Chabanon

Southern Alps Updated on 21 September 2026
1,600 mVillage altitude
2,030 mTop of the ski area
40 kmAlpine pistes
11Ski lifts
€30.50Adult day pass

Chabanon is a ski resort located near the village of Selonnet in the Alpes-de-Haute-Provence, inaugurated at the beginning of the 1970s. A special feature of the resort is the possibility of night skiing. It is located a few kilometres from the Montclar les 2 Vallées resort.

Chabanon — view of the resort
Photo: Wikimedia Commons

Live webcams

All webcams (3) →
Sommet des MongesWebcam-HD
▶ Watch at the operator ↗
Webcam de CHABANONthe resort’s operator

Each player is the camera operator’s own, loaded only when you ask for it — it may set its own trackers.

Official players of the resort, live image. Checked on 16 October 2026.

Snow, opening and weather

Snow report →

Open pistes and lifts will appear here during the season, as published by the resort. Out of season we show nothing rather than a misleading zero.

3-day forecast

Village 1,600 m · top 2,030 m

Loading…

Forecast corrected for altitude; fresh snow = forecast total at the top; UV = peak of the day. Beyond 3 days, check the resort’s own report. Source:Open-Meteo.

7-day forecast →

SkiRadar ratings

How ratings are computed →Computed on 16 October 2026

Seven criteria rated from 1 to 5 stars, in half-stars, from this page's sourced data. A rating is a rank among the 315 French resorts we cover — 5 stars means “among the best in France on this point”, not “perfect”. Nobody types these in.

  1. SnowCan you count on the snow?
    2.5 / 5

    Top of the ski area: 2,030 m · Bottom of the pistes: 1,530 m · Days above 30 cm, December to March, model: 19%

  2. Ski areaIs there enough to ski all week?
    4 / 5

    Km of pistes at the resort: 40 km · Lifts: 11 · Balance between piste levels: 97%

  3. ValueIs the lift pass reasonable for what you get?
    3.5 / 5

    Adult day pass: €30.50 · Day pass price per km of pistes: €0.76/km · Adult 6-day pass: €155.30

  4. Families and beginnersIs it right for children and beginners?
    1.5 / 5

    Share of green and blue pistes: 48% · Magic carpets: 1 · Sledging runs: 0 · ESF ski school · Ice rink, pool, rail sledge…: 0

  5. AccessIs it easy to get to?
    1.5 / 5

    Average drive time from 20 major cities: 5 hr 32 · Nearest railway station: 55 min · Station-to-resort shuttles per day: 0 · Nearest airport: 2 hr 45

  6. Atmosphere and après-skiIs there life in the evening and off the slopes?
    1.5 / 5

    Bars and pubs: 0 · Nightclubs: 0 · Restaurants: 5 · Upcoming events: 0 · Collective tourist beds: 204 — index: what the map and the listings publish

  7. Luxury and comfortHow upmarket is the resort?
    1 / 5

    5-star hotels: 0 · 4-star hotels: 0 · Share of hotel rooms in 4 and 5 stars: 0% · Spas and saunas: 0 · Jewellers, watchmakers, fashion boutiques: 0 · Adult day pass: €30.50 — index: what the map and the listings publish

“Atmosphere” and “Luxury” are indexes: they count what OpenStreetMap and the event listings publish within 2.5 km (bars, nightclubs, rated hotels, spas, upcoming events), not what you experience there. A zero means “nothing mapped”, not “nothing there”. Sources per criterion: snow (altitudes declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), STRMTG register, OpenStreetMap; snow depth observed at the Météo-France station, ERA5-Land model) ; ski area (figures declared by the resort (ANMSM, official website), national lift register (STRMTG), OpenStreetMap) ; value (the resort’s official price list) ; families and beginners (OpenStreetMap pistes, price list, ESF ski school, Famille Plus label, OpenStreetMap leisure) ; access (OSRM drive times from 20 cities, SNCF stations, GTFS shuttles, airports) ; atmosphere and après-ski (bars, nightclubs and restaurants within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap), upcoming events (OpenAgenda), collective tourist beds (INSEE)) ; luxury and comfort (rated hotels within 2.5 km (OpenStreetMap) and by category across the commune (INSEE), spas and boutiques (OpenStreetMap), day pass price).

€155.30 6 days

Price declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association) — not the official price list, which prevails. Season not stated by the resort. ANMSM ↗

31 pistes, by level

8 green7 blue11 red5 black
Skiable vertical
500 m
Cross-country skiing
2 named trails — 6 km of marked loops (3.8 km of distinct track: the loops overlap), 700 m from the resort

Ski-area figures — village, bottom, top, km of pistes, lifts, pistes by level: ANMSM — figures declared by the resort (16 Oct) . The national register attributes 13 lifts to Chabanon alone; the figure above comes from the most reliable source.

