
From other major cities (15)
- From Clermont-Ferrand: 6 hr 09 · 538 km
- From Marseille: 6 hr 14 · 562 km
- From Valence: 6 hr 24 · 597 km
- From Grenoble: 7 hr 21 · 689 km
- From Lyon: 7 hr 31 · 697 km
- From Saint-Étienne: 7 hr 34 · 576 km
- From Nice: 7 hr 52 · 720 km
- From Chambéry: 8 hr 06 · 748 km
- From Annecy: 8 hr 31 · 806 km
- From Genève: 9 hr 01 · 844 km
- From Dijon: 9 hr 04 · 834 km
- From Paris: 9 hr 13 · 841 km
- From Besançon: 9 hr 40 · 892 km
- From Nancy: 11 hr 11 · 1045 km
- From Strasbourg: 12 hr 03 · 1130 km
Excluding traffic and winter conditions; passes closed in winter are avoided.
By train
Capvern station
halt · then 54 min drive (48 km)
Nearest main station: Tarbes, 1 hr 22 by road.
No direct bus line from the station to the resort appears in the open-data timetables (checked on 11 October 2026): ask the resort about a private shuttle or a taxi.
Shuttles and buses from the station: see the resort’s official website.
By plane
- Tarbes-Lourdes-Pyrénées (LDE): 1 hr 26 by road · 95 km
- Pau-Pyrénées (PUF): 1 hr 53 by road · 130 km
Take me there
These links open the app with Saint-Lary-Soulan as the destination. Your starting point is never sent by us — the app asks you for it, if you agree.
Charging an electric car
3 charging stations within 2 km
6 charging points · up to 44 kW
- BOUY_002876 · Load Stations · 2 points · 44 kW · 0.1 km
- BOUY_002877 · Load Stations · 2 points · 44 kW · 0.1 km
- BOUY_002878 · Load Stations · 2 points · 44 kW · 0.1 km
Freely accessible charge points read from the French national EV charging database (data.gouv.fr ↗, operators’ own declarations), checked on 9 October 2026. Check availability before you leave: the database says what is installed, not what is free tonight.
Road conditions
From 1 November to 31 March, snow chains or winter tyres are compulsory in most mountain areas (French “Loi Montagne II”).
Driving times computed on the OpenStreetMap road network (OSRM), SNCF stations (open data), airports (Wikidata). Indicative, not a timetable: allow extra time in snow.
Introduction from the English Wikipedia article (CC BY-SA).
Frequently asked questions
How high is Saint-Lary-Soulan?
Saint-Lary-Soulan sits at 1,700 m at village level, and its ski area rises to 2,500 m.
How many kilometres of pistes does Saint-Lary-Soulan have?
Saint-Lary-Soulan has 28 km of slopes, 24 lifts.
What is the longest piste in Saint-Lary-Soulan?
The longest piste is Marmottes: 3 km (blue run), for 410 m of vertical. Measured on the OpenStreetMap map, segments of the same name and level joined end to end, altitudes from the IGN RGE ALTI terrain model — a resort sometimes advertises a longer run by chaining several pistes.
How high do the lifts go in Saint-Lary-Soulan?
The highest lift, Glacier (drag lift), tops out at 2,471 m. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.
How many lifts does Saint-Lary-Soulan have, and what is their capacity?
The French national register of mechanical lifts records 25 installations at Saint-Lary-Soulan (1 aerial tramway, 2 gondolas, 10 chairlifts, 9 drag lifts, 3 magic carpets), for an authorised capacity of 36,217 people per hour, of which 3,000 for Bouleaux alone. The fleet spans 1955 to 2023, an average age of 30 years. This count covers the resort itself, magic carpets included, not the whole linked ski area — a resort brochure often announces a different number. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.
How much is a lift pass in Saint-Lary-Soulan?
The adult day pass costs €54 and the 6-day pass €275 (season not stated by the resort, declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association)).
How do I get to Saint-Lary-Soulan?
By road, Saint-Lary-Soulan is 1 hr 49 from Pau (126 km), excluding traffic and winter conditions. By train, the nearest station is Capvern, 54 min by road from the resort. No direct bus line from the station to the resort appears in the open-data timetables. The nearest airport is Tarbes-Lourdes-Pyrénées, 1 hr 26 away.
How long is the drive from Paris to Saint-Lary-Soulan?
9 hr 13 for 841 km from central Paris, excluding traffic and winter conditions. Computed on the real road network (OpenStreetMap): allow more on a school-holiday Saturday.
Is the snow reliable in Saint-Lary-Soulan?
Good snow from mid-January to mid-March. 105 days a winter at 30 cm or more on average, and 536 cm of fresh snow, measured over 14 winters at the Météo-France “Piau” station. This verdict rests on 14 winters of Météo-France measurements (1992-2022); in season the daily report prevails.
Is Saint-Lary-Soulan good for beginners and families?
56% of the pistes are green or blue: a rather technical area. The resort holds the Famille Plus family label.
Nearby resorts
Every figure carries its source and date; a missing figure shows as “—”, never estimated. Embed this widget on your site