The season pass is the best price in skiing for those who ski a lot, and the worst for those who buy it on impulse in November. The rule of thumb is one division: the season price by the day price. The result is the number of days from which the season wins. We did it for every resort on our pages that publishes both prices.
The tipping day
On the lists we read, the number of full-price days a season pass is worth changes markedly from one resort to the next: that is the figure to work out, not the season price alone.
On the resort pages, full adult price: Tignes and Val-d’Isère (Espace Killy), season: n/a, day: €78 (2026-2027 season); the Semnoz, season: €200 (season not stated on the price list), day: €18.50 (season not stated on the price list); Super-Besse, season: n/a, day: €43.50 (2026-2027 season) — divide one by the other and you have the tipping day. The small local resorts — Chamrousse, Le Lioran, La Bresse — follow the same rule; La Bresse Hohneck, season: €579.60 (2026-2027 season), day: €41.50 (2026-2027 season) — each resort page gives both prices as soon as they are read from its list.
The rule of experience: from three weeks of skiing in the same resort, or ten weekends, the season pass wins. Below that, it loses — and the count includes the bad-weather days when you do not go out.
What lowers the threshold
Pre-sale. Almost every resort sells the season 10 to 25 % cheaper before an autumn date. That is the price to compare: a pre-sale season at 12 days is a far better sum than at 15.
The days that are not day passes. An afternoon, a Sunday morning, two hours before driving home: with a day pass you do not do them — it is not worth the price of a day. With a season, you do, and they are free. For an owner or a resident, that is what changes the relationship with skiing.
The perks. Many seasons include free days in other resorts, family discounts, access to neighbouring areas, or summer skiing. They cannot be counted, but they count.
What raises the threshold
The risk of a snowless winter, in the mid-mountains. A season bought in October for a resort that only opens six weeks is lost. Our Météo-France records say, resort by resort, how many days the snow lay each winter — and the worst winter in the series is the figure to look at before buying.
Injury. A season is refunded only with the insurance that goes with it, pro rata, on a certificate. Without it, a sprain in January costs the season.
Boredom. The season pass for the resort you know by heart locks you in: discovery days elsewhere are paid at full price.
The big areas: the “valley” season
The 3 Vallées, Paradiski, the Portes du Soleil, the Grand Massif sell two seasons: the full area (Grand Massif, adult season: €1,316 (2026-2027 season)) and the valley — Les Menuires-Val Thorens, La Plagne alone, Morzine-Les Gets — for much less. For a weekend skier who always sleeps in the same place, the second is the one that makes sense: the full area is paid by the day the rare times you cross over.
The table below
It ranks resorts by kilometres of pistes obtained for each euro of day pass — the value-for-money measure we compute on every published list. Each resort’s pages give, where the list states it, the season price and the pre-sale deadline.