The ski area in figures

Measured on 7 October 2026
2 kmLongest piste — Retour Télésiège (green), 222 m of vertical
373 mBiggest vertical without changing piste — 1,949 → 1,575 m, 1 km
2,029 mHighest lift top — Tete Grosse (platter lift), national lift register
8,949Total lift capacity, people per hour — 13 installations: 1 chairlift, 11 drag lifts, 1 magic carpet
38 yrsAverage age of the lift fleet — oldest 1969, newest 2024
1,400Biggest lift, people per hour — Fil Neige (rope tow, 1992)
7 kmTotal length of lifts — 12 lifts mapped
547 haSki area boundary (OSM)
443Inhabitants — Selonnet (INSEE 04203)

Measured on OpenStreetMap (altitudes: IGN RGE ALTI), not taken from the brochure. The vertical above is that of one piste, not of the whole ski area. Population: INSEE municipal population via geo.api.gouv.fr.

Source: national register of mechanical lifts (STRMTG, CAIRN), fleet as of 1 January 2025 — lifts attributed to Chabanon only (“CHABANON”), magic carpets included.

Staying and hiring gear in Chabanon

The partners covering this resort, shown side by side, and the shop to kit out before you leave. Some links earn us a commission — never at the expense of the price or of the data.

Collective accommodation

204 bed spaces in tourist residences, holiday villages and hostels

  • 3 hotels · 52 rooms (1 × 3★, 1 × 2★)
  • 1 tourist residence or apartment hotel · 204 bed spaces
  • 1 campsite · 33 pitches

Commune: Selonnet · INSEE tourist accommodation survey, 2026, read on 12 September 2026. Collective accommodation only — privately let flats and second homes are not counted. INSEE dataset ↗

Stay & accommodation

Holidu
Holiday-rental comparison site.
See offers

Gear & equipment

Absolute Snow
UK ski and snowboard shop — delivers to UK addresses only.
Browse the shop
Hardloop
Mountain gear shop: ski touring, avalanche safety, winter clothing.
Browse the shop
Picture
Ski and snowboard jackets, pants and accessories — a French brand.
Browse the shop

All about staying in Chabanon →

Beyond skiing at Chabanon

Without skis on — 0 km of snowshoe and walking trails

Swimming pool

Paragliding

Museum

Source: DATAtourisme (open data), within 10 km of the resort; places in a large town of the valley are left out. Checked on 12 September 2026. Opening times and prices are the operator’s — check before you go.

Ski schools and practical information

Ski school

ESF Chabanon

📞 04 92 35 09 59

🌐 esf-chabanon.fr

20 instructors

🇬🇧 5 English-speaking instructors — lessons in English available

🗓️ This school sells its lessons online — book ↗

Source: esf.net

All about the ski school in Chabanon →

Resort contacts and documents

In case of accident

112 — the European emergency number, free of charge, triggers mountain rescue. On the pistes, the ski patrol number is printed on the piste map and at lift ticket offices. Piste rescue is charged: check your insurance or take the option sold with the lift pass.

Resort data: declared by Office de Tourisme Blanche Serre-Ponçon and distributed by ANMSM · read on 16 October

Off the pistes: off-piste and ski touring

The resorts for off-piste skiing →
0 0

Ski touring routes described

7 ski touring routes documented within 10 km of Chabanon — up to 1,015 m of climb.

Summit and routeSki gradeClimbAltitudeAspectFrom resort
Clot de Bouc · du col du Fanget1.1 · E1550 m1,460 → 1,963 mN4.2 km
L'Oratoire · Crête du Clot du Fau3.3 · E1 · AD1,015 m1,057 → 2,072 mN7.8 km
Tête du Vallon du Loup · Depuis la Maison Forestière de Bellevuen/a650 m1,590 → 2,239 mS · W · SW9.3 km
Pic de Savernes · Crête de Savernes, couloir SW3.2 · E2900 m1,470 → 2,344 mSW9.4 km

The other 3 routes, with grades and vertical →

Not a piste. Neither marked, nor patrolled, nor secured: transceiver, shovel, probe, the day’s avalanche bulletin and, better still, a guide. Ski grade (1.1–5.6) = steepness and commitment; exposure (E1–E4) = consequence of a fall.

Source: Camptocamp.org topo guide (CC BY-SA), routes starting within 10 km, read on 13 October 2026. Descriptions and photos are on Camptocamp; an empty cell is a field nobody has filled in. Camptocamp ski touring routes ↗

Official piste map

No downloadable piste map published by the resort.

Pistes coloured by level, lifts as lines. The resort’s official map is the reference in season.

Base map © OpenTopoMap (CC-BY-SA) · pistes © OpenSnowMap (CC-BY-SA) · data ©OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).

Getting to Chabanon

From Paris: 8 hr 43 (719 km) by road.

By road

  • From Marseille: 2 hr 48 · 205 km
  • From Grenoble: 2 hr 54 · 147 km
  • From Chambéry: 3 hr 33 · 206 km
  • From Nice: 3 hr 36 · 199 km
  • From Valence: 3 hr 43 · 204 km
From other major cities (15)
  • From Annecy: 4 hr 02 · 253 km
  • From Lyon: 4 hr 06 · 249 km
  • From Montpellier: 4 hr 06 · 328 km
  • From Genève: 4 hr 31 · 290 km
  • From Saint-Étienne: 4 hr 39 · 298 km
  • From Perpignan: 5 hr 28 · 476 km
  • From Dijon: 5 hr 58 · 450 km
  • From Clermont-Ferrand: 5 hr 59 · 415 km
  • From Besançon: 6 hr 17 · 479 km
  • From Toulouse: 6 hr 24 · 562 km
  • From Nancy: 8 hr 05 · 661 km
  • From Pau: 8 hr 18 · 752 km
  • From Strasbourg: 8 hr 40 · 717 km
  • From Paris: 8 hr 43 · 719 km
  • From Bordeaux: 8 hr 47 · 804 km

Excluding traffic and winter conditions; passes closed in winter are avoided.

By train

Chorges station

halt · then 55 min drive (38 km)

Nearest main station: Grenoble, 2 hr 54 by road.

No direct bus line from the station to the resort appears in the open-data timetables (checked on 11 October 2026): ask the resort about a private shuttle or a taxi.

Shuttles and buses from the station: see the resort’s official website.

By plane

  • Marseille-Provence (MRS): 2 hr 45 by road · 201 km
  • Cuneo (CUF): 3 hr 02 by road · 162 km

Take me there

These links open the app with Chabanon as the destination. Your starting point is never sent by us — the app asks you for it, if you agree.

Charging an electric car

No freely accessible charge point is declared within 2 km of the resort (checked on 9 October 2026). Covered car parks in the resort may offer chargers reserved for their customers: those are not listed here.

Freely accessible charge points read from the French national EV charging database (data.gouv.fr ↗, operators’ own declarations), checked on 9 October 2026. Check availability before you leave: the database says what is installed, not what is free tonight.

Road conditions

From 1 November to 31 March, snow chains or winter tyres are compulsory in most mountain areas (French “Loi Montagne II”).

Driving times computed on the OpenStreetMap road network (OSRM), SNCF stations (open data), airports (Wikidata). Indicative, not a timetable: allow extra time in snow.

Translated from the French Wikipedia article (CC BY-SA), machine translation.

Frequently asked questions

How high is Chabanon?

Chabanon sits at 1,600 m at village level, and its ski area rises to 2,030 m.

How many kilometres of pistes does Chabanon have?

Chabanon has 40 km of slopes, 11 lifts.

What is the longest piste in Chabanon?

The longest piste is Retour Télésiège: 2 km (green run), for 222 m of vertical. Measured on the OpenStreetMap map, segments of the same name and level joined end to end, altitudes from the IGN RGE ALTI terrain model — a resort sometimes advertises a longer run by chaining several pistes.

How high do the lifts go in Chabanon?

The highest lift, Tete Grosse (platter lift), tops out at 2,029 m. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How many lifts does Chabanon have, and what is their capacity?

The French national register of mechanical lifts records 13 installations at Chabanon (1 chairlift, 11 drag lifts, 1 magic carpet), for an authorised capacity of 8,949 people per hour, of which 1,400 for Fil Neige alone. The fleet spans 1969 to 2024, an average age of 38 years. This count covers the resort itself, magic carpets included, not the whole linked ski area — a resort brochure often announces a different number. Source: STRMTG, French national register of mechanical lifts (CAIRN database), file dated 1 January 2025.

How much is a lift pass in Chabanon?

The adult day pass costs €30.50 and the 6-day pass €155.30 (season not stated by the resort, declared by the resort to ANMSM (the French ski resorts’ mayors association)).

How do I get to Chabanon?

By road, Chabanon is 2 hr 48 from Marseille (205 km), excluding traffic and winter conditions. By train, the nearest station is Chorges, 55 min by road from the resort. No direct bus line from the station to the resort appears in the open-data timetables. The nearest airport is Marseille-Provence, 2 hr 45 away.

How long is the drive from Paris to Chabanon?

8 hr 43 for 719 km from central Paris, excluding traffic and winter conditions. Computed on the real road network (OpenStreetMap): allow more on a school-holiday Saturday.

Is Chabanon good for beginners and families?

48% of the pistes are green or blue: a rather technical area.

Nearby resorts

Full page in French. The French page carries the editorial guides and a few extra readings; every figure, webcam and price on this page is the same one. Chabanon in French →

Every figure carries its source and date; a missing figure shows as “—”, never estimated. Embed this widget on your site